Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

R Murphy 2/1 W Buckley 3/1
    J Walsh 3/1
    S Downes 4/1
    F O Donoghue 6/1
    J Cahill 7/1
    P O Brien 8/1
    C Scannell 8/1
    F Dineen 8/1
    D Fleming 8/1
    J Carroll 10/1
    A Galvin 10/1
    D Courtney 12/1
    G Beardsley 12/1
    L Maher 12/1
    L O Dovanan 14/1
    S Goggins 14/1
    E Shannon 14/1
    J O Meara 16/1
    S Harkins 20/1
    T O Dovanan 20/1
    D O Reilly 20/1
    B Delaney 20/1
    P O Sullivan 20/1
    G O Sullivan 20/1
    K Dunscombe 20/1
    Jim Judge Jnr 20/1
    Pacelli Darcy 20/1
    F Ryan 20/1
    I Farrelly 22/1
    J Smith 25/1
    D Hayden 25/1
    M Byrne 28/1
    P O Gorman 28/1

Others on Request.
    E/W 1-2-3-4

Contact John Cahill 086 9577997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Tipperman wrote: »
    R Murphy 2/1 W Buckley 3/1
    J Walsh 3/1
    S Downes 4/1
    F O Donoghue 6/1
    J Cahill 7/1
    P O Brien 8/1
    C Scannell 8/1
    F Dineen 8/1
    D Fleming 8/1
    J Carroll 10/1
    A Galvin 10/1
    D Courtney 12/1
    G Beardsley 12/1
    L Maher 12/1
    L O Dovanan 14/1
    S Goggins 14/1
    E Shannon 14/1
    J O Meara 16/1
    S Harkins 20/1
    T O Dovanan 20/1
    D O Reilly 20/1
    B Delaney 20/1
    P O Sullivan 20/1
    G O Sullivan 20/1
    K Dunscombe 20/1
    Jim Judge Jnr 20/1
    Pacelli Darcy 20/1
    F Ryan 20/1
    I Farrelly 22/1
    J Smith 25/1
    D Hayden 25/1
    M Byrne 28/1
    P O Gorman 28/1

Others on Request.
    E/W 1-2-3-4

Contact John Cahill 086 9577997

At least I got better odds than I did for my games in Glenville. Can't really argue with the odds up above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

william buckley jnr -90
    joe mc grath jnr -86
    larry maher jnr -86
    mark hogan -67
    mick hogan -65
    darren o connell -58
    graham newman -53
    billy buckley -51

trial was on 2nite in tullamore torential downpours almost flood greens!!!!!
    1 trial left to play in erry offaly masters sunday 2weeks.
    counting 6 trials above.....
    wats the news with ye tipperman???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

wel kingdom wat was the stori 2nite why wernt u playin wid 1 of the lads!!!!!!!!!! did james not write out a card r wat happened???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 pnpforums

Hi, I'm a registered member of the PPUI and would also like to see the a country-wide forum to discuss whatever PnP'ers want to.

I see many people want to separate forum on here (boards.ie), but if I get the backing of the "regulars" here I can have a forum up and running on a a private .com address by tomorrow! (obviously improvements would be made along the way).

If you guys are interested, reply here... I would take the role as facilitator, so I'd hope the strong influences here would agree to come on board as moderators down the line and help the forum thrive.

If you guys have no interest in launching a separate pnp forum, that's fine... but I hope you'd like to give it a go.

Let me know,
    Cerberus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

pnpforums wrote: »
    Hi, I'm a registered member of the PPUI and would also like to see the a country-wide forum to discuss whatever PnP'ers want to.

I see many people want to separate forum on here (boards.ie), but if I get the backing of the "regulars" here I can have a forum up and running on a a private .com address by tomorrow! (obviously improvements would be made along the way).

If you guys are interested, reply here... I would take the role as facilitator, so I'd hope the strong influences here would agree to come on board as moderators down the line and help the forum thrive.

