Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

800 Euro for a month ?!?!?!

• 12-11-2006 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Right im after realising that i spent 800 euro on the last month going out, I dont actually drink an obsene amount but with taxi s and entrence fees i find im spending more and more.... How is it possible to do a cheap night in Ireland these days with the prices we are up against !?!!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

my taxi back costs 10euro
    I get the bus into town
    I don't pay to get in anywhere
    that means either going in earlier or going to free places

quite simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Heyes wrote:
    Right im after realising that i spent 800 euro on the last month going out, I dont actually drink an obsene amount but with taxi s and entrence fees i find im spending more and more.... How is it possible to do a cheap night in Ireland these days with the prices we are up against !?!!?!?

Its not unless you get a dvd or two and a couple of cans.

Seriously though, im not a smoker and I dont drink and I am still skint at end of the month from buying lunches and other such crap.

How have we accepted these price hikes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

TheGooner wrote:
    Its not unless you get a dvd or two and a couple of cans.

Seriously though, im not a smoker and I dont drink and I am still skint at end of the month from buying lunches and other such crap.

How have we accepted these price hikes?

We unfortunately have no choice in the matter, someone will always pay the prices so places are nt worried about price hikes leading to potential loss of sales, cause it will never happen:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

I seem to hover around the same amount in my bank account consistently e.g. Ill have 1600 in the account, Ill get my 700 pay, two weeks later Im back at 1600, in comes another 700. Transport is usually rounabouts 20, food 10, admission another 10, and about 13 drinks at a fiver a pop, hate this feckin country.

shane86 wrote:
    I seem to hover around the same amount in my bank account consistently e.g. Ill have 1600 in the account, Ill get my 700 pay, two weeks later Im back at 1600, in comes another 700. Transport is usually rounabouts 20, food 10, admission another 10, and about 13 drinks at a fiver a pop, hate this feckin country.
    You hate the country because you can't cut down on alcohol? Lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've spent more than that some months...its sickening when you look back at it alright. Some nights are definately worth the money, but some are just such a waste.
    I've cut back a good bit these days though, its a ridiculous amount to be spending.

As for cheap nights, I don't think I've ever had one. Even the nights where you have a few drinks in a friends before heading out, then the taxi, entrance fee and drinks in there costs quite a bit.

The only way to have a really cheap night is to get really cheap booze and consume enough of it so that you won't have to drink at the club you go to, then make sure you've a concession pass for the club after having walked all the way to it. Not spend a penny in there and walk home. I'm sure that would work out relatively cheap.

I've gotten used to more nights in now, just getting a few cans or something and heading to a friends. They're cheap nights sure enough, but they're not the same as a proper night out.

I'd say the bare minimum you'd spend on a night would be €40-€50 really, and thats just for the drink before the club, taxi there split between a few, entrance and your taxi home.

I know personally a night out, on average, costs €100+. Some nights it'll be €80 maybe, if I'm not really into it that night, but other nights have cost as much as €270, though that was definately the record. Luckily since I'm not working, they're getting funded by my dear old parents at the moment. In fairness, I haven't really went out properly more than once a week over the last while, twice on the week of halloween but that was an exception.That'll soon change though :(

Oh and hitting the casino after a night out...not a good idea.

rb_ie wrote:
    I'd say the bare minimum you'd spend on a night would be €40-€50 really, and thats just for the drink before the club, taxi there split between a few, entrance and your taxi home.
    Try 20 euro...

Why do you people insist on spending so much?

also, if I was one of your parents (and thank goodness I'm not) you can bet I'd tell you where to shove it if you demanded that much for a night out. That's stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Jesus...as a student (and complete bum), I wish I even had 800 a month.
    I don't go out much (like night out, I'm not a recluse), but you just need to pull out the various tricks. Try to avoid entrance fees, meet up at someone's place for a few cans before you go out, or better yet, just have a party at someones house.

rb_ie wrote:

I know personally a night out, on average, costs €100+. Some nights it'll be €80 maybe, if I'm not really into it that night, but other nights have cost as much as €270, though that was definately the record. Luckily since I'm not working, they're getting funded by my dear old parents at the moment. In fairness, I haven't really went out properly more than once a week over the last while, twice on the week of halloween but that was an exception.That'll soon change though :(

Oh and hitting the casino after a night out...not a good idea.

