Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

hey lads - long time since i was here , made a big mistake last drive - got the apptitude but decided not to do the interview for various reasons. i hope to god there is a drive in feb as ill be 33 at the end of this year. should i pass the apptitude again do u reckon ill need a lot of explaining to do in the interview as to why i didnt attend the last interview.

I dont think they would make a big deal of it, tell the truth whatever your reasons were, even tell them that you were not sure if the job was right for you so you needed time the reacess your options, but now your adament you want to become a member, I should imagine they would appreciate your honesty,

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭silliegillie

Im assuimng that background checks are done when applying. So basically will past associations hinder your chances or recruitment. Maybe being a member of some political party in your youth be a cause of concern for some one who is now older and more mature wishing to join the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Im assuimng that background checks are done when applying. So basically will past associations hinder your chances or recruitment. Maybe being a member of some political party in your youth be a cause of concern for some one who is now older and more mature wishing to join the Gardai.

It depends on what past associations you have. Being a member the youth side of a political party would not but remember you cannot be a member of any political party while a member of AGS. If however you were an association of a drug dealer or gang member then yes that would require more scrutiny of your personal background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

[EMAIL="Li@mo"]Li@mo[/EMAIL], I hear what you are saying, and I understand it BUT the interview
    is a once of and anyone with a good story to sell and sells the story to
    the interview panel will have an excellent chance of obtaining a place on
    in The Garda College, and this person or even people could be your
    so-called "People who only want Job Security,posers" etc...
    But would you not want Job security?. I do not doubt Integrity but Even
    the Best, Honest, Loyal and most commited of People will seek job security!. It works both ways and unfortunately some people who are not
    there for the Good of the organisation get accepted!.

Goodluck in Your Pursuit of Obtaining a Career with the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

BlueBell, my Friend Got called to train in The Garda College.He is due to start his
    training on Feb the 2nd. do you have any idea to how big the "Back Log is"?. Now
    when He was on the Phone to the person in Garda HQ they said there would be 3-4
    more intakes this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Ive no idea how long the backlog is. I vaguely remember someone a while back saying there were 600 in the system waiting to get in.. How true that is I dont know I'm afraid. For argument sake lets say there was 600. Minus the 200 from Nov and feb intakes that will still leave 400 in the queue. Taking into account it takes about a year to get people through then they would have to start a campaign before May this year. This depends on them keeping the intakes as is and no more cutbacks but its ALL guesswork!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

To give people an idea of the situation, I rang the Appointments Office not more than 20 mins ago and was told there weren't any campaigns planned, but they couldn't tell me if there would or would not be any this year. So just hold out for it folks...I'm hoping and praying for one in February or May, but it is out of our hands so alls we can do is be patient!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 jcogley7

Hi wondering if there is anyone out there that can guide me.

I am a 29 year old female who is really intereseted in joining the Garda. Applied for the garda reserve last june done the test passed and the interview with the panel and my local garda station and passed both phases but still have heard nothing. I am currently working in Finance which I HATE and have been wanting to get out of for a couple of years now, so want to apply for the Full time garda, but am very nervous about the appitude test (Not great and those things) any advise where I can get sample questions??

Also I have a mortgage and a car loan to look after so worried about if I pass all the phases that I will not be able to afford to Templemore on the study pay???

My cousin is currently just after getting in and how now just got her station and my other cousin has been in the police in london for the past couple of years, with family been in the force does this help? I would love to be a family liasion Officer so I know I have to start at the bottom and work up but that is my goal.:)

Can anyone advise me??? please :)

jcogley7 wrote: »
    Hi wondering if there is anyone out there that can guide me.

I am a 29 year old female who is really intereseted in joining the Garda. Applied for the garda reserve last june done the test passed and the interview with the panel and my local garda station and passed both phases but still have heard nothing. I am currently working in Finance which I HATE and have been wanting to get out of for a couple of years now, so want to apply for the Full time garda, but am very nervous about the appitude test (Not great and those things) any advise where I can get sample questions??

Have you contacted PAS in regard to your Reserve application?
    There are a few organisations that provide courses to help you prepare for the recruitment stages. If you read through this thread you will find them handy enough.
    Also I have a mortgage and a car loan to look after so worried about if I pass all the phases that I will not be able to afford to Templemore on the study pay???

Could you rent out rooms in your house? Would help greatly with the mortgage. You could also talk to your mortgage provider and let them know what you are doing. They could accommadate you.