If you guys have no interest in launching a separate pnp forum, that's fine... but I hope you'd like to give it a go.

Let me know,
    Cerberus

I think its getting to the stage where we need our own forum to discuss things! Id defo be in favour of this! And id help out in any way in keeping it going! Im sure word will spread quickly across the country and we could have a number of posters within weeks! :)

Let me know,
    Cerberus

Thanks for posting Cerberus. Your idea is a good one. Its probably necessary too. I might ask are you actively involved in Pitch and Putt yourself? The reason I ask is that the topic of a forum/website is a touchy subject in the PPUI world at the moment, and I'm not sure an 'outsider' would understand why that is.

Maybe you could outline your plans/what you can provide, cause to be fair its a bit sketchy! Will it be free? Would it be just a forum, or would it be a website with a forum?
    Personally, I'd be happy to help out, as I'd have more flexible hours to moderate than most, but that offer would only be for a forum only. I wouldn't support a website that would rival our own PPUI.ie, while its not perfect, there is a greater effort being made with it.

wel kingdom wat was the stori 2nite why wernt u playin wid 1 of the lads!!!!!!!!!! did james not write out a card r wat happened???????

Faithful,
    Congratulations on your performance in the trials, a wonderful achievement, I know there is one trial to go but you're safe now. Well done man, I know you'll do the team proud in Bagnelstown and Cashel.

I was surprised by the scoring of the last two days. I know the weather wasn't great, but I thought Graham would have made ground on 6th spot. Its a straight battle between Darren and Graham now in Clara. 5 shots is a lot to make up but if I was Darren I'd be confident that shooting a 99 woukl get the 6th spot.

As for last night I'm not sure what happened I think there was a bit of confusion, when I arrived the cards had already been done out, also I wasn't sure if I was eligible to play having missed 4 trials already? I asked once if there was enough people and I was told there was so I just hit a few myself. Its not a problem, at the end of the day, if I had played in a two ball instead of say you or darren, that would have meant someone else having a card marked instead of competing, and I wouldn't have been comfortable with that. No big problem. I had no ambitions of doing the inter county this year for obvious reasons. Next year will be a different story, mark my words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 pnpforums

Kingdom,

My idea at present would be for a 100% FREE forum (I'm more than happy to cover the cost of hosting myself).

I am currently a very active player both in my own club and in outside competitions and perfectly understand the feeling the PPUI may have about a forum, hence the reason I have not revealed my identity, if the powers that be don't know who I am, then they can not apply pressure on me to "do things their way".

The plans seem a little sketchy, because at the moment they are. I would like to facilitate a forum, plain and simple, no website. But I would hope valued members could make suggestions as to the direction the forums take and how they are run.

This is not an attempt to rival PPUI.ie, rather filling a gap they have left when they removed their forum years ago.

Cerberus

Kingdom,

My idea at present would be for a 100% FREE forum (I'm more than happy to cover the cost of hosting myself).

I am currently a very active player both in my own club and in outside competitions and perfectly understand the feeling the PPUI may have about a forum, hence the reason I have not revealed my identity, if the powers that be don't know who I am, then they can not apply pressure on me to "do things their way".

The plans seem a little sketchy, because at the moment they are. I would like to facilitate a forum, plain and simple, no website. But I would hope valued members could make suggestions as to the direction the forums take and how they are run.

This is not an attempt to rival PPUI.ie, rather filling a gap they have left when they removed their forum years ago.

