Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards Better Body Super Challenge

• 20-05-2008 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭

I'm in.

Basically due to having to move country for work the whole challenge went arse over tit for me around weeks 2 - 6, I was in for the first two and on board for the last two again. So I didnt make any progress at all.

Since that started i've completely re-located and am now living in Bahrain. My eating is much better now due to not going out and not having the same access to the likes of take aways and stuff.

I'm out here on 90 days cycles (then home for 14 days), on the 80th day (Counting down) I started a lifting plan with the help of some people on the fitness board and have been tracking my progress in a new journal ("Around the world in 80 days"). I'm also from today, incorporating the Couch to 5K running plan, but with a twist, ill be doubling up on the sessions to try add in a blast of cardio to my usual lifting.

My goals are to loose fat and build some strength too (mostly fat though).

I've put on far too much weight in the last year or so and I want to have a nice chunk of it dropped when I go home on leave. Surprise the girlfriend and all that.

Just to reinstate the fact that I need to loose the weight I had a bit of a reminder today. I met a guy I hadnt seen in about 6 months and he just happened to mention I had put on some weight. If thats not a motivator I dont know what is.

I have no access to scales or tape at the moment. I do however have photos taken at the start of the last challenge so ill take some more at the end of this period at compare (if i'm happy with the progress I might even post them :D)

Today is Day 72 more days to go from today.

Apologies about the whole life story thing, I felt some was relevant

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I really will do it this time. Got sidetracked with the last one due to a heavy workload in college which left me with little time to workout and grabbing what ever food I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

Im back again , The last 8 weeks went well for me lost 12 inches of my whole body and cut out diet coke addiction havent had one in 8 week and dont intend on having one ever again !!

Im off to france on thur till sunday . So il start again monday 26th mayand will have 7 weeks to my summer holiday so will give 100% again for that.

My goals this time around:
    • Get stonger !! Want to see some good increases in my bench and squat
    • Get leaner
    • Reduce bodyfat. Need to get a calipers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Count me in! I only discovered about the original one at week 3 so i left it. Looking forward to this one now though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

Me too! Couldn't train during the last one, delighted it is back on. I've been GAA training the last couple of weeks and hitting the Gym. In fact off for my first session on Westside for Skinny "you know what" programme now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭SMK

I'd like to re-join. The last 8 weeks didn't go well for me. In the whole 8 weeks I lost 1 kilo! In fact, I felt so down about it that I stopped off at the chipper on the way home this evening! Although, if it hadn't been for the 8 week challenge in the first place I probably would have put on weight!! So, start again tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Ok Im in , I failed miserably at the last one :( due to a number of factors, I injured my triceps at the start so no decent upper body work up until 4 weeks ago when my doc told me told me to take a week off after two it still wasn’t right so after another two im easing back into it gently , (you can bet I put on size on my legs over this period) with out my normal gym routine my diet went to crap (there was some comfort eating gong on there as well)

There is about a 2-3 kilo difference between the old and the new scale in my gym the new one has me at 98.9 as of Monday, by July 28 I want to be around 85-90 (it will more than likley be closer to 90) and I want to get my cardio back up to scratch 1.5 miles in under 10:45 , plus Id like to get the size in my shoulders back I’ve lost so much size from not being able to do heavy shoulder pressing and im going to try to incorporate more stretching into my workouts to help with flexibility

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I'll rejoin as well. I failed the last one, drank too much, and I had too many cheat days. I was still getting used to a new full time job, I@m now part time so I'll be able to train loads in the build up to going back to college in September.

Although I failed the last one, I still lost close to 6kg, around 3 inches off the waist and I look and feel a lot better!

Starting a low carb diet today, I'd say around 60 to 70 grams of carbs will do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

When the last Summer Challenge started, I had no interest in losing weight or inches etc all I wanted to do was to push myself harder in the gym and try to increase the big three. It kinda seemed like everyone else was trying to loose weight or put on weight, anyway, when people were putting up their measurements and stuff I felt a bit silly just posting up what improvements I made in the gym that week.

Fast forward to two weeks ago, I was studying for exams - the stress and the nerves really got to me and to cope I ended up with the most insatiable appetite and I showed little to none self control, eating everything in sight. And it wasn't even good - pastries, pizzas, waffles, more pizza. Needless to say, it's left me a little on the soft side :o.

But now that my exams are over, I can focus on getting that hard tummy that I've wanted for so long :) I'll do up all my measurements now in a minute. I'm kinda scared to do them tbh coz I know for the first time in ages, I'm not gonna be happy with them and I'm actually annoyed at myself that I let it happen but what can you do.

