Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

I played at the grip competition this year, hoping to play in saturday weather permitting

What is the GRIP comp in Dublin.. Can you explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Tipperman wrote: »

The 'Grip' is basically a 3 person scramble.Works the same way as Meath and Kildare scrambles... Altho Hitman, i think you played it in the RUMBLE(hate dat comp).The Grip are usually southside courses.Am i right??

the hardest thing is always to qualify for these championships.it is going to be windy and wet on sunday.scoring will be very difficult.anybody who has not played ring common should try and get a game in before sunday.pin positions could make it even harder.

Can anyone give me directions to Ring Common from southside Clondalkin? I hopefully will get some practice in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 DugOut

Ger,

Get on the M50 and head for the M1. When on the M1 you take the 1st exit for Balbriggan. At the top of the slip road turn right and go straight through the roundabouts onto the Dublin road heading into Balbriggan. On that Dublin road there is a left hand turn signposted "Bog of the Ring" take that left and the course is 2 minutes down that road on your left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

3 team competiton, u play 3 course or 4 think 4, First 6 holes one score counts, next 6 holes 2 scores count, last 6 holes 3 scores count, it is a good laugh to be honest

GerCPM wrote: »
    The 'Grip' is basically a 3 person scramble.Works the same way as Meath and Kildare scrambles... Altho Hitman, i think you played it in the RUMBLE(hate dat comp).The Grip are usually southside courses.Am i right??

The rumble is the scramble like kildare and meath, they do not play the grip the way we do. its Ring Common, Lucan, Glenville, RGSC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 CanisLupis

Lads

What would ye all think of a possible Ryder Cup Style match between Munster & Leinster.. Do the Leinster Boys think they would have a chance:D:D:D:D

Could be a good PR Tournament for TV purposes and media etc

It has been suggested before! It's a good idea for the reasons you mention,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, but when would you play it?

I doubt that it would get approval but you could always put it in at convention as a recommendation and watch how the delegates reject it on the grounds that we are always thinking of the "senior players",,,,,

,,,,,,,,,,,,,, but I could be wrong!!!

CanisLupis wrote: »
    It has been suggested before! It's a good idea for the reasons you mention,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, but when would you play it?

I doubt that it would get approval but you could always put it in at convention as a recommendation and watch how the delegates reject it on the grounds that we are always thinking of the "senior players",,,,,

,,,,,,,,,,,,,, but I could be wrong!!!

" Senior Players" is a contentious issue and I agree with it as we do have more on offer than the Inters and Juniors if we are to be honest. So why don't Inter and Junior Rankings be set up and let them have their own style Ryder Cup as the Munster V Leinster would prob be chosen from Rankings...

I have stated before the way forward for Inters and Juniors is to have seperate ranking systems for them... I have spoken to some players in these grades and they welcome the idea....

More food for thought eh;)

3 team competiton, u play 3 course or 4 think 4, First 6 holes one score counts, next 6 holes 2 scores count, last 6 holes 3 scores count, it is a good laugh to be honest

No Hitman that was my point.Thats the Rumble ur talking about.. The Dublin Grip Classic is somewhere in October in the fixture book and its really the Dub scramble

The rumble is the scramble like kildare and meath, they do not play the grip the way we do. its Ring Common, Lucan, Glenville, RGSC

No the Rumble is the 'one score every 6 holes counts'.Im right Tipper dont worry

DugOut wrote: »
    Ger,

Get on the M50 and head for the M1. When on the M1 you take the 1st exit for Balbriggan. At the top of the slip road turn right and go straight through the roundabouts onto the Dublin road heading into Balbriggan. On that Dublin road there is a left hand turn signposted "Bog of the Ring" take that left and the course is 2 minutes down that road on your left.

Cheers Dugout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 CanisLupis

" Senior Players" is a contentious issue and I agree with it as we do have more on offer than the Inters and Juniors if we are to be honest. So why don't Inter and Junior Rankings be set up and let them have their own style Ryder Cup as the Munster V Leinster would prob be chosen from Rankings...

I have stated before the way forward for Inters and Juniors is to have seperate ranking systems for them... I have spoken to some players in these grades and they welcome the idea....

More food for thought eh;)

Again,,, nothing wrong with your suggestion,,,,,,,,,,, but the current ranking system needs fixing first.

Any system that awards 90% of the points to 10% of the players is seriously flawed. Also 50% of the ranking tournaments are open draw matchplay competitions( i.e number 1 could meet number 4 in the first round of the qualifiers ).

