Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

800 Euro for a month ?!?!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

It's safe to assume that the high cost that the OP is speaking about is regarding the total cost of a night out drinking. Whoever doesn't drink, fair play to ye, but your opinions on how to reduce the cost of a night's drinking are a little irrelevant. I mean I can cut a night into town down to absolute zero if I cycle into town, lock my bike in work and drink pints of ice water in the pub, and there's a strong chance i'll have a good time. But that's irrelevant.

Travel can cost as little as six euros if we're talking bus/luas and then a nitelink. Put a bottle of wine or some cans into you before you leave and you're looking at another tenner. I would generally have about six pints on a regular night out which is going to in or around €30. A little less if i'm drinking whiskey, about the same if i'm drinking nice whiskey. A bite to eat and it's €50.

For a regular night out where you're not doing your best to scrounge and save you're going to pay that much. You can save money by drinking more before going out, sneaking in a naggin, not getting food, walking to and from the venue... You can add to it by getting a few extra pints, a few shorts or more expensive drinks (anything involving a red bull, or cocktails) or by going somewhere where you need to pay in. There's something for every price range in this city, but if you plan to drink, plan to spend €30 to €50. And that's pretty decent value in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

bluewolf wrote:
    lol
    the company of my friends tends to be fun enough, I don't need to throw alcohol in to enjoy it

Good for you! You just go into the places for free and then don't pay any money for a drink or for pool -- you just take up a seat that a paying customer might use! Sound.
    bluewolf wrote:
    You know, I don't see "drinking oneself stupid" in that definition... curious, eh?

I don't remember saying anything about drinking myself stupid... Maybe it's that righteous indignation affecting your perception.

You asked, "why do people go out? What makes a good night out?" (and of course threw in "is it the alcohol?" cos god forbid someone have a drink while they're out having fun with their friends... then they're idiots)

People go out for fun -- imagine that!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Heyes wrote:
    Bluewolf granted yes there is a lot mentioning that they go out to get absolutaly sh*t faced, but as i have also mentioned many a time, there is other costs involved such as entrence fees and taxi's... there is not a direct bus route from my place to town so i more often than not share a taxi with friends or meet them in town. Then if we want to go dancing you could pay up to 20 euro to get into places, granted dont get me wrong i wouldnt actually pay a crazy figure like that but im just giving you an example. Also one pint last night cost me 5.60?!?!.. without a doubt prices go up on a saturday given the fact i was in the same place during the week a little bit back and it cost no where near that. Also what if there is a group of you and you decide to do rounds, there the amount you spend goes up again.
    Why don't people just not pay 20 euro? You do realise there are places in town that don't charge an entrance fee and you can actually dance there?
    Even the places that do charge I've found are more often 5-10 euro...
    The bulk of these costs still seems to be alcohol... maybe if you have to get taxis it's a different story but if it's possible to get the bus (which it is for others) then they've still no excuse to be complaining... and if you meet them in town do you take a couple buses or what?

I've never actually been in a group who are doing rounds
    we all drink our own thing
    fairer that way
    Good for you! You just go into the places for free and then don't pay any money for a drink or for pool -- you just take up a seat that a paying customer might use! Sound.
    At least there are seats in the places I go to =/
    I don't remember saying anything about drinking myself stupid... Maybe it's that righteous indignation affecting your perception.
    You don't. Others do.
    You asked, "why do people go out? What makes a good night out?" (and of course threw in "is it the alcohol?" cos god forbid someone have a drink while they're out having fun with their friends... then they're idiots)

People go out for fun -- imagine that!
    Maybe being condescending affected your perception.
    Yes, people go out for fun. But a lot of people on AH seem to equate that to drinking themselves stupid. I've given examples of a sort just there to Heyes who agrees.
    So, if people just want to go out for fun and socialise then they don't need excessive amounts of alcohol to enjoy themselves. Problem solved.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Heyes wrote:

The gooner, granted i totally agree with your above statement, i always tend to find myself in places like fitzsimons or the porter house, as its nice to hear the people your with plus there not seedy. But then again a girl does love some dancing so nighclubs are still an option...

