Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Tipperman wrote: »
    Ger

Are you worried about me coming up to play already??? No I have never played it but I am hoping to make it up but it a long way to go to then so we'll see;)

Yea im terrified.. Nah wud love ya to come up.We never have anybody outside Leinster r even Dublin sometimes so id relish the challenge.Bring up ur buddys aswel.Great pitching course.Greens arent great always getting vandalised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Seniors

P o Connor
    J Mahony Snr
    T Walsh
    A Malone
    JR Crangle
    C Broe
    B Kilduff
    P Rowe
    G Flanagan
    S Murray
    D Thornberry
    J Smith
    G Fitzpatrick
    D Hayden
    P Byrne
    T Mason
    F Ryan
    C Kane
    D Healy
    S Harkins
    D o Reilly
    J Cullen
    C Gallagher
    J Larkin
    D Wells
    J Dennis
    H Kelly
    D Courage
    F Connolly
    P Nolan
    G Healy
    P Keegan
    W Rogers
    D Redmond
    J Coady

Best score 92 by P o Connor - Cut was 102 bottom 2 got in E mithen Loughlinstown is first sub

Gary what was the course like? Some decent scoring. What happened you

Jinkymagic wrote: »
    Just wondering is it an open draw now or is it seeded according to the scores?

Anyone know? :o

Well done on qualifying Jinky best of luck in the finals.

The County Matchplay took place at Larkspur Park on Sunday 6th July ...... There is no doubt when the All Ireland Inter County Championships are held there in early September it is going to be a real spectacle. A word of thanks also to the Co Board officials who ran the competition so diligently as usual

Great reporting Tipperman, nice to have the updates. Cheers for cork inter/co too,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Kingdom wrote: »
    Gary what was the course like? Some decent scoring. What happened you

To be honest Kingdom i didnt play well but for the first time i took my time and chances, took 4 4's which were silly chips to the hole finish 101 but happy enough, played with Wiger, it just means that were all starting from level in the finals in less than 2 weeks, course was in good nick slopey greens and tricky, very soft and easy to pitch

Oops sorry Hitman thought you didn't get in but you're there. What score did Wiger do?

104 he didnt play great like myself and miss alot of chances - got it going to late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Just scraped in for the Inters myself, a five on the 36th hole almost cost me big time. I'll be playing out to the left and away from the overhanging trees in Erins Isle in future!

Course was in great shape in Erins Isle, greens were particularly good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jinkymagic

Well done on qualifying Jinky best of luck in the finals.

Cheers man! :)

Draupnir wrote: »
    Just scraped in for the Inters myself, a five on the 36th hole almost cost me big time. I'll be playing out to the left and away from the overhanging trees in Erins Isle in future!

Course was in great shape in Erins Isle, greens were particularly good.

well done draupnir, fair play to you all the practising paid off. Good course erins isle, but remember everyone is back to square one now. Get your derriere up to lucan for some practice if you've never played there before!

104 he didnt play great like myself and miss alot of chances - got it going to late

Cheers for that Gary.

Just out of interest there lads, has the results of yesterday done anything on the intercounty team. We are only a month away from the Leinsters now.

Cheers for that Kingdom, will try and get a round or two in Lucan alright.

Cheers for that Gary.

Just out of interest there lads, has the results of yesterday done anything on the intercounty team. We are only a month away from the Leinsters now.

Well at the moment - Sean Harkins and Darren Thornberry be on it.

Not really mate Dublin final will tell us more.

Can you tell me something Kingdom, is there a difference between All ireland Matchplay and Strokeplay when it comes to the inter county team, example, if i finished top 16 in all ireland matchplay, does that differ from top 16 in strokeplay

Well at the moment - Sean Harkins and Darren Thornberry be on it.

Not really mate Dublin final will tell us more.

Can you tell me something Kingdom, is there a difference between All ireland Matchplay and Strokeplay when it comes to the inter county team, example, if i finished top 16 in all ireland matchplay, does that differ from top 16 in strokeplay

Hard to tell. I would imagine that qualifying for the last round of the National strokeplay will count for more. I couldn't say why, I suppose by qualifying for the last round (top 20) you will have produced 4 decent rounds of pitch and putt wheras in the matchplay the lottery of the draw will have accounted for a lot. Obviously the ploy of having the Dublin strokeplay so close to the intercounties will make it easier to pick the winner (as opposed to previously the winner winning in May).
    Someone must have said something about this already. What Dubs made it to the last 16 in glenville?

