Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 mini--c

applied years ago for that too and got an email last month about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Is the Public Jobs registration down for anybody else? The day I decide to use it its broke!

Decided today(after years of mulling over it) I'am going to apply for the AGS.

I'am medically fit,have near-perfect hearing and perfect eyesight,and the interview should not be a problem for me,I'am used to speaking in front of people from my college!

Just a question,I'am currently studying for a law degree,would I be better to finish that before applying?

Have a manual handling course done(from the Army) and looking to go on a First Aid course now soon. Obviously these will stand to me yes? But what else could I do to improve my chances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Is the Public Jobs registration down for anybody else? The day I decide to use it its broke!

Decided today(after years of mulling over it) I'am going to apply for the AGS.

I'am medically fit,have near-perfect hearing and perfect eyesight,and the interview should not be a problem for me,I'am used to speaking in front of people from my college!

Just a question,I'am currently studying for a law degree,would I be better to finish that before applying?

Have a manual handling course done(from the Army) and looking to go on a First Aid course now soon. Obviously these will stand to me yes? But what else could I do to improve my chances?

It is not written in stone that you will get in and you may be waiting awhile so I'd say the best idea is to apply and finish the degree, not only to skip a few increments on the pay scale, but also a half done degree may look worse than no degree.

Manual handling and first aid are not definately needed ...yet.
    possibly a change of username will get you more responses;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

It is not written in stone that you will get in and you may be waiting awhile so I'd say the best idea is to apply and finish the degree, not only to skip a few increments on the pay scale, but also a half done degree may look worse than no degree.

Manual handling and first aid are not definately needed ...yet.
    possibly a change of username will get you more responses;)

Cheers!

Aw I know that competition will be fierce,as one would expect,and I dont expect to walk in!

I suppose my plan was if recruitment came up in the next year was to go for it,keep doing the degree otherwise. If it was a choice between the AGS and Degree at this stage I would be more inclined towards the Gardai,as its a job. At the moment work is rare with my Degree.

People are just afraid of my username ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

http://www.publicjobs.ie/publicjobs/en/campaign/testing.do
    A Garda Trainee recruitment campaign will commence in the coming weeks. Further information in this regard, including eligibility requirements, the selection process and application form will be available at that stage. In the meantime, to ensure you receive an e-mail alert inviting you to apply, you should register on www.publicjobs.ie.

If you are already registered on publicjobs.ie
    There is no need for you to re-register. However, to receive an e-mail job alert, you should review your profile to ensure that you have selected ‘Security/ Emergency Services – Garda’ as one of your job categories.

If you are NOT already registered on publicjobs.ie
    Click the 'Registration' link at the top right of this page and create your profile.
    You must then set up a job alert in your chosen areas of interest. In the case of Garda Trainee you should select 'Security/Emergency Services – Garda'.

Important note
    • Your email address must at all times be up-to-date to receive future notifications.
    • Creating a profile and registering on www.publicjobs.ie must not be mistaken as an application for the campaign.
    • If you require assistance you may phone our Helpdesk on 01-8587523.
    Please note: The Public Appointments Service issue email job alerts on a best endeavour basis. The onus is on the candidate to ensure that they keep themselves informed of current and future recruitment campaign information as the Public Appointments Service cannot accept liabilty should a candidate fail to receive notification by e-mail.

So the evidence doesnt get anymore solid from here on in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

What's that going to mean for those with everything done already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 SPEDFED

going to be feck all new positions available for this new recruitment drive, given the number currently awaiting.Only right for those of you with everything done, for everyone else, ie, me, tis gonna be a tough one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

SPEDFED wrote: »
    going to be feck all new positions available for this new recruitment drive, given the number currently awaiting.Only right for those of you with everything done, for everyone else, ie, me, tis gonna be a tough one!!

i presume you mean folk with garda reserve background and academical qualifications in criminology (like me), but i would say you have as good a chance as anyone.

God knows how many people they are looking for, and don't mind the speculative figures. Because that is all they are - speculation.

clayton1 wrote: »
    i presume you mean folk with garda reserve background and academical qualifications in criminology (like me), but i would say you have as good a chance as anyone.

God knows how many people they are looking for, and don't mind the speculative figures. Because that is all they are - speculation.

no i meant people with medicals done etc.
    im in the same boat as you re significant degree(s) and experience.
    not the reserves however,waiting 13 months + for anything there.
    had to go elsewhere for relevant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 ChopperLambe

Have you ever wondered why you havent heard anything in 15 months etc ?? i applied in oct 08 and started trainning in the reserves in feb 09 no problems paper work, background and vetting etc . Best of luck going forward for the future....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Commish

Best of luck to everyone anyhow from here on in. I hope all works out well for everyone who genuinely want to be good honest to god hard working Gardai.

SPEDFED wrote: »

Theres a difference between a recruitment drive and an intake, a drive is new people applying and an intake is people with all the relevant things done eg meds and pct, so they are two different groups.

da__flash wrote: »
    Theres a difference between a recruitment drive and an intake, a drive is new people applying and an intake is people with all the relevant things done eg meds and pct, so they are two different groups.

makes you wonder then when the next intake will be in relation to the recruitment drive, which i suppose is the million euro question for many!

Have you ever wondered why you havent heard anything in 15 months etc ?? i applied in oct 08 and started trainning in the reserves in feb 09 no problems paper work, background and vetting etc . Best of luck going forward for the future....

it does indeed!ive gotten garda vetting for many things, jobs, volunteering etc since then.ive called the garda reserve office many times with the same answer, "your application is being processed" blah blah blah!i know many people waiting as long as me! http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055798306
    it seems alot of those, yourself included, who applied after i did, where accepted after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Just a quick question.To qualify for increments do you need to have obtained a degree ie.3/4 years or will a higher certificate be accepted(2 years)?
    Sound.
    ps.I have neither!pacman.gifcool.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Just a quick question.To qualify for increments do you need to have obtained a degree ie.3/4 years or will a higher certificate be accepted(2 years)?
    Sound.

as far as I know you need a degree. Level 7/8. and its not paid until all your training is completed and you have completed 2 years probation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Sound.