Sort this out first,,,,, before we expand it further,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,,, unfortunately,, that would mean work for someone :mad:

Ger looks like u have bee in ur bonnett, yes let me get this right the rumble is the on in march - 6 holes 1 score, 6 holes 2 scores, 6 holes 3 scores.

The grip (scramble) was named about 8/9 years not really sure, the course were Glenville, RGSC, IGB and Postal and always played in mid october.

Now Lucan and CPM are used as the other 2 course are no longer in use.

Ger looks like u have bee in ur bonnett, yes let me get this right the rumble is the on in march - 6 holes 1 score, 6 holes 2 scores, 6 holes 3 scores.

The grip (scramble) was named about 8/9 years not really sure, the course were Glenville, RGSC, IGB and Postal and always played in mid october.

Now Lucan and CPM are used as the other 2 course are no longer in use.

Spot on.. told ya Hitman.U playing in DCBS open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Spot on.. told ya Hitman.U playing in DCBS open?

Good stuff Ger,

I hear DCBS is being sold. Pity always liked that place.

Jinkymagic wrote: »
    Do the dublin leagues take a home and away format? Down in cork we play on neutral courses which I guess is fair but its a bit biased towards the bigger clubs. For example our senior team has not won a game in 3-4 years which sounds terrible but our team is full of average seniors where as we have to play top clubs with top players! We usually lose around the 6-3 mark which isnt bad but it would be nice to win a match :)

Btw I didnt even realise there was a Dublin league until i came on here!

When I played in Dublin, if you were having a bad season, the leagues were always a highlight. We won it once while I was on the Senior panel, and its probably the best experience I've had as a player. Great feeling that night. On the flip side I was on the losing side in the inters too and that was probably the worst I've ever felt.
    I was more into soccer than pitch and putt up to the adults and the Dublin leagues was the only time I got the same kind of camaraderie that you get from a football team.

Those were the days my friend......

Faithful 7 wrote: »
    it's a draft review of the Leinster Matchplay ... it was a weekend that Pitch & Putt came out the winner.

Great review faithful. Fair play

Kingdom wrote: »
    Yep long slog for me here till 6 tomorrow then back in at 4 in the pm.
    Anything around the 98 mark will be grand in ferbane. Wm Buckley Joe McGrath and Larry will all score well there, while I reckon Mick and Graham will do decent scores too (anything between -10 and -14) so if you keep up with them you'll be fine. Still a couple of nice ones to go in Clara which will be the difference I reckon.
    trial 2nite went as follows
    -17 buckley
    -15 maher
    -14 hogans
    -13 mcgath
    -12 newman
    -11 egan
    -9 o connell

so thats all from ferbane 2nite lol
    have two trials next week tuesday in erry and wednesday in tullamore so thats the trials kingdom.

i see we have a new faithfull on the thread i have a feeling its a woman wus i be rite faithfull 7??????????????:D:D

Great scoring Mark, that should stand to you. I think there is still the offaly masters in three weeks too though.

CanisLupis wrote: »
    Again,,, nothing wrong with your suggestion,,,,,,,,,,, but the current ranking system needs fixing first.

Any system that awards 90% of the points to 10% of the players is seriously flawed. Also 50% of the ranking tournaments are open draw matchplay competitions( i.e number 1 could meet number 4 in the first round of the qualifiers ).

Sort this out first,,,,, before we expand it further,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,,, unfortunately,, that would mean work for someone :mad:

The rankings are a tough one to call, having said that I think if you were to look at them currently they are probably correct. There's nothing wrong with change though, perhaps you could post some ideas canis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 -3faithfull

Tipperary Inter Co Team 2008

Paul O'Brien -49
    Brian Webster -45
    Rory Hogan -44
    Noel Joyce - 42
    John O'Meara -40
    Sean Minogue -37
    Davy Morrissey -35
    Stephen Shoer -33
    James Cleary -25

We have 2 trials to go, next Wed in Larkspur Park and then the Riverdale Scr Cup. It going to be extremely tight.

heres the offaly standings,
    joe mc grath jnr -60
    william buckley jnr -59
    larry maher jnr -56
    mick hogan -50
    mark hogan -49
    darren o connell -41
    graham newman -33

we have 3 trials to go next tuesday in erry next wed in tullamore and the offaly masters in erry!!!!!!!
    tipperman how many trials are u counting in ur post?????????
    any one else have any county trial info??????

tipperman how many trials are u counting in ur post?????????
    any one else have any county trial info??????[/quote]

We have played 6 trials at the moment but the scores I have included are counting only 4. We have 8 trials with 6 to count.

Overall the standings are a little different as when lads drop their two worst scores they are actually benefiting...