Hard to tell. I would imagine that qualifying for the last round of the National strokeplay will count for more. I couldn't say why, I suppose by qualifying for the last round (top 20) you will have produced 4 decent rounds of pitch and putt wheras in the matchplay the lottery of the draw will have accounted for a lot. Obviously the ploy of having the Dublin strokeplay so close to the intercounties will make it easier to pick the winner (as opposed to previously the winner winning in May).
    Someone must have said something about this already. What Dubs made it to the last 16 in glenville?

Top Dub in National Strokeplay will get in no matter what.Paddy O Connor has qualified 4 all 3 strokeplays hes up there especially after yesterday.I think Hitman, Harkins and Nolan were the only ones in last 16 in Glenvill. Am i rite?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

GerCPM wrote: »
    Top Dub in National Strokeplay will get in no matter what.Paddy O Connor has qualified 4 all 3 strokeplays hes up there especially after yesterday.I think Hitman, Harkins and Nolan were the only ones in last 16 in Glenvill. Am i rite?

Forecasted Dublin Team
    Sean Harkins
    Darren Thornberry
    Anthony Malone (I think he will win the Dub Stroke)
    Paul Nolan
    JR Crangle (Leinster Match Exploits, and score Sunday)
    Derek Courtney (Experience alone could sway his spot for Leinsters Only but could be dependent on Tullamore and Dublin Strokeplay efforts.)
    If Derek fails to make it, Paddy O'Connor would have a good chance as looks to be in form.. Ger Fitzpatrick will all depend on Dublin Stroke but he has a good chance.. That is my opinion..

The above team I have put in will have 3 debutants but those 3 players have played well and consistent over the year. I maybe way off the mark but I will be very interested to see how wide I actually am!!

me and paul nolan, its a discussion i had with a member out my club, i said both are the same and should be took in that way as u have to play 4 nights of 36 holes to qualify and then 3 36 holes to get to the last 16 in the matchplay, that's more rounds than the strokeplay, and its on the day how u play with the matchplay u have to play well for 6 days probably in total

Forecasted Dublin Team
    Sean Harkins
    Darren Thornberry
    Paul Nolan
    Derek Courtney (Experience alone could sway his spot for Leinsters Only but could be dependent on Tullamore and Dublin Strokeplay efforts.)
    If Derek fails to make it, Paddy O'Connor would have a good chance as looks to be in form.. Ger Fitzpatrick will all depend on Dublin Stroke but he has a good chance.. That is my opinion..

The above team I have put in will have 3 debutants but those 3 players have played well and consistent over the year. I maybe way off the mark but I will be very interested to see how wide I actually am!!

U wont be to far out there tipper - i think derek skinner and paddy will be a long shot to be honest, the team should be based on al competition in my view, all leinsters, all dublin and all ireland comps should be included that will show consistency with all players, this picking of just one event is ridiculous and experience, if there not playing well wnough they should not be on it in my view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 DugOut

In my opinion there is only 1 name on the Dublin team sheet at the moment and that is Darren Thornberry. With the National Strokeplay and the Dublin Strokeplay finals yet to palyed the other 5 places are wide open. These 2 Championships have had the biggest influence on the Dublin team over the years and this year will be no different.

Totally agree dug out, sean harkins has better claims as he's qualified for everything

me and paul nolan, its a discussion i had with a member out my club, i said both are the same and should be took in that way as u have to play 4 nights of 36 holes to qualify and then 3 36 holes to get to the last 16 in the matchplay, that's more rounds than the strokeplay, and its on the day how u play with the matchplay u have to play well for 6 days probably in total

Hitman

If you look at the Ranking allocation for Championships you will see that you get more points for coming 3rd in the Strokeplay than you do for being a beaten semi finalist in the Matchplay. Technically reaching the semi is coming 3rd as there is no 3th/4th place play off etc. As the ranking points are actually better for placing in the Strokeplay it would seem to be that there is more value to doing well in the Stroke and probably the Dublin Co Board look at this in the same light.

Eoin Mithen had a good run in last years Stroke and made the team so this might argue against your comments in a recent post about only playing well in one competition. Perhaps I have my info wrong but I can't remember him figuring in the Dublin Match, Dublin Stroke, All Ireland Match. I know he won a Scr Cup (Think it was Old County) but that was after he got chosen on the Dublin Team... More food for thought eh:cool:

Hitman

If you look at the Ranking allocation for Championships you will see that you get more points for coming 3rd in the Strokeplay than you do for being a beaten semi finalist in the Matchplay. Technically reaching the semi is coming 3rd as there is no 3th/4th place play off etc. As the ranking points are actually better for placing in the Strokeplay it would seem to be that there is more value to doing well in the Stroke and probably the Dublin Co Board look at this in the same light.