For what it's worth, even though I wasn't posting here I was still doing my best to kick ass in the gym every day. I got a whole core program made up, I did my two sessions of cardio a week and improved on the big lifts - Deadlift: 90kg x 2 x 3, Squat x 65kg ATG (Bench is still crap :() . At the time I was around 61kg. I'm dreading going upstairs to weigh myself now...I've avoided the scales for the last two weeks on purpose...Anyway...here it goes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

I'm in too :D Will start from next Monday - that gives me a break of a few days to have a few cheats - just so I can give it 100% again from next week. Having said that, I started the Couch to 5k and I will be doing my 3 sessions of that this week, along with a boxercise class this evening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Hayden*

I'm in too :D this time im going to focus more on my food because I havent been noticing the scales go down or the inches :o but I do exercise so obviously I am over eating!! So I will see some more changes this time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Fatloss08

im in :)

Do we post up our measurements and goals etc on here????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Yep I'm in again. Going to try to be as good as possible, but I'll probably be drinking more than the 8 weeks I was on the challenge.

I'm also going to try increase my calorie intake, I'm training pretty hard and not seeing the results I want, I think I really need to be eating more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

I'm in, only spotted the last one in week 8!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

I'm in.

gym 2/3 times a week for some strength training. GAA training 1/2 a week. match every now and then

watching diet - lean meat, simple meals with carbs (wholemeal pasta and rice) and vegs, fish for sandwiches & lunch, porridge for breakie, lots of fruit and water. brown breads
    cut out the full fat milk, eat natural youghart
    try and give up tea, get rid of biscuits from house
    no beer and no chipper for a while

anything else?

I just weighed myself and I was 82.9kg at last! I find this strange as I've eaten plenty today, and I've drank over six litres of water. Strange!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

johnk123 wrote: »
    Do we post up our measurements and goals etc on here????
    Put up your goals for sure - once they've been written up it adds an extra incentive to stick to them ;) As for the measurements it's completely a personal choice if you'd like to make them public or not, but certainly write them down somewhere for your own records as it's hard to judge progress without having quantifiable numbers to rely on. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

I'm in.

Main goals are to lower bf% and get stronger.

I'm 165cm and 52kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

My goals are the usual ie to make my body smaller and harder. I need to cop on about my diet - particularly in terms of planning and cooking from scratch. I feel like I have a bit of a routine going in terms of exercise so for the next few weeks I'll really be focusing on my food intake.

I've noticed that recently I've started to have a few small fitness goals for myself rather than purely cosmetic ones. The last 8 weeks have gotten me off the ground a far as exercise is concerned (I was v v unfit but I feel I've progressed a little). I even thought I saw a slight shadow of a muscle line on my arm earlier but I asked my sister about it and she said it must have been the light playing tricks on me :)
    Also I started Ashtanga tonight - its pretty hard! I really enjoyed the first part of the class but I kind of ran out of energy in the second half. Going to session with p t in the morning. That usually nearly kills me - I'm really looking forward to when it stops nearly killing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭sobriquet

I'm in. I'm doing a 10 mile run in August that I want to get a good time for. I'm getting the miles in, but not as consistently as I'd like. Stamina and speed seem to be improving though.

I'd also like to lose more bodyfat and gain strength, but I'm not focused on them yet. Starting to think about how I can integrate the whole lot.

Fair play for keeping this running Gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Just back from holidays - didn't get a chance to weigh myself before I left but I weighed myself as soon as I got back for the craic and had put on 7Lbs in a week :D

Looks like it's back training for me.

ok...... well, my goals are to tone up my abs and upper body in general!

How? Well, a 30 min run 4/5 times a week. Push ups and crunches etc for the upper body(also im considering purchasing some weights training equipment). And my diet is average, but im gonna change a couple of things.

I'll stick up the measurements etc tomorrow

My goals are:

Bring out my abdominals.
    Bring up my three big lifts.
    Feel healthier.
    Have a decent HIIT running time, say 3km in under 15 minutes easily.
    Eat more vegetables and good foods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Lola87

mp1972 wrote: »
    I really will do it this time. Got sidetracked with the last one due to a heavy workload in college which left me with little time to workout and grabbing what ever food I could.

My sentiments exactly. I'm ready to start this for definate now and I will give it 100%. I'm also starting the Couch to 5K tomorrow so hopefully that will help with the fat loss too.

