Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• 01-04-2008 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭

Hello Guys

Do any of you's play for a local pitch and putt club or would be interested, this be an interesting to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I'd be interested. No idea how to go about doing so though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

I play out of Loughlinstown - are u close to there

I'm near castleknock / navan road direction.

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    I'm near castleknock / navan road direction.

Theres one in Clondalkin and one on the in Road stone that be ur direction

any good p&p websites... i.e. with plenty of info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

www.ppui.ie

I use to play for Guinness P&P until I took up golf and then moved away when I bought my house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭markymac

I used to play years ago, before I took up the golf. It's a great game but I think once the golf bug bites you never really go back to the P&P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Story Gar, you boys up to much out in Loughlinstown this year. One of the CY lads posts here, Wigertoods.
    Ierne on Sunday should be a good one.
    Westmeath Classic on in Kilbeggan last week. Great crowd.

Kingdom wrote: »
    Story Gar, you boys up to much out in Loughlinstown this year. One of the CY lads posts here, Wigertoods.
    Ierne on Sunday should be a good one.
    Westmeath Classic on in Kilbeggan last week. Great crowd.

Whos this send me a private mail thanks

Ye heading there for 9 i say, we've been trying to bring in new comps this year to play opn a regular basis hopefully it works

What's the general costs invloved lads? membership? comps? etc. Also, what's the rule with number of clubs and getting into comps? Do you need to get a handicap first like in normal golf?

You get crowds at the comps too?:D

What's the general costs invloved lads? membership? comps? etc. Also, what's the rule with number of clubs and getting into comps? Do you need to get a handicap first like in normal golf?

It really depends on what course u like to join, ours is €85 on eof the cheapest u could pay up to €200 i say that would be beacuse of having a bar in the club(cheaper beer)..

Comps would be about 5 to 10 euro a week
    Eash club of their own rules, but the ppui have their rules and when u play their comps u have to use theirs no matter what..

Outside comps which would be clubs running opens and scratch cups, once ur affiliated to the ppui u can enter them all..

Handicap is based on ur first 6 cards and then it will go through the county board whatever club u play in eg dublin u go through theirs at the monthly meeting

It should be emphasised that the Pitch and Putt referred to here is the recognised National Pitch and Putt Union of Ireland (PPUI) which has strict rules on course length, clubs, registration and more importantly, prizes.

There is quite a complete fixture list ranging from March to October, both for Adults and Juveniles (u16's). Even the adults have a great variety in competitions from novice (junior) to Intermediate to Senior level which is very competitive.

The official website is great for Clubs and their contact numbers and addresses but is poor for everyday info on the union.

Graeme 82 pitch and putt is a good game to get involved in. As for giving the game up when you play golf properly I don't know about that, all I know is that anyone who was anyway good at P+P on a national level hasn't left the Union for golf and I'd be referring to the last 20 yrs plus. Anyone who says otherwise would be talking shyte imo.

Just looking about those site links... Shandon Park is quite close to me. Only just down the road in fact. The one in Finglas is also close enough by, but there's not much info on it online.

Might head down to Shandon sometime soon for a game and check it out.

I take it only very few clubs are linked to the PP union? The likes of elmgreen and tolka valley courses (the only ones i know!) aren't listed anywhere.

Costs are decent. If you are based on the Navan road then Shandon in Phibsborough would be perfect. Its a fine course but it has a small enough membership afaik, but they have regular competitions every weekend.
    As Hitman said membership fees cost anything from 50-250€ but I'd say there is a handful of clubs at most that charge over the 100€ mark.
    There are two types of competition. the regular club competitions and the Open competitions. Open scratch cups cost €10 for 36 holes and a final 18 if you make a playoff. Opens are usually €3 a card with a max of 8 cards can be played.
    You are only allowed use 2 clubs, one of which ahs to be a putter obviously. Golf balls or specific P+P Commando balls are used.

Just looking about those site links... Shandon Park is quite close to me. Only just down the road in fact. The one in Finglas is also close enough by, but there's not much info on it online.

I take it only very few clubs are linked to the PP union? The likes of elmgreen and tolka valley courses (the only ones i know!) aren't listed anywhere.

