Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Apprentice (UK) 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

I thought it was so funny when they gave your man a quote - 4999 for something which should cost 200.

What a mess they made.

Great episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Quality wrote: »

That Lucinda and the tears and whining... Lord help us.

In fairness to her, although she is a bit dippy, the bollocking she had to endure in front of the other girls. Outrageous.

Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

TheGooner wrote: »
    In fairness to her, although she is a bit dippy, the bollocking she had to endure in front of the other girls. Outrageous.

Ugh.

Ok she did get a hard time, but get over it, Did she expect to go on the apprentice and have everyone praise her? Of course she is going to have a hard time, I have seen Sir Alan be a bollox in the past.. God love her when he gets his hands on her.

and what about her strop the next morning, when she didnt get up for the meeting, thats ridiculous carry on.. spoilt brat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I suspect the decision this week was made by the producers. I think they have found their Katie Hopkins for this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Quality wrote: »

and what about her strop the next morning, when she didnt get up for the meeting, thats ridiculous carry on.. spoilt brat.

Yeah she was very silly in that instance. To be honest, if ginger was speaking to me like that I would have had a very hard time keeping it together. I wouldn't cry, probably lose it and batter her though LOL

It was like watching a Mother chastise a child. Worse even. Can't wait for next week.

And the lads ordering the lattes..:D:D:D

That was gas, Ah well credit where credit is due, They won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Think Sir Alan got it wrong, I think the one he fired was the best out of the 3 in the board room, ah well. Fair play to the boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭jaybee747

Yeah i agree, i think the ginger one should have been booted out bigtime.Asking for tips? lol , was hoping Sir Alan would have went through for that one,didnt give her as much stick as i'd hoped.
    And the blonde crying should have stood up the your one and told her to STFU.
    Fair play to the lads this week,they played a blinder.Roll on next Wednesday, Pub Grub!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Yep the ginger Chin should deffo have been given the boot. They will probably try to turn her into the new Katie Hopkins. And if he wasn't going to fire her, why not Lucinda, the crybaby?

I was amazed at the turnaround in the boys team this week, but wonder how much of it was due to Raef's managerial skills, and how much of it was due to the hard graft of the lads in the laundry while the toffs were out having their skinny lattes?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

They will probably try to turn her into the new Katie Hopkins.

I would say that this weeks firing was on the instructions of the producers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭jaybee747

Bond-007 wrote: »

I would say that this weeks firing was on the instructions of the producers.

Your probably right, happens alot in these reality tv type shows, 1st/2nd series are good, and then your watching series 3,4,5... and its ok,what will bring in the ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,220 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Jenny was a total biatch who was a crap team lead, Shazia should not have gone, she was one of the only girls to come up with a decent idea on managing the laundry and the dope Jenny sent her home, I agree she should have fought harder in the boardroom to defend herself and put her point across that the team lead made the decision to send her home. Anyway I think they kept that dope Lucinda in so she can bounce of Jenny, which is lousy. I'm also building up a hate to Helene Speight & Claire Young, who were really bitchy and looks like they get worse in next weeks episode, I see Dublin Jenni is playing it clever and not getting involved in any major confrontations.

Fair play to Raef & the boys who pulled off a well organised task with time to spare, I wasn't hopeful after last weeks task, but Raef was a good team lead, and was clever in getting Simon as his number 2, Simon worked his socks off and I would class him as an early favourite.

Anyway for those who remember Tre (who could forget :) ) from last years show he gives his opinion on tonight's show and I have to say I agree with him you can read it here http://www.bbc.co.uk/apprentice/column.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

WTF? :confused: Either we didn't see everything that went on in this week's task or in the boardroom or SAS was thinking of the ratings because there is no way your one should of been sacked.

The team leader was just cringeworthy to listen to, in fact most of them are. How are the interviews conducted for contestants?

Q. Have you absolutely no common sense whatsoever?
    Q. Do you speak in Management speak regardless of the situation you're in?
    Q. Are you absolutely delusional about your abilities?
    Q. Do you eventually want to work in TV?

Yeas to all the above? GREAT! Welcome to the Apprentice!

