Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANGERNOMICS (sub3k) of the week/day Part 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,992 ✭✭✭User1998

It could be from Singapore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

PGE1970 wrote: »
    Folks,

We may need a car next month if my wife's Almera fails the NCT. However, we need something cheap & cheerful to get us over a couple of years whilst my daughter is in university.

I see a Ford C-Max here

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-ford-c-max-0830131033/28326536

Generally, what are people's views on these? Anything to look for or should we avoid entirely?

Thanks in advance!!

Get a petrol 05 or 06 CRV. You won't go wrong. €710 tax and damn all repairs.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/grey-honda-crv-2005-petrol-automatic/28003295

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

An Ri rua wrote: »

Or Toyota verso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭PGE1970

An Ri rua wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/grey-honda-crv-2005-petrol-automatic/28003295

That is lovely and if it was only for my wife, I'd be interested.

My daughter is learning to drive so it can't be auto. It might be a little too big to learn to drive in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,494 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Yeah, Jap import. A few years ago I had a 97 Almera saloon badged as a Sunny, came with some stuck on wood* on the dash and a chrome nose too

I had a similar one posted, except it was a coupe model sunny. Extremely rare, have never seen another one. Logbook said sunny but badge said "lucino mm". 1.5 dohc manual. Would love it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭TigerTim

PGE1970 wrote: »
    I saw that but I have a decent mechanic locally who might advise if that particular car was worth putting a few bob into.

I was wondering about the model in general?

Bought a 2007 1.6 C-Max for Mrs T in Jan 2020 after her 1999 Renault Scenic died after 15 years ownership. Got a really clean one with 230,000KM & 1 years test. Stood me €1,150. Drove it until the test was due with absolutely no issues. Changed the front disks & pads for the test & driving away happily since. So excluding tax & insurance it has cost me about €1,500 for 18 months ownership. Really reliable & Mrs T loves it.

T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,226 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

what are the hyundai i30 like? looking at a 2007 diesel and a kia ceed 2007/2008 aswell just looking at a kia rio now i diesel seem very reasonably priced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ceed and i30 are very good in diesel, early ones have no DMF or DPF.
    They’re well sized, spec is usually good on them and they drive well.

The Rio, and Accent are not built to the same standard, but are still a good car.

what are the hyundai i30 like? looking at a 2007 diesel and a kia ceed 2007/2008 aswell just looking at a kia rio now i diesel seem very reasonably priced

Just make sure the window switches work. They're awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Boxcar_Willie

Just put my 2007 Passat up for sale

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-passat-2-0-tdi-se-140ps/28461039

Hope it’s ok to post here .

Any thoughts / comments welcome .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Just put my 2007 Passat up for sale

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-passat-2-0-tdi-se-140ps/28461039

Hope it’s ok to post here .

Any thoughts / comments welcome .

16 previous owners :pac: jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,320 ✭✭✭CoBo55

dobman88 wrote: »

Tax owners I suppose that wouldn't worry anyone who's used to buying old tax cars. Hopefully you won't be tormented with too many best price merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭Gorteen

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Tax owners I suppose ...

What is a tax owner?

Gorteen wrote: »
    What is a tax owner?

Same owner sells to their dog and buys it back etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭Gorteen

Same owner sells to their dog and buys it back etc

Whats the advantage of doing that? Surely a high number of owners makes it harder to sell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Gorteen wrote: »
    Whats the advantage of doing that? Surely a high number of owners makes it harder to sell?

To not pay back tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Boxcar_Willie

Y

Yes , lads that had it before me were changing ownership every few months to avoid tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,226 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Y

Yes , lads that had it before me were changing ownership every few months to avoid tax.

That says to me if lads not paying for tax then more than likely not servicing or taking care of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

That says to me if lads not paying for tax then more than likely not servicing or taking care of the car

Or maybe lads who dint pay tax because they wanted to service the car properly ;)

Alternatively those who paid tax had very little left and didn't even change the oil.

I always laugh at those who keep the tax discs as a proof the car was a princess and treated as such.

All you need is receipts from the garage.

The list of jobs done on the car.

Noone cares about your 10 years old tax receipts at 200 a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭slipperyox

#
    previous owners has an effect on insurance I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

slipperyox wrote: »
    #

Doubt it ;)

What's the issue, my 2 labs owned my car or cars a few times.... They were good drivers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

What's the issue, my 2 labs owned my car or cars a few times.... They were good drivers....

