Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

American woman on again this morning....my God that accent is grating. She mentioned something about being there for a month so ear plugs will be sought.....

Did anyone catch Mondays Breakfast Show? I'm curious to know if Glenda Gilson is now a regular contributor with her "EXCLUSIVE"* X Factor Updates. If she is, Newstalk has lost another listener. Fast rivaling FM104 in the tabloid radio stakes. What grates me is I used to be a big fan.

*Exclusive in this case means her report will also be on Xpose later that evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Anybody hear the last bloke on Tom Dunne this morning?

Could he have said "Ye Know" more often?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Birneybau wrote: »
    Anybody hear the last bloke on Tom Dunne this morning? Could he have said "Ye Know" more often?

Was interesting enough I thought.. And I dont think he said "ye know" half as many times as Pat Spillane says "Ju Know"...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

the american girl (im pretty sure its mary e howard ? ) was doing some of the worst puns ive heard in ages in relation to java coffees' financial results "brewing up blah blah" etce.

my radio actualy DIED this morning when she was on.

it could be because its 8 years old. but i like to think it decided to commit hari kari instead.

on another note.

does anyone think the ads for sile seoiges show on newstalk make her sound an awfull lot like orla barry?

its bloody uncanny.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

the american girl (im pretty sure its mary e howard ? ) was doing some of the worst puns ive heard in ages in relation to java coffees' financial results "brewing up blah blah" etce.

my radio actualy DIED this morning when she was on.

it could be because its 8 years old. but i like to think it decided to commit hari kari instead.

on another note.

does anyone think the ads for sile seoiges show on newstalk make her sound an awfull lot like orla barry?

its bloody uncanny.

margaret e. ward, could you get a more unamerican name? although, she was probably just over in the US for the summer.
    when i read the earlier posts i thought people were talking about emma mcnamara from radio 1, that one who's accent makes me angry. heard her this morning after waking up really early. i'll make sure to take some sleeping pills anymore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

the american girl (im pretty sure its mary e howard ? )

Good effort, but its Margaret E Ward. She is far too annoying for that hour of the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

on another note.

its bloody uncanny.

Another step towards the rebranding of the station as Fluffytalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Rubik. wrote: »
    Good effort, but its Margaret E Ward.

With a name like that she could be a Pavee point representative;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Is that motoring show gone on a Monday night..?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Good effort, but its Margaret E Ward. She is far too annoying for that hour of the morning.

She sounds like the voice you get giving the options on an automated phone number for a call centre. Irritating.

Dub13 wrote: »

Yeah, Orla Barry will be presenting a new show at that time in a couple of week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Dub13 wrote: »

Hopefully.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Yeah, Orla Barry will be presenting a new show at that time in a couple of week.

Ah Christ, no.

Can we have that motoring show back instead please.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Dont think i actually ever heard the last show she did. Would usually be in a drink induced coma at that hour of a saturday morning..:D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭neris

anyone emailed newstalk to tell them to remove that yank off the radio?

she said this morning she owned a business but didnt say what it was. wish she told us. so i could avoid it

neris wrote: »
    anyone emailed newstalk to tell them to remove that yank off the radio?

she said this morning she owned a business but didnt say what it was. wish she told us. so i could avoid it

Probably some PR bullsh1t. All these self publicty experts worm their way into the media.
    There's a distinct lack of "Nuts & bolts" entrepenuers on Radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

She's a good looking woman.. but she does try too hard to be funny..

I was wondering why her voice annoys me so much.
    Does she do that stupid annoying ad the for Kildare village outlet?

neris wrote: »

She is MD of Clear Ink ... http://clearink.ie/ ... "We are the Clear English Specialists".:confused:

One of whose clients is Newstalk 106.

she said shes been here 15 years this morning. 15 years too long. The show hasnt been as informative this week as it has in the past. Seems to be a lot of stats and research rather then news

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

She is MD of Clear Ink ... http://clearink.ie/ ... "We are the Clear English Specialists".:confused:

One of whose clients is Newstalk 106.

Welcome to Ireland!