They wouldnt be ppui standard, there holes are to long as far as im aware, the distance is 70metres the longest, shandon alright of course though

Graeme from what I've heard elmgreen would be well down the list compared to some of the courses in the PPUI. Tolka Valley is too long of a course by PPUI rules. There are quite a few clubs in the Union. The club in Erins Isle is a good one its in the GAA complex and they are constantly improving there. There would be a younger group of players there.
    In Dublin the active clubs are
    Old County (Crumlin)
    Lucan
    RGSC (Naas Road - opp Camac Valley)
    Glenville (kiltipper tallaght)
    CPM (Clondalkin)
    Guinness (Crumlin)
    Loughlinstown
    CYMC (Marino)
    Ierne (opp Tolka Pk)
    Erins Isle (Finglas)
    Portmarnock (links type course)
    Shandon (Phibsboro)

There are a few others close by. Royal Meath in CLonee is one of the finest in the country. There are also courses in Ratoath and Dunshaughlin. The full list is on PPUI.ie

Cheers for all the info lads! That's a big help. Definitely going to look into it.

keep us posted graeme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Erins Isle did they ever get a sprinkler system in there?

I remember playing there in the summer for quailfying events and the greens where like concrete.

Trampas wrote: »
    Erins Isle did they ever get a sprinkler system in there?

I remember playing there in the summer for quailfying events and the greens where like concrete.

Paul Nolan has taken over the course maintenance there along with a group of lads and the course has come on a long way from what I've heard. So much so that its scratch cup is pretty much the decider of places for the inter county team.

What would you lads normally be scoring in competitions?

What's the standard for inter-county level and all that?

Not that i'm thinking i'll ever get close... just out of interest!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

You are only allowed use 2 clubs, one of which ahs to be a putter obviously. Golf balls or specific P+P Commando balls are used.
    What club do you usually use?

Most lads use a lob wedge or sand wedge so the ball stops quicker

The senior division (handicap +3 to - 3) is quite high, they be the players to represent heir county, the standars in Cork for the Gents is extremely good compared to any other counties.

it be defo less than 50 most times and low 40's which would be 10 to 13 under par lads be shooting

Excuse my ignorance... is that for 18 holes i take it!!:eek:

It is im afraid thats why they have 3 frades senior / inter / junior so everyone has a chance

I use a Ping ISI which I'm presuming is about 56°?

It is im afraid thats why they have 3 frades senior / inter / junior so everyone has a chance

That's some going!! I'd be happy enough if i could get good enough to break 50.

Just thinking back there to when i lived in edinburgh. They have a 36 hole pitch and putt course there in one of the public parks. Totally free to used and it's good fun, but tough. Very hilly. Used to play it alot as a student. Only ever went round it once under par despite playing alot of proper golf around that time and playing off 3.

Think it's billed as Scotlands oldest golf course, but could be wrong.

Hitman is a multiple ex Dublin champion and Intercounty player so his scoring is decent. Obviously conditions play a psrt but if you were palying at a decent senior standard you'd be looking for the minimum of 96 (-12) for 36 holes.
    The standard at IC level depends on the county.
    Cork are by far the best around and if they could field a 2nd team they would probably be ahead too.
    There's a cluster then not far behind and then there are the stragglers (Waterford, Down, Armagh, Carlow, CLare)

Hitman is a multiple ex Dublin champion and Intercounty player so his scoring is decent. Obviously conditions play a psrt but if you were palying at a decent senior standard you'd be looking for the minimum of 96 (-12) for 36 holes.
    The standard at IC level depends on the county.
    Cork are by far the best around and if they could field a 2nd team they would probably be ahead too.
    There's a cluster then not far behind and then there are the stragglers (Waterford, Down, Armagh, Carlow, CLare)

Thanks kingdom - i had a lucky win in 2006 lol beating a good friend of ur's - but its an interesting year as the standard is getting better - the cut for the dublin championship final 12 was 98 so breaking 50 is essential

Good luck this year hope to catch a game with ye

Thanks kingdom - i had a lucky win in 2006 lol beating a good friend of ur's - but its an interesting year as the standard is getting better - the cut for the dublin championship final 12 was 98 so breaking 50 is essential

Good luck this year hope to catch a game with ye

You're spot on hitman its going to be a good year I reckon. Last year was a great year for P+P in dublin, there was a real buzz throughout the year. Standard is rising all over Leinster, even our own county, Offaly, is going to be tight for an Inter County place. We've two championships this year, exciting times.

Any predicitons for the year?

See Fred McMahon's moved to Lucan, thats a bit odd. #

I'm sure I'll catch up with ya at some stage over the Summer Hitman.

You're spot on hitman its going to be a good year I reckon. Last year was a great year for P+P in dublin, there was a real buzz throughout the year. Standard is rising all over Leinster, even our own county, Offaly, is going to be tight for an Inter County place. We've two championships this year, exciting times.

Any predicitons for the year?

See Fred McMahon's moved to Lucan, thats a bit odd. #

I'm sure I'll catch up with ya at some stage over the Summer Hitman.

