Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Poker Open - Final Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭sumoward

Good luck to lads still in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

sumoward wrote:
    Good luck to lads still in it.

I went out at the 200-400 level.

Got chipped away after dealing for 2 hours i jsut tilted. I snap off a button raise with T4o, and the very next hand i get AA on the button., i raise to 450 (75-150), BB calls. flop os Q33, he checks i bet 700 he calls. turn is a 7 he bets 1000 i call, river is 2 he bets 3500 i call, with 1500 behind. he has 37c.:rolleyes:
    Then get it AIPF with AJo v his QQ.

horrible day of cards for me, but still a great turnout really well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

tacker wrote:
    With 500 left average stack was 20 bb.I had set over set for 30k pot in the 150/300 level.Crippled me.The rake in the cash games was pulling the urine.17 euro rake for a 250+pot was the cap
    that rubbish. its was 15 max and only over 250. 150-250 was 10 max. i dealt them for 12 hours so i know this to be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Also still in with 104k. Ran KK into AA with 200 left and was down to 13,500 with the blinds at 1500/3000(I think?) and somehow managed to claw my way back. Good luck to all those tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

ocallagh wrote:
    I was happy with my play except for one hand with 22 where I came over the top of ITT Pat with quite a few players left to act.Was a total brain fart

Yeah i think i nearly cried when i folded my 99 face up only to be shown 22 and 88!! :o

EDIT: How did you know my boards name??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭coillcam

Busted out around 130-40 ish not too sure TBH.

Ran good for first couple of breaks and had a sweet limptastic table. Had AA make the nut flush in my second hand of the day:) , Crippled a guy a guy when I slowplayed AA OTB later on he had a wideish range, flat calling his PF raise (as I think had only played 2 hands in the first 2 levels) and flat call his bets on all streets and a made nice lil river raise on JT735 board He had an "unputdownable" as he said AJ :o , stationed on a hand too with a raised pot PF me with 66 OTB vs some donegal guy checking a TxTs3s flop, he then c/r my turn 2/3 pot bet where another 3x fell and bet a small blocker w/AJ on the spade river so I obliged. Although I did bust the table donk it was a with a dubiously donkish chased straight.

That got me to 22K where I yoyo'd for 6-9PM where one of my many stealing shoves w/ T3s OTB did it 1 time vs AK:) I pushed and re-stole my way to 45K at the 2/4k level without showing down once and as for my exit hand well lets say when the tight passiveyish card rack bets out you know your Fúcked. I can't believe I only saw 5 showdowns all night.

Happy enough to get my 10 BB through so many levels in the evening but the way LLoyd and NickyOD were able to wield their chip advantage was quite brutal on the lesser experienced players fortunes.

I thought flushdraw was gonna kill the dealer at our table when (we were both equally shortstacked) mis-dealt 3/5 hands in the space of 15 mins.

Raging with my exit hand as I could have picked another spot just as easy(maybe even cash:rolleyes:) and the table in it's entirety was shorty's r'us. Good time and experience nonetheless, good to put faces on some of the more exuberent and diminutive personalities round here nonetheless. GL to all the boardsies tomorrow/today.

Well done and congrats to Steve, Anna, Derek and all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Man, that was the longest day ever.
    Nothing much else to say other then congrats to Stephen for putting this altogether, it was an hell of an achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Finished like 400th or something, AKdd in bb (weeeeeeee) folds to button who raises, i push, i thought there must have been a fire or something coz he got his chips over the line in about half-a-nanosecond with KK, and flop comes K high (weeeeeeeee).

My day was still a success though, 150 quid just to take part in this hand was worth it:

In bb at 75/150 with 55. UTG (from helsinki) is limp-fold station, he limps, 3 limp behind (2 nutjobs and 1 crazy lag), i check in bb. Flop 5 3 2 rainbow. I check, UTG checks, it goes 500, raise to 1400, smooth call and it's on me. I thought about it for a minute and pushed for 10k or so....i normally dont like playing it that way but was actually positive i could stack someone with A3 or 66 behind me.

Anyway, UTG starts laughing. Sighing and laughing. I've been talking to the guy for a while about poker in Finland etc. Still laughing. He obv doesnt play much Live i had to tell him a few times i could see his cards.....1 of his cards i see.....4h, at that stage im thinking he has 44 and he's thinking about a gamble. Then i see the other 1 , Ad. :eek: He's still laughing. He seems to forget there are people behind , and SHOWS me A4 and throws it away :confused:

Then the other guys behind eventually fold and demand to know what he showed LOL after that cue about an hour of "how the hell can you fold that?" conversation. Def the highlight of my day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

I went out at the 200-400 level.

