Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PR or ER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I dunno does anyone want to hear what i think about training sessions? Like i remember when hanley all of a sudden decided to be a weightlifter and was blabbering on about his sessions, i was like "what are you at you gom". :pac:

I can't really see it being of any benifit to anyone, and i'll just come across as a tool, i might just resurrect my blog and talk to myself. :o:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I dunno does anyone want to hear what i think about training sessions? Like i remember when hanley all of a sudden decided to be a weightlifter and was blabbering on about his sessions, i was like "what are you at you gom". :pac:

I can't really see it being of any benifit to anyone, and i'll just come across as a tool, i might just resurrect my blog and talk to myself. :o:D

Keep the log for yourself you knob. So you can see progression 6 months down the road.

Or look at what I did and use it to get better too.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Its not like you are the only lad with a weightlifting log.
    Frankly its a damn sight more interesting that that period when your back was ****ed and all you did was bench....

I mean who's log is of benefit to anyone?
    Seriously.
    Like say mine: "How to fail and whinge about it" I have no idea why people even check it.
    Or Hanleys reads like a translation of that Karma Sutra, but its of benefit to him and maybe of interest to people who like that sort of thing.

I mean when you think about it, you are still squatting.
    And still pulling off the floor.

The only thing you're not doing is benching, which (whilst being totally gay) is like making up for the injury.
    Its still of interest and can help you keep accountable.

Today

Snatch

Clean

Gunz.

Fleh, my legs pretty much refused to play ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Today

Snatch

Clean

Gunz.

Fleh, my legs pretty much refused to play ball.

i came home and had ice cream...

You're a wanker. I really wanted to go get that ice cream.

ya you put the idea im my head...

Bar Guff

Snatch
    40kg 3 x 3
    50kg 2 x 3
    60kg 3 x 3
    65kg x 3
    70kg x 1 x 1

There was a couple a fails in they're from being an idiot. Also running after 65kg is embarassing.

The Last snatch was nice. Felt like most of them did yesterday. It's so ****ing easy when it goes kinda right, then when it doesn't you look like a plonker.

Powercelan
    70kg 2 x 2
    80kg 2 x 2

Clean-ish. I had no interest in getting under the bar, but forced myself to
    80kg 2 x 2
    85kg 3 x 2
    90kg 2 x 2
    95kg x 1 x 1 x 1 Powercelaned the last one.

There was probably a few more attempts but that's basically it. I also jerked one of them :pac:

am sore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I just noticed you posted that video, nice one :)

Your log is still interesting...and you still don't whine as much as me; keep posting.

Also, start putting up vids, it'd be nice if we could see what you're doing and the right/wrong way...I'm sure you've vids of both!

p.s. does this make up for being mean to you?? I'm sorry:P

I'm purposely not videoing anything.

I've only seen one of my lifts, and that was by accident.

Was gonna take tomorrow off, but my printers broke so i've to go to the library.

Also forgot i have to front squat.

So, ah, i'll probably train twice :pac:

Today

Woke up at 7:30 and tried to get out of bed. It didn't go well.

Got a chunk of course crap done though, and actually performed some actual work. You know the type that gives you money for knee sleeves.

Tonight

Place was Jammers

Guff with bar x a ton

Snatch
    40kg 2 x 2
    50kg 2 x 2
    60kg 2 x 2
    65kg x 1 x 2
    70kg 2 x 1
    75kg x 0

60kg x 1
    65kg x 1
    67.5kg x 1
    70kg x 1
    72.5kg x 1
    75kg x 1
    77.5kg 2 x 1
    80kg 4 x 0 :(

I probably shouldn't be doing this. Should have a program soon so i'll stop acting the maggot.

Powerclean
    60kg 3 x 2
    70kg 2 x 2

Clean and Jerk
    70kg x 2
    80kg 2 x 2
    85kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    95kg 2 x 1
    100kg x 1
    105kg x a clean pull lol fml
    90kg 3 x 2 i cant call these good, but they were definately better.

Front Squats
    70kg x 3
    90kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    130kg x 1
    135kg x 5 (not really 5. was 3-2 i was bollixed and it was hard.)

