Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Anyone know what people get paid at Newtalk?

Sean, Eoin McD and Hook already have other jobs but what's their NT salary? Even an appearance by Paulo or Richie S, or Henry McK. Any information would be appreciated.

I'd love to get an idea of the money involved. NT are making a loss aren't they?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,409 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Sean, Eoin McD and Hook already have other jobs but what's their NT salary? Even an appearance by Paulo or Richie S, or Henry McK. Any information would be appreciated.

I'd love to get an idea of the money involved. NT are making a loss aren't they?

It's a private company why would it matter?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Chris this morning on breakfast reckoned 60% of the population of Ireland qualify for medical cards. WTF?

This is from a guy who spends at least half of his time on air lifting current affairs stories from the newspapers and gabbing with Shane about such matters.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Chris this morning on breakfast reckoned 60% of the population of Ireland qualify for medical cards. WTF?

This is from a guy who spends at least half of his time on air lifting current affairs stories from the newspapers and gabbing with Shane about such matters.

Over 70s,unemployed,those on low income or large famlies,it might be higher than you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

kneemos wrote: »
    It's a private company why would it matter?
    I'm curious, are we as human beings not that way naturally inclined?

It'd also be interesting to compare NT with RTE as personally I feel NT have a far better output and it costs me nothing, fecking RTE do.

I'm curious, are we as human beings not that way naturally inclined?

It'd also be interesting to compare NT with RTE as personally I feel NT have a far better output and it costs me nothing, fecking RTE do.

Can't think of anything RTE does better except maybe Pat Kenny,even he goes a bit tabloid after the first hour.

kneemos wrote: »
    Over 70s,unemployed,those on low income or large famlies,it might be higher than you think.

Its in the region of 40%.

Chris has no real world experience and is totally uninformed on what should be his specialist subjects as a national talk radio presenter.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Chris has no real world experience and is totally uninformed on what should be his specialist subjects as a national talk radio presenter.

Problem being that Chris thinks he is well informed and believes everything he reads in the papers :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Problem being that Chris thinks he is well informed and believes everything he reads in the papers :(

'eh we've a very busy show today, a lot to get through'

is it me or does he say this every morning....but still finds enough time to beg the listeners to text in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

bamboozle wrote: »
    'eh we've a very busy show today, a lot to get through'

is it me or does he say this every morning....but still finds enough time to beg the listeners to text in.

Every
    Bloody
    Morning

There needs to be a thread for Chris'isms
    'Osh'
    'I read the report at 3am this morning'
    'if your just tuning in where have you been?'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Puts him in the same camp as the rest of the media then .

Those feckers think the average industrial wage is low FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Every
    Bloody
    Morning

'Osh'

"A great read"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭EchoO

I don't know about the main presenters but the production staff don't get paid that much. Or as Sean Moncrieff put it the other day - "feck all".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭GSF

EchoO wrote: »
    I don't know about the main presenters but the production staff don't get paid that much. Or as Sean Moncrieff put it the other day - "feck all".

Certainly not as well paid as Dunphy was ;)

Gud Stuff. Thanks Ush!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Another American on Moncrief. Some eejit waffling on about tickling children. Poor Sean has to put on a fake laugh.
    Where do they get these people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

MJ23 wrote: »
    Another American on Moncrief. Some eejit waffling on about tickling children. Poor Sean has to put on a fake laugh.
    Where do they get these people?

I don't think it was fake, the stories were actually amusing.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

EchoO wrote: »

Yates was rumoured to be on 100k. I suppose you could take that as the top end of the scale. Like you said the lower end is probably peanuts, especially considering that the station is not profitable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It seems the main sports story of the day on Newstalk is not Mayo's win yesterday, but the fact that Dublin lost.

Jonathon Healy cutting to an ad break just now - "Next up Eugine Magee on the heartbreak for the Dubs".

FFS can't they give Mayo a little respect?

No wonder people turn against Dublin football.

That, and the fact that they are a dirty bunch of players when losing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Not a GAA fan at all, but i was annoyed at all De Dubs crap last year, Healy is still on about it...

Will this years all Ireland winners be on the Late Late as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭touts

It's a bit one sided alright. They way they reacted last year you would think the Dubs were the first Irish team to win the All Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Caledonman

Every
    Bloody
    Morning

'Osh'

Chris is a very weak presenter, and his complete lack of business experience shows. He was Ivan's whipping boy, and believes his own hype. Haven't listened much since Ivan went to declare himself bankrupt in the UK. The morning presenters in Newstalk have no balls, afraid of their sh..e of the union speakers, and likewise with politicians. How they let Rabbitt, Noonan and Varadakar waffle on so much is beyond me. They could do with blooding some new presenters, but I do believe that they pay poorly, with the exception of Hooke and Moncrief

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭el diablo

That Caaark lad on Hook's show this evening talking about Dallas. Bruuutal. :(

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Lapin wrote: »
    It seems the main sports story of the day on Newstalk is not Mayo's win yesterday, but the fact that Dublin lost.

Jonathon Healy cutting to an ad break just now - "Next up Eugine Magee on the heartbreak for the Dubs".

FFS can't they give Mayo a little respect?

No wonder people turn against Dublin football.

That, and the fact that they are a dirty bunch of players when losing.

deep breaths....
    George Hook spoke about the great victory for Mayo and the fact he was cheering for them.

As for dirty players, as far as i can see all teams have resorted to snide cynical tactics to get over the line. Kildare all last summer, Donegal v's dublin was a joke of a game - while donegal were leading their players were dropping like flies with 'injuries', once Dublin take the lead its the Dublin players suddenly getting 'injuries', same again on sunday Kildare lads spent half the second half getting treatment.

Its turned me off the game until the hierarchy brings in measures to stop cynical fouls and blatant time wasting.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Looks like im back to 104 for the 9-10am slot as i cant suffer that katherine thomas on radio1. Hope shes just covering for someone?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I find myself switching to BBC Radio 5 or World Service for that hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Looks like im back to 104 for the 9-10am slot as i cant suffer that katherine thomas on radio1. Hope shes just covering for someone?.

But this is a newstalk thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Rovi wrote: »
    I find myself switching to BBC Radio 5 or World Service for that hour.

really?? i think mornings on 5live to be the worst radio, just like joe duffy (albeit not so trivial) with people ringing in to complain for the sake of it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

really?? i think mornings on 5live to be the worst radio, just like joe duffy (albeit not so trivial) with people ringing in to complain for the sake of it.

That's all ANY radio station seems to do at that time. D'Arcy, Tubridy, Dunne, PK.... not to mention the local stations.

It's getting to the stage where I'm considering listening to Spin SW just so I don't have to listen to drab radio, and I don't say that lightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    That's all ANY radio station seems to do at that time. D'Arcy, Tubridy, Dunne, PK.... not to mention the local stations.

It's getting to the stage where I'm considering listening to Spin SW just so I don't have to listen to drab radio, and I don't say that lightly.

bbc 6music ;)