Cerberus

Cerberus, do you want to send me a mail and we can take this off boards.ie for a while?
    Paulkingdom@Gmail.com

Lads, we had a trial last night in Larkspur Park and with one trial to go this Sunday at Riverdale Scr Cup it is all to play for

Paul O'Brien -65 (Safe)
    Brian Webster -58 (Safe)
    Noel Joyce -52 (Prob Safe)
    Rory Hogan -49
    John O'Meara -47
    Davy Morrissey -42
    Stephen Shoer - 40
    Sean Minogue -39
    James Cleary -34
    DJ Lynch -19

The above scores are counting 5 trials although we have played 7. Sunday will prove as to who has what it takes to play at the highest level as they will need to perform to their maximum in order to make the team. Realistically I would say that the top 5 are safe as Rory & John are playing at home this Sunday so really you have 4 players fighting it out for 6th place... There will be added pressures though on the locals to do well so Sunday is make or break time as they say:cool:

Lads, we had a trial last night in Larkspur Park and with one trial to go this Sunday at Riverdale Scr Cup it is all to play for

Paul O'Brien -65 (Safe)
    Brian Webster -58 (Safe)
    Noel Joyce -52 (Prob Safe)
    Rory Hogan -49
    John O'Meara -47
    Davy Morrissey -42
    Stephen Shoer - 40
    Sean Minogue -39
    James Cleary -34
    DJ Lynch -19

The above scores are counting 5 trials although we have played 7. Sunday will prove as to who has what it takes to play at the highest level as they will need to perform to their maximum in order to make the team. Realistically I would say that the top 5 are safe as Rory & John are playing at home this Sunday so really you have 4 players fighting it out for 6th place... There will be added pressures though on the locals to do well so Sunday is make or break time as they say:cool:

Jaysus Paul, just looking at the scoring there, Offaly will be competing with Tipperary for the Nationals. :D

Good scoring by yourself, after that the scoring (Cleary excepted) the scoring is how one would expect it. Hard to see James getting on now.
    If I was Davy Morrissey I'd be feeling the heat ahead of Sunday!

Kingdom,

Cerberus

well thankfully you are involved in pitch and putt, you do see a lot of touts on the different forums. The fact that you are aware of the difficulties is an added bonus too, because anything that gets started up will be under intense scrutiny I believe.

I will offer to be a moderator once I'm happy with the setup!

Kingdom wrote: »
    Jaysus Paul, just looking at the scoring there, Offaly will be competing with Tipperary for the Nationals. :D

Good scoring by yourself, after that the scoring (Cleary excepted) the scoring is how one would expect it. Hard to see James getting on now.
    If I was Davy Morrissey I'd be feeling the heat ahead of Sunday!

I agree with you Kingdom... Offaly have really impressed me with their scoring... I have put them down as serious medal contenders in Larkspur Park so it will be interesting to see how they cope with the new pressures that will face them on the day..

Regarding the Tipp boys scoring averages.. I have to say the inclement weather conditions have not helped at all... Last year I was -29 for 2 trials in Hillview but weather being so bad this year down there I have dropped -15 for 2 trials down there....
    I agree though the scoring should be better but our team is good enough to get something from the Inter Counties.. Whether or not we challenge Cork remains to be seen, I know I would love to be hitting in 18 in Cashel needing a birdie to win!!!:P

Kingdom wrote: »
    well thankfully you are involved in pitch and putt, you do see a lot of touts on the different forums. The fact that you are aware of the difficulties is an added bonus too, because anything that gets started up will be under intense scrutiny I believe.

I will offer to be a moderator once I'm happy with the setup!

I too would offer to be a moderator but I will have to see the set up first as I am certainly not going to part of anything that might raise issues with the PPUI...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

While I agree that a forum dedicated to P&P would be great, and fair play to Cerberus for his offer, I think that under these circumstances it wont work well.

At the end of the day, how can there be objective debate on any forum if there is a cloud hanging over it with regard to how the PPUI feel about it? Can there be any proper discussion of ideas if people are worried that their reputation outside the forum is at stake should they disagree or suggest something which is controversial?

At this point, I think its worth asking, has anyone ever approached the PPUI about re-establishing their own forum? It's entirely possible that they would be happy to do it should they get sufficient volunteer moderators from within the game (I see 2 here already) that they could be confident it would be run correctly and free from anything that might impact legally.

I think that should be the first step myself.

To Cerberus, what type of forum are you suggesting? I assume you have access to a phpBB running on some shared hosting? Are you comfortable assuming the legal responsibility for any discussions that take place?

