Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 5 Indie bands in ireland???

• 08-11-2005 2:46pm

So what do ye reckon???? :confused:

Redneck Manifesto
    Jape
    God is an Astronaut
    Future kings of spain
    Alphastates (maybe)

thats my pick :v:
    theres so many good bands on the go its hard to judge :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Beastieboy

i'm so out of the loop with new irish music, but i like the 'Me in the Park' single 'Second Opinion' it's available as a free download on their website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

rednecks*** (this band is so so good)
    jape
    tracer amc
    waiting room
    martin finke (not a band but... :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Punchbowl

Jape
    Redneck Manifesto
    Connect Four Orchestra
    Cane 141
    Couse and the Impossible

• Registered Users Posts: 13,939 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

roy 7
    future kings of spain
    the rags
    bellx1
    glyder

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

The Jimmy Cake
    (retards)
    Tychonaut
    The Jimmy Cake
    and um, the Fury of Tim :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The Jimmy Cake
    Large Mound
    The Dudley Corporation
    Rollers/Sparkers
    The Redneck Manifesto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Redneck Manifesto
    Oak
    United Bible Studies
    Papercop
    Boxes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Bell x1
    The Dudley Corporation
    Future Kings of Spain
    Mark Geary (Not a band but hugely Talented)
    Label

The Revs
    The Immediate
    Bell X1
    The Rags
    Bono

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

How could you guys have left out Republic Of Loose!! They're deadly, and BellX1 of course an the Chalets...don't know bout the rest though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Personally, in no particular order,

The Jimmy Cake
    Bell X1
    Jape
    Babelfish
    The Waiting Room

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭gaf1983

What say you of

whipping boy (are they reforming?)
    the fewer the better
    rodrigo y gabriela (not irish but in ireland)
    mike sandpaper and the rough kuntz
    bell x1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

anyone hear of Stone Ocean? They're very good, keep your ears peeled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭uma

I hear they drive a blue van around with a dog in the front ?!

Alphastates ( formerly Bablefish)
    dave Couse and the Impossible
    Autamata
    Sack
    Pony club

By the way have Life after Modeeling split up ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

DadaKopf wrote:
    Redneck Manifesto
    Oak
    United Bible Studies
    Papercop
    Boxes

i'd say oak would be only delira to hear themselves referred to as 'indie' ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Sack (best band ever, bar none)
    The Voyeurs
    Pony Club
    whipping boy
    Pugwash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 jellytots

uma wrote:

Alphastates ( formerly Bablefish)
    dave Couse and the Impossible
    Autamata

And you'll be able to see them at UP IN ARMS the Amnesty International weekender at the Village on Wexford St Dec 2-4. See www.amnesty.ie for more details!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Helper_Monkey

Have to say really enjoyed Jape and redneck manifesto, world class.
    But what about our northern friends???? Loads of great music coming out of there!
    Recommend yous have a listen to The Clone quartet, Mary's Great Idea, Jedi Jane Cocaine Explosion (if you like at the drive in etc... they are savage), the Debonares (formally volvograd). Pandakopanda are a brilliant alternative emo-y band.

Played with (retards) in the Voodoo. They made the most of a poor turnout to play a real head **** of a gig, savage lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

the rags. what a great band imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭dearheart

Why buy a BellX1 album when you can toss a urinated mattress off the top of Liberty Hall & hear the exact same noise as it lands squelchily on the street below, crushing a tramp on it's way?

Dublin needs to get it's ****ing act together.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

lol so true bell end 1 suck ass

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

rain on wrote:
    i'd say oak would be only delira to hear themselves referred to as 'indie' ;)

I saw them support Khanate on Monday night and they were very poor no matter what you want to class them as.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,089 ✭✭✭mada999

i've heard 3 rags songs and they are deadly.....can't wait till they release an album or have they already??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Amen to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

Ch-1
    Redneck Manifesto
    Panda Kopanda
    Mainline
    Jape

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Tiddlywinks

Jape
    the Jimmy Cake (brilliant)
    Henry Sails... - these guys are new but a super band

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

dearheart wrote:
    Why buy a BellX1 album when you can toss a urinated mattress off the top of Liberty Hall & hear the exact same noise as it lands squelchily on the street below, crushing a tramp on it's way?

If you think you could do better then do! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,939 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

mada999 wrote:
    i've heard 3 rags songs and they are deadly.....can't wait till they release an album or have they already??

they havnt released an album no...i think so far its been 2 ep's what songs have you got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭dearheart

If you think you could do better then do! :rolleyes:

But I just told you about the time I threw a urinated mattr...

Never mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

John2 wrote:
    I saw them support Khanate on Monday night and they were very poor no matter what you want to class them as.

ooo! the oak backlash starts here!
    as for my two cents.. um..
    the chalets
    beards of jesus
    giraffe running
    slomatics
    ten past seven.