Eoin Mithen had a good run in last years Stroke and made the team so this might argue against your comments in a recent post about only playing well in one competition. Perhaps I have my info wrong but I can't remember him figuring in the Dublin Match, Dublin Stroke, All Ireland Match. I know he won a Scr Cup (Think it was Old County) but that was after he got chosen on the Dublin Team... More food for thought eh:cool:

He qualified for all strokeplays and made the cut in each them in the dublins i think he was fifth and then made the cut in the leinsters and had a good run in the all ireland thats consistency in all championships

:D;):rolleyes:

I didn't actually say he didn't qualify.. I was saying that he wasn't in the shake up... Do you think that qualifying for events only and not performing in them is good enough for the level that is required for an Inter County stage?

:D;):rolleyes:

I didn't actually say he didn't qualify.. I was saying that he wasn't in the shake up... Do you think that qualifying for events only and not performing in them is good enough for the level that is required for an Inter County stage?

No i dont think its good enough

Forecasted Dublin Team
    Sean Harkins
    Darren Thornberry
    Paul Nolan

Fairly accurate der Tipper.Mitthen was joint 5th with me in Dub s/play, top 12 in National S/pay with a 55 last round i think(ive some memory), 94 in Leinster s/play so top 10 der,didnt enter National m/play and beaten 1st r 2nd round in Dub m/play.qualified well in all qualifiers

GerCPM wrote: »
    Fairly accurate der Tipper.Mitthen was joint 5th with me in Dub s/play, top 12 in National S/pay with a 55 last round i think(ive some memory), 94 in Leinster s/play so top 10 der,didnt enter National m/play and beaten 1st r 2nd round in Dub m/play.qualified well in all qualifiers

Ok no prob but to me it is not good enough to be qualifying these events and making top 10's etc... That is why Cork are so successful at Inter County... Their team is so hard to get onto but they are challenging very strongly for all events.. Records are proving this.. The will have 3 players this year that were in the top 4 of the Matchplay .. Frank Dineen looking like not making team and he is Munster Matchplay Champion.. I know they are awesome down there but competition is every bit as tough in Dublin but ye seem to fail to ignite in the Majors.. It is an observation but I think we all agree that Dublin Co Board have to lean towards trials of some sort with maybe one wildcard like in Cork

Why not blow the whole thing wide open and create a points system, where points could be entered for every event i.e. scratch cups, opens, league matches, county, provincial and national championships.

In that way, you could promote participation by the top players which would in turn hopefully attract spectators in bigger numbers. It would also make these competitions much more prestigious and increase the income that can be generated by them.

This could work similarly to national rankings but be done internally to Dublin, the more competition that the players take part in to qualify, the more prepared they could be for the inter county.

The County Championships will take place at Ballineen on Sat 19th & Sun 20th July

John Walsh v Eoin Shannon
    Ray Murphy v Donal Duggan
    Frank Dineen v John Sullivan (Majestic)
    Darren Collins v John O'Sullivan
    Paudi O'Sullivan v Kieran Dunscombe
    Gary O'Sullivan v Tadgh Murphy
    Brian Delaney v Frank O'Donoghue
    Alan Kelly v David Ahern

Some games in store here lads...

Draupnir wrote: »
    Why not blow the whole thing wide open and create a points system, where points could be entered for every event i.e. scratch cups, opens, league matches, county, provincial and national championships.

In that way, you could promote participation by the top players which would in turn hopefully attract spectators in bigger numbers. It would also make these competitions much more prestigious and increase the income that can be generated by them.

This could work similarly to national rankings but be done internally to Dublin, the more competition that the players take part in to qualify, the more prepared they could be for the inter county.

That is a fair idea alright TBO....

Dublin should do like Cork though. Leinster Strokeplay Quals, Dublin Strokeplay Quals, National Strokeplay Quals. Pick a random Scr Cup each year.. Also Players that qual for Leinster, National and Dublin strokeplay have the benefit of using their scores in the finals of these comps. This would mean that players who actually qual for these events have the benefit of playing 7 trials where as players who fail to qual only play 4. Then you would see a rise in everybodies game to qual for major events

Cork at the moment use, Charity Scr Cup, Co Board Scr Cup, Munster Stroke Quals, Munster Stroke Finals, National Stroke Quals, National Stroke Finals, Co Strokeplay Finals (Everyone quals) & Co Matchplay Quals. They have 8 trials with either 5 or 6 to count for 4 places. They pick a wildcard for last place and also I think they pick the 6th Man for the Munster Inter County.... There system has proved to be very beneficial in the past. Not out of the top 2 since 1993 and I don't see that trend changing anytime soon.....................

Main reason I suggest expanding to all scratch cups, dublin leagues and even singles strokeplay opens where there is no scratch cup is that the attempt to improve the inter county qualifying system could go hand with an attempt to increase participation in these competitions.

More participation = more money for clubs.