Also, if you purchase the domain from which the forum is to run under your own name, it wont take very long for anyone in the IT business to discover your true identity, and I think that if you aren't happy operating a forum under your own name then its not going to be a worthwhile venture for anyone.

Draupnir wrote: »
    While I agree that a forum dedicated to P&P would be great, and fair play to Cerberus for his offer, I think that under these circumstances it wont work well.

At the end of the day, how can there be objective debate on any forum if there is a cloud hanging over it with regard to how the PPUI feel about it? Can there be any proper discussion of ideas if people are worried that their reputation outside the forum is at stake should they disagree or suggest something which is controversial?

At this point, I think its worth asking, has anyone ever approached the PPUI about re-establishing their own forum? It's entirely possible that they would be happy to do it should they get sufficient volunteer moderators from within the game (I see 2 here already) that they could be confident it would be run correctly and free from anything that might impact legally.

I think that should be the first step myself.

To Cerberus, what type of forum are you suggesting? I assume you have access to a phpBB running on some shared hosting? Are you comfortable assuming the legal responsibility for any discussions that take place?

Also, if you purchase the domain from which the forum is to run under your own name, it wont take very long for anyone in the IT business to discover your true identity, and I think that if you aren't happy operating a forum under your own name then its not going to be a worthwhile venture for anyone.

draupnir its not as straight forward as that unfortunately. The two people offering support here were indirectly the two people that caused or were the source of a lot of the ire that blighted the now extinct forum. Indeed I only recently found out the extent of anger/consternation this caused.
    Times and people do change though, but I feel this wouldn't be actively recognised just yet.

I think people might be taking me up wrong on my stance. I am 100% behind a Forum for Pitch and Putt players, supporters and administrators, be it under the auspices of the PPUI or whether its independent.

I am however issuing caution for the above proposal, until I find out who is behind it. This is fair game as far as I'm concerned. I have my reasons for saying this but I'm not in a postion to say why here.
    I would support a correctly run, well-moderated forum, even if it needed a subscription. People sometimes need an outlet to vent their frustrations at what might be perceived to injustices or irregularities within the game. And they should be able to do so without the threat of the PPUI looming over them.
    I understand as well that there are a lot of people that could dedicate time to this from their desks/homes that couldn't give the same commitment to their club or county board so that isn't the issue.
    I think objective debate and discussion would be possible. If anything it could result in a bit more transparency in the game. I'd point out as well that anything that brings attention to the game is worthwhile.

Something to consider also. New ideas generally aren't accepted well in the PPUI, which is very much an Irish trait. This opinion has been borne out on these pages already. There has been a new fanzine (or magazine call it what you will) released. free it should be added. Yet only 3 people have made reference to it.
    Go figure.

Ill have a lot of free time over the next 3 years so im more than happy to help whether it be as a moderator or some other job!

Personally i dont see there being too much debate being involved! The reason i like boards is because i get to hear about results or different courses that id never hear about anywhere else! Sure people will have opinions but if its moderated right there should not be any real trouble! It might also give the PPUI a few ideas on how to improve the game in the future!

Its 2008 now i think the majority of people own computers or have access to one so its time we moved on in pitch and putt. I like the PPUI website but at times it lacks the detail it could have with regards results and other aspects!

Jinkymagic wrote: »
    Ill have a lot of free time over the next 3 years so im more than happy to help whether it be as a moderator or some other job!

Personally i dont see there being too much debate being involved! The reason i like boards is because i get to hear about results or different courses that id never hear about anywhere else! Sure people will have opinions but if its moderated right there should not be any real trouble! It might also give the PPUI a few ideas on how to improve the game in the future!

Its 2008 now i think the majority of people own computers or have access to one so its time we moved on in pitch and putt. I like the PPUI website but at times it lacks the detail it could have with regards results and other aspects!