My cousin is currently just after getting in and how now just got her station and my other cousin has been in the police in london for the past couple of years, with family been in the force does this help? I would love to be a family liasion Officer so I know I have to start at the bottom and work up but that is my goal.:)

Absolutely no harm in it at all

TkdBen wrote: »
    Does anyone actualy know if there's examinations comin up? my mate is just in his phase 2 now and was told that theres supposedly going to be a cutback on the intakes this year. But im hearing different everywhere I ask.
    Its probably just a waiting game im sure, but is everyone else feeling a bit anxious? cause I know I am!:(

It was mentioned in the Policing Plan 2009 that 400 new recruits are planned this year. No one really knows if it will happen or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 joanne30

Hey,
    Is there anyone waiting for the next garda recruitment, Im hoping it theres going to be one this year.2009

Hi, Im in the same boat as yourself, Im praying there going to recruit this year realy nervous they won't.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 kevo0489

Yeah cause im hearin from a few that theyre cuttin back and all this stuff, but a guy on this said in the policeplan 09 theyre planning to intake 400 still, which im guessin is for intakes so happy days if that happens!:D you going to the tests in February if their on then yeah?

I reckon there wont be a recruitment drive until late 2009 early 2010.
    Most or nearly all of the 400 they are taken in are already in the system ie. waiting on medicals, physicals or just waiting for the call to go down to templemore. So if your not in the system i reckon your in for a long long wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭Harolds+

I tried to join n 2000 but I missed the deadline by 2 days so I joined the Civil Service straight after and haven't looked back.

I wouldn't join them now if you paid me gold. They are a weird bunch and there is something animalistic about them

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭gerire

Harolds+ wrote: »
    I tried to join n 2000 but I missed the deadline by 2 days so I joined the Civil Service straight after and haven't looked back.

I wouldn't join them now if you paid me gold. They are a weird bunch and there is something animalistic about them

A slight sweeping generalisation. NO!!

Every organisation especially one with 14k+ publicly observed members, it is possible that you are looking and only bad examples, I know many people in the service who would consider me as weird, and many I would but that you would nt; Its all personal perception.

As a civil servant you know that people do look slightly down/enviously on you with the whole, "Ah a civil servant, sure they do nothing and get paid loads for it", you should probably try and stick closer to your fellow civil servants who deal with people in the worst of scenarios

Harold+ warned for trolling. This is not AH

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

From now on, how about this...only post about updates on recruitment when you hear something official, rather than rumour and hearsay as it's helping no one folks! :)

Im just wondering with the increase of crime lately,do you think this will have an effect on there intake this year 2009.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

joanne30 wrote: »
    Im just wondering with the increase of crime lately,do you think this will have an effect on there intake this year 2009.

You'd think wouldn't you.
    Recessions usually result in an increase in crime, and in our country, a cut in law enforcement.

Emm with more access to money, there was more access to drink and drugs

Maybe drug lords will decrease the price of their toxins and Vintners and Off Licences decrease the price of their porter

Very true. Have seen a rise in burglaries and thefts.

To give you all and idea in my district which is near Dublin we would maybe see 1-2 car chases in a month. Most would come down from Dublin city. Last week alone we had four cars fail to stop of our cars. This week there was one.

And its only gonna get worse

Emm with more access to money, there was more access to drink and drugs

Maybe drug lords will decrease the price of their toxins and Vintners and Off Licences decrease the price of their porter

Organised crime can take advantage of the situation, yes.

And with less money going around, more people will turn to crime.

Would an increase in government tax (which is fed into funding emergency services etc.) not result in a similar if not greater reserve in capital to fund the law enforcement sector, balancing it out?

It should, but keep in mind our govt. would rather spend this on themselves and things that benefit high fliers like them.

Would an increase in government tax (which is fed into funding emergency services etc.) not result in a similar if not greater reserve in capital to fund the law enforcement sector, balancing it out?

I reckon more money will be pumped into the Reserves but tbh what is that going to solve? There are not many burglaries during the weekend cos they are out themselves and the Reserves usually only work the weekend nights themselves cos they work a 9-5 Monday-Friday job. It probably would mean a rise in public order and S49 arrests (which is good) but thats all.

It should, but keep in mind our govt. would rather spend this on themselves and things that benefit high fliers like them.

Money would be better spent on sniffer dogs in the Ports or the Army.

Instead we have Garda Cars looking cool escorting Brinks vans when the Army are doing that already.

Hey,
    No matter how much we give out about our goverment I dont think there going to change. In England when the police obtain drug money or property, they pump it back in to there police force. May be if the gardai could keep the money from drug lords they could put it back into Garda training. Wishfull thinking....

As we speak the money recovered from crimnals, the goverment pump back into public moneys.

I just wish they would pump it back in to training. I realy hoping they recruit this year.

I had all intention of applying last year, made the appointment for test and had to cancel. Im just hoping I dont regret it

TheNog wrote: »
    I reckon more money will be pumped into the Reserves but tbh what is that going to solve? There are not many burglaries during the weekend cos they are out themselves and the Reserves usually only work the weekend nights themselves cos they work a 9-5 Monday-Friday job. It probably would mean a rise in public order and S49 arrests (which is good) but thats all.

And after a few months of the arrest, and alot of money and time wasting in the courts, the offenders of those offences probably won't get prosecuted.

Hurrah!