WOW Joe... 200-400 level, your getting better :p

[/QUOTE]

LuckyLloyd 313k. Hopefully tomorrow (today? ) will go like today (yesterday? ) did.

87 left. Clock starts tomorrow with an hour of 5k / 10k (Ste confirmed this to me as I left). Avg is circa 110k.
    Today 03:01

[/QUOTE]
    Happy days Lloyd, I got nothing going at that table, that scandie who called me with Ace high AND WON really ****ed me up,

and then my JJ ran into his monster that is 2 3 SOOOOOOOOOOTED finished me off, should have gone all in pre flop but wanted action so just raised 2 1/2 BB and he got in for cheap

best of luck today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Irish Iron

what time did it finish up at last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭ShadowBJ21

They got the 87 that play today at 01:53.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

glglglglglglgl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭GinjaNinja

got busted about 140-145ish.

i doubled up twice in a row to about 80k.

BB got AKsuited.

Chipleader 2 behind me raised 20k.. I pushed and he called.
    He had Q10 off.
    Flop rag/j/rag/K/9

it hurt.
    fair play to all gl hf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Lissavalley

DeadParrot wrote:
    what table were you on?

Actually don't remember what table number I finished up on. There'e a redraw today anyways isn't there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

oz poker took me out at about the 500 people marker.
    was raging about constantly moving tables, just when your starting to destroy em.
    i folded to oz's squeeze play in a pot that would have been 70k, with average at 18. id 27k start of hand, and it would have turned out to be a race (AQ,AK my 99) got a bit tilted by this, esp considering how having not been caught much pre, to be back to barely 20bb really annoyed me. now i realised , get busy or go home, i wasnt gonna be caught up in the crapshoot.

folded to oz, first time in 2hrs at the table, and he raises, as i expect, 3k. bb 1k. ive A5 on bb, and think im ahead, but what size raise? so decided 13k total, half me stack, so im calling regardless what he does, he pushes i call
    his AK beats my A5. wp sir

also i went to jackpot and played all night after coppers, didnt get a wink of sleep at all, not a good idea! gordon your a sicko!

gl all left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Best of luck to all boardsies today... Macspower was playin a stormer yeaterday at my table, I busted out around d 200 mark! Gl all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Im back today @ 2.30 for the ''crap shoot'' with 2.5 BBs left. I like Donal above started to try gather some chips as I realised I would need 200K minimum coming back today.

An annoying english friend directly to my left last night was practically wetting himself cos he made day 2 and the money.. €200 i think. Would that be €50 profit so far yeah.

Anyhow my really annoying tight weak english friend instantly snap re raises me all in after i push. I had 78k at the time looking to pick up the 12k blinds, he had 52k and yes HE was re raising me all in. Sigh.... I announce ''oh oh such bad timing on my part'' and he proudly turns over his hand. A10 suited I had A4 and was down to 26K. In fairness to him I had been all in twice in a row and found a non believer but hey he was behind to AJ ffs.. bah bah bah..

I was looking for chips so I should nt really moan about the call (should i)

I had previously raised 33% of my 60K stack with AK into the chip leader at the table who was getting peeved with me at this stage and announces ''you dont have an Ace'' I explained how I could nt fold if he pushed and he did nt seem to understand why I could nt fold as he was convinced I was stealing his BB. (i was 1 off the cut off into his BB).. He folded. I repeated this a few orbits later when I raised to 3 x BB with my stack at 105K (blinds 3k 6k). he instantly pushes with an annoyed sigh moan saying '' thats twice now''. I folded my weak Ace and he asked how could I fold now if I could nt fold my previous AK hand. Sigh.. I did nt bother to explain why.

Its a pity that such a huge field is now down to the crap shoot stage. The average stack going back today has 11 BBs... Pity really. I need to wake up with AA in my 1st hand today or even 78 suited will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

ITT-Pat wrote:
    Yeah i think i nearly cried when i folded my 99 face up only to be shown 22 and 88!! :o

EDIT: How did you know my boards name??
    We played in the Jackpot a while back, and I think we both commented on our table the next day on boards. I think you went on to win it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

out in 160th or so, ran a muck on my first table knocking out 9 or so in the first 5 levels and was crusing on 60k early on whilst the average was 18k. moved tables and dropped slightly to 40K. Moved tables again and moved back up to my high point of 100k.

Enjoyable tourney not so enjoybale in the way i went out though, good work to the lads it went fairly ok given the high numbers you had to deal with.

12 hours poker = 0 profit meh....
    Were you on table 81?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I think I'm chip leader on 359K.

Was a pretty gruelling day, especially if you hadn't slept for 20 hours prior to starting the tournament. I'm really pumped up for today though.

NickyOD wrote:
    I think I'm chip leader on 359K.

Was a pretty gruelling day, especially if you hadn't slept for 20 hours prior to starting the tournament. I'm really pumped up for today though.

No there's a french lad that was in my table with 430k ish.

I have 345k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

gl nicky and lloyd (who seems to have lots of detractors so he must be doing something right) and any other boards people.

needless to say, i played wonderfully as always but got unlucky.

also carfax owes me a pint and a curry chips for dealing at my table for 8 frickin' hours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Jayminator wrote:
    An annoying english friend directly to my left last night was practically wetting himself cos he made day 2 and the money.. €200 i think. Would that be €50 profit so far yeah.
    With his donkey laugh. Im oppositie you with 66k, Ed. Gl.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm, I'm gone, team captain let all down. :P

Started off as usual, I do nothing until I know how everybody plays. So at the first break I am only 11k. There is already a mongtastic calling station at my table with ~50k.
    Soon it is only me and him left from our original 10.

After the break I pick up qq straight away. There is a raise to 800 and I reraise to 2k. Tightie beside me calls. Action goes back around to original raiser who thinks and shoves. I call. Tight guy thinks for an age. I say to him, if you think your kk/ak is good, call. He folds showing kk, LoL.
    My qq holds up and things are going well. half an hour after the first break I have a 100BB stack and as the blinds go up I kept that 100BB stack by doubling up versus the other bigstack guy that likes to call everything.
    By the second break(the one that came early I have slipped down to 36.6k at the 200-400 level.
    I made a bad move I suppose. I raise with qq and a guy calls. flop is 2910r. He bets 1.5k and I reraise to 4.5k. He jams for 22/24k I think, I fold. Should have called the original bet as Nicky said...

Next,
    7 players limp to my BB and I have kqs, I check. Flop comes 910j, two of a suit I don't have. The Big stack bets 2k and I reraise to 8.5k thanking him inside for his chips. He calls. Blank turn, i shove and he calls with AJ, gasps and sniggers from my table.
    For the next while I just have to cruise along taking blinds and 3 betting with pocket pairs until my kk runs into aa and i am down to 50k. Avg stack is like 12/13k or somehting so it's still ok.

The once-upon-a-time-big-stack-donkey-monkey-purple-dishwasher gathers a big stack again(a house vs two under houses and he shoved on a non dangerous flop making trip fours fold???) and we both have ~52k.
    Then I get knocked out. :/

I am under the gun with qq and raise to 2.5k and he reraises to 10k, all else fold. I shove for 52k as well, I am ahead of him.
    He calls with 1010 for a ~105k pot which will put whoever wins into quite a chip lead(This is only the 300/600 or 400/800 level). Some guy that likes to Play EPTs and talk abut it claps me on the shoulder and says he knew I was in great shape lol... Flop comes 910j and no help, so I am gone...to cash.

Great day, well done Stephen et al, fantastic time.
    Good luck to my 2 remaining team members today, NickyOD and DEmeant0r.

Thanks for the Mermaid Poker Condom. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

No there's a french lad that was in my table with 430k ish.

I have 345k

Figured as much. Is he that nut-job limp-calling station? I heard he was on half a million at one stage but though he pissed more of it away.

Anyone know how the team scores are going? There are two of us on healthy stacks so we must be right up there.

Best of luck to everyone today. Seems to be lots of boardsies out there.

NickyOD wrote:
    Figured as much. Is he that nut-job limp-calling station? I heard he was on half a million at one stage but though he pissed more of it away.

Anyone know how the team scores are going? There are two of us on healthy stacks so we must be right up there.

No he's solid enough actually. Headin in now anyways.

GL to all involved, see ye there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

NickyOD wrote:

My team Hatedajacks have 2 still in also but neither of us have great stacks. 2 others of ours went out around the 200 mark so we wont be far off i would guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

max_power wrote:
    With his donkey laugh. Im oppositie you with 66k, Ed. Gl.

The very one Ed. Kinda very annoying laugh dont ya think or was it just me See you in a while.

Jay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

It is half 2 we are suposed to be there yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Helper_Monkey

On max_power and Jay's table.

im the so called chip leader (im not actually) that bluffed jay harharharhharhar

What a laf!