Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katy French in a critical condition

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Stargal wrote: »
    I'm going to spell this out for the cheap seats in the back - No more potentially libelous speculation about what happened to Katy French.

Have a bit more cop on than that folks. I've already had to delete, edit and ban far too many people. I don't want to close this thread but I will if the current levels of muppetry continue.
    Lux23 wrote: »
    Potentially libelous crap

Lol :) No, you're not entitled to write that down, boards.ie can still be taken to court over your post...a defence of "Well he said it first" is not a legal defence :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Potentially libelous crap

you don't know that she took drugs. You've no idea what happened. Taking drugs deserves death - I'll bear that in mind. you must be delighted over what happened in Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

Incidentily, while we don't yet know what caused her illness, it's not unusuall for youmg people to have Hearth attacts. My uncle died from a massive one at 26. I also had one 18 months ago. I had just turned 24. He didnt take drugs and neither do I

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

tbh wrote: »
    you don't know that she took drugs. You've no idea what happened. Taking drugs deserves death - I'll bear that in mind. you must be delighted over what happened in Waterford.

Its more hyprocrisy that deserves death to be honest. I hope she pulls through so she can be flashing her tits on Grafton Street in a matter of weeks.

amen :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Archeron

Sad to see a beautiful young woman critical like this, regardless of the circumstances. I hope she pulls through.

starn wrote: »
    Taking drugs does not deserve death. But its about time that people realised that cocaine is a class A drug for a VERY GOOD reason.

I'm going to goahead and be pedantic and tell you that is a British system of classification. There is no equivelent in Irish law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Archeron wrote: »
    Sad to see a beautiful young woman critical like this, regardless of the circumstances. I hope she pulls through.

same here for me! she is ill and some of the replys i have been reading are something else, totally bitchy ! i hope she is ok !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

I just can't believe how nasty some people are being about a seriously ill girl in hospital who may not recover. I'm not her biggest fan either, she pisses me off just as much as the majority of people but at the same time how would the people that are dissing her in this thread feel if she died? She hasn't killed anyone, hurt anyone, done anything wrong. I suppose Glenda Gilson, Rosanna Davidson etc all deserve to die for showing off their bodies do they? If that's the case so do thousands of girls all over the world who make money from their appearance.

Pathetic. Shame on some of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

MayMay wrote: »
    how would the people that are dissing her in this thread feel if she died?

I'm guessing they wouldn't really care one way or the other and they'd be right. What does it matter if she dies? How much more important than anybody else is she exactly?

24 people die of starvation every minute of every day, how many people care about that? Not enough to stop it happening obviously.

Death is part of life, when it's your time it's your time.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

starn wrote: »
    Incidentily, while we don't yet know what caused her illness, it's not unusuall for youmg people to have Hearth attacts. My uncle died from a massive one at 26. I also had one 18 months ago. I had just turned 24. He didnt take drugs and neither do I
    As you're no doubt aware, this sort of condition is generally congenital. If one person shows it, it's now common practice to test all first and second blood relations for it. I would be surprised if she had a heart attack out of the blue, but it's far from unheard of.

Apparently she told the press on Thursday that she had a kidney infection and was on antibiotics. Perhaps she took some sort of reaction to the drugs, or some sort of toxic poisoning from her own condition (i.e. if the drugs weren't working).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭underpants

daveirl wrote: »

Your thinking about it all wrong!
    you've got to be PC about it all. You can moan about her all you want when she's healthy cause that's ok but if she's ill then you have to be nice to her.
    Same goes if she was in a horrible accident, say like the joker, and eventually recovered but was hideously scarred. Then you have to be nice to her cause she's ugly now.
    you see?

Healthy beautiful people deserve a bit of ribbing because they are superior to us all but we can't make fun or mock seriously ill or ugly people because they're lower than us.

Superior people, make a joke,
    lower than us, no need to poke

...at least I think that's how it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭hawkwing

it's the parents and sister that you feel sorry for..she was very stupid and selfish if it is her own fault,but hopefully she will get better whatever happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

I wonder will we ever see a time where people will stop taking such an interest in so called 'celebritys'. It saddens me to think that we are more interested in celebs than are own lives. These people are famous for being famous and do nothing meaningful for society, at some stage they bring a book out: (My Life, I Bounced Back etc...) and will retail for about 25 euro, give it 6 months and you will get the same book full of useless info for a fiver. We spend a fortune on useless glossy magazines and our own lives pass us by. The real celebritys of this world are the brain surgeons, cancer/aids research specialists, red cross, voluntary workers etc.