Curls
    Bar 3 x 15

My quads don't feel dead anymore, but i think i might have killed my glutes.

Ton of people in the gym, some of whom were actually lifting big weight which gave me a sad.

This am

Cleans
    70kg 12 x 1 lol

Squats
    40kg 2 x 5
    70kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 1
    160kg x 1
    180kg x 1
    A weight x 5 I suspect it was 140

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

insanity+feeling.jpg

lol, as Parsley has alluded to, i'm currently dying from AIDs.

While I'm at it i'll do an update.

This AM

Lemsip + Caffeine ftw

Snatch
    Bar guff
    50kg 2 x 2
    60kg 2 x 2
    65kg x 2
    70kg x 2
    75kg x 2 PR
    80kg x 2 PR

85kg 3 x 1
    87.5kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    92.5kg x 1PR
    95kg x 1PR

97.5kg 2 x 0 first one my left elbow didn't lock, second one all i was thinking about was my elbows and i surprised myself so much by catching that i dropped it.
    100kg 2 x 0 and why not.

Left it there, sick enough, drifters jeep is currently plastered with my snot :pac:

also. 102kg in clothes today. I expect a BW snatch sooner rather than later

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Very nice snatching. Are you planning on competing?

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Very nice snatching. Are you planning on competing?

might aswell.

Don't plan on being very competitive like, but twill be a laugh.

I've only been at it a month but tis great craic.

I'm kinda half thinking about going after a super total. If i could find a PL and Weightlifting meet within a week of each other at some stage, lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

might aswell.

Don't plan on being very competitive like, but twill be a laugh.

I've only been at it a month but tis great craic.

I'm kinda half thinking about going after a super total. If i could find a PL and Weightlifting meet within a week of each other at some stage, lol.

Depends on how many are in your weight category. Anyway I wouldn't worry about being competitive yet, the first time I competed the other lads in the 77's snatched twice what I did. I still came third and got a trophy :D.

Seniors are two weeks away and Jordanstown is a really nice venue.

Nice numbers anyway.

lol, noway am i competing in 2 weeks! gimmie a year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

decent snatch for a sick fat powerlifter :pac:

PM

I have no consistency with cleans whatsover.

Clean and Jerk
    40kg 2 x 2
    60kg 2 x 2
    70kg 2 x 2
    80kg x 2
    85kg x 2
    No Jerk
    90kg x 2
    95kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    100kg 4 x 0 I FUCKING HATE CLEANS

Powerclean
    100kg 2 x 1
    102.5kg x 1
    105kg x 1
    107.5kg 3 x 0

Full Clean
    107.5kg x 1
    110kg 2x0
    110kg x 1
    112.5kg x 0
    112.5kg x 1PR
    115kg x 1PR

Chins
    x7
    x5

Rev Hypers
    3 sets.

My back has been weird for the past week or so, i took 5 days off which made it worse. I'm pretty sure it's SI related it's similiar to what i had before anyway, not a major deal but it makes squatting and Cleans over 90kg rather uncomfortable.

I therefore spent about half an hour at the bottom of 115 wondering if i could stand up or not.

Also Drifter pointed out after that you have to jerk it for it to count as a total. A point which i had completely overlooked. Way to shit on my parade!

I probably won't wake up tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Haha, you sound as moany as I do :p, j/k you have my full sympathy. Anyway I've been a little bored on here of late, welcome back.

i believe my AM session abuse shouting was much better....i was alot closer to death during the PM session...

hopefully as my conditioning improves my ability to shout abuse shall increase.

Also...i need to stop having conversations at the bottom of squats...

howtomake wrote: »
    Haha, you sound as moany as I do :p, j/k you have my full sympathy. Anyway I've been a little bored on here of late, welcome back.

I'm not back. it was just a quick visit. See ye in a month!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I guarantee youll compete in well under a year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Edwardius

I'll just leave this here...

156520.jpg

im just saying that cork...isnt that far from Limerick....just saying like...

I'm logging this for the sheer idiocy of it all.