Will post up starting measurements later. Goals are to get fit, tone up and lose fat.

I was over a stone lighter this time last year!:eek: ...so definatley need to cop myself on and get back into a healthy routine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

hunter164 wrote: »
    I'm in.

Main goals are to lower bf% and get stronger.

I'm 165cm and 52kg.

Are you a guy or a girl??

165cm's about 5'5 right?? 52kg would be very lgiht for a guy. It might look like you have too much bodyfat because you don't have much muscle underneath it.

Anyway... food for thought (or not as the case may be!! :D)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Well my goal's to get down to 90kg on July 26th via diet and water cutting. I'd like to get down to 96kg by June 29th. The remainder will be taken off in water weight.

I started out at 103.5kg two weeks ago and was just under 101kg (by like .02kg) last Thursday and that was just from cleaning up my diet to a large extent and eating more freqiently. If I can continue to take 1kg off a week I'll be more than happy.

Back from hols today ! And I eat a drank rings around myself .. Can feel the fat on me already in only 4 days ! So tommorrow is the first day for me I have 7 weeks to my hols.

Goals:
    • Get rid of fat the I have added due to over indulgence in french wine and bread !
    • Get stronger with regard to my squatting and benching
    • Get more defination on my arms and abs
    Havent measureed or weighed myself since im back which is only a couple of hours Im actually afraid to. So tommorrow is d day ! ;)

So I took all my measurements and stuff on Wednesday last nut they were completely skewed (time of the month), so I'm not going to post them as they're pretty pointless as a base to work from. I reckon I'll take them again this Wednesday and work from there.

Training has been a bit hit and miss this past week, it was my sisters Communion on Saturday so with all the prep that went into that I barely had a moment for myself. I have a load of ideas in my head as to where I'm gonna go with my training. Like I said, I just haven't had time to do anything this week and last but hopefully I'll get some of them down tonight and can start working on the new program asap! I'm gonna keep recording my progress in my log anyway!! :)

Ok here it goes. Starting measurements are:

Neck 13.5
    Arm 12
    Chest 34
    Waist 30
    Hips 37
    Leg 24
    Knee 17
    Calf 15

Height 5' 7"
    Weight 144lbs
    bf% 24%

Ugh:o major work needed!

My goals are:
    -improve fitness
    -decrease bf%
    -lose inches off waist and hips

Ok so the main reason I ended up in such bad shape was due to developing a sugar addiction:o and not exercising. So the plan is to remove processed foods and sugar from my diet (except fruit), majorly cut down on carbs (carb queen here like!), eat super healthy-lots of veg and protein....and of course exercise every day, and do weights. Here we go!:eek:

Can't wait to be fit and healthy again!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 HELM

Great timing - I am just back from holidays and am afraid to step on the scales :eek:
    I was thinking about joining weight watchers tomorrow, was just checking out class times, prices, etc but this challenge may be exactly what I need.
    My aim is to lose weight and tone up by eating healthy food and exercising regularly. More importantly I want to make these changes part of my life, not just a 'diet' I am on today and off next week.
    I have another holiday at the end of August and need to look good ;) so have about 12 weeks to get fit and toned.
    I'm going to start tomorrow and will keep a record of my eating and exercise in the fitness logs so I can track my progress.
    Thanks for organising again G'em :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

It's high time I got my own arse in gear and all.

Although I was more than a little scatty during the 8 week original challenge what with moving house and job and losing a fair bit of my sanity along the way I still managed to lose weight - I'm not entirely sure how much because I left my scales behind me, but that's no bad thing :o and my measuring tape is buried at the bottom of one of the multitude of packing boxes that's in the spare room waiting to get emptied. I've got an ETA of Christmas '09 for that task happening...

But one of my problems is that when I start seeing results I relax a little (too much) and I've been eating waaaaaaaaaay too much ice cream and sugar in the last two or three weeks. I could be completely irresponsible and blame my bf for this ("seriously darling, switching from double chocolate to vanilla is not what one would consider 'cleaning up your diet'") but at the end of the day it's me and me alone who is in charge of what food I put in my belly. So it's back to my tried and trusted regime of eggs for brekkie, snacking on fruit and yoghurt, and meat and vegetable meals with some wholemeal pasta or nutty bread if I feel the need for carbs.

One thing that is definitely helping is orange ice lollies - you can buy plastic lolly trays in the €2 shop, make them up with non-concentrate juice of your choice and hey presto!, a quick thirst and sweet-craving quenching snack that won't pile on the lbs, but will help you top up your vitamin C and antioxidant levels.

