Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The scam thread ..all motors scams in here!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

beanderb4 wrote: »
    Just asking. Trying to make sure I don't get done. The obvious answer is not to deal with these guys if I am not sure, but the a*se has fallen out of the market here and there are no offers comming in from Ireland at this point.

Yes, the Irish market is depressed ...yet there are still hundreds of Irish buyers going over to the UK to buy cheaper there (because it still IS cheaper there)

Unless you're selling something absolutely rare end exotic, you're being scammed.

Threads merged

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

peasant wrote: »
    Yes, the Irish market is depressed ...yet there are still hundreds of Irish buyers going over to the UK to buy cheaper there (because it still IS cheaper there)

Unless you're selling something absolutely rare end exotic, you're being scammed.

The british market itself is full of scammers and shills. I wouldn't entertain them for any reason OP. Until the guy comes to your door and gives you the money, I would say no deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭beanderb4

thanks guys for the advice. I reckon u are right about it being a scam. The guy was saying therecwould be no problem he would just have his shipping firm pick the car up. That was enough for me.

Where have all the genuine people gone??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Onkle wrote: »
    I'm waiting on a return mail on an audi a4, would love to do something along the lines of what a guy did in humour about the church of the loaves and the fishes, can't bloody find the thread now though. Long story short he made the scammer send a pic of himself with a fish on his head and a loaf of bread in his mouth

I think I read that story on 419eater.com. Sweet revenge. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

my brothers car recently was written off so of course he had to go and get a new one.he went onto carzone and saw a few ones that he liked so he emailed around 10 different people.5 of the replies he got back where the exact same with the same situation just a different name...heres the email he got back 5 times from different people....

BMW 318Ci Coupe 2002

The price is 4800 euros
    Petrol, 2 doors, manual transmission, silver.
    ABS, Air Con., Airbags, Alarm, Alloys, CD, Cruise Control, Fogs, Immobiliser, Leather, Metallic Paint, Side Airbags
    Excellent Condition, the car was kept in a garage , it has BMW service book,the tires have been changed recently, and doesn't need repairings.It has no engine problem, no scratches.
    Registered in Ireland .The car is at the moment in Liverpool, UK.
    I live in the USA, I bought the car for my brother who lived in Ireland and then moved to UK. Unfortunately he died recently and I cannot take the car with me.
    You do not have to pay any taxes for this car. It is very easy to register it to your name .
    I have all the documents ready for sale. The car documents are on my name, so it is very simple.
    As payment I only accept cash and we will have to meet in Liverpool for the sale.

Thank you and I hope you will decide to buy my car.
    Here are some photos.
    Many thanks,Ann.

2005 Ford Focus
    Price : 4900 euro

Options : Rare Titanium model, 1.6 Duratec Ti-VCT (115bhp), Half-leather interior, Sony audio system - stereo radio/CD with eight speakers (four front, four back), Sport-style front seats, 3-spoke leather & chrome steering wheel, Automatic headlights with safe-home feature.

Excellent Condition, the car was kept in a garage , it has VW service book,the tires have been changed recently, and doesn't need repairings.It has no engine problem, no scratches.
    Registered in Ireland .The car is at the moment in Liverpool, UK.
    I live in the USA, I bought the car for my brother who lived in Ireland and then moved to UK. Unfortunately he died recently and I cannot take the car with me.
    You do not have to pay any taxes for this car. It is very easy to register it to your name .
    I have all the documents ready for sale. The car documents are on my name, so it is very simple.
    As payment I only accept cash and we will have to meet in Liverpool for the sale.

Thank you and I hope you will decide to buy my car.
    Here are some photos.

Regards,Sophie

2007 Toyota Avensis D4D Strata

Price : 5500 euro
    Mileage: 21,747 miles
    Year : 2007
    Fuel : Diesel
    Engine : 2.0L
    Transmission : Manual
    Color : Black
    Model : 5 doors

Options :
    Tax 07/2008, ABS Brakes, Air Conditioning, Airbags, Alloys, CD / Radio, Electric Mirrors, Electric Windows, Front Fog Lamps, Immobiliser, Metallic Paint, Power Steering, Remote Central Locking, Traction Control, |Genuine reason for selling. All reasonalbe offers considered., 1 owner.
    Very good car! No repairs done. No stripes, the car was never damaged. This is first hand car, keeped in garage and maintained everytime at Toyota service.

The tires have been changed recently, and there is no problem of engine, body, etc.
    IRELAND registration. The car is at the moment in Liverpool, England.

I live in the USA, I bought the car for my sister who lived in Ireland and then moved to England. She died now, I took care myself of the funerals and I returned to the USA so I cannot take the car with me.
    You do not have to pay any taxes for this car. It is very easy to register it to your name. I know the law and I have all the documents ready for sale. The vehicle is registered under my name.
    For payment I accept only cash and we will have to meet in Liverpool for the sale contract.
    Thank you in advance and i hope you decide to make the deal.