Thats a weird one alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Play P&P with my non golfing buddies during the summer in Skryne in Meath
    , great coarse and in to Mrs Os for the nicest pint of Guinness there is, It was on the guinness add acctually:cool:

Play P&P with my non golfing buddies during the summer in Skryne in Meath
    , great coarse and in to Mrs Os for the nicest pint of Guinness there is, It was on the guinness add acctually:cool:

Fair play BMB, but I think its stretching it to say Skryne is a great course, there are about 10 better than it in Meath alone!

If anyone knows the results of the Open Competitions and Scratch cups it might be no harm to post them here.

Westmeath Co Board Jack McCormack Classic:

Winner: Patsy Realmsbottom (Ferbane) 96
    Runner-up: Frank Ryan (RGSC) 97
    Third: Colm Somers (Royal Meath) 97

Inter Winner: D Reilly (Athboy) 102
    Junior Winner: Shane Coffey (Kilbeggan) 105

Ladies Grade 1: Tracy McGrath (Erry) 102
    Ladies Grade 2: Noeleen Coffey (Kilbeggan) 113

Team Prize: Erry - Mick Sullivan, Willie Buckley jnr, Larry Maher jnr, T McGrath

Offaly Co Board Scratch Cup Sunday 6th April @ Tullamore.
    10€ entry
    Last card 2pm

Tullamore hosts the All-Ireland Gents Strokeplay championships this year so hopefully it gets a good turn out. I believe the course is in good condition from what I've heard. A quality course and when in good condition its a good test.

Also on this weekend:

Sat 5th April Stackallen Scratch Cup, Pig Hill, Slane, Co.Meath.
    Fantastic course and always a competitive scratch cup.

Sun 6th April Ierne Scratch Cup, Grace Park Road, Drumcondra, D.9
    Another fine course and will be ultra-competitive being the first Dublin scratch cup of the year.

Not sure of times but I would imagine last card to be 2pm, price is 10€

Also on this weekend:

Sat 5th April Stackallen Scratch Cup, Pig Hill, Slane, Co.Meath.
    Fantastic course and always a competitive scratch cup.

Sun 6th April Ierne Scratch Cup, Grace Park Road, Drumcondra, D.9
    Another fine course and will be ultra-competitive being the first Dublin scratch cup of the year.

Not sure of times but I would imagine last card to be 2pm, price is 10€

Ierne last card is 2.30 i take it ur playing tullamore kingdom

yeah hitman, gonna play the ierne open tomorrow, a bit of practice after work on Sat and then Tullamore Sun. Its our first intercounty trial.
    Big crowd from cork playing as far as I know which says a lot when you consider there is a Cork Scratch cup on Sunday too.
    Heard from one of the iop ranked players thatTullamore is flying now that the greens have been cut all week. Lovely coat of grass thanks be to God!
    Good luck in Ierne hitman, its a big one to start with in Dublin. Good crowd I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I was a Shandon member as a juvenile and would love to get back into it, am going to ring them Saturday when there is someone there to get details of membership, I will post here for anyone interested

Draupnir wrote: »
    I was a Shandon member as a juvenile and would love to get back into it, am going to ring them Saturday when there is someone there to get details of membership, I will post here for anyone interested

Good to hear draupnir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

@Hitman
    nice to see another p&p man on the forum Gary.

CY open over the weekend was quite different to normal.conditions were tougher than normal and scoring was a little higher.
    Unfortuneatly was out injured and couln't play.
    Will also miss Ierne thos week too:(:(

Great name mate, kingdom told me who u were, any craic anyway, any new members to the seniors this year or any leaving

Same core as last year.Will have a few lads missing during the year so we have a few new faces to fill in.
    Not all back playing yet.A bit early for some of them.

What' the story witht the National scramble in your place ? details seem a bit sketchy at the minute.

Played Ierne on Friday, place was in poor enough condition. Greens quite bumpy, little grass on them. Can see a few angry heads on Sunday with the scr cup.

Was up in Shandon today, 100 euro for the year which is a bargain in fairness. Going to join next Saturday. If anyone else is thinking. Of it then wekends are the best to go up according to the guy I spoke to

@ draupnir

Yeah most clubs in dublin would have their comps on sat and/or sun.
    During the summer most clubs would also run some sort of fun comps
    midweek normally scrambles or scotch foursomes.

Cheers for that, I'm really looking forward to joining back up, lifetime best is a 7 under round Shandon, will be happy to get anywhere near that this side of the new year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

i didnt know there was a pitch and putt thread as it should be a forum?
    Any way Hi i play for the fermoy pitch and putt for 5 years now.Still off 10 handicap.Im also the groundsman there(bloody hard work!)Things are picking up now,so lads get ye clubs and start bashing:D