Get a life people!

And before you ask.... - Yes - Im a member of the St.Johns Ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Laslo wrote: »
    Don't read rags then. If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

Have you seen any of the Irish papers today?
    She is on the front of the mail,the indo,the sun,the mirror,the herald and she even apperas on page two of the Irish times,one paper you would think that would have a bit more cop on.
    I really hope the poor lass is okay and pulls through but It quite franakly sickens me that someone is given so much attention just because she fits whats society deems as 'beautiful'. In Saudi Arabia today a women is getting 200 beatings because she spoke out about being gang raped,that doesnt even get a mention in the Irish media. In the Daily Mail today they describe Katy as the poster girl for modern Irish women. Is this all we Irish women have achieved during the celtic tiger? The ability to groom oursleves to prefection, and whoring oursleves to get attention?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Yes, a young woman is sad enough. But a beautiful young woman should be bringing blood to your loins, not tears to your eyes. :rolleyes:

I feel sorry for the girl for being in the public eye in this particular moment. Not that a celeb should be able to flick fame on or off, but she should be afforded the same amount of respect as anyone else on this one.

I think it is a matter of if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all. You can hate her now, and you can hate her whatever the reason, but you don't need to express it just because the opportunity to discuss her arises.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The real celebritys of this world are the brain surgeons, cancer/aids research specialists, red cross, voluntary workers etc.

The irony here being that so many of these research trusts / care units depend on the work of 'celebs' / their famous patrons to spread their word, do promotion etc... to get vital funding...

panda100 wrote: »
    In Saudi Arabia today a women is getting 200 beatings because she spoke out about being gang raped,that doesnt even get a mention in the Irish media.

Oh god it's not like the media haven't covered that already. That particular story is being discussed by everyone. It's harsh and apathetic to say, but I'm sick of hearing about it.

The fact is this news interests a large portion of Irish readers, and that sells papers.
    panda100 wrote: »
    Is this all we Irish women have achieved during the celtic tiger? The ability to groom oursleves to prefection, and whoring oursleves to get attention?

No, the lot ye haven't. Only she has achieved it. The majority of the rest of ye are still far off from being groomed as well as her. :P

Only joking, but I hate to see blatant feminism stick it's ugly head in when it's uncalled for. Ranting on about that is just silly. Don't be so begrudging.

But I have to admit I'm a bit silly myself, I'm chucking over the fact that you spelled perfection as prefection because I see a tiny bit of irony. I'm way too easily amused.

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭nellie07

Hi Guys,

Im not a major fan of Katy French, I think she is an attention seeking little madam, but hey I wouldnt wish anything bad to happen to her.

However I do find that she jumps on the band wagon, in a hot press interview lately when asked Have you ever taken Cocaine she gave a one word answer No.

Then a week later after all the publicity with those poor young lads in waterford she pipes up and basically says she was an addict but she has 'changed' and that she wanted to raise awareness about Cocaine.
    Anything and I mean Anything to get her blondie head in the paper.

Now this may be absolutely nothing to do with drugs whatsoever and if it isnt then of course I have pity for her, but if by chance it is to do with cocaine - does she not realise that bad things dont just happen to young lads in waterford. bad things can happen to anyone including Katy French herself when you do drugs. End of.

Hope she pulls out of it -

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭nellie07

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/national-news/concern-growing-for-seriously-ill-model-katy-french-1236346.html

Theres the link that suggests she has had a heart attack and its not from the Daily Mail.

Calm down everyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Only joking, but I hate to see blatant feminism stick it's ugly head in when it's uncalled for. Ranting on about that is just silly. Don't be so begrudging.
    Blatant feminism? What a strange phrase.

Panda's point is neither a rant nor begrudgery. The debate about how much attention we focus on to people just because they look good has been going on for years and it's an interesting one. I have serious problems with the Mail describing Katy as a 'poster girl' for Irish women. I can recognise that she has done well in her chosen career but she represents something very different to what I consider admirable in a woman.