Regards

anyone hav joe duffies number haha?i say the person takes all the picures of the car and gets all the details.my brothers mate whose a guard checked up and all the cars are legit.so is someone just taking pictures of peoples cars and trying to pull a fast one.anyone get these emails before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

can't find either car on the site

• Registered Users Posts: 51,138 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Well in fairness they are pretty obvious to spot, a 2002 BMW 318Ci for €4,800, a 05 Ford Focus for €4,900 and a 07 Toyota Avensis for €5,500. :D

Plus the seller's location is Dublin but giving a Cork contact number, etc and the usual "the car is outside the country at the moment". They use stolen photos from genuine adverts.

Just tell them you are in the same country as the car, on business and want to view the car, you will probably not hear from them again.

They must be making money from plenty of suckers though as they are spending a fair few quid on carzone with lots of ads at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

bazz26 wrote: »
    Well in fairness they are pretty obvious to spot, a 2002 BMW 318Ci for €4,800, a 05 Ford Focus for €4,900 and a 07 Toyota Avensis for €5,500. :D

Plus the seller's location is Dublin but giving a Cork contact number, etc and the usual "the car is outside the country at the moment". They use stolen photos from genuine adverts.

Just tell them you are in the same country as the car, on business and want to view the car, you will probably not hear from them again.

They must be making money from plenty of suckers though as they are spending a fair few quid on carzone with lots of ads at the moment.

I can't understand that alright. It costs a lot to put up all those adds. How do they wangle money out of people?
    I wouldn't e-mail them either, they have your e-mail address then. If you do mail them, set up a new hotmail account specifically for the task with no personal information in the account info.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

I think most of these should be pretty obvious at this stage. If a car is massively cheaper than any other similar model and the price seems a total bargain, it is probably a scammer. Even a genuine person looking to offload a car pronto could not conceivably offer such a discount. I bet when he went looking for a car, he sorted each one 'by price' and went for the cheapest. (not saying this in itself is wrong, but the last car in these instances is normally 20-70% than the standard). This should be ringing alarm bells I think

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

if somebody emails me about a car on carzone i ignore it or send back something silly. not the most grown up thing to do i know, but i have never sold a car on carzone to a guy that emailed me.

your brother should ring the sellers imo

but i agree with the point of the post, its amazing how many scams are actually on there at the moment, yet carzone does nothing about it, well not that we know of anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kceire wrote: »
    if somebody emails me about a car on carzone i ignore it or send back something silly. not the most grown up thing to do i know, but i have never sold a car on carzone to a guy that emailed me.
    I wonder why :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Got an email from a potential customer about a car we had for sale. He explained how he leved in england and was happy wit the price we were asking, and said all the charges of exporting etc. would be taken care of by him. I forget now how he said he was going to pay, i think it was bankers draft or something. Replied to the email with "Sorry the car is sold" lol. End of story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

TommyT wrote: »
    This has got to be a wind up. No one is that stupid? Pay for a car without seeing it???

Scammers are idiots, but the only reason they keep posting ads is that there are bigger idiots out there unfortunately.
    CONSUMERS are being warned of the dangers of buying cars online after one internet buyer was the victim of a motoring scam.

Gardai in the stolen vehicle unit said they were investigating an incident where a member of the public bought and paid online for a car which was never delivered. This is just one of many online scams involving cars, according to gardai
    Full article here

You'd nearly feel sorry for the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I had a few emails from scammers on carzone. I reported a few to carzone, no reply from them. Unless they get serious about this, its going to hurt their website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TempusFugit

Check these out for obvious scammers. Called each of them and they are all invalid numbers. They do communicate by email! This is really damaging Carzone. I would really hesitate to buy from a private seller on Carzone if this type of scammer continues to proliferate:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Lexus/IS250/car/1199155/ Sold (Tel: 1 6675112 Rings out)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Lexus/IS250/car/1204062/ Readvertised Again the next day (Tel: 1 8082000)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/A6/car/1204037/ (Tel: 1 8082000)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Saab/9-3/car/1204107/ (Tel: 1 8082000)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Mercedes-Benz/CLS-320/car/1201370/ (Tel: 1 6709621 Not in Service)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Mercedes-Benz/CLS-320/car/1204387/ (Tel: 1 8960092 Engaged tone)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/TT/car/1204187/ (Tel: 1 8960092 Engaged tone)

The telephone number (01 8082000) is for Enterprise Ireland Biotechnology Commercialisation Group!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Check these out for obvious scammers. Called each of them and they are all invalid numbers. They do communicate by email! This is really damaging Carzone. I would really hesitate to buy from a private seller on Carzone if this type of scammer continues to proliferate:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Lexus/IS250/car/1199155/ Sold (Tel: 1 6675112 Rings out)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Lexus/IS250/car/1204062/ Readvertised Again the next day (Tel: 1 8082000)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/A6/car/1204037/ (Tel: 1 8082000)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Saab/9-3/car/1204107/ (Tel: 1 8082000)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Mercedes-Benz/CLS-320/car/1201370/ (Tel: 1 6709621 Not in Service)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Mercedes-Benz/CLS-320/car/1204387/ (Tel: 1 8960092 Engaged tone)

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/TT/car/1204187/ (Tel: 1 8960092 Engaged tone)

The telephone number (01 8082000) is for Enterprise Ireland Biotechnology Commercialisation Group!

