If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Post Pictures Of Your Catch. (Mod note in OP 14/05/2015)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Contributor 2013

Hi all.

Been away from the old pike fishing for ages, roach etc too. Looking for some good spots, maybe on the grand canal I was thinking? Or possibly even the Liffey?

If anyone could PM me some that would be awesome, thanks in advance.

Cont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

First time sea Fishing properly yesterday - -Got me 2 Dab!! Chuffed

10347226_10152813469083409_3479453804197047951_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Nice one Ardin.
    On a slightly weird note, you are the image of me. Herself even asked when did I catch that ... not sure how I feel about this.

Nice one Ardin.
    On a slightly weird note, you are the image of me. Herself even asked when did I catch that ... not sure how I feel about this.

Good lookin fella are you? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Nice looking dab there. Dunno what's holding it though :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Video of a couple of pike from the kayak yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭minktrapper

Traumadoc wrote: »
    Caught a 65kg tuna on Friday.

Fly or spinning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Blake123

ardinn wrote: »
    Good lookin fella are you? ;)

Spillan is that you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

Brought the kids collecting razors yesterday. Great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Are they edible red?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

Are they edible red?

They are sold in the Asian markets in town for human consumption
    They are used as bait aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

If you are going into eat Razor you need to ensure they are from a sources which is certified safe for Human consumption as they accumulate biotoxins naturally produced by phytoplankton in seawater, as a result of their filter feeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,322 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

If you are going into eat Razor you need to ensure they are from a sources which is certified safe for Human consumption as they accumulate biotoxins naturally produced by phytoplankton in seawater, as a result of their filter feeding.

Didn't know that, thanks! Where would you find out the sources?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The Marine Institute monitors it I believe. As I only use them for bait I never bothered to check the status of any I use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

I dont eat much sea food so im not too bothered by whats in them.
    I did taste one from the last batch i got. Used the steamed in white wine recipee but used white lemonade instead as it was my 5 yo who wanted to taste them and i had no wine. Rank wasnt the word but like i said, im not into sea food.

I usually pop an elastic band around them, leave them in the fridge for a few days to let them go a little yellow and freeze them in bags of 4/5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

https://www.fsai.ie//enforcement_audit/monitoring/shellfish.html

It's possible get razors at Seapoint Co Dublin , cooked them and eat them on the shore!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭db97

New personal best 15lb 2oz:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

db97 wrote: »
    New personal best 15lb 2oz:D

Well done. Great specimen

thanks man got her on popped up dace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hunter456

Good fish man. I used to fish that spot years ago.

sound man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hunter456

caught on worms and barbless hooks all fish released.

[IMG][/img]365ad9258e995a9061e8819379a9dd75ee17139430217dc5.jpg

0443f4f02ae671678ef1bf13160b4f152ead4ba95ad3c656.jpg

538a1663b79d71b50f5b383b05a2fb671c86570a48271048.jpg

9471a0add122f2fa6b1effcd7afefd31b718e85d2c876c7e.jpg

Nice fish man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

Couple of big 'uns today from Cloghan lake, great day with 8 in total. No scales with us so reckon 5/6 lb? :P

16775997601_c09a846166_c.jpg

16154838494_683c703d3b_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭thefisherbuy

Some lovely trout DVd, I fished there about 2 years ago it was jumping with trout nice owner how's it going now worth a trip in summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Two out of three from competition yesterday

11045424_10152936376028409_812799835894514885_n%201.jpg

Caught today after a fierce drought! Happy with that.

What's the sore does anyone know - I presume leeches as they tend to get them during the winter or something else??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭jack01986

Looks like it could be a lamprey mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭thefisherbuy

It's kind of hard to tell from the picture, But i'd say its a lamprey mark...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,679 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Only a small fella but something different.
    Also caught a few wrasse worth keeping but no pics.

342853.JPG