The total of 6 with 2 trials to go is

Paul O'Brien (Lakeside) -64
    Brian Webster (Larkspur) -61
    John O'Meara (Riverdale) -48
    Rory Hogan (Riverdale) -48
    Noel Joyce (Hillview) -42
    Stephen Shoer (Riverdale) -39
    David Morrissey (Lakeside) -36
    Sean Minogue (Riverdale) -32
    James Cleary (Hillview) -31

Larkspur Park next Wed night will shape up the team I reckon but the Riverdale lads have a huge chance of getting 3 on the team as their Scr Cup is the last trial..

How many trials have been played in Offaly at the moment?

This is the draw for the Tipperary Senior Co Matchplay due to be played on Sunday.

John O'Meara (Riverdale) V Stephen O'Reilly (Hillview)
    Brian Webster (Larkspur) V Paul O'Brien (Lakeside)
    Sean Minogue (Riverdale) V James Cleary (Hillview)
    Davy Morrissey (Lakeside) V Noel Joyce (Hillview)

Some good games in prospect.:rolleyes:

Good stuff Ger,

I hear DCBS is being sold. Pity always liked that place.

The course is nice. The place is a ****hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

Tipper,it seems that Ger and hitman got their wires crossed and now whilst they now agree they didn't explain what the competions entail.
    Two team comps are run each year in Dublin.One is called the GRIP and the other is called the Rumble.
    Both are three person team events:

The rumble is played over two courses,Each player plays their own ball as in singles from a shotgun start.Over the first 6 holes the best score counts,the next 6 holes 2 scores to count and the last 6 holes all 3 scores to count.
    I must say I like this comp especially the last 6 holes as all players are playing for their team rather than themselves.

The GRIP is played over 4 courses and two days.Hitman has already explained where the name came from.The comp is a scramble and each team plays two courses each day.All four scores count towards an eventual 72 hole winner.Prizes for best scores (gross and nett) are awarded for each of the 18 holes played on each course.This means that any team having a bad first round still have a chance on the other courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lobbed Wedge

Hi everyone,

Issue 1 of Lobbed Wedge is now available for circulation. email Lobbed.wedge@Gmail.com and it will be mailed to you within 24 hours.

Cheers

The Lobbed Wedge team.

The course is nice. The place is a ****hole

Now now! :) I hear Clondalkin has gone that bad these days that they've taken out the bridge over the train line to keep yis in!

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Tipper,it seems that Ger and hitman got their wires crossed and now whilst they now agree they didn't explain what the competions entail.
    Two team comps are run each year in Dublin.One is called the GRIP and the other is called the Rumble.
    Both are three person team events:

The rumble is played over two courses,Each player plays their own ball as in singles from a shotgun start.Over the first 6 holes the best score counts,the next 6 holes 2 scores to count and the last 6 holes all 3 scores to count.
    I must say I like this comp especially the last 6 holes as all players are playing for their team rather than themselves.

The GRIP is played over 4 courses and two days.Hitman has already explained where the name came from.The comp is a scramble and each team plays two courses each day.All four scores count towards an eventual 72 hole winner.Prizes for best scores (gross and nett) are awarded for each of the 18 holes played on each course.This means that any team having a bad first round still have a chance on the other courses.

We suggested Adding Portmanock and Ierne to keep the GRIP name. Or make a new northside one with Shandon Ierne CY and Portmarnock, a northside SCIP if you will.

This is the draw for the Tipperary Senior Co Matchplay due to be played on Sunday.

John O'Meara (Riverdale) V Stephen O'Reilly (Hillview)
    Brian Webster (Larkspur) V Paul O'Brien (Lakeside)
    Sean Minogue (Riverdale) V James Cleary (Hillview)
    Davy Morrissey (Lakeside) V Noel Joyce (Hillview)

Some good games in prospect.:rolleyes:

Tipperman are your games over 36 holes? Where is it on?

Kingdom has Mr Buckley in 1 st round Offaly Matchplay in Ferbane. Oh the pain!

Yes i knew that Wiget Hitman had it the opposite way around.. The Grip is a Scramble like any other count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

We suggested Adding Portmanock and Ierne to keep the GRIP name. Or make a new northside one with Shandon Ierne CY and Portmarnock, a northside SCIP if you will.

Not a bad idea Kingdom,considering that one of the main obstacles of this comp was the traveling between clubs.I remember the first year or two were a logistical nightmare.(It has got better with some better planning in recent years).With two courses on each side of the city this could ease the burden of travel on one of the two days anyway.
    As for the northside edition well lets just say,can you imagine 72 people on 18 holes in cy at the same time.(hard hats at the ready is what I say).