NQ of Degree, Diploma and some certificates are recognised. You must have them done on joining AGS to qualify and you can apply for the increments only after probation......not on joining as some think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

Ladies and Gentlemen, I never thought the day would arrive but just had a look on public jobs and saw the below.

Garda Trainee 2010

Recruitment of Garda Trainee 2010

A Garda Trainee recruitment campaign will commence in the coming weeks. Further information in this regard, including eligibility requirements, the selection process and application form will be available at that stage. In the meantime, to ensure you receive an e-mail alert inviting you to apply, you should register on www.publicjobs.ie.

If you are already registered on publicjobs.ie
    There is no need for you to re-register. However, to receive an e-mail job alert, you should review your profile to ensure that you have selected ‘Security/ Emergency Services – Garda’ as one of your job categories.

If you are NOT already registered on publicjobs.ie
    Click the 'Registration' link at the top right of this page and create your profile.
    You must then set up a job alert in your chosen areas of interest. In the case of Garda Trainee you should select 'Security/Emergency Services – Garda'.

Important note
    • Your email address must at all times be up-to-date to receive future notifications.
    • Creating a profile and registering on www.publicjobs.ie must not be mistaken as an application for the campaign.
    • If you require assistance you may phone our Helpdesk on 01-8587523.

Please note: The Public Appointments Service issue email job alerts on a best endeavour basis. The onus is on the candidate to ensure that they keep themselves informed of current and future recruitment campaign information as the Public Appointments Service cannot accept liabilty should a candidate fail to receive notification by e-mail.

da__flash wrote: »

So the evidence doesnt get anymore solid from here on in :D

about 3 days late ;):cool:

apply and enjoy the wait guys!!! still 300 from the last campaign ahead of yous waiting the last 2 years!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Hi all!
    Great news about the campaign!! I have a bit of a problem though, and would really appreciate any help! I registered with Public Jobs ages ago, and as far as I can see, everything is done correctly, but I didn't receive any job alert or any email...does anyone have any theories on where I'm going wrong, because I just want to apply!
    Thanks in advance!

Hi all!
    Great news about the campaign!! I have a bit of a problem though, and would really appreciate any help! I registered with Public Jobs ages ago, and as far as I can see, everything is done correctly, but I didn't receive any job alert or any email...does anyone have any theories on where I'm going wrong, because I just want to apply!
    Thanks in advance!
    Actually, has anyone received an email yet? Maybe the reason that I haven't is that it hasn't commenced yet....am I just getting ahead of myself?? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

Actually, has anyone received an email yet? Maybe the reason that I haven't is that it hasn't commenced yet....am I just getting ahead of myself?? :cool:

Hi streetAngel, was thinking exact same thing, havent checked boards in few days so nearly collapsed:eek: when i seen that public jobs had the notification up since last week, as we all know the faster you apply the better chance of getting batch 1 and so on. From what i can gather we are ok it's just that the position is being highlighted now as the ball is moving whereas before it was not active. Concerning the text or E-mail, they will only be sent when a competition is started informing you to ring to book a date for Apt Test.

keith101 wrote: »
    Hi streetAngel, was thinking exact same thing, havent checked boards in few days so nearly collapsed:eek: when i seen that public jobs had the notification up since last week, as we all know the faster you apply the better chance of getting batch 1 and so on. From what i can gather we are ok it's just that the position is being highlighted now as the ball is moving whereas before it was not active. Concerning the text or E-mail, they will only be sent when a competition is started informing you to ring to book a date for Apt Test.

Thanks for your reply Keith 101. The minute I posted that, I realised that it was only to highlight out attention to an upcoming campaign...I was working yesterday and kept getting texts saying that a competition had started, so I was fully convinced that I should have had an email from public jobs! Shouldn't be too long now anyway! Thanks again! :p

heard this on the grapevine lads but only 200 people will be added to the panel from this campaign to add to the existing 300 already on the panel..makes sense really - will take a good year at least to get 500 people into an intake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

are the following types of courses of any benefit

<mod snip>

I think there are others

Does one have to be involved in some sort of community work to have a chance?

I'm currently in full-time employment ,earning decent money but I am still going to apply, I like the varied nature which being a Garda seems to entail

are the following types of courses of any benefit

<mod snip>

I think there are others

Does one have to be involved in some sort of community work to have a chance?

I'm currently in full-time employment ,earning decent money but I am still going to apply, I like the varied nature which being a Garda seems to entail

no you dont have to be involved in community work but it would certainly look good at interview..as long as you have a decent education, work history, and have a solid head on your shoulders you will have a great chance. provided you pass the initial tests!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭pink star

keith101 wrote: »

Keith just to let you know it's not how quick you apply for the competition that decides what batch you qualify in, it's actually on your result that you get in the aptitude test. Once you register with publicjobs everyone who applies gets invited to sit the aptitude test. Good Luck anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

pink star wrote: »
    Keith just to let you know it's not how quick you apply for the competition that decides what batch you qualify in, it's actually on your result that you get in the aptitude test. Once you register with publicjobs everyone who applies gets invited to sit the aptitude test. Good Luck anyways

As far as I remember it is how quickly you get your aptitude test. Wk 1 is batch 1, wk 2 is batch 2 etc. Then after that how you do in the aptitude determines how quickly you get your interview.