Jinky

With regards to the PPUI website I think it is being updated a lot more in recent times than it used. They can't do all the updating on competition so why don't some players take it upon themselves to the reports on certain competitions that they aren't at. I know results are sent back to the office from Competitions but we are at the competitions and is it not easier to do a report on them here, and then mail that report to PPUI.

I know that the PPUI are very interested in receiving updates on competition within our respective counties. Like I say our PRO can't be everywhere but why don't we do some of the work for them... The report I put on last week about the Munster Matchplay was put on the PPUI site... Sometimes we need to give a little back to the PPUI also, don't we??

What other aspects would you like to see improved on the PPUI site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Fair play Tipperman, that was the point I was trying to make, rather than move to a 3rd party site, maybe by volunteering help to PPUI and suggesting things to them first the same problems could be solved through official channels and make things a lot less trouble in the long run for everyone too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 DugOut

Right folks, as there is always a big debate about the team selection and the feeling that Dublin should have a trial system, I have put this together. Give your opinions, suggestions and anything else that you feel relevant on the system. This is just a feeler and nothing is concrete as I want hear what players think.

Dublin Intercounty Team
    Trail System

Based on the 2008 fixture list

April
    Irene Scr Cup
    Leinster S/P qualifying

May
    Lucan Scr Cup
    Maybe a Trail or Scr Cup (see below)

June
    National S/P qualifying
    County Board Trial or Scr Cup

July
    Dublin S/P qualifying
    County Board Trail or Scr Cup

August
    Erin's Isle Scr Cup (this might be a little too close to the Leinster Intercounty maybe have a trail in May instead, as above)

Notes
    Best 6 scores from 8
    Top 5 make the team
    County Board has 1 wild card
    Player winning a strokeplay Championship automatically on the team
    From the 6 players the County Board choose the 5 who play in the National Intercounty

DugOut wrote: »
    Right folks, as there is always a big debate about the team selection and the feeling that Dublin should have a trial system, I have put this together. Give your opinions, suggestions and anything else that you feel relevant on the system. This is just a feeler and nothing is concrete as I want hear what players think.

Dublin Intercounty Team
    Trail System

Based on the 2008 fixture list

April
    Irene Scr Cup
    Leinster S/P qualifying

May
    Lucan Scr Cup
    Maybe a Trail or Scr Cup (see below)

June
    National S/P qualifying
    County Board Trial or Scr Cup

July
    Dublin S/P qualifying
    County Board Trail or Scr Cup

August
    Erin's Isle Scr Cup (this might be a little too close to the Leinster Intercounty maybe have a trail in May instead, as above)

Notes
    Best 6 scores from 8
    Top 5 make the team
    From the 6 players the County Board choose the 5 who play in the National Intercounty

Dug

I would suggest that top 4 are automatic. If you have a player winning a National Stroke he would be auto anyway in current system so that would be your wildcard if he failed to make the team outright YES....
    I take it your trials would be run on Scores rather than Points... Trust me Scores will ensure better consistency as you can get penalised for let say a fella doing -20 and getting 20 points and next to him is only -12 and he gets 18 points... You can see the difference it makes in the end. I would urge you to try and use as many scr cups as possible as there is more pressure in those events as in an evening trial....

Your system is covering 2 trials per month but I remember reading a post that DCB might be looking to get similiar playing calendar that was implemented for 2007 season so it might alter your trials a little.

The overall concept is a very good one and one I could certainly see working very well..

Jinky

With regards to the PPUI website I think it is being updated a lot more in recent times than it used. They can't do all the updating on competition so why don't some players take it upon themselves to the reports on certain competitions that they aren't at. I know results are sent back to the office from Competitions but we are at the competitions and is it not easier to do a report on them here, and then mail that report to PPUI.

I know that the PPUI are very interested in receiving updates on competition within our respective counties. Like I say our PRO can't be everywhere but why don't we do some of the work for them... The report I put on last week about the Munster Matchplay was put on the PPUI site... Sometimes we need to give a little back to the PPUI also, don't we??