Its unfortunate we have to pay so much just for something very simple. Yeah could do it the cheap way and sit at home with friends but its nice to get out , mix with others, soak up the fun atmospher of everyone out for a laugh. Its just worth it sometimes, but i cant be spending crazy money like i have been !!!

I am with you there Porterhouse FTW! LOL

For me personally, yes I love a dance with my mates but for one reason or another i find all the 'in' places heading the same way, they let in kids as young as 17, the barmen happily pump more alcohol into the already completely wasted idiots falling all over the place, people having their stuff robbed. It goes on and on, I just find the whole clubbing thing stressful if anything.

bluewolf wrote:
    Why don't people just not pay 20 euro? You do realise there are places in town that don't charge an entrance fee and you can actually dance there?

Just cos you can dance there doesn't mean it's a good place. What's the music like? The clientelle?
    bluewolf wrote:
    fairer that way

Fairer?

Jesus... It's a f*cking night out! You're not negotiating a business deal!

DaveMcG wrote:

Seriously you must be rolling in cash, cos with all the penny-pinching you do you, it would be impossible for you to be short of change...

ah dave dont get personal man. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

bluewolf wrote:
    Even the places that do charge I've found are more often 5-10 euro...
    The bulk of these costs still seems to be alcohol... maybe if you have to get taxis it's a different story but if it's possible to get the bus (which it is for others) then they've still no excuse to be complaining... and if you meet them in town do you take a couple buses or what?

fairer that way

At least there are seats in the places I go to =/

You don't. Others do.

Maybe being condescending affected your perception.
    Yes, people go out for fun. But a lot of people on AH seem to equate that to drinking themselves stupid. I've given examples of a sort just there to Heyes who agrees.
    So, if people just want to go out for fun and socialise then they don't need excessive amounts of alcohol to enjoy themselves. Problem solved.

There will always be people that will pay the 20 euro because they will believe there is a reason behind the cost, that its suppose to be brilliant, for years spirit nightclub was advertised as 25 euro and was always packed to the gills, never went as thought price was crazy but that said it was always apparently busy.

I keep repeating myself on this, but its not the amount of drink people are consuming it is the PRICE of drink.... you cant get two drinks for a tenner anymore, well unless you drink half pints or dont use a mixer... but not many will do that...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

TheGooner wrote:
    I am with you there Porterhouse FTW! LOL

For me personally, yes I love a dance with my mates but for one reason or another i find all the 'in' places heading the same way, they let in kids as young as 17, the barmen happily pump more alcohol into the already completely wasted idiots falling all over the place, people having their stuff robbed. It goes on and on, I just find the whole clubbing thing stressful if anything.

True most places will accept the younger ones in because they are more willing to pay the money because of the thrill of a night out. But thankfully the likes of porter house , fitzsimons etc havent gone down that road YET.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Drink less, get the nitelink, go to the pub/club later, grab a few cans before you go out... simple, only you can make your night enjoyable not how much you spend

• Registered Users Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

DaveMcG wrote:
    Fairer?

Jesus... It's a f*cking night out! You're not negotiating a business deal!

Seriously you must be rolling in cash, cos with all the penny-pinching you do you, it would be impossible for you to be short of change...

Rounds suck all kinds of ass at times though, when you get some git who always tries to evade getting a round for example. Plus I don't like having to synchronize my drinking speed with that of those around me.

TheGooner wrote:
    ah dave dont get personal man. :(
    Alright edited, but his/her attitude annoys me......
    grimloch wrote:
    Rounds suck all kinds of ass at times though, when you get some git who always tries to evade getting a round for example. Plus I don't like having to synchronize my drinking speed with that of those around me.

Yeah I know, I don't always buy rounds, but calling it "unfair" kinda reeks of stinginess. If someone's always dodging rounds then don't buy them a drink or else call them out on it!