So I spent aaggesss last night working on a new program for the gym. Like I said, I have a ton of ideas in my mind about what I want to do with my training this summer but when I went to write them all out, one plan just kept jumping out at me. Something that I'd done before, that nearly killed me the last time. Sheiko. For those that don't know what Sheiko is all about, it's basically practicing the big three lifts very frequently without much assistance work. The idea behind it is that by training the big three very often (up to 8 times a week), your body will adapt to the work load and allow for even more volume in each workout. Since you're working around 80-85% most of the time you don't get burned out, but you do get a lot of practice with moderately heavy weights and as you go through the program your work capacity absolutely goes through the roof. The first few days might be brutal, but the last week or two suddenly become VERY manageable. And that is where the beauty of the program lies. You have to push so hard so often that the increased volume leads to great conditioning and decent strength gains in the prep. period and then once you move into the comp cycle it's all pulled together to peak you.

Very simply, greater volume tolerance = better work capacity = more training, with more weight = more strength

I reckon it will especially help my bench which has really been suffering - with Sheiko, the CNS gets very efficient at the muscle firing patterns and the groove required for benching. These workouts are done mostly in the range of 50-85% of 1RM, using waves of volume and intensity. On paper it looks so, so easy but it's brutal in real life.

I'm really excited about trying it again - I know that it's exactly the kind of structure I need right now, I have loads of free time to spend in the gym and recover afterwards and I know it works. On the other hand, I'm nervous. It's like looking back at something horrible in the past but somehow always managing to convince yourself that it wasn't as bad as you remember. I'm thinking back to when I ran it before and saying to myself that it couldn't possibly be as hard as I remember, that I must have been exaggerating it. But I know I wasn't, it's a really really tough program to run.

I spent hours last night working out all the percentages so I have it all laid out and ready to go which means that my training is sorted for the next little while.

There was actually another program that I thinking of running - a deadlift program. It was 8 weeks long and I know that at the end of it I would have had my double bodyweight deadlift. It was a really tough decision to make but I decided to go with Sheiko again. I'll do the deadlift one afterwards. It means that I prolly won't have done 2x bw within a year of joining the gym but I'll only have to wait a few weeks over it to get it!!! :)

Next problem is my diet. I know I've said it before but when I get stressed out my diet just turns to shit. In the last few weeks with my exams and then the prep for my sisters Communion, my diet has reverted back to my pre-lifting days. Not so much that I've been eating a ton of junk food more, that I've been chronically under-eating. I'm embarrassed to put up my diet but I promise that I'll fix it. I'll especially need to if I'm even thinking about finishing Sheiko.

So that's it. Going to the gym in a little while to start on day number one. I'll report back later with how I got on!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Yeah I only lost a miserable 6 pounds (sounds better than 2.7 Kg) the last time round. Lots of reasons for that but at the end of the day I didn't achieve what I set out to.

I'll try again but I plan on making this a 10-week thing (for myself), clearly defined into two 5-week slots. I'm starting on June 9th. Mostly because I'll be away for some time between now and then and it also gives me time to eat all the chocolate in the house without resorting to throwing it out now that I've spent money on it :)

I'll probably post my Week 1, Week 5 and Week 10 measurements to keep things simple but will record measurements for all weeks.

I have the workout I want to follow already, it's mostly focused on weights with some cardio thrown in. Let's see how it goes :)

I'm sick :( So my routine is gone out the window. Haven't been able to go to the gym all week, back in work today but think it'll be home for me at lunch :mad: Raging because I really wanted to keep up with my couch to 5k plan!!

Cork_girl wrote: »
    I'm sick :( So my routine is gone out the window. Haven't been able to go to the gym all week, back in work today but think it'll be home for me at lunch :mad: Raging because I really wanted to keep up with my couch to 5k plan!!
    It's so annoying being sick - if fecks up the routine and it gets annoying when you want to train and can't!

One thing I heard being said about when you're sick though - if you have that bit of free time at home because you're not training, put some though into your meals - i.e. what you want to improve, are you getting the right balance etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Lola87 wrote: »

Ok so the main reason I ended up in such bad shape was due to developing a sugar addiction:o and not exercising. So the plan is to remove processed foods and sugar from my diet (except fruit), majorly cut down on carbs (carb queen here like!), eat super healthy-lots of veg and protein....and of course exercise every day, and do weights. Here we go!:eek:

Can't wait to be fit and healthy again!:D

May I just say I think this is an excellent post. I really like how simple you've laid it out and your obvious grasp of what it takes to get in shape.

