Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Not being rude, but check the last 5 minutes of the current affairs bit of the podcast. It is priceless.

A tabloid headline might read "Guff merchants outed"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

bbability wrote: »
    Without getting into personal details Damien was not well and that why he left first time round. He's a true pro. Another success story from St Pauls college Raheny

O-kay.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭smackyB

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I heard dunphy having a go at George hook on his show this morning but I didn't really hear the details. Can anyone fill me in?

http://www.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/hook.mp3

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

smackyB wrote: »
    Good man Dunph. I'm sure Hook will see this as an almighty blow to his gargantuan ego.
    I mean seriously, 'tips on how to survive the recession' from Hook. What clown would part with their money to hear a load of hot air from that sell out? None, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Dunphy also took a swipe at Marc "The best is yet to come" Coleman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

conno16 wrote: »
    damn right gilroy was turfed out - he was a complete embarrassment on the morning show unless talking to graham hunter or some gaa correspondence.
    the fact that NT gave him the gig in the first place tells you a lot about the station - its basically a tabloid station if there is such a thing
    teaming up gilroy with clare byrne was just laughable - two clueless idiots who couldn't interview to save their lives

yates is actually alright in my book - fine for NT anyways
    that young fella on the breakfast show sounds like he should be in school, no credibility whatsoever
    brophy has improved dramatically in last few months but still would not be able to carry his own show

dunne is a gerry ryan wannabe - cringe, but he does secure the listenership amongst 40-60 year old auld wans

thankfully that kerry bogger is gone for the hills
    another amateur

moncrief is well decent - still has a very entertaining show

hook is just a muppet, stopped listening to him years ago.
    even those commercials drive me round the bend

usually i'm a big OTB fan but i think its going stale
    needs to be freshened up
    maybe a new presenter and some different features

Good points, generally spot on, cant see how OTB would change, theres no presenter in the wings and McDevitt is good craic, he has the banter with guest, texters and the other hosts on it and its a sport show, it reports on sport, theres not really anything they can do to change it, they cover asch as they can and have a good laugh doing, could listen to the 3 hours no bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

What a bloody cynical attempt at boosting ratings for the station.

Sick. And desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I see the parachute man has an extra hour in bed every morn now, thank god. Fúck, he is boring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

MJ23 wrote: »
    I see the parachute man has an extra hour in bed every morn now, thank god. Fúck, he is boring.

Tom's a genuinely nice guy but a terrible broadcaster. He might do better with a co-host or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Marc Coleman up to his usual tricks again tonight, trying to stir the sh!t.
    Can this guy not engage in intelligent debate rather than taking the snide route of trying corner his guests into a defensive position. Fair play to Deaglán de Bréadún of the Irish Times for not taking the bait on this occasion.

Roll on the return of The Late Debate with Rachel English over on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Jaysus Eoin McDevitt is on with Vincent Browne now, dressed as a Traveller.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

LOL....I just had to turn the TV on,your right all he needed was a roll of carpet over his shoulder.

Must have been fancy dress tonight, Sarah Burke came as Buddy Holly..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

vinnie must be finding it very difficult to get panel members to sit in..
    glenda gilson, eoin pikey mcdevitt, etc

is the show sponsored by the irish daily mail these days?
    if you tune in do you get a free daniel o'donnell cd in the post 3 days later?

Surprisingly good interview by Coleman with Rich Boy Barrett tonight. Coleman having a right go at him.. it's great.

Not too bad tonight, in between the coughing and spluttering.

well the coughing and spluttering is a given.. Does he have a problem with his lungs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Surprisingly good interview by Coleman with Rich Boy Barrett tonight. Coleman having a right go at him.. it's great.

Coleman and RBB? Good thing I decided to watch No Country for Old Men. If Ivana Bacik arrived in, then some type of hyperbole perfect storm would be created.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭jane wani

well the coughing and spluttering is a given.. Does he have a problem with his lungs?

how he hasnt coughed up a lung on air i dont know
    oh come on guys...marc coleman..lol...seems to just to be delighted hes still on the air.
    the man has ..cough...cough..very little class..cough ..simple as ..cough .that

Did I just hear Coleman correctly ?

"You're not just a grandmother, you're a woman."

WTF :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

Anyone getting an AC_RunActiveContent.js error msg on Newstalk's website??

I tried Firefox & IE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

salonfire wrote: »
    Anyone getting an AC_RunActiveContent.js error msg on Newstalk's website??

I tried Firefox & IE

Ye its messed up, probably updating it or something

Sergeant wrote: »
    Coleman and RBB? Good thing I decided to watch No Country for Old Men.
    Believe me, the way Coleman was going after him, it was like No Country For Left Wing, Socialist Pr1cks..

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Ave Nocturna

tinkerbell wrote: »
    I love Ivan, Conor Brophy, Chris, Jonathan H, Claire B, Sean M and Hook.

Out of them all George is my absolute favourite - I love him!!! I think he's brill.

Have to agree with your list there... Minus Claire B. though.
    George is my god, I bow down to his Royal Hookness each evening... Nah, really though, he's great.

Chris has something very likeable about him, I think there may be a limited amount of topics he can really delve into 100% BUT overall, he's good.

Sean MonCreep is my favourite though, can't beat him. Hope he doesn't feck off to RTE or anything of the sort... I'm sure Crouton wouldn't tolerate that anyway. Crouton, unveil thine self!

Not seeing too many overly enthusiastic Tom Dunne fans though? He's OK. Bit of a filler show for me, wouldn't be too crazy about him but he's alright

Ivan is in the same league as George, feckin' legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

thanks george for your contribution to boards.ie

didn't brophy finish up today?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Yah there doesn't seem to be many Tom Dunne fans on here. I just am not a fan, and the same with the Joe guy (does he produce the show or something?). The whole show just gives me the impression of "this show is for idiots" kinda vibe, if that makes sense .... Joe used to drive me up the wall when he was on Spin as "Joe & Keith", the pair of them just acted stupid and really irritating. I mean, Tom Dunne seems like a nice guy, but his show just got that whole silly vibe going on, it's just naff.

I TRY to like Tom Dunne, I really do, but it's just not happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

I read in the Indo that Sile Seoige is been offered a full time gig on Newstalk i presume at the weekend does anyone know who she's taking over from? Orla Barry or maybe she'll be Ger Gilroys sidekick

Taking over The Weekend Blend would be the most likely, though it is beyond me why she is being offered anything. Super agent strikes again I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Rubik. wrote: »
    Taking over The Weekend Blend would be the most likely, though it is beyond me why she is being offered anything. Super agent strikes again I suppose

To be known as weekend bland now :)

Badabing wrote: »
    To be known as weekend bland now :)

Isn't it already.