Firstly HOW the hell did you spend 270 on a night out.

Your parents are funding these nights out? No offence, but your my idea of a nightmare child LOL

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'm a student and my parents don't give me much disposible cash. If I spent €50 on a night out, it would want to have been an absolutely amazing night. It would also be a complete anomaly.

Let's see... A bottle of wine (€7), a taxi into town (€3, shared with friends), entrance to a club (€5), 10 cigarettes (€3.50), taxi home (€7). Approximately €25. Wow, that's expensive...

bluewolf wrote:
    Try 20 euro...

Don't be daft, €20 will get you nothing. Maybe your entrance fee and taxis there and back. If you don't get taxis, then you're spending at least €10 on the entrance, €4 on your nightlink and whatever on your bus there. Use the cloakroom?Thats another €2. You're left with nothing.

Oh and my parents aren't giving me €270 to spend on a night out, don't be ridiculous, I said that was the record. Maybe I should of added it was when I was working and paying for it myself. Generally they'll give me ~€90 and I'll stick another €20/30, sometimes but not often more, onto my credit card and let my overdraft handle the minimum monthly payments (bad, I know, but will be sorted when I'm working again) or ensure I have cash when the time comes.

Those few nights that have cost me €200+ were rare, it usually started in a bar after work. Usually cocoon and anyone who goes there knows the price of the drinks, or Cafe En Seine, or any other bar in the city centre really. They're all expensive, some more so than others but still going to cost you regardless. if I'm having a good time or have a good bit of cash at the time I certainly don't mind paying it really, but again, RARE. Then onto a club, sometimes lillies which is €20 in and again more quite highly priced drink, sometimes other clubs and usually followed by a trip to bucks after...easily burn through quite a lot of cash on a night like that but since they're a: rare, b: I was enjoying myself/could foresee myself enjoying the rest of the night and c: had a hefty bank balance at the time, I didn't mind that it cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Drink before you go out and you can easily get away with only buying one drink, sneak in a naggin in your bag or something. Don't bring out money on a night out, you will nearly always spend as much as you bring with you.

rb_ie wrote:
    Don't be daft, €20 will get you nothing. Maybe your entrance fee and taxis there and back. If you don't get taxis, then you're spending at least €10 on a the entrance, €4 on your nightlink and whatever on your bus there. Use the cloakroom?Thats another €2. You're left with nothing.
    Oh do explain to me then how I've had plenty of great nights out with 20 euro or less :rolleyes:
    Let's see. bus in is 1.55.
    There are plenty of pubs and clubs in town that don't charge an entrance fee.
    Maybe I'll pay a bit for a game of pool.
    I almost never use a cloakroom. I keep my bag with me.
    10 euro for a taxi back.
    maybe a couple drinks. Maybe not.
    Left with spare change.

I don't pay entrance fees to hang around and queue for overcrowded places with no seating, drunken idiots stumbling around, and overpriced drinks.
    However, if that's your idea of a good night out, you're welcome to spend all your money on it.
    A fool and his money...

Im going to a gig tonight, ticket was 27.50, bus in 1.55, probably have three or four cokes/7ups around 13.00 taxi home-12.00

54.05 - not too bad.

bluewolf wrote:
    Oh do explain to me then how I've had plenty of great nights out with 20 euro or less :rolleyes:
    10 euro for a taxi back.
    Left with spare change.

I don't pay entrance fees to hang around and queue for overcrowded places with no seating, drunken idiots stumbling around, and overpriced drinks.
    However, if that's your idea of a good night out, you're welcome to spend all your money on it.
    A fool and his money...