I don't understand that though. They use someone else's car pics, then advertise them with either the original (genuine) sellers number or a made up one like above. What can they possibly gain from this waste of €30?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TempusFugit

Its usually a variation of the following story:

1) Irish man moves to Europe with his car.
    2) Discovers that it is awkward to drive a RHD car on mainland Europe and needs money to buy a LHD car.
    3) Has difficulty selling the RHD car in Europe.
    4) Offers RHD car for bargain basement price on Carzone.ie
    5) Punter sees car on Carzone and tries to contact bogus seller.
    6) A few emails later...Only problem is Irish man has no money to ship it back to Ireland!
    7) Another few emails later...Tries to con you into wiring him some money to ship it back so you can inspect it!

There are other variations of the same theme where they try to get your bank account details.

It takes a few emails back and forth before they get to the part about wiring the money. I love reeling these scammers in. It's become a blood sport with me.

I wish Carzone would do something about these guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,015 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I love reeling these scammers in. It's become a blood sport with me.
    Your analysis of the sequence of events is a bit suspect for someone who claims experience in the scammer-baiting field, tbh.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

nice one TempusFugit, id reckon the scammers emailed the real buyers and said they buy the car, asked for there details and photos of the car, then posted there own ad.

CARZONE is making money out of all this and should also be a small bit responsible for putting unchecked sellers on their website.

it wastes genuine buyers time and damages genuine sellers prices of their car by having cheaper (scammers) prices being quoted to them by genuine buyers.

question for carzone experts: if someone says their car is sold on carzone,and then puts another add up the next day, are they using the same €30 ad, or is it €30 every time they do it (like the lexus IS250 above)

• Registered Users Posts: 44 kwikksilva

What do ye make of this... i am selling my car and have been going back and forward with this guy, and he hasn't rang me, and he has not seen the car, yet he is offering me a draft already...

I said "Owner Emigrating" on my ad.. could he be just looking for my address to fleece the place? as he would know from the ad that i am leaving soon.

I have an awful bad feeling about this guy, who offers money first??? and THEN inspects the car afterwards!

I have not sold a car privately before.
    Thanks for your mail.

I have just contacted my fiduciary agent to pay for the car by bank draft for 10000euros as a deposit for the car and the balance of 2000euros will be paid in cash when coming to collect the car,the draft will be Issue from Ulter bank and it will only take 2 to 5 days to clear into your account,the draft will gets to you early next week and Inspection will be done on the car by Mid next week. I need this car for my family and I need to act fast in buying it,I will need you make available all the relevant documents for the car .

The Following details will be needed by the Bank to issue out the draft to you:

1, Full Names

2, Full Address

3, Phone Numbers

Reply.
    Regards

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

sounds like a scam to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

He will "accidentaly" write a draft for €500 more than necessary, and then he'll ask you to refund the €500 by Western Union. Next day, the Draft will turn out to be worthless.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Scam.

Tell him you don't accept draft's. Only cash - or Western Union :D (what's good for the gander, eh ? ;)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I got one too, several mails then:
    Thanks for your mail.

I have just contacted my fiduciary agent to pay for the car by bank draft for 9500euros which will be from Ulter bank and it will only take 2 to 5 days to clear into your account,the draft will gets to you early next week and Inspection will be done on the car by Mid next week.

I need this car for my family and I need to act fast in buying it,I will need you make available all the relevant documents for the car .

The Following details will be needed by the Bank to issue out the draft to you:

1, Full Names

2, Full Address

3, Phone Numbers

Reply.

Regards
    ---

fom: stevensteword@yahoo.com

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

SCAM, got one myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

A very definite scam
    Bank cant even tell you if bank draft is kosher until it is processed.
    What I've heard them do before is get a draft for a small amount then alter the details, so the draft is genuine and so will initially check out but the amount is a a fraction of the full payment. I dont think the bank gets this info until processed so they cant tell you the amount is genuine until much later.

You are suckered in to thinking it might be genuine by the offer of some cash.

I wonder have they done this one on the Real Hustle, they have done a few similar.

Cash up front or bank draft well and truly cleared and confirmed(including a bit extra in case bank detects a fraud) before laying hands on the keys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭VH

scam

• Registered Users Posts: 51,138 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Only an idot agrees to buy a car that he/she has not even seen and then doesn't even bother to haggle on the asking price.

Either an idot or someone trying to pull a scam! If something sounds too good to be true then it usually is.