Ah but you can trust labs though. I wouldn't trust a pitbull driving my car. First car it meets it would crash into them looking for a fight. :pac:

Dog rough...

slipperyox wrote: »
    #

Mother of God in heaven spare us!!

Dog rough...

Na it was nice to get a break after a woof day at work.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

More owners than years. IMO, there's a lemon issue that you can fix to sell after about a year, but not fix to own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Dog rough...

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

2007 suzuki sx4 petrol

1350 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/24142993

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Think we've reached the level where its believed that fluffy dice may influence insurance costs, rational humans becoming scarce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    2007 suzuki sx4 petrol

1350 eur

Swinford and no tow bar. That's a mass car if ever I saw it, would be a safe bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Swinford and no tow bar. That's a mass car if ever I saw it, would be a safe bet.

Are these any good as a basic runabout ? or would you be better of walking. There a deceptively big small car. wonder about mpg for the 1.5engine

Notch000 wrote: »
    Are these any good as a basic runabout ? or would you be better of walking. There a deceptively big small car. wonder about mpg for the 1.5engine

They're a great car. That 1.5 is excellent but I had it in a slightly smaller car and couldn't complain. One complaint is it's extremely plasticy inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

2002 vw beetle 1.6 petrol

Could be a good project

600 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/24150803

• Registered Users Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭job seeker

They're a great car. That 1.5 is excellent but I had it in a slightly smaller car and couldn't complain. One complaint is it's extremely plasticy inside.

What car had you got the 1.5 in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-vector-sport/28466344

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg0MjY2NjMxIn0=?signature=bca949d0c2e7534ba51974318dd0057e06acc1057bc2692abf5e4b942bef34d3

Facelift 9-3 diesel estate with NCT til April 2022 for €1250

Presentable looking car for the money

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Ian OB

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-jaguar-x-type/28519912

Trying to sell this idea to my finacial controller (wife). Roughly how much would a turbo set me back?

Ian OB wrote: »

Trying to sell this idea to my finacial controller (wife). Roughly how much would a turbo set me back?

Is it the same turbo from a TDCI Mondeo, I think so...should be around 200-250 to get one.

Listen to the wife... I wouldn't touch it with yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

What are the best and worst automatics in bangernomics range? Looking for something with better mpg than my 1.6 focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,304 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-vector-sport/28466344

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg0MjY2NjMxIn0=?signature=bca949d0c2e7534ba51974318dd0057e06acc1057bc2692abf5e4b942bef34d3

Facelift 9-3 diesel estate with NCT til April 2022 for €1250

Presentable looking car for the money

That is lovely.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

My own Alfa GT. After much thought I decided to sell it. Financially it seems like a waste having it just sitting there for a week or more. Hopefully it finds a good home.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-gt/28536621

Jacksie66. wrote: »
    My own Alfa GT. After much thought I decided to sell it. Financially it seems like a waste having it just sitting there for a week or more. Hopefully it finds a good home.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-gt/28536621

That's a bloody bargain for 1600, I hope you get an easy sell, no gobdaws looking for a best price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

That Alfa and Saab are gems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Lovely car but you'll do well to get a grand for it. I'd like to be wrong, but at the same time I wouldn't pay a grand for it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

No NCT, fixer upper, wrong thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-4-petrol-car-only-32000-ml-nct-amptax/28497083

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg0NjA2MzcxIn0=?signature=e0cbe957c4af1d4ce19d09fbb00174a9a9155e860080809aefa19cd6ae989592

Focus saloon with 32k miles, short test til September but taxed all the way to March 2022, €650

They're a hateful car IMO, but this looks tidy and could probably be decent transport for someone for the guts of a year for 500 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭sharpish

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    2007 suzuki sx4 petrol

1350 eur

Thank you so much.

Sent this onto someone and they are delighted to have bought this car. Immaculate condition it was.

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Lovely car but you'll do well to get a grand for it. I'd like to be wrong, but at the same time I wouldn't pay a grand for it. :o

First thing I though myself, seen a few for sale recently around the 1000 mark. In the current market OP has it priced as it should be though.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭AutoMan79

Hope someone could give an advise - looking at the adds, cars up to 3k and really not sure what to go for...need something to be used as for daily where I don't have to worry about parking dings scratched etc.... So far the cheapest with lowest millage would be Laguna, Mazda 6, Insignia ...Would Mazda 6, 2.2 diesel be a good choice or petrol versions would be better? Always loved Lexus IS from 2006 but hard to get something decent under 3 k.