If you have the couple of drinks your already over the 20 euro....

Not if they're less than 5 euro?
    Anyway 22 euro or thereabouts is still a hell of a lot better than 220
    and it still shows that 40-50 is NOT the bare minimum

actually, why do you people go out? Like, what makes a good night out? What's fun about it? Is it the company or the alcohol?
    Just curious.

bluewolf wrote:
    10 euro for a taxi back.
    Left with spare change.

A fool and his money...

Last time I went to a club I paid 20.00 in, 6.00 euro to hand in my coat and for the privilidge I ended up in A&E after a drunken twatdropped and smashed a glass beside me pushed me onto it when he was falling and i had to have glass removed from my leg. Never again.

bluewolf wrote:
    10 euro for a taxi back.
    Left with spare change.
    A few drinks? On €10? Lol! Unless you're going to Redz on a monday night (which is still €8 in) then you won't get a few drinks on €10 in most clubs in this city. Maybe one and some change but I can't think of anything that you can get two for €10. UNLESS of course its a student night or they've promotions going.
    If you're not drinking, fair enough. I'd prefer to have a few, find being dead sober around a load of drunk people quite boring and annoying.

Bluewolf wrote:

Your choice, though I can't recall anywhere I've been not charging in.

Obviously you've just a different social scene, thats your choice.
    Bluewolf wrote:

I know, its my money, I'll do whatever I like with it once I can foresee it benefitting me in some way. If I spend a lot on a night out and enjoy myself, then I don't mind. If its a crap night then its money wasted, but that doesn't seem to happen very often.
    Bluewolf wrote:
    A fool and his money...

Pfft, jealousy rears(sp?) its ugly head.

bluewolf wrote:
    Not if they're less than 5 euro?
    Anyway 22 euro or thereabouts is still a hell of a lot better than 220
    and it still shows that 40-50 is NOT the bare minimum

actually, why do you people go out? Like, what makes a good night out? What's fun about it? Is it the company or the alcohol?
    Just curious.

to have a few drinks, to socialise, to dance, to meet people, to relax... loads of reasons why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

bluewolf wrote:
    10 euro for a taxi back.
    Left with spare change.

A fool and his money...
    Well not drinking is another thing all together. Its the bulk of the cost. and a "drink or two" is a half hour out not a night.

Roll on the you dont need to drink to have a good night out gunff....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

bluewolf wrote:
    10 euro for a taxi back.
    Left with spare change.

A fool and his money...

Hey you sound like fun, will you be my friend?

Send me a PM.

ktnxbye
    bluewolf wrote:
    Just curious.

It's mainly the FUN/ENJOYMENT :o

Well not drinking is another thing all together. Its the bulk of the cost. and a "drink or two" is a half hour out not a night.

Roll on the you dont need to drink to have a good night out gunff....

Exactly. I'd rather spend my time playing or watching pool. And drinking more slowly... a drink or two can be a night out. Particularly if you then switch to non-alcohol.

Pft house parties are the best anyway.
    Hey you sound like fun, will you be my friend?

Send me a PM.

ktnxbye
    lol
    the company of my friends tends to be fun enough, I don't need to throw alcohol in to enjoy it
    It's mainly the FUN/ENJOYMENT
    You know, I don't see "drinking oneself stupid" in that definition... curious, eh?

bluewolf wrote:
    Exactly. I'd rather spend my time playing or watching pool. And drinking more slowly... a drink or two can be a night out. Particularly if you then switch to non-alcohol.

Pft house parties are the best anyway.

lol
    the company of my friends tends to be fun enough, I don't need to throw alcohol in to enjoy it

You know, I don't see "drinking oneself stupid" in that definition... curious, eh?
    Watching people playing pool....that sounds like real fun night out Bluewolf, really, it does. You've really put shown who like to go out to clubs and socialise (though it might cost us a bit)...really.