Forgot to mention, I've managed to spend less than €50 on my last few nights out (incl taxi!). I've had 2 or 3 cans before I go out, then a few pints, and dancing for most of the night! Not to mention munch on the way home. Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

grimloch wrote:

Exactly, i fcuking hate rounds, they're so unfair on people who wish to drink less and who are repsonsible with their money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

bluewolf wrote:
    Sitting around watching pool and chatting to people and playing with them is less fun than barely being able to walk in an overcrowded too hot place with people spilling drink on you? Riiight.
    Yeah, it might cost you a bit. But, there's plenty of fun to be had for less than 100 euro if you just (god forbid) try and cut down
    but then if your parents are paying for your nights out I'm sure you don't care what the cost is :rolleyes:

Listen Bluewolf, its clear that you're just different to us club go-ers. What we like is obviously different to what you like, and if you're happy with your way of life then by all means go for it. I, as a club go-er, am happy with mine. I'm happy spending a bit to enjoy what I call a good night out. I'd laugh if someone seriously suggested what you do as a "night out" to me as the night out for the week tbh, going for a few games of pool and a few pints is something I'd do any night of the week and don't consider is anything special tbh, whereas hitting the town with friends and going to a club etc, is something I'd look forward to. You probably would laugh if one of your kooky mates suggested going to a club! But sure, we're all different and that what makes life interesting.

What I'm saying is, don't knock our ways just because you've your own beliefs of how they are or can't understand why we enjoy it. Fair enough if you're not into it, you obviously prefer things somewhat secluded, but turning around and making it out as though we're all out to get off our face and stumble around spilling drinks on eachother. We enjoy the club scene, the social side of things to it, you don't. You're not a club go-er, you clearly don't understand the costs involved. You can go out on a friday night, have a few drinks before, hit a club and remain almost perfectly sober and its still going to cost a fair bit. Simple as. Case closed.

Also, regarding the drink. Personally, I've a high tolerancy to drink so what could be considered a lot to one person, would be a little to me. I don't like getting absolutely sh*tfaced on a night out, I do however like to get a little tipsy. It loosens me up, relaxs me and I enjoy myself an awful lot more than if I'm dead sober.

I'm sure many, many are the same. You don't have to get sh*tfaced to have a good night, and even though some of us appear to be spending a massive amount on night outs, it doesn't necessarily mean we're going out and drinking our weight in alcohol and labelling it a good night.

Anyway, whats a good night to you is apparently a lot different to us. No big deal, just don't go having a go at what we call fun just because you think its shíte.
    iguana wrote:
    There are lots of places that you can go that don't charge in.

Well, not a lot of the main clubs will let you in free. A lot will do free passes, or some other promotions but the main clubs in town on the weekend aren't free. Not even the Gaiety is free! As I found out last week.

Traffic may have a concession running, as I said some clubs will have completely free concessions, some will have half price or some will just have one free drink or shot with your entry. Personally, I don't like Traffic. I've been in a few times and just found the place loaded with people off their head on E, hassling me for E or trying to sell me it.

Some of the clubs I do go to will have concessions running some nights, I try to avail of them if possible but its not always possible. Even still, you're not saving a huge amount as its more often than not just the free drink/shot promotion, or maybe €2 off a €10 entry.
    iguana wrote:
    There are plenty of cheaper alternatives and it has nothing to do with the state of the country.

Not really, in all fairness. The general price of a pint in any bar in this city is expensive, as is the price of a short. Yes, some clubs will charge more but these are generally on premium spirits, not your smirnoff red or boro vodka, and on their imported lagers. The price of a pint of Heineken or a shot of smirnoff doesn't differ massively around the city, and those prices are a rip.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,186 ✭✭✭kensutz

The way I look at things is that for the cost of going out at the weekend, I can cover costs of flights to England to go to matches. Some people think I'm nuts doing it but it's something which I've always wanted to do is go to games regularly. Sometimes even saying that it's cheaper to go to England than it is for a night out here.

kensutz wrote:
    The way I look at things is that for the cost of going out at the weekend, I can cover costs of flights to England to go to matches. Some people think I'm nuts doing it but it's something which I've always wanted to do is go to games regularly. Sometimes even saying that it's cheaper to go to England than it is for a night out here.

