Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Poker Open - Final Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

I went out around 8:30 on the first hand of 600/1200. At this stage there were 450 left so avergae stack about 20 BB. There were a lot of shorties around tho who were about to get blinded away.

Great turnout of 1075 people. On my table were guys from Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Denmark and a real international feel about it. They were a few dealers short i gather but mine was good!

I started quiet start, got up to a high of about 30k when my A9>A7 on a A97 flop for a 20k pot, then made 2 marginal value calls which i was on the wrong end of both of them to be back down to 13k at 400/800. I'll post them seperately later on as would like opinion on them.

Out on the first hand of 600/1200 when i shoved for 13k with TT. The big blind dwelled for an age before eventually finding a call with QQ. Was he considreing folding to the shorty shove or something?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

tacker wrote:
    Humble pie?

Indeed, I went out in the 2nd level.

I think John Mc Naughten did the damage.

The-Rigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I ran awful and played awful.
    Went out in level 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭gerry87

The-Rigger wrote:

The-Rigger

Seat 1, outkicked with trips, that you?

I didnt really play poker today, i just folded for a couple of hours. First hand that crippled me i made a great bluff and he made a stupid call... maybe you can swap great and stupid, i dont know.

2nd bad hand hit ten high flop with KT, raise a bet he calls, instacheckraised on the turn, down to 2k.

Fold my way until i hear, "1 hour break after this hand" not wanting to come back shortstacked i stick it in, while my chips are in the middle i hear "There actually won't be a break after this hand"... damn (ok it was all going in anyway but still nice to have an excuse)

gerry87 wrote:
    Seat 1, outkicked with trips, that you?

I didnt really play poker today, i just folded for a couple of hours. First hand that crippled me i made a great bluff and he made a stupid call... ok, maybe you can swap great and stupid.

2nd bad hand hit ten high flop with KT, raise a bet he calls, instacheckraised on the turn, down to 2k.

Fold my way until i hear, "1 hour break after this hand" not wanting to come back shortstacked i stick it in, while my chips are in the middle i hear "There actually won't be a break after this hand"... damn (ok it was all going in anyway but still nice to have an excuse)

lol yea.

:o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I was happy with how I played, I played four big hands, three of which I lost.

Its level 1, and I call a raise from a tight guy in early position with J8s. The bb who is also tight calls as well. The flop is Q95, two of my suit. Both players check and I take the free card. The turn is a ten giving me the second nuts, the bb bets out of 500, raiser calls and i do too. Raising would be ok, but I thought I could get more value on the river. River pairs the 9 and the bb bets out for 1500. He seemed tight and this bet screamed strength, I was considering calling, but then the raiser called so I couldnt pass up those odds. Amazingly they both had houses, bb had 55, and the raiser had TT. Flat calling there with TT is so so bad, but it cost me 1500 chips! Im down to 800 or so.

Anyway, later on its folded to me in the sb with j8s, I complete. The bb is a total lunatic scandie, who smells of drink and has no idea how to play, but likes to bet a lot. He minraises and I call. The flop is KQx all spades, so I have a flush. I check call 300. The turn is a queen and I check call 1k. The river is another king, making a board of KQKQx, I grimace and call another 1k to be shown TQ for a house. I was check raising any card that didnt double pair the board all in on the river.

I made a bit of a recovery to around 10k then and got JJ utg. I made it 1200 to go, the button pushed who had been very tight. The way he pushed his chips in pretty instantly I thought it was very unlikely he had AA or KK, and the way he was looking at me indicated he was happy for me to fold, I thought he probably had AK so called, he had AK and hit a king on the flop.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I had JQ suited, called blind.

Flop J4Q

Called an all in.

He showed QK.

K on turn.

10 on river.

That was that. Enjoyed it though.

Lessons to be learned by event organizers. Would return next time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

The-Rigger wrote:

The-Rigger

It was Shane Cawe aka me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Out in 350th position.

I was up and down all day. Down to 3BBs after having twice the average. Got back into it and peaked at 2.5 X average with about 700 left. I lost a few crucial flips, one with AK v 88 for 40k and another AQ v AJ. I hovered between 10 and 20 for an eternity after that eventually losing with AJ v 22

I was happy with my play except for one hand with 22 where I came over the top of ITT Pat with quite a few players left to act.Was a total brain fart

A few really decent scandie players at my table. One guy from Denmark and another from Sweden who were both very good.

Brendan McKenna is a complete lunatic and great fun to have at the table

LluckyLoyd, Gholimoli, Dave Masters and Sam all going well. I'm sure there are many more boardsies left.. but they were the ones I spotted who had decent stacks.

Fair play Stephen/Anna and Derek. Some achievement. I'll be in to the Jackpot tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

Am sooooooooooooooo tired!

Wanna go home and tap a hot bath and drink my champange ;-)

A veeeeery nice boardie gave me a bottle !

THANKS!!

tacker wrote:
    It was Shane Cawe aka me

Howdy. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

It should be renamed the "International min-raise every hand Open". Was down to 2.8k thanks to 4 river cards :( Fought back to 9k and got it in from BB with Kc9c on a 6c7c8d flop but the button had called with 910o which stood up.