Non-alcoholic drinks still cost (and quite a lot considering)..except water.

rb_ie wrote:
    Watching people playing pool....that sounds like real fun night out Bluewolf, really, it does. You've really put shown who like to go out to clubs and socialise (though it might cost us a bit)...really.

Non-alcoholic drinks still cost (and quite a lot considering)..except water.
    Sitting around watching pool and chatting to people and playing with them is less fun than barely being able to walk in an overcrowded too hot place with people spilling drink on you? Riiight.
    Yeah, it might cost you a bit. But, there's plenty of fun to be had for less than 100 euro if you just (god forbid) try and cut down
    but then if your parents are paying for your nights out I'm sure you don't care what the cost is :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

rb_ie wrote:
    I've spent more than that some months...its sickening when you look back at it alright. Some nights are definately worth the money, but some are just such a waste.
    I've cut back a good bit these days though, its a ridiculous amount to be spending.
    rb_ie wrote:
    I know, its my money, I'll do whatever I like with it once I can foresee it benefitting me in some way. If I spend a lot on a night out and enjoy myself, then I don't mind. If its a crap night then its money wasted, but that doesn't seem to happen very often.

That's fairly contradictory.:rolleyes:

There are lots of places that you can go that don't charge in. When I lived in Dublin I used to go to Traffic quite a bit on a Friday night and all you had to do was go on their website earlier in the week and they'd send you comps.

If someone chooses to go somewhere really expensive and spend all their money then they have no right to complain. There are plenty of cheaper alternatives and it has nothing to do with the state of the country. In most countries you have a range of options starting at cheap and ending in expensive and if you choose the expensive options then you have no-one to blame but yourself when you are broke at the end of the month.

bluewolf wrote:

Who ever said everyone is doing that, its the huge prices of drink that is actually making us spend more, yes of course there s loads that go out to be get absolutaly sh*t faced, but not all. but it still all adds up. Think about it logically women !! lol

Heyes wrote:
    Who ever said everyone is doing that, its the huge prices of drink that is actually making us spend more, yes of course there s loads that go out to be get absolutaly sh*t faced, but not all. but it still all adds up. Think about it logically women !! lol
    When someone is saying they're spending 800 euro a month to go out what else am I supposed to think? Especially when someone posted (possibly in the other alcohol thread) that they have at least 13 drinks going out... and people are posting advice about how you can have a lot of drink before you go out instead? Maybe getting completely "sh**faced" isn't the main point of the evening (not that I'm convinced of that) but it's not exactly a long way off...

I think quite a bit of it comes down to age and experience.

Late teens early twenties you have no probs pissing money away. Mid-late twenties its a WHOLE other ball game. You tend to outgrow teh club scene and prefer to actually hear your mates.

TheGooner wrote:
    I think quite a bit of it comes down to age and experience.

Late teens early twenties you have no probs pissing money away. Mid-late twenties its a WHOLE other ball game. You tend to outgrow teh club scene and prefer to actually hear your mates.

Bluewolf granted yes there is a lot mentioning that they go out to get absolutaly sh*t faced, but as i have also mentioned many a time, there is other costs involved such as entrence fees and taxi's... there is not a direct bus route from my place to town so i more often than not share a taxi with friends or meet them in town. Then if we want to go dancing you could pay up to 20 euro to get into places, granted dont get me wrong i wouldnt actually pay a crazy figure like that but im just giving you an example. Also one pint last night cost me 5.60?!?!.. without a doubt prices go up on a saturday given the fact i was in the same place during the week a little bit back and it cost no where near that. Also what if there is a group of you and you decide to do rounds, there the amount you spend goes up again.

The gooner, granted i totally agree with your above statement, i always tend to find myself in places like fitzsimons or the porter house, as its nice to hear the people your with plus there not seedy. But then again a girl does love some dancing so nighclubs are still an option...