Yes! As I found out this Summer. The pound goes a helluva long way over there. We're robbed blind here, pure and simple.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Alright edited, but his/her attitude annoys me......

lol, you're not the only one. It doesn't matter though, I've accepted that Bluewolf is just..."different".

I thought your original comment was funny btw :)

Myself and friends never do rounds btw. Everyone drinks at different paces so we just get our own drinks, or maybe we'll do separate rounds in smaller groups but its never one person buying a round for the whole group. Its just an awful lot easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Wow this thread really got heated didn't it?? :eek:

I think everyone is in agreement that that is a ridiculous amount of money to have to pay! :eek: I'm lucky, I hate clubs, Don't drink much and live in a small enough town and close enough that even if I did want to have a night out I could walk both to and from town!

I think I'm pretty much the same as blue, I couldn't stomach spending that amount of money on nights out! I'd rather be thought of as stingy! It's my money at the end of the day :rolleyes: And alot of my friends dislike clubs too which is handy! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I think everyone is in agreement that that is a ridiculous amount of money to have to pay!
    I don't. I think its a ridiculous amount of money to choose to pay.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

rb_ie wrote:
    Not really, in all fairness. The general price of a pint in any bar in this city is expensive, as is the price of a short. Yes, some clubs will charge more but these are generally on premium spirits, not your smirnoff red or boro vodka, and on their imported lagers. The price of a pint of Heineken or a shot of smirnoff doesn't differ massively around the city, and those prices are a rip.

But how different do you think that is anywhere else? If I head out in Soho I will spend pretty much the same amount for a drink in similar places. If I want to spend less I have to go to different areas or a type of pub. I can get a G&T in Weatherspoons for £1.20, or I can spend £4.50 for the same drink in an expensive club.

Now what I'm picking up from this thread is that not many people here would head into a central London (or any) Weatherspoons on a Friday/Saturday night as it would not be their idea of a good night out. (Neither would I, it's my idea of hell, they're ok in the day time but not at night). So regardless of the fact that there are cheaper options they wouldn't avail of them as they aren't to their taste so they would go someplace more expensive. Which is fine, but they have made that choice so it isn't the country's fault.

Now I'll give you that the transport in Ireland is a problem. If you don't live in walking distance of the city or you aren't on the limited, and expensive, nite-bus routes you are at the mercy of taxis. Whereas I can get the bus home at night and it's all included in the monthly ticket I have to get for work. Though that is £99 for 30 days so it is hardly cheap.

iguana wrote:
    But how different do you think that is anywhere else? If I head out in Soho I will spend pretty much the same amount for a drink in similar places. If I want to spend less I have to go to different areas or a type of pub. I can get a G&T in Weatherspoons for £1.20, or I can spend £4.50 for the same drink in an expensive club.

I haven't come across such a price difference in Dublin anyway tbh. The cheapest, in Dublin anyway, that I've found a pint of Heineken for has been €4.70 (iirc, could have been €4.90) whilst most pubs/clubs in the city centre charge ~€6.10. Which, for a pint of beer, is quite expensive. Maybe not compared to London, which is actually way up the chart in terms of most expensive cities (to Dublin) so it certainly wouldn't surprise me if it were the same if not more expensive in the centre of London for a pint, especially in a club.
    Compared to other European cities, perhaps with the exception of Paris, the price of drink in Dublin (maybe Ireland in general) is expensive.

Though as you have pointed out, you can get cheaper in London, whereas as I've said I haven't come across anywhere in Dublin city where there is such a deviation in prices.

I've come across smaller prices in other regions in Ireland, but nothing spectacular when compared with the prices I've encountered in other European cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,163 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

OP - are you getting value for money? If so, what's the problem? If not, you just need a few substitutsion. Maybe go out one or two less nights a week and do the drink in with mates thing?