What other aspects would you like to see improved on the PPUI site

I have to say that it has improved a lot in recent weeks and a lot of this is down to reports written by the likes of yourself. Personally id love to write a report on competitions I play and i hope to do so in the future if i get enough information! Surely though the PRO of each respective county should be the ones providing these reports or at least helping the PPUI a bit more in this regard!

Ideally id like to see a forum on the PPUI site as it would show we're getting behind the PPUI and not going against them. Im only 19 so I dont remember the last forum so I dont know what went wrong but surely in this day in age things will be run much better.

Theres just a few small things that annoy me on the PPUI website. For example the winners of last years championships have not been updated. Now I know not many people look at this section but it should still be up to date. I was also thinking that maybe time sheets from county competitions could be uploaded on the website. The reason for this is people will have easier access to draws. E.g. My club probably won't recieve the draw for our county matchplay until late next week a few days before the cometition. This is annoying for someone like me as i dont know what times ill be playing meaning i cant take a day off work at short notice. I know this isnt the PPUI's fault but surely there should be more interaction between county boards and PPUI. You've already seen the draw Tipperman yet i wont get it until next week and im the one playing? There is something majorly wrong there. This is more of a rant at the cork county board however :D

I have to say that it has improved a lot in recent weeks and a lot of this is down to reports written by the likes of yourself. Personally id love to write a report on competitions I play and i hope to do so in the future if i get enough information! Surely though the PRO of each respective county should be the ones providing these reports or at least helping the PPUI a bit more in this regard!

Ideally id like to see a forum on the PPUI site as it would show we're getting behind the PPUI and not going against them. Im only 19 so I dont remember the last forum so I dont know what went wrong but surely in this day in age things will be run much better.

Theres just a few small things that annoy me on the PPUI website. For example the winners of last years championships have not been updated. Now I know not many people look at this section but it should still be up to date. I was also thinking that maybe time sheets from county competitions could be uploaded on the website. The reason for this is people will have easier access to draws. E.g. My club probably won't recieve the draw for our county matchplay until late next week a few days before the cometition. This is annoying for someone like me as i dont know what times ill be playing meaning i cant take a day off work at short notice. I know this isnt the PPUI's fault but surely there should be more interaction between county boards and PPUI. You've already seen the draw Tipperman yet i wont get it until next week and im the one playing? There is something majorly wrong there. This is more of a rant at the cork county board however :D

Yes Jinky the latter part of your post is a problem with Cork Co Board in fairness. A senior player sent me the draw of the senior matchplay for Boards etc etc...

Providing information as you stated above by Co Board PRO's.. A lot of Co Boards don't have PRO's as it is a very thankless job.. I stepped down last year in Tipp due for various reasons and they couldn't fill it so I said I would help where possible.. I believe it to be a more important job that Chairman as we are litterally marketing our great game as PRO's....

Apologies to PPUI, the results part of the website is now up to date mostly apart from a few parts. I was clutching at straws, the website has pretty much everything that needed. Apart from a forum of course :)

Yes Jinky the latter part of your post is a problem with Cork Co Board in fairness. A senior player sent me the draw of the senior matchplay for Boards etc etc...

Providing information as you stated above by Co Board PRO's.. A lot of Co Boards don't have PRO's as it is a very thankless job.. I stepped down last year in Tipp due for various reasons and they couldn't fill it so I said I would help where possible.. I believe it to be a more important job that Chairman as we are litterally marketing our great game as PRO's....

I think the cork board also have no PRO, i could be wrong but i dont think they have one! It really is one of the most important roles when you consider the technology available these days to market our game! I think there needs to be a youthful injection into these positions in the future.