Its unfortunate we have to pay so much just for something very simple. Yeah could do it the cheap way and sit at home with friends but its nice to get out , mix with others, soak up the fun atmospher of everyone out for a laugh. Its just worth it sometimes, but i cant be spending crazy money like i have been !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

It's safe to assume that the high cost that the OP is speaking about is regarding the total cost of a night out drinking. Whoever doesn't drink, fair play to ye, but your opinions on how to reduce the cost of a night's drinking are a little irrelevant. I mean I can cut a night into town down to absolute zero if I cycle into town, lock my bike in work and drink pints of ice water in the pub, and there's a strong chance i'll have a good time. But that's irrelevant.

Travel can cost as little as six euros if we're talking bus/luas and then a nitelink. Put a bottle of wine or some cans into you before you leave and you're looking at another tenner. I would generally have about six pints on a regular night out which is going to in or around €30. A little less if i'm drinking whiskey, about the same if i'm drinking nice whiskey. A bite to eat and it's €50.

For a regular night out where you're not doing your best to scrounge and save you're going to pay that much. You can save money by drinking more before going out, sneaking in a naggin, not getting food, walking to and from the venue... You can add to it by getting a few extra pints, a few shorts or more expensive drinks (anything involving a red bull, or cocktails) or by going somewhere where you need to pay in. There's something for every price range in this city, but if you plan to drink, plan to spend €30 to €50. And that's pretty decent value in my opinion.

bluewolf wrote:
    lol

Good for you! You just go into the places for free and then don't pay any money for a drink or for pool -- you just take up a seat that a paying customer might use! Sound.
    bluewolf wrote:

I don't remember saying anything about drinking myself stupid... Maybe it's that righteous indignation affecting your perception.

You asked, "why do people go out? What makes a good night out?" (and of course threw in "is it the alcohol?" cos god forbid someone have a drink while they're out having fun with their friends... then they're idiots)

People go out for fun -- imagine that!

Heyes wrote:
    Bluewolf granted yes there is a lot mentioning that they go out to get absolutaly sh*t faced, but as i have also mentioned many a time, there is other costs involved such as entrence fees and taxi's... there is not a direct bus route from my place to town so i more often than not share a taxi with friends or meet them in town. Then if we want to go dancing you could pay up to 20 euro to get into places, granted dont get me wrong i wouldnt actually pay a crazy figure like that but im just giving you an example. Also one pint last night cost me 5.60?!?!.. without a doubt prices go up on a saturday given the fact i was in the same place during the week a little bit back and it cost no where near that. Also what if there is a group of you and you decide to do rounds, there the amount you spend goes up again.
    Why don't people just not pay 20 euro? You do realise there are places in town that don't charge an entrance fee and you can actually dance there?
    Even the places that do charge I've found are more often 5-10 euro...
    The bulk of these costs still seems to be alcohol... maybe if you have to get taxis it's a different story but if it's possible to get the bus (which it is for others) then they've still no excuse to be complaining... and if you meet them in town do you take a couple buses or what?

I've never actually been in a group who are doing rounds
    we all drink our own thing
    fairer that way
    Good for you! You just go into the places for free and then don't pay any money for a drink or for pool -- you just take up a seat that a paying customer might use! Sound.
    At least there are seats in the places I go to =/
    I don't remember saying anything about drinking myself stupid... Maybe it's that righteous indignation affecting your perception.
    You don't. Others do.
    You asked, "why do people go out? What makes a good night out?" (and of course threw in "is it the alcohol?" cos god forbid someone have a drink while they're out having fun with their friends... then they're idiots)

People go out for fun -- imagine that!
    Maybe being condescending affected your perception.
    Yes, people go out for fun. But a lot of people on AH seem to equate that to drinking themselves stupid. I've given examples of a sort just there to Heyes who agrees.
    So, if people just want to go out for fun and socialise then they don't need excessive amounts of alcohol to enjoy themselves. Problem solved.