I am currently trying to configure six, 600 calorie meals to gain some muscle and I wish I had your clarity.

I need a kick up the hole.

Thanks Vegata! Wish it was as easy as it looks on paper though! My willpower is being seriously tested by sugar and carb cravings at the mo;) but I know I just have to get used to this new way of eating and i'll be much happier and healthier.......now I think I'm going to go on the trampoline for a while to take my mind off food!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Ruthy85

Oh I'm so in.....I keep falling off the band wagon...need to get those last ten pounds off me!! yieewww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭spottykatt

+1 :)

Count me in, goals are to drop body fat, find my abs in the process!, and clean up the diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 St Bunt

I'm delighted this is continuing. My diet has really changed over the past 2 months or so but need to work on the exercise.
    Best thing on the internet this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Hayden*

Ive finally lost 1 lb yipeee :D!! gonna try do some exercise at the wknd and not go mad cos its the bank hol wknd and gain even more than a lb!! Weather permitting il'l be outdoors for fresh air and give myself a break from indoor workouts!

Between the super mega summer challenge threads and logs which I've spent the past couple of evenings rooting through I'm getting well enthusiastic about diving into a proper training regime. It's great to read all that stuff, fair play to all of ye.

Until now I've been doing mostly ad-hoc stuff - running when I get the chance, a bit of minor weights etc, but nothing with structure. I've set myself some goals though, and I started to push myself this week to see where abouts I am - did a fast (for me) 25:38 3 mile run on Monday evening and a comfortable 40:13 4.4 mile on Tuesday evening, which were good times for me. Unfortunately I then got a bit of a cold so I've laid off a bit.

In the mean time though though I've been working out a running routine I can start at the weekend which'll incorporate long runs, tempo and repeats or intervals. I'm also going to look into getting into a proper strength routine, even if it's just what I can do at home.

Right, back to it tomorrow. Actually, feck tomorrow, I'm gonna hit the chin bar.

So I'm two days into Sheiko. So far so good. The first day was two lots of benching, with some squatting squashed in the middle and some assistance work thrown in for good measure. The squats, were really hard. I'm not used to doing 5 x 5 and never fully appreciated just how tough they are. I could feel my legs seizing up before I even left the weights rooms and I've been suffering really badly with those seriously-not-able-to-walk-down-the-stairs-DOMs. The DOMs are pretty bad all over actually but my legs are just particularly bad.

I was back in today for some more benching and deadlifting. It definitely wasn't as bad as Tuesday, the deadlifts to the knees and the benching was fine but by the time I got to the rack pulls, I was shattered. Taking it easy tomorrow and then back in on Saturday for day 3! :)

So I have my training sorted, next up is my diet. The only problem is, I really don't want to change it. See, the last time I had an over haul of my diet I lost loads of weight but after a while I started to get a little bit more relaxed about my whole approach to eating and all the bad stuff started to slip back into my diet again. At the same time, I took up weight training. So what was, and still is happening, is that I can afford to eat more food without putting on weight because of the extra calorie expenditure I get through my training. That would be fine, if the food that I was eating was in any way decent but it's not. My diet is crap. I eat far too many processed, carb laden, saturated fat loaded foods. I eat barely enough protein for a normal person, let alone someone who likes to lift some heavy-ass weights a few days a week. I eat barely any vegetables, no good fats, skip breakfast more often than not. Basically, for someone who's as intent as I am on my weightlifting goals, I'm simply not eating the right way to achieve them. How dumb does that sound?? After describing how awful my diet is, I still say that I don't really want to change it. The reason is, I actually enjoy what I'm eating. I like having a pizza 2 or 3 times a week, I like fizzy drinks, I like all of these things that are so bad for me.

Up until now, I haven't really seen a problem with the way I eat because I've stayed so slim. When I cleaned up my diet before it was because I wanted to loose weight. Now, I want to clean up my diet again, and has nothing to do weight, it's to do with eating the right way to get the most out of my training but how do you measure that?? With weight, I was able to measure myself, take photos, weight myself etc and when I saw results, it was motivation to keep going, but how does one measure the effect changing your diet has on your performance?? I'm getting stronger as it is, if I were to change my diet and then manage an extra set of deadlifts next week, how do I know that that was as a result of the diet?? It doesn't act as enough of an incentive for me.