Yesterday

Snatched up to a horrible 85, in cluding some stupid fails
    Cleaned 40kg lol
    Squatted to a horrible 180
    Felt generally like a bag of crap

Today

I pressed full retard at some stage during the snatches

Snatch
    40kg 2 x 2
    50kg x 2
    60kg x 2
    65kg x 2
    70kg x 2
    75kg x 2
    80kg x 2
    85kg x 1
    87.5kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    95kg 2 x 0
    97.5kg 3 x 0

80kg x 1
    85kg x 1
    87.5kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    95kg conservative estimate of 12 x 0

80kg x 2
    85kg x 1
    87.5kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    92.5kg x 1
    95kg 3 x 0

lol

Cleans
    40kg x 2
    60kg x 2
    70kg x 2
    80kg 2 x 1
    90kg 2 x 1
    100kg 4 x 1
    105kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    115kg x 1
    120kg x 1

125kg x 0 didn't really commit to anything

120kg 3 x 0 were all stupidly close
    120kg x 1

I have discovered how to clean, i have no idea how i made this discovery but it has happend. I honestly thought 130 was there when i was going up, they were all stupidly easy, completely mental dunno how it happend, i'm flabbergasted.

Squats
    i can now squat very deep, i suspect it had soemthing to do with the amount of lifts i did today

70kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 2
    160kg x 1
    170kg x 1
    180kg x 1

I'm kinda getting used to the squatting frequency, i'll start pushing squats again soon.

Rev Hypers
    some

Abz
    very little

Chins
    3 x 5

I fucking love weightlifting.

Tonight

Was very very tired going into the gym.

Also im going to have to get this back thing sorted, my glute and the surrounding muscles are in a ball.

Snatch

40kg 2 x 2
    50kg 2 x 2
    60kg x 2
    70kg 3 x 1
    75kg x 1
    80kg x 1
    85kg x 1
    87.5kg x 1
    90kg x overpulled twice, and my stupid arse was just refusing to hold it.

80kg 5 x 1

Cleans
    40kg 2 x 2
    60kg x 2
    70kg 2 x 2
    80kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    110kg 2 x 1
    120kg x callous disintegrated. i actually have a hole in my hand

5662354353_dbb1c56365_m.jpg

It looks much more impressive IRL. :cool:

110kg 5 x 1 (took 8 attempts to get 5 singles iirc. Was way overpulling, and my timing was ****, i assume it was tiredness)

Squats
    up to 180 again
    these are a right pain, what with my back and glute being stupid.

Half Hearted attempt to do Hypers and Pulldown abz.

Also did 2 pullups on a fat grip attachment on the lat pulldown machine hahaha functional or what

Today

Snatch
    40kg 2 x 2
    50kg x 2
    60kg x 2
    70kg x 2
    75kg x 2
    80kg 3 x 1
    85kg x 1
    87.5kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    92.5kg 3 x 0 FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU my hands are in bits. :(
    80kg 3 x 1
    85kg x 1
    87.5 2 x 0 left it.

PowerClean and Power Jerk
    40kg 2 x 2
    60kg x 2
    70kg 2 x 2
    80kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    95kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    105kg x 1
    110kg x 1 flew up
    115kg 3 x 0
    115kg x didn't even attempt to get under the jerk

Full Clean
    110kg 2 x 1
    115kg x 1
    117.5kg x 1
    120kg 3 x 0

90kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    115kg x 1
    117.5kg 3 x 0

100kg 3 x 2
    110kg 2 x 2 (missed second rep of second set)

Squatz
    I seem to be flexible enough now to get a little bounce which is cool.
    40kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 2
    150kg x 1
    160kg x 1
    170kg x 1
    180kg x 1
    185kg x started twisting comming thru the sticking point, and with my SI the way it is i decided to abondon ship and jumped out from under it. Coolest way to fail a squat ever.

Went to do some back off sets, but my back wasn't cooperating so i left it.

CGBP
    bar 2 x 15
    60kg 3 x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    120kg x 1
    125kg x 1
    127.5kg x 1
    130kg x 1 there was actually reps there if i wanted, which surprised me
    100kg 3 x 8

Spent 15minutes stretching and rolling