Contrary to what a lot of people in Dublin seem to think you HAVE choices...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

ah the advantage of old age, i did most of my clubbing when you could still get a pint for 2.60 and that was the expensive one in the club:D :D

TBH the only way you can have a cheap night out now is to avoid town like the plague. spending over 5euro for a pint is ridiculous and you should call these places on it by removing your custom

that said i did almost fall of the chair when bluewolf said you could get by on 20 euro, for gods sake 3 pints of coke and a smoked cod would finish that off!

have to admit i feel really sorry for you youngsters but you'll learn soon enough the value of your local and the ability to hear the women/men your chatting up. clubs are alright if you want your hole but its impossible to really get to know someone in em and financially speaking theyre a ripoff. in case the OP is wondering my outgoings over a month would probably be circa 120 euro. and if i do go clubbing its usualy in my local club on a sunday night where its 2.50 a drink all night with a entrance charge of 15 so 30 would do you for the night

*EDIT* by the way why are we limiting it to pubs? you'd need 20 quid to go to the cinema nowadays :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,206 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Im not one to go out often at all, so monthly I'd have no idea what Id spend. But on Friday, I had €80 with me, spent €15 on bus fares, and €13 on drink. €28 and thats it. Other money goes back into bank account, so Im happy for another bit. It does help that I dont drink really and we went to free places, but if I paid into a club, Id never really buy anything in there. €3 a Lucozade, haha, get away from me. I get more than value for that, cos afterwards, I dont need any food, I have a good time, and Iv still got quite a bit of money left...works all ways for me that way. Just cut down on drink and it'll surprise ya how much ya can save

rb_ie wrote:
    I've come across smaller prices in other regions in Ireland, but nothing spectacular when compared with the prices I've encountered in other European cities.

Yes but how does it compare when you factor in the average salary in the region? It's all very well saying things are much cheaper in Prague than in Dublin, but the average salary there is very low.

And I've had drinks in Dublin for €1.50, granted it was on a Monday night, but it was only 2 years ago. Someplace on George St.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

iguana wrote:
    Yes but how does it compare when you factor in the average salary in the region? It's all very well saying things are much cheaper in Prague than in Dublin, but the average salary there is very low.

And I've had drinks in Dublin for €1.50, granted it was on a Monday night, but it was only 2 years ago. Someplace on George St.

it'd help if the drinks industry wasnt a maxi cartel. the place mentioned , weatherspoons, is notorious for its cheap drink and the vintners in ireland lobbied for years to prevent them opening up shop here. they were meant to open a pub on harcourt street but pulled out when the smoking ban came in. apparently they run on very tight margins and the loss of 20% of projected business was too much for them which is a pity because christ knows we need genuine competition in the pub sector instead of the "if you dont like my prices go next door. which i also own" mentality we get in dublin. christ i wouldnt be surprised if 7 people own the majority of all the pubs in the city centre!

apparently they run on very tight margins and the loss of 20% of projected business was too much for them which is a pity because christ knows we need genuine competition in the pub sector

They do run on very tight margins, they don't even play music in the pubs because they don't want to pay for the intellectual property rights. Interestingly they started to roll out no-smoking pubs here last year with a view to making them all non-smoking by the end of the year. But they went back on it once a complete smoking ban was announced for next summer saying there was no point if they would have to do it anyway.

iguana wrote:

Well, obviously in pubs the cost of labour,rent etc has to be somewhat factored into the price of the products on sale in the establishment. However, the costs of their products to them (the kegs, wholesale crates of vodka etc) wouldn't be too far from the costs that are experienced by pubs in other European cities. The may be slightly more depending on the tax our publicans pay, differences in delivery costs, but overall they shouldn't be too different.
    Well, I should say, they shouldn't be so different that clubs in Vienna (the latest place I can quote prices from) are able to charge €3 for a pint of Heineken, while ours are charging €6. Double the price for the same product, and there is no way that the costs in Vienna are half of the costs in Dublin.