Wd to Stephen and all for organising it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭Lazare

Had a dreadful starting table, very tight, no action. Lost out on an 11k pot when I got it in with 2 pair against middle pair and straight draw, he rivered a better 2 pair, would've took me up to 19k in the second level.

Got moved to a fantastic table, plenty of big stacks and loads of action, I sat in with 8k (20 BB) and found KK early on, EP makes a standard raise to 1200, next guy makes it 5k, I push 12k and EP calls with JJ. I'm up to 29k, work that up to 45k and find 10 10 in CO, folded to me I standard raise, BB calls, flop is 7dJc8d, he checks I bet 4k he minraises, he had shown a lot of big folds so I push, he dwells for an age and eventually calls 12k more with KJ.

Couple of orbits later I'm UTG+2 with 26k and AsKs, UTG limps for 1k, I make it 4, folded to button (55k), he asks me how much I have left, I tell him 22k, he raises to 13k (he's been 3-betting a lot, so I'm smiling), folded to me I push, he starts moaning, I tell him how much of a fool he'll look if he folds now and eventually talk him into calling with K2. He rivers a 2. (2 outer, 2s gives me nuts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I got knocked out at 1030 or so in 230th place. I was down to 2100 after about 4 levels when i lost 80% of my stack in a hand and struggled for the rest of the day. Got up to 19k but was completely card dead for the last 4 hours.

I finally got it in with A10 for 16k with blinds 1k/2k and begged the chip leader to call me with his small pair. I need to double up so after a while he obliged with 66 and took me out.

I left at 11 and Ldog had 100k, Jay had 75k, so did Gholi i think. I also saw Hatedajacks and Vera there while i was heading off.

Stephen and the lads done a great job trying to run this smoothly, because it was far from easy so congrats to everyone involved.

Oh and btw..i've never seen as much min-raising in my life as there was in this tournament and the standard was generally terrible. The english were by far the biggest culprits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

Did the chief manage to enter this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

RockRory wrote:
    Did the chief manage to enter this

Dont think so. I didnt see him there

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Out in 220th ish I think at about 11. started slowly and was on about 8k after the break thinking sod this home early or well stacked by the end of the night. Went on a good rush up to about 40k or so with Nicky on my right claiming he was my lucky charm.
    Then I was moved to a table with Flushdraw. Not met you before Tony but I think it was you. I had a good time at this table cracking another min-raiser's Aces. I had pocket 7s when he made the min-raise pre-flop and I was certain he had a monster and was happy to take him up on his offer to play "out-flop me".
    I was genuinely sorry when this table broke because things were going well and I was over 55k by then. The next table was crap. Early position limpers, loose callers and those players whose favorite move is the "gutsy call". My pet hate. So began the dwindling of my stack and in the end having been moved to yet another table I went out making a move with KhTh, running into yet another min-raiser who made my 10k raise 20k. Sigh. Knew he had a big'un but was well pot committed and his AK took it down.
    Great day though and congrats to Stephen, Poker Ireland, Mermaid, JP, Luke, the dealers and all involved for a great tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Busted in 159th or so.

Happy with how i played, wouldnt have played any hand any differently and was totally card dead, J-J being the best hand i saw in 13 levels. Two complete donks on my table who were chipped up and i could not get a hand against them all day. Limping with J-4 suited was the norm. My exit hand is sick, blinds 2k-4k guy in EP makes it 10k, i shove from the SB for 25k with Ad-Qd, BB who has me covered calls and flips over his hand A-K with the other guy still to act, im about to ask for a ruling when the original raiser calls the extra 15k and flips over his hand 10-10!!!! wtf, ruling giving is the hand has to be checked down, ugh, flop Q-10-2, turn 3, river A.

Play for 9 hours solid finish ahead of 900+ players and dont get a penny, the term lol donkaments has never been more appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

Fantastic tourney, atmosphere was class. the usual teething problems, but nothing unbearable.
    Awful day personally both in cards and in the way i played em, won the minimum with my good hands and lost the maximum with my bad uns ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

out in 160th or so, ran a muck on my first table knocking out 9 or so in the first 5 levels and was crusing on 60k early on whilst the average was 18k. moved tables and dropped slightly to 40K. Moved tables again and moved back up to my high point of 100k.

Enjoyable tourney not so enjoybale in the way i went out though, good work to the lads it went fairly ok given the high numbers you had to deal with.

12 hours poker = 0 profit meh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

Made it to day 2 put dont have much of a stack. 87 left,Kev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Just about made it

Did Lloyd and nicnicnic make it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

Lloyd is one of chipleaders and playing well. Nicky power out

I wonder how many boardies made it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Lissavalley

335k.

Could easily be gone or have double that

Lloyd is a hero, Lloyd ftw etc, Nicky went very deep, carried his fishy team........;)

Well done on making day 2 btw

335k.

Could easily be gone or have double that

what table were you on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,629 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

313k. Hopefully tomorrow (today? :eek: ) will go like today (yesterday? :confused: ) did.

87 left. Clock starts tomorrow with an hour of 5k / 10k (Ste confirmed this to me as I left). Avg is circa 110k.

I'm soooooo tempted to stay up to watch the boxing
    but I think thats would be a little silly
    See ye tomorrow folks