Heyes wrote:

The gooner, granted i totally agree with your above statement, i always tend to find myself in places like fitzsimons or the porter house, as its nice to hear the people your with plus there not seedy. But then again a girl does love some dancing so nighclubs are still an option...

Its unfortunate we have to pay so much just for something very simple. Yeah could do it the cheap way and sit at home with friends but its nice to get out , mix with others, soak up the fun atmospher of everyone out for a laugh. Its just worth it sometimes, but i cant be spending crazy money like i have been !!!

I am with you there Porterhouse FTW! LOL

For me personally, yes I love a dance with my mates but for one reason or another i find all the 'in' places heading the same way, they let in kids as young as 17, the barmen happily pump more alcohol into the already completely wasted idiots falling all over the place, people having their stuff robbed. It goes on and on, I just find the whole clubbing thing stressful if anything.

bluewolf wrote:
    Why don't people just not pay 20 euro? You do realise there are places in town that don't charge an entrance fee and you can actually dance there?

Just cos you can dance there doesn't mean it's a good place. What's the music like? The clientelle?
    bluewolf wrote:
    fairer that way

Fairer?

Jesus... It's a f*cking night out! You're not negotiating a business deal!

DaveMcG wrote:

Seriously you must be rolling in cash, cos with all the penny-pinching you do you, it would be impossible for you to be short of change...

ah dave dont get personal man. :(

bluewolf wrote:
    Even the places that do charge I've found are more often 5-10 euro...
    The bulk of these costs still seems to be alcohol... maybe if you have to get taxis it's a different story but if it's possible to get the bus (which it is for others) then they've still no excuse to be complaining... and if you meet them in town do you take a couple buses or what?

fairer that way

At least there are seats in the places I go to =/

You don't. Others do.

Maybe being condescending affected your perception.
    Yes, people go out for fun. But a lot of people on AH seem to equate that to drinking themselves stupid. I've given examples of a sort just there to Heyes who agrees.
    So, if people just want to go out for fun and socialise then they don't need excessive amounts of alcohol to enjoy themselves. Problem solved.

There will always be people that will pay the 20 euro because they will believe there is a reason behind the cost, that its suppose to be brilliant, for years spirit nightclub was advertised as 25 euro and was always packed to the gills, never went as thought price was crazy but that said it was always apparently busy.

I keep repeating myself on this, but its not the amount of drink people are consuming it is the PRICE of drink.... you cant get two drinks for a tenner anymore, well unless you drink half pints or dont use a mixer... but not many will do that...

TheGooner wrote:
    I am with you there Porterhouse FTW! LOL

For me personally, yes I love a dance with my mates but for one reason or another i find all the 'in' places heading the same way, they let in kids as young as 17, the barmen happily pump more alcohol into the already completely wasted idiots falling all over the place, people having their stuff robbed. It goes on and on, I just find the whole clubbing thing stressful if anything.

True most places will accept the younger ones in because they are more willing to pay the money because of the thrill of a night out. But thankfully the likes of porter house , fitzsimons etc havent gone down that road YET.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Drink less, get the nitelink, go to the pub/club later, grab a few cans before you go out... simple, only you can make your night enjoyable not how much you spend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

DaveMcG wrote:
    Fairer?

Jesus... It's a f*cking night out! You're not negotiating a business deal!

Seriously you must be rolling in cash, cos with all the penny-pinching you do you, it would be impossible for you to be short of change...

Rounds suck all kinds of ass at times though, when you get some git who always tries to evade getting a round for example. Plus I don't like having to synchronize my drinking speed with that of those around me.

TheGooner wrote:
    ah dave dont get personal man. :(
    Alright edited, but his/her attitude annoys me......
    grimloch wrote:
    Rounds suck all kinds of ass at times though, when you get some git who always tries to evade getting a round for example. Plus I don't like having to synchronize my drinking speed with that of those around me.

Yeah I know, I don't always buy rounds, but calling it "unfair" kinda reeks of stinginess. If someone's always dodging rounds then don't buy them a drink or else call them out on it!