It does make good TV but it's definitely gone past it's original remit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Watched this for the first time tonight. That redhead is some wagon. The girl who went home was the least deserving of the sack out of the 3 in the board room. The redhead was so hard to listen to and she has such a high opinion of herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Does anyone know where I can get my hands on a recording (mp3, etc) of the intro to the first series of the Apprentice, the one in which Sir Alan does a monologue saying "I don't like liars, I don't like cheats. I don't like bull****ters, I don't like schmoozers, I don't like arse-lickers"?

It might be up on youtube and you could record it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Yeah, agree that that ginger PM should've got fired.

ROFL at Sir Alan on the 24hr hotline - "How're my pants doing?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Gekko

That ginger Jenny is an evil looking witch. She has a face that could turn milk sour. She defo should've gone.

Did you notice though, that in tha lads team the split was the same as last week, with only the fella from Little Britain making friends with the posh lads?

Still, they worked great together as a team, they deserved to win.

Girls were just a mess, constant bickering. They didn't even check the prices they should be charging. And asking for tips was unbelievable.

I too think that red head shoud have gone, although i remember couple of times before thinking that Sir Alan was wrong, but changing my mind later when he explained his reasons.

Did anyone watch you're fired after? They had a great montage of lads high fiving and hugging each other, it was hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭girliegirl

I missed it!!!!! Raging!!!! Does anyone know if and when it is repeated??

ojewriej wrote: »
    Did anyone watch you're fired after? They had a great montage of lads high fiving and hugging each other, it was hilarious.
    The two episodes so far have been hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Curvy Vixen

girliegirl wrote: »
    I missed it!!!!! Raging!!!! Does anyone know if and when it is repeated??

It was repeated late on BBC2 on Saturday night last week so have a look ~ I'd say they'll do the same every week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭ElNino

Repeat details:

REALITY SHOW: The Apprentice
    On: BBC 2 Northern Ireland (Digital) (142)
    Date: Saturday 5th April 2008 (starting in 2 days)
    Time: 23:15 to 00:15 (1 hour long)

Sir Alan Sugar puts 16 applicants through the job interview from hell. After an exhausting first task, the applicants are challenged to set up an overnight laundry business. They persuade customers to part with their washing then clean into the early hours. The following morning, following Sir Alan's warning not to lose a single sock, they return the clothes. Sir Alan's aides Nick and Margaret watch, and a second applicant will be fired.
    (Stereo, Repeat, Including Hundreds of Sheets From a Hotel Chain, Widescreen, Subtitles)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Excerpt taken from DigiGuide - the world's best TV guide available from http://www.getdigiguide.com/?p=1&r=22587

Copyright (c) GipsyMedia Limited.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    The two episodes so far have been hilarious.

Very true.

I like what they started - 10 worst decisions made by the contestants. Last night it was buying loads of cheese in Cash&Carry to sell on the French market. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭afatbollix

cant wait for the guy who bought a whole chicken per pizza they were going to make!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Marlar

There is a show on tonight at 9pm on BBC2 about the 10 Worst Decisions made throughout the show including the team who bought cheese in the Cash & Carry to sell to the French.

Cant wait!

Marlar wrote: »
    There is a show on tonight at 9pm on BBC2 about the 10 Worst Decisions made throughout the show including the team who bought cheese in the Cash & Carry to sell to the French.

Cant wait!

It's at the same time as new Scrubs so. Pity, will still watch it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

I just read that Katie Hopkins will be a guest on Tubridy tonight this weekend spouting bile no doubt about how useless this year's contestants are. Should be fun so:).

The two ugliest people on tv, on together, Lord help us!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭corcaighcailin9

Thought the lads were class to be fair. I didn't think they could finish all those sheets b4 2am to be honest, I didn't envy their task. However it looks like they're gonna fcuk up next week judging by the clips they showed. The male bonding was class, they must be cringing :D Loved the show last night too. What are the odds that Jenny's "I am still speaking; I feel like I'm breastfeeding them; you're like a fungus" comments will line up alongside Rory's "I am your boss" to Tre in future spin offs??!!