Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bennett robbed at RTE sports awards

1234568»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The TdF was a great three week spectacle in an otherwise headwreckingly boring summer, even better that an Irishman was competing for the green jersey.
    While Katie was proven many times over that she is one of our greatest athletes, with her win in the olympics being one of greatest in irish sport, her achievement last year can't be compared to sam's.

To win a top prize in the biggest international sporting event of the year and top it off by wining the final stage on the Champs-Élysées after a gruelling three weeks deserves to be regonised.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 39,098 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Not trying to exclude anyone Im just saying that figure would include all golf club members including the ones who rarely play or are involved for social aspects where as the GAA figures for instance are only registered players and dont include the non playing club members.
    GAA and Soccer are the biggest sport participation wise.
    Golf is not as big, but would still be in top 5 sports for participation.

Cycling is way down the list.
    Add to that golf would not have the same level of non member players even if you add pitch & putt and the ranges compared to the numbers playing tag,5 a side and whatever.
    Its hard to get a real comparison across sports that are so different in structure
    Sure, people either play golf or they don't. There's little knock about golf outside of kids. Most people who own a bike are not taking aprt in the sport of cycling.

But we were talking about the sport, not the activity. As pointed out above, if we start including activity. Sudden there millions of "walkers".
    Most of the cyclists will be adults.
    Its beside the point though , and I'm not sure are we discussing different points:
    you seem to be arguing cycling is a minority sport. No one is arguing it isn't.

But it certainly isn't "niche", especially outside of Ireland.
    Somebody made the point that cycing is a small sport.
    Somebody took offense, and refer to the 8000 register competitive cyclists.
    I'm pointing out that 8000 is actually relatively small.
    Outside of Ireland is irrelevant tbh, given its an irish sports award.

Getting into niche vrs minor vrs small vrs tiny is really just semantics. The point remains the same. There's no limit defined for niche sport afaik.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,862 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The TdF was a great three week spectacle in an otherwise headwreckingly boring summer, even better that an Irishman was competing for the green jersey.
    While Katie was proven many times over that she is one of our greatest athletes, with her win in the olympics being one of greatest in irish sport, her achievement last year can't be compared to sam's.

To win a top prize in the biggest international sporting event of the year and top it off by wining the final stage on the Champs-Élysées after a gruelling deserves to be regonised.

100%.

He beat Peter Sagan into second place. Sagan has won 7 of the last 10 green jerseys..and 12 stages on the tour... Sagan is still only 30..a rider while experienced, will be considered in his prime, still more achievements to accomplish.. loads of riders 30+ have even won the tour...

Totally brilliant and deserved accolade for Sam.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

padd b1975 wrote: »
    For the record Sam Bennett finished just over five and a half hours behind the winner of the tour.

Case closed as far as I'm concerned.

Well done on showing your total ignorance of the sport.

You’re like the bloke in the pub that has an opinion on every sport yet knows nothing about any of them.

Mellor wrote: »
    GAA and Soccer are the biggest sport participation wise.
    Golf is not as big, but would still be in top 5 sports for participation.

Cycling is way down the list.

Sure, people either play golf or they don't. There's little knock about golf outside of kids. Most people who own a bike are not taking aprt in the sport of cycling.

But we were talking about the sport, not the activity. As pointed out above, if we start including activity. Sudden there millions of "walkers".

Somebody made the point that cycing is a small sport.
    Somebody took offense, and refer to the 8000 register competitive cyclists.
    I'm pointing out that 8000 is actually relatively small.
    Outside of Ireland is irrelevant tbh, given its an irish sports award.

Getting into niche vrs minor vrs small vrs tiny is really just semantics. The point remains the same. There's no limit defined for niche sport afaik.

Ah lad, now you've contradicted yourself.
    Championing someone elses point.

Using your own logic, if we count the number of kids cycling to school, around their parks, City bike users, commuters, you need another look at cycling...

Niche means "interesting to, aimed at, or affecting only a small number of people"

Cycling isn't niche (and I'm only going on adult numbers)
    Smaller than "mainstream" sports?
    Yes

Niche?
    No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

To win a top prize in the biggest international sporting event of the year and top it off by wining the final stage on the Champs-Élysées after a gruelling deserves to be regonised.

I'm sure he'll win Irish cyclist of the year.

Ah lad, now you've contradicted yourself.
    Championing someone elses point.
    Where’s the contradiction?
    Using your own logic, if we count the number of kids cycling to school, around their parks, City bike users, commuters, you need another look at cycling...
    How is that “using my logic”?
    My point was literally that can’t count them.
    That IF you do for one, then you have to count all sorts of casual activity. If. Not suggesting we should.
    Niche means "interesting to, aimed at, or affecting only a small number of people"
    8000 is small number of people relative to the 300,000+ in other sports.

Getting into niche vrs small vrs whatever is just semantics. Everyone understands what is meant. Doesn’t change anything

Where’s the contradiction?

How is that “using my logic”?
    My point was literally that can’t count them.
    That IF you do for one, then you have to count all sorts of casual activity. If. Not suggesting we should.

8000 is small number of people relative to the 300,000+ in other sports.

Getting into niche vrs small vrs whatever is just semantics. Everyone understands what is meant. Doesn’t change anything

We're going around in circles; I don't know whether you're arguing going by participants cycling is small but walking is big because of numbers of old dears going to the shop etc. , but because more play GAA, cycling is "niche".

In my town of Ballincollig~ 20,000 pop close to Cork, theres three sports shops (lifestyle (albeit closed), Cummins and a Hietons. In Cork, 5km away, there's another 4 or 5 bike shops, catering for 5year old on trikes to MAMILS on 15k Giants.
    Thats not "niche".

The numbers on the road pre covid doesn't suggest a niche sport. Its pretty mainstream.

Either you don't understand the word "niche" or you think a number smaller than another is "niche".

We're going around in circles; I don't know whether you're arguing going by participants cycling is small but walking is big because of numbers of old dears going to the shop etc. , but because more play GAA, cycling is "niche".
    At no point did I claim that. You’ve struggling with some pretty simple idea. Surely
    In my town of Ballincollig~ 20,000 pop close to Cork, theres three sports shops (lifestyle (albeit closed), Cummins and a Hietons. In Cork, 5km away, there's another 4 or 5 bike shops, catering for 5year old on trikes to MAMILS on 15k Giants.
    Thats not "niche".
    There’s a difference between owning a bike/trike and the sport of cycling.
    Is every lad a runner if they own a pair of runners from lifestyle?.
    Either you don't understand the word "niche" or you think a number smaller than another is "niche".
    Or maybe you missed the point?
    8000 people compete in cycling. No matter what you label that. Niche, small, tiny. It’s still only 8000 people. Semantics.

At no point did I claim that. You’ve struggling with some pretty simple idea. Surely

There’s a difference between owning a bike/trike and the sport of cycling.
    Is every lad a runner if they own a pair of runners from lifestyle?.

Or maybe you missed the point?
    8000 people compete in cycling. No matter what you label that. Niche, small, tiny. It’s still only 8000 people. Semantics.

Yea, I don't know what point your making about when an activity becomes a sport, or what poibt about numbers etc. you've lost me.

I'd imagine, any lad owning a pair of runners who, if asked what his hobby was and said jogging/running, would be regarded as a runner or jogger. He doesn't have to be posting record times, or featuring in Runners Weekly

8,000 competitive cycling licences AFAIR from thread.
    Thats not 8000 cycling, as either a hobby or leisure pursuit, ignoring the kids on trikes.
    Is woman's boxing even more niche so.
    Fact is, cycling is not niche.
    Not "niche" =/= most popular though...

Semantics is the study of meaning.
    Niche has a very clear meaning.
    Using the wrong words isn't semantics, it's just wrong.

I don't think its a malapropism on your behalf, i doubt its aphasia.
    just wrong.

Yea, I don't know what point your making about when an activity becomes a sport, or what poibt about numbers etc. you've lost me.

I own a bike. I cycle to the gym. That's a mode of transport for me. I'm not taking part in the sport of cycling. I don't actually believe you don't understand the difference.
    I'd imagine, any lad owning a pair of runners who, if asked what his hobby was and said jogging/running, would be regarded as a runner or jogger. He doesn't have to be posting record times, or featuring in Runners Weekly
    If he said it was his hobby, then of course. But assuming that everyone who owns runners would say that is pretty ridiculous.
    8,000 competitive cycling licences AFAIR from thread.
    Thats not 8000 cycling, as either a hobby or leisure pursuit, ignoring the kids on trikes.
    So 8000 who compete. Which is exactly what I said. Was that suppose to counter something?

Fact is, cycling is not niche.
    Can I you point to the post where I claimed it was niche?
    Niche, small, large are relative terms. The number have been started in the tread, so they are redundant.

Semantics is the study of meaning.
    Niche has a very clear meaning.
    Using the wrong words isn't semantics, it's just wrong.
    The lack of reading comprehension is astounding.
    Malapropism, SMH.

I own a bike. I cycle to the gym. That's a mode of transport for me. I'm not taking part in the sport of cycling. I don't actually believe you don't understand the difference.

If he said it was his hobby, then of course. But assuming that everyone who owns runners would say that is pretty ridiculous.

So 8000 who compete. Which is exactly what I said. Was that suppose to counter something?

Can I you point to the post where I claimed it was niche?
    Niche, small, large are relative terms. The number have been started in the tread, so they are redundant.

Oh thank god you've seen the light.

Of course I don't count the kids on trikes, commuters, city bikes etc. as those who would regard themselves as recreational cyclists (indeed earlier making the same point, you wondered why would I not invlude kids, as I was keen to avoid this conflation...).

I regard (sports) cyclists as those with a bike in the shed, who if asked what sport/leisure activity they indulge in, might say cycling (as you agree a similar runner would be) which is far more than the 8,000 competitive CI racing licences.

Your old sthick is arguing against someone saying its not niche... something about semantics... numbers and now "relative".

So thankfully you're now acknowledging its not niche, distancing yourself from it, and that the number of "sports cyclists" is smaller than say GAA or rugby. Which