Forgot to mention, I've managed to spend less than €50 on my last few nights out (incl taxi!). I've had 2 or 3 cans before I go out, then a few pints, and dancing for most of the night! Not to mention munch on the way home. Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

grimloch wrote:

Exactly, i fcuking hate rounds, they're so unfair on people who wish to drink less and who are repsonsible with their money

bluewolf wrote:
    Sitting around watching pool and chatting to people and playing with them is less fun than barely being able to walk in an overcrowded too hot place with people spilling drink on you? Riiight.
    Yeah, it might cost you a bit. But, there's plenty of fun to be had for less than 100 euro if you just (god forbid) try and cut down
    but then if your parents are paying for your nights out I'm sure you don't care what the cost is :rolleyes:

Listen Bluewolf, its clear that you're just different to us club go-ers. What we like is obviously different to what you like, and if you're happy with your way of life then by all means go for it. I, as a club go-er, am happy with mine. I'm happy spending a bit to enjoy what I call a good night out. I'd laugh if someone seriously suggested what you do as a "night out" to me as the night out for the week tbh, going for a few games of pool and a few pints is something I'd do any night of the week and don't consider is anything special tbh, whereas hitting the town with friends and going to a club etc, is something I'd look forward to. You probably would laugh if one of your kooky mates suggested going to a club! But sure, we're all different and that what makes life interesting.

What I'm saying is, don't knock our ways just because you've your own beliefs of how they are or can't understand why we enjoy it. Fair enough if you're not into it, you obviously prefer things somewhat secluded, but turning around and making it out as though we're all out to get off our face and stumble around spilling drinks on eachother. We enjoy the club scene, the social side of things to it, you don't. You're not a club go-er, you clearly don't understand the costs involved. You can go out on a friday night, have a few drinks before, hit a club and remain almost perfectly sober and its still going to cost a fair bit. Simple as. Case closed.

Also, regarding the drink. Personally, I've a high tolerancy to drink so what could be considered a lot to one person, would be a little to me. I don't like getting absolutely sh*tfaced on a night out, I do however like to get a little tipsy. It loosens me up, relaxs me and I enjoy myself an awful lot more than if I'm dead sober.

I'm sure many, many are the same. You don't have to get sh*tfaced to have a good night, and even though some of us appear to be spending a massive amount on night outs, it doesn't necessarily mean we're going out and drinking our weight in alcohol and labelling it a good night.

Anyway, whats a good night to you is apparently a lot different to us. No big deal, just don't go having a go at what we call fun just because you think its shíte.
    iguana wrote:
    There are lots of places that you can go that don't charge in.

Well, not a lot of the main clubs will let you in free. A lot will do free passes, or some other promotions but the main clubs in town on the weekend aren't free. Not even the Gaiety is free! As I found out last week.

Traffic may have a concession running, as I said some clubs will have completely free concessions, some will have half price or some will just have one free drink or shot with your entry. Personally, I don't like Traffic. I've been in a few times and just found the place loaded with people off their head on E, hassling me for E or trying to sell me it.

Some of the clubs I do go to will have concessions running some nights, I try to avail of them if possible but its not always possible. Even still, you're not saving a huge amount as its more often than not just the free drink/shot promotion, or maybe €2 off a €10 entry.
    iguana wrote:
    There are plenty of cheaper alternatives and it has nothing to do with the state of the country.

Not really, in all fairness. The general price of a pint in any bar in this city is expensive, as is the price of a short. Yes, some clubs will charge more but these are generally on premium spirits, not your smirnoff red or boro vodka, and on their imported lagers. The price of a pint of Heineken or a shot of smirnoff doesn't differ massively around the city, and those prices are a rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

The way I look at things is that for the cost of going out at the weekend, I can cover costs of flights to England to go to matches. Some people think I'm nuts doing it but it's something which I've always wanted to do is go to games regularly. Sometimes even saying that it's cheaper to go to England than it is for a night out here.

kensutz wrote:
    The way I look at things is that for the cost of going out at the weekend, I can cover costs of flights to England to go to matches. Some people think I'm nuts doing it but it's something which I've always wanted to do is go to games regularly. Sometimes even saying that it's cheaper to go to England than it is for a night out here.