DugOut wrote: »
    Notes
    Best 6 scores from 8
    Top 5 make the team

Dug very good suggestion, I'm sure the dublin players would welcome it. A couple of questions. Automatic spot for a strokeplay winner, does this include the Dublin? Also what would your thoughts be on selecting a scr cup where the championship is on to guage how serious some fellows are? Do you think the appetite would be there>?
    Personally I think allowing the County Board a certain amount of leeway is a good idea as this will be a radical change in Dublin if adopted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 CanisLupis

Draupnir wrote: »
    Fair play Tipperman, that was the point I was trying to make, rather than move to a 3rd party site, maybe by volunteering help to PPUI and suggesting things to them first the same problems could be solved through official channels and make things a lot less trouble in the long run for everyone too.

Draupnir,

I applaud your enthusiasm but with all due respect, the above things you suggest have already being tried. Do you seriously think that no-one has approached HQ/NEC about any of the above. If you delve deeper,, you will find some interesting facts.

Do you know that a comprehensive Ranking system was proposed in copy format to the NEC back as far as the mid-nineties! It may not have been perfect but it was simply rejected out of hand. It was not even used as a template to develop a new ranking system.

The first ever Holland/Ireland international in 2006 in Papendal would not have taken place but for the intervention of a certain individual who was not a member of HQ/NEC.

Many proposals have been offered by various individuals but not acted upon.

So,, the offers are there,,, people are willing,,, but not a lot is happening. Why?

It's about control. Some people like control. How much control, do you think the current PRO has over the website?

Rest assured,, it is very little. To be honest, he is a good PRO,,, he took the job when there was no-one else to do it. Remember, Alan Hanlon stepped down at Convention, no-one came forward. The job is seen as a poison chalice. The PRO could never win,,,,, sure look at the debate on this forum,,,,,,,, all the criticism is aimed at PR matters,,,,,,,,,, that's why you won't get too many County PROs either,,,,,,,, could you really be bothered with all the flack when you are busting your guts to get small pieces of info into the public domain.

To make matters worse,, we only add to the problem,, we spend all our time discussing the publicity image problem of Pitch & Putt. We go into detail to criticise the obvious. Image issues are only symptoms of the main problem,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, which is more serious again!!!

i.e Who controls Pitch & Putt in Ireland?

That's what determines what gets done in Pitch & Putt. Concentrate on that and you may find your discussions on this forum taking a different tack.

So, if you really want the freedom you so desire,,,, I seriously suggest that you look at the independent site/forum. Despite what has been said before,, it is extremely feasible and if done properly can exist without fear of sanction by the PPUI. Believe me, law surrounding internet usage covers this.

Things have improved definitely. Have they improved enough? Thats a matter of opinion.

Once again as far as I'm concerned these things all come down to transparency. The PRO has started to put things on the website, such as the reports written by two of the contributors to this forum, likewise they seem to be appearing in the Lobbed Wedge magazine too.
    But what was stopping the PPUI/NEC asking for help with reports such as this.

Take the convention for example. I don't know if I'm entitled to go there to view as myself, as I don't want to go representing the club I'm affiliated to as thats not practical for me.

Of course there should be a PPUI forum, and of course criticism should be allowed. Constructive criticism however is well fair, not the bloody rant above. Enough of us are posting here and putting our opinions out in the open when everyone knows who myself tipperman gcpm hhealy are, its easy to sit behind a screem when nobody knows who you are and go on what appears to be a premeditated rant, with sly digs left right and centre. catch yourself on canis. If you want to criticise someone go ahead and do it, but have the grace to mention who you're on about.

We have a good PRO in Offaly who happens to be pretty much at the top of her sport, which means more often than not the PRO has to provide reports on competitions that the PRO has won. How difficult is that? Very difficult. I've said it before and I'll say it again, when these people (regardless of position) go forward and seek nomination, any help they need should be there, but often its not.

I think the cork board also have no PRO, i could be wrong but i dont think they have one! It really is one of the most important roles when you consider the technology available these days to market our game! I think there needs to be a youthful injection into these positions in the future.

Jinky, you should draw up a letter and seek a nomination. If you are that enthusiastic and have enough time to spare, go for it. The County Board will welcome you with open arms.