If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Top 5 Indie bands in ireland???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

The Blizzards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Xavi6 wrote: »
    2 years and 6 pages in and no ones mentioned Berkeley? Shame on you all.

Are they still around? thought they broke up?

oh and +1 whoever said super extra bonus party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 ThousandLeaves

Off the top of my head...

Adebisi Shank (no mention so far, really brilliant)
    The Redneck Manifesto
    The Jimmy Cake
    We Are Knives
    Boxes

Estel too, but not quite as good as those 5.

Most of the really interesting bands around at the moment are instrumental, not sure why that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 ThousandLeaves

Actually not sure if Boxes are still active, haven't heard any news of them in a while. Anyone have any info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,091 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Are they still around? thought they broke up?

Nope gonna be recording another album next year I think. The 'In Moments' album was brilliant.

Their song 'Here At Last' featured on the closing credits to the Premiership last season thanks to me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The new album by A Lazarus Soul is pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

1. giveamanakick
    2. Sticky Digit
    3. Gigotos
    4. Twenty Percent Dead
    5. Teratoria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

monkey9 wrote: »
    The new album by A Lazarus Soul is pretty good

i have to i say like the songs i heard from this band because unlike all the other faction crap (bar humanzi)....there is a bit of honesty in the tunes...all that director, immediate, rags 80's revivalism nme copy ****e is so unorignal and contrived...

top 5...

dc pakt
    the things
    humanzi
    jinx lennon
    god is an astronaut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Bren_M.Records

Im gonna go for the band Im involved with as THE top Irish indie band of 2007Not only have we delivered one of the finest Irish albums in years but we did it ourselves, ie. without a manager or a label.
    Just the band, their live sound engineer and the mate who's gaff they use to practice.
    Hell, were that "indie" no one even bought the feckin album, beat that! :D
    Bands name is Hybrasil by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Delorentos would be in the top spot for me atm.

The Blizzards.
    Jape.

Ye can check out some of the Hybrasil stuff here...........

www.myspace.com/manazorecords

We tried to make it look like there was/is a real record label (which in many respects there is) so people would think we were more "professional" for the want of a better word and thus might be more inclined to buy into it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Ye can check out some of the Hybrasil stuff here...........

www.myspace.com/manazorecords

We tried to make it look like there was/is a real record label (which in many respects there is) so people would think we were more "professional" for the want of a better word and thus might be more inclined to buy into it.

BREN X FM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Quite simply the best band on the planet.

If there was any justice in the world they would be global superstars of monstrous proportions

They went up in my estimation after managing to put in a performance after following Paddy Dracula on stage in Whelans about 6\7 years ago. Superb stuff.

(P.S Bring back XFM and somebody please tell Jack Hyland that he needs to change his playlist. That Kings of Leon song where your man keeps screaming is doing my head in)

BREN X FM?

Afraid not mate, Iv got the broadest Wicklaa' accent youv ever heard and as such no individual or organisation in their right mind would ever let me on the air waves! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

No order, and yes slightly more than 5:

Adebisi Shank
    Vimanas
    Terrordactyl
    Ten Past Seven
    FKOS
    mike got spiked (even though they're pretty much Americanos now)

Well, this changes AT LEAST four times a year, so....

My favourites at the moment:
    No way a top 5. Things are looking really good at the moment. While the bands listed below might not make it commercially, I don't care. :D I think they're incredible.

Sea Area Forcast - New band from Cork - http://www.myspace.com/seaareaforecast

We Are Knives - Belfast? - http://www.myspace.com/theweareknivestrio

The Amazing Few - Dublin - http://www.myspace.com/theamazingfew

SuperBrain - Belfast -
    http://www.myspace.com/superbrainuk

Meursalt - Dublin - http://www.myspace.com/meursaultneil

The Grace Jones -
    Crazy "band" from Belfast. The two members haven't seen each other since '98! So a live show is a bit away :)
    http://www.myspace.com/thegracejones

Not a band, But Enda DeRoad rocks - http://www.myspace.com/endaderoad -A truly gifted musician

Red Organ Serpent Sound - Derry - played with them in Warrenpoint.
    They were incredible. One of the loudest bands I have ever seen! -
    http://www.myspace.com/redorganserpentsound

Sarah Red - One of the most incredible voices in this country - http://www.myspace.com/sarahredmusic

James Guilmartin - Check out the demo of "Wise Up" - http://www.myspace.com/jamesguilmartin

And last but not least
    New Secret Weapon. These guys are class. Great musicians, tight as can be, and really interesting to watch -
    http://www.myspace.com/newsecretweapon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

Humanzi
    Red Kid
    Fight Like Apes
    The Rags
    The Looks

All the above are unbeliavable live especially Humanzi who stole the show when the foos played the point about a year ago. Red Kid are the ones i'd look out for, unbeliavably talented and have some great tunes. Their myspace is definitely worth a look. The looks are another band on the up, they've done a few gigs around Ireland and the UK, well worth checkin out also.

These guys contacted me on myspace on thursday.
    The version of "Running With Scissors" they have up now is an album version I reckon (about a minute to long for radio and the intro needs to be cut) but a fantastic track none the less, really powerful.
    Check them out and see what you think..........

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=149473787

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

hybrazil are pretty class. still formulating my top 5 :D

Missus................I like your taste in music! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Emily (check these out if you haven't heard them already!!! sadly the band is no more:( )
    God is an astronaut
    Dirty Epics
    Betamax Format
    The Minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Dark Room Notes
    Hybrasil
    Dry County
    Sickboy
    Halves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

Hooray for Humans
    Cars in Walls
    Rest
    Martin Finke
    Moonmen FC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 gharood

Chris Doran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

sprinkles wrote: »
    Emily (check these out if you haven't heard them already!!! sadly the band is no more:( )

I LOVE Emily!!! Although, they aren't really indie! They're punk/rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

The Coronas
    The Blizzards
    BellX1
    Republic of Loose
    Director

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

The Coronas
    The Blizzards
    BellX1
    Republic of Loose
    Director

You forgot Saviours of Space, a good band compared to the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

Hassle Merchants
    Fifteen Minutes
    Hot Sprockets
    The Minutes
    Fight Like Apes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

not so much indie in music terms, but in terms of DIY, I was going through some of my old CDs at my parents house there before Christmas and coming across lots of good Irish stuff.. anyone who's into We Are Knives should check out Hornby's old band Somedaysbetter. The Killing Spree were also deadly, and the Kabinboy, My Name Is Satan (may have mentioned them earlier), Knifed, The Naut, Fuktifino were all really good bands too.

In music indie non-DIY terms, about the only band I like are the Delorentos, they're great.