Anyway, Mod heal thyself - back on topic!
    I wonder will we ever see a time where people will stop taking such an interest in so called 'celebritys'. It saddens me to think that we are more interested in celebs than are own lives. These people are famous for being famous and do nothing meaningful for society, at some stage they bring a book out: (My Life, I Bounced Back etc...) and will retail for about 25 euro, give it 6 months and you will get the same book full of useless info for a fiver. We spend a fortune on useless glossy magazines and our own lives pass us by. The real celebritys of this world are the brain surgeons, cancer/aids research specialists, red cross, voluntary workers etc.

Get a life people!

And before you ask.... - Yes - Im a member of the St.Johns Ambulance.
    This is a thread about Katy French, not about the vagaries of celebrity. Although you may disagree with the topic, this is the Celeb/Showbiz forum and this is what is discussed here. There are already threads about why celebrities get so much attention so you can post there if you want. Otherwise please stay on topic.

And before you ask... Yes, I was in the Order of Malta for 9 years :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Katy French is a beacon of feminist upheaval in a world all too dominated by phallic-centric minds. How many icons of female liberation and independence have risen so ferociously in recent decades? And how many with so much approval of Man? Her accompanying commercial success is an external by-product but only furthers her idyllic status: today, financial success is truly a necessary precondition to liberation of the egalitarian aims of the broader feminist movement. Her eloquence of speech ("Some say I am a sex object. They're right; when someone mentions sex, I object" Sunday Independent (2007)), candour and pragmatism should be celebrated in the pursuit of the greater egalitarian aim. Alas, her condition only enlightens the fragility of the female voice in this post-modern post-9/11 post-Celtic Tiger world.

May she recover fully. May she inevitably co-author an autobiography in light of these traumatic events and, crucially, may her persona and success blossom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 mcquaid2007

i hope she pulls through...not only for herself....but also to sicken u cold hearted fuc**ers who couldnt care less...u may not neccessarily like the girl but man,think of her folks...what they must be going through...i know...ill not go into details but someone very close to me had heart attack and eventually died...the waiting and hoping was terrible...helpless with nothing u can do...i wouldnt wish that on my worst enemy...u really wanna look at yourself if u dont wish the girl well....like was my own birthday on thurday too,hardly that relevant like but could happen to any of us...cocaine or not....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

Your right I can see here doing the rounds of RTE, TV3, The Mail, Star, sun, Mirror, Indo, etc,etc. Discusing here road to Damascus moment and the inevital Autobiography. That will follow

Or maybe Oliver Tatten or Sean Quinn have just decided to take gorilla marketing to a new extreme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

She wouldn't be allowed on the beach in California. She's not even got a good body. Why are Irish models so overrated? I see girls EVERY day who are FAR better looking and should be famous but aren't.

I hope she does recover though. And maybe stop trying to be princess Di of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Hear hear.
    When she recovers she will be able to satisfy all your curiosities if she so wishes. Until then, wishing her a speedy recovery is the most we should be prepared to say about the matter.

Stargal wrote: »
    Blatant feminism? What a strange phrase.

Panda's point is neither a rant nor begrudgery. The debate about how much attention we focus on to people just because they look good has been going on for years and it's an interesting one. I have serious problems with the Mail describing Katy as a 'poster girl' for Irish women. I can recognise that she has done well in her chosen career but she represents something very different to what I consider admirable in a woman.

Sorry to derail the thread. I'm bringing in bias from the past. Panda kicked up a fuss regarding the most lickable award and it's lack of men, and she seems to bring in feminism views wherever she sees the opportunity. Not really any harm, just disagree with her.

It is an interesting debate, but I think there is a time and a place. <--- I'll take my own advice and shut-up now.

If someone offered me 5k to stand on Grafton St. in a pair of speedos holding oranges to promote artesian wells, I'd bite their ****ing hand off. Presumably a lot of people on this thread wouldn't. Horses for courses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I have been ringing up all off the radio stations today and trying to get Girlfriend in a Coma by the Smiths played with a dedication to Marcus Sweeney, but alas, i have still to hear it played.