Yes! As I found out this Summer. The pound goes a helluva long way over there. We're robbed blind here, pure and simple.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Alright edited, but his/her attitude annoys me......

lol, you're not the only one. It doesn't matter though, I've accepted that Bluewolf is just..."different".

I thought your original comment was funny btw :)

Myself and friends never do rounds btw. Everyone drinks at different paces so we just get our own drinks, or maybe we'll do separate rounds in smaller groups but its never one person buying a round for the whole group. Its just an awful lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Wow this thread really got heated didn't it?? :eek:

I think everyone is in agreement that that is a ridiculous amount of money to have to pay! :eek: I'm lucky, I hate clubs, Don't drink much and live in a small enough town and close enough that even if I did want to have a night out I could walk both to and from town!

I think I'm pretty much the same as blue, I couldn't stomach spending that amount of money on nights out! I'd rather be thought of as stingy! It's my money at the end of the day :rolleyes: And alot of my friends dislike clubs too which is handy! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I think everyone is in agreement that that is a ridiculous amount of money to have to pay!
    I don't. I think its a ridiculous amount of money to choose to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

rb_ie wrote:
    Not really, in all fairness. The general price of a pint in any bar in this city is expensive, as is the price of a short. Yes, some clubs will charge more but these are generally on premium spirits, not your smirnoff red or boro vodka, and on their imported lagers. The price of a pint of Heineken or a shot of smirnoff doesn't differ massively around the city, and those prices are a rip.

But how different do you think that is anywhere else? If I head out in Soho I will spend pretty much the same amount for a drink in similar places. If I want to spend less I have to go to different areas or a type of pub. I can get a G&T in Weatherspoons for £1.20, or I can spend £4.50 for the same drink in an expensive club.

Now what I'm picking up from this thread is that not many people here would head into a central London (or any) Weatherspoons on a Friday/Saturday night as it would not be their idea of a good night out. (Neither would I, it's my idea of hell, they're ok in the day time but not at night). So regardless of the fact that there are cheaper options they wouldn't avail of them as they aren't to their taste so they would go someplace more expensive. Which is fine, but they have made that choice so it isn't the country's fault.

Now I'll give you that the transport in Ireland is a problem. If you don't live in walking distance of the city or you aren't on the limited, and expensive, nite-bus routes you are at the mercy of taxis. Whereas I can get the bus home at night and it's all included in the monthly ticket I have to get for work. Though that is £99 for 30 days so it is hardly cheap.

iguana wrote:
    But how different do you think that is anywhere else? If I head out in Soho I will spend pretty much the same amount for a drink in similar places. If I want to spend less I have to go to different areas or a type of pub. I can get a G&T in Weatherspoons for £1.20, or I can spend £4.50 for the same drink in an expensive club.

I haven't come across such a price difference in Dublin anyway tbh. The cheapest, in Dublin anyway, that I've found a pint of Heineken for has been €4.70 (iirc, could have been €4.90) whilst most pubs/clubs in the city centre charge ~€6.10. Which, for a pint of beer, is quite expensive. Maybe not compared to London, which is actually way up the chart in terms of most expensive cities (to Dublin) so it certainly wouldn't surprise me if it were the same if not more expensive in the centre of London for a pint, especially in a club.
    Compared to other European cities, perhaps with the exception of Paris, the price of drink in Dublin (maybe Ireland in general) is expensive.

Though as you have pointed out, you can get cheaper in London, whereas as I've said I haven't come across anywhere in Dublin city where there is such a deviation in prices.

I've come across smaller prices in other regions in Ireland, but nothing spectacular when compared with the prices I've encountered in other European cities.