Heard her attempt at a Nu Joy-sey accent this morning while interviewing Harry Browne. Cringe......
    I'd like her next to interview another NJ resident and see if he's as amenable to her tomfoolery:
    paulie-walnuts1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭CUCINA

American woman on again this morning....my God that accent is grating. She mentioned something about being there for a month so ear plugs will be sought.....

Did anyone catch Mondays Breakfast Show? I'm curious to know if Glenda Gilson is now a regular contributor with her "EXCLUSIVE"* X Factor Updates. If she is, Newstalk has lost another listener. Fast rivaling FM104 in the tabloid radio stakes. What grates me is I used to be a big fan.

*Exclusive in this case means her report will also be on Xpose later that evening.

...And I thought I was the only one who finds her accent grating! I suppose these days it's hard enough to listen to the business news no matter who is presenting it, but when I hear Ms Ward at 6:30am greeting us with things like "Have you had your caw-fee?" and "Put the keddle awhn"...too much! It's not her, it's me, just can't hack it. Seems like I stumbled across a regional variation of Fox News or something.

So now I have availed of that great invention called the "off" button so no more Newstalk between 6:30 and 7:00am till normal service is resumed!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

sweet jesus newstalk have shot themselve in the foot on saturdays!

theres ****ing NOTHING worth listening to now.

i couldnt stand saturday edition becuse of its presenter but it was better than what was on RTE at the same time and anything would be better than the bloody filler they put on this morning about gambling addiction.

this was then followed by henry mckeens new show which is basically an extension of his slot on moncrief from what i caught. its cringfull stuff as he's trying too hard, theres an almost alan partridge feel to it.

this was then followed by MORE filler which was basically "classic george hook" interviews. ok i know he's meant to be doing a new show in this slot in november but christ they couldve kept barry there till it kicked off proper.

and now i hear "down to business", which was one of newstalks BEST shows in terms of quality , is being put up against today FMS sunday business show to grace us with.....

...sile fecking seoige !

nothing personal to sile but jesus its like newstalk is forcing me away.

im actually stuck listening to ****ing marion finucane now and had to endure george lee on business.

who ever came up with this new schedule should be fired on the spot for being an RTE collaborator !

apalling, apalling line up.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

who on earth is this clown on newstalk now? Sile Seoige?
    OK, she climed a mountain for charity, who cares!!!
    Get over it, keep your little in-group conversations off the national
    airwaves!!!
    Terrible nonsense.
    Back to Radio 1 for me.

Ivan missing this morning, Chris, the "sidekick", is holding the show together quite nicely, limiting the yank to her reports with no pointless americanised waffle.
    Very good discussion on emigration
    Goes to prove, you don’t need the big names or stupid accents to make a good show.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

The sound of the 'crowd' is just ridiculously loud for the premiership games on Sunday.They are obviously not at the game and trying to compensate by having the crowd feed up very high,its so bad I was tempted to turn it off.

And the truth is I don't care if they are in a room in Newstalk or at the game,if I am in the car and need to listen to a game I don't care were they are once they give me good commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I care if they are trying to suggest that they are there rather than sat in front of Sky Sports/ESPN. If they are not they should actually come clean but they never will. While its unlikely it would be amusing if, during a foul storm the picture started breaking up. Hmm I look forward to that! ;)

worst thing nestalk did was go national. Wonder how long its going to take before off the ball heads off to rte with moncrieff in tow. station is turning into gutter trash radio especially when you have ivan yates going on about loving gossip and that aul 1 off x factor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Off the Ball will never go to RTE, there is no way they would, could or should fritter away 3 hours a night on sport pub chit chat. Even if it was changed to say a weekend thing it still wouldn't work unless the whole format was thown out and it was simply a personality transplant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Poly wrote: »
    Ivan missing this morning, Chris, the "sidekick", is holding the show together quite nicely,
    Goes to prove, you don’t need the big names or stupid accents to make a good show.

What about the stupid accent on Chris himself though?

And why does he start every third sentence with the phrase "Let me tell you" or "I want to tell you"?

"Ivan, I want to tell you about a story in the Irish Daliy Mail"
    "Oisin, let me tell you about the text messages from our listeners"