I couldn't find a precise minimum wage per hour for Austria at the time, but both Ireland and Austrias minimum wage is over €1000 per month, with Irelands at ~€1200 and Austrias at ~€1100 I think, so the cost of labour certainly isn't too different.

I may be wrong, but what I'm basically trying to say is that though there may be higher costs of sale experienced by Irish publicans when compared to their European counterparts, they aren't so different that the reflected prices are vastly different to the same product in other European cities.

Another example would certainly be off-licence. Compare the prices in off-licenses here, to those in other European cities and you'll definately see a huge difference in prices. This is also well known.

The pubs/clubs do pull in a considerable profit here, I personally know an ex-manager of a popular club in Dublin who once told me the profit figures for a weekend. Though I don't remember a specific figure, but I do remember being astonished at exactly how much these places were turning over (after costs).

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Gautama

Be vigilant with your money when paying for drinks.
    Have you ever noticed this: On a night out where you drink 3 pints you spend about €15 quid. Then a night out where you drink 12 pints you spend about €100. Four times the amount of drink but eight times the price! Barmen and barmaids are short changing you left, right and centre, once you're a bit pished and ripe for a thieving. Especially with the colours of a €10 note and a €50 note quite similar, they can also claim that they confused the notes. Happened to me twice in the space of one week, the €10/€50 con!
    Wait 'til next year when €100 notes get common in ATMs. Even more money to get short changed.
    Ah well, it could be worse. At least Ireland does have a fantastic night life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

I hate wasting money when I go out but even if I only have a couple of beers it all adds up.

I smoke too so add €6.55 to the amount a non-smoker will spend when out.

When I was 18 or 19 I used to spend loads going out, these days not so much. Haven't been out in town in a while and when I do I tend to head to The Thing Mote or a pub where I don't have to pay an entrance fee and can have a few pints with mates where the music is decent but not blaring so you can have a conversation.

I remember being in 21 one night and it disgusted me that I had to pay a tenner in, drinks weren't even subsidised cheaper and I had a crap night because I resented having to pay that much in...

There's always ways to go out and have a good time and spend less money but there's also always going to be a minimum amount I'm going to spend...

€6.55 for a pack of fags
    €1.35 on the bus
    €5 x ~5 for a few pints, ~€25
    €5 entrance fee somewhere (max I'd pay and only if I knew it was somewhere I'd have a good time)

Throw in the €10 for the taxi home and you're talking the guts of 50 quid, even if I only have 4 or 5 drinks which'd be my maximum these days because I like to be able to remember what I get up to when out... Also throw more in if you go for something to eat before/after...

I don't take any money from my parents because I have a full time job and a decent wage... I pay my own way when I'm out. It's up to me what I do with my money.

These days though I tend not to go out too much, maybe over to mates houses for a few cans and sit around talking. Even then though I have to get a taxi home which also comes to around €10 because I don't live very close to any of my mates.

I've planned to fairly much quit drinking now after Christmas though because I'll be buying a car and want the convenience of being able to just drive home from my mates house. Only time I'll be drinking is if I'm out in town and I've already planned to get a taxi...

Also no danger of me drink driving because I can only afford drink or petrol, not both :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Yous are all mad spendin that kind of money. I go out twice a week on average and spend about 40euro each night, very max, never bring more with me.

9 o clock - 6 cans of bavaria for 7euro in a mates house while havin a Pro Evo competition/poker game/watchin a comedy

11 - Hit the shop while walkin/bus to club and pick up a nice naggin of JD

Go to a club were you dont pay more than 10euro in - thats a rule with me and my mates, wouldnt pay it.

Go in and buy some coke and mix with the naggin (dont get caught), have been doin it years and have never been caught. Always take the empty naggin with you cos if they find it under your table your not gonna get in again.

Or go to a place sellin bavaria/tenants cos its only 3euro a pint

Dont give the toilet attendents any money.

Walk home if possible or get nightlink, there both more fun if your drunk anyway.

there you go, great night feck all cash spent