I work my arse off in the gym, every new PB, every missed rep, everybody else in the gym, everybody else's training logs, the world records to be broken - all motivate me to work that little bit harder each time I walk into that weights room. Yet, I can't get my arse in gear to sort out my diet.

I'm not sure what the point of this mini rant was, maybe by awknowledging that something needs to be done about it in public will act as a bit of an incentive for me to work harder on it.

Wow - I think you've pretty much summed up what a lot of us feel every now and again!

For me personally, I feel a lot better physically as well as mentally when I'm eating the right foods. If I eat crap I get indigestion, feel bloated etc, and am not able to train properly. So it's a no-brainer for me. But if I could still get away with eating sh*te and it didn't seem to affect me, I don't know if it would be so easy...

joker77 wrote: »
    For me personally, I feel a lot better physically as well as mentally when I'm eating the right foods. If I eat crap I get indigestion, feel bloated etc, and am not able to train properly. So it's a no-brainer for me. But if I could still get away with eating sh*te and it didn't seem to affect me, I don't know if it would be so easy...

Spot on joker77. That's exactly how I feel if I eat the wrong foods. So it's a wellbeing and treating your body right - I may crave bread and junk but I almost always regret it immediately afterwards! Except.. when I'm hungover, where I just crave more.

It's down to health at the end of the day - what you put in you get out :D So treat your body to nutritious healty foods and just see what happens. At the very least, you know you have a healthy balanced lifestyle - which it wouldn't be if you were to continue eating junk.

Thanks guys. I just wrote this in my log so I'm gonna copy some bits from my reply over there to here.

I know about all the benefits of healthy eating but because I can't measure the effect it's having on body, like I would if I was eating to loose weight for example, means that I'm more likely to fall into the trap of 'ah sure what harm is this one pizza', or 'one bottle of coke is hardly going to kill me' and on and on it goes until my diet is back up in disaster-land again. :o

The way I was thinking of doing it is, instead of waking up tomorrow and trying to implement a brand new diet plan, is to do in stages. I think it'll be more manageable that way. So for example, I could start by eating breakfast every day for a week, then the next week make another change, like cutting out the fizzy drinks, then the following week cut out the pizza.

I think small manageable steps may be the key in me making this change a successful one??

I have seen your pic on your log and you look in great shape malteser ! So I can only imagine how hard it is to stay away from crap when it doesnt really affect your weight as such and you are still increasing in strenght. But I am sure if you were to cut of the crap your strenght would probably go through the roof.
    Unfortunetly I cant eat what I want and I am in the gym 5 days a week for the last year and I work really hard. When I smoked 2 years ago I excercies 2-3 times a week and I was lighter then than I am now and could actually eat more(junk) than I can now and I wasnt weight training just cardio. But I know that maybe I am 1/2 stone heavier than I was then but I am healthier way healthier than I was 2 years ago. But it doesnt stop me trying my god damn hardest to get back to that weight unfortunetly I havent been able to !

Malteaser! wrote: »
    I'm more likely to fall into the trap of 'ah sure what harm is this one pizza', or 'one bottle of coke is hardly going to kill me' and on and on
    Great point, and something I suffer from too. I'm your standard fat-body-type (mesomorph?) with a sweet tooth and a penchant for comfort eating. It does seem sometimes that the healthier I get the more leeway I give myself - sure I just did 5 miles, a snickers can't hurt, that sort of thing.
    Malteaser! wrote: »
    The way I was thinking of doing it is, instead of waking up tomorrow and trying to implement a brand new diet plan, is to do in stages.
    FWIW, I'd say this is the right idea, and it's how I've gradually gotten to a healthier diet. I'm still on three meals a day, but it's a rigid three, and it's at this stage a mostly-veg-and-lean-meat diet. Happened gradually - muesli; tupperware lunchbox filled with salad and chicken fillets; steaming veg in the evening etc etc. At this stage I love it and couldn't go back.

Great log btw. Best of luck.

think small manageable steps may be the key in me making this change a successful one??

I think this is good idea malteaser, and everything in moderation is good. I am quite obsessive and when it comes to food I am the same ! Its all or nothing with me you see. If I have one crap thing thats it for the day Il bing all day on junk ! I am great at giving myself a hard time when I eat junk which actually I think is my downfall a lot of the time, Its that I am way too strick on myself that I sorta go bonkers everynow and again and then feel crap for it ! There is never a balance with me !!

Like I done so well in the challenge with my eating and then I went to france and basically un done a lot of the work I had put in( not all ) , I measured myself and am that disappointed with myself I havent put my measurements up !!