Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw an abandoned classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 18 mk1eighty

A Mk 1 Ford Escort

1100 base model, original interior, glass etc.

An Irish car NRI ... Reg.

The tub is not to bad.

It is on my friends farm, In Naas.

Someone might be interested in it.

He wants to move it on.

Pm if interested

• Registered Users Posts: 17 stag76

she has had more hits than elvis:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭Type 17

Looks like animals have been rubbing up against it - a common issue with vehicles left in fields.

Would make a nice classic project or maybe a good rally shell.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

2013-06-15164920.jpg?t=1371673064

Ascona CD, sorry about the small photo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Tramore rd., Cork.

I'm quite sure I saw this car on donedeal like 2 years ago approx. The price wasn't high and obviously there was a reason for that.

IMG_6759.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Axe Tax , remember that :P:P

The orange indicators indicate:D that it came from 'rusty' UK, so .......:(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

There a gold one of those in the business park in Feltrim, near Swords. Just sits there and never moves.

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

Diabhalta wrote: »
    Tramore rd., Cork.

I'm quite sure I saw this car on donedeal like 2 years ago approx. The price wasn't high and obviously there was a reason for that.

IMG_6759.jpg

33 CZC is the reg of that lincoln I think

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

68deville wrote: »

Was in somewhere in Kerry iirc. I remember seeing a gold one on RTE news one night too at the scene of a murder, car all taped off with Garda crime scene tape.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

68deville wrote: »

Yeah, it looks like 33 CZC alright, that car was part of a Collection of various cars in Aherns Opel Garage in castleisland that were sold off a few years ago.
    It wasnt exactly Mint then...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Blue850

DSC00145.jpg

Two years ago it was sitting in a field in Kilbeggan

Donegal / Tramore rd , Cork / Kilbeggan - sure gets around a lot for a car with the bonnet removed in most photos :P:P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Citroen BX, beara peninsula cork.

Old-ish one?

P7079283.jpg

Bluebird, rural kerry.

P6289011.jpg

You must like 'green lane-ing',or looking to buy a cheap holiday bolthole down a boreen, only other way of finding those yokes would be by chopper ? :rolleyes:

Though maybe in 50 years there'll be Mercs /Lexus / Audis dumped in fields etc. all over the country from the 'austerity years' of 2012+ :mad: :mad:

Capri wrote: »
    You must like 'green lane-ing',or looking to buy a cheap holiday bolthole down a boreen, only other way of finding those yokes would be by chopper ? :rolleyes:

Though maybe in 50 years there'll be Mercs /Lexus / Audis dumped in fields etc. all over the country from the 'austerity years' of 2012+ :mad: :mad:

I do a lot of rambling around. I only wish i'd had a camera a few years ago when there were a lot more cars just left in random places, i used to see so many. But those stories are no good to people these days without pictures. Found a rusting hymac excavator today in a forest and another one just a mile or so in open ground away both facing the exact same direction with the arm in the same position, I'd love an aerial photo so i like the chopper idea. When i had the old trail bike i found way more.

Life is faster these days - a nice quiet XT250 would get you around the country in no time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Life is faster these days - a nice quiet XT250 would get you around the country in no time.
    You can sneak around on one of these, you won't find a quieter bike and maybe use some old wrecks for practice! :D

SetWidth600-DSC0459.jpg

invest4deepvalue.com

Do-more wrote: »
    You can sneak around on one of these, you won't find a quieter bike and maybe use some old wrecks for practice! :D

SetWidth600-DSC0459.jpg

Is that electric? Ah feck that, Plus my back wouldnt be up for standing up all the time... oh the thought of it... not good

Wait til the battery gives up - no charging sockets in Irish boreens:P

That's why i said feck that!

Anyway i'll be back on topic in a few minutes when i convinve the bast*rd technological implement to upload a picture

Untouched unused house, untouched unused golf

2013-07-15185034.jpg

If they got one of those robot mowers then it might look lived in
    http://www.husqvarna.com/nz/products/robotic-mowers/husqvarna-robotic-mowers-for-homeowners/

Often wonder what the story is on abandoned houses/cars - debt, illness, death ?

Remember an old house near Harry Byrnes on the Howth rd. Back in the 60's there was a Herald and Mini parked in there, as the years wore on they never moved and gradually became more rusted/overgrown yet ocassionally I'd see an ol' fellow out fixing the overgrown hedge so it's grow in on itself. Place gone now so presume he died and rellys sold it off to developer.:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Ya Capri, it is intriging. Two of the most expensive purchases anybody ever makes in their life, and they just lie there now abandoned.
    I wonder about the great joy when those keys were first acquired and look at them now. What went wrong in between? We'll probably never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

"Abandoned" houses are often the result of family fallings out, after a relatives death. Another reason is legal problems, I know of a house which sat for 20 years unused. The builders of the house had the house complete and ready to live in, when it was discovered that a newer version of a deceased persons will existed, and the solicitors had messed up. When the last will was administered, it turned out the builders of the house had not been willed the particular field after all. The relatives who had been willed the field refused to allow the builders access. The solicitors insurance company settled with all concerned.
    Some times a person dies, and no relatives can be found. Those are probably the saddest.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

the_syco wrote: »
    262875.jpg

And before someone says something about me using the camera whilst driving, the light had just turned green. Taken here on Sunday evening.
    Can't believe that's just abandoned there.:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    I only wish i'd had a camera a few years ago when there were a lot more cars just left in random places, i used to see so many.
    Was just reminiscing last night about how when I was a teenager we used to tour around the bogs looking at all the old cars that had been disposed of there. I used to have a biscuit tin full of old car badges that I removed from many of the wrecks. Unfortunately the tin got chucked out when my parents moved house about 15 years ago.

invest4deepvalue.com

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Do-more wrote: »
    Was just reminiscing last night about how when I was a teenager we used to tour around the bogs looking at all the old cars that had been disposed of there. I used to have a biscuit tin full of old car badges that I removed from many of the wrecks. Unfortunately the tin got chucked out when my parents moved house about 15 years ago.
    I remember going to a family friends house with my parents and they had a personal scrap yard in the back paddock! Full of old ladas datsuns fords and iirc a skoda rapide, happy days playing cops and robbers in them.

Don't know if any northsiders remember a chap in a semi-d near the Artane roundabout beside the TSB bank - front and rear garden stuffed full of yokes with a gap down the back garden for his Ma to hang out the washing :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

^^

I do!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Can't believe that's just abandoned there.:-)
    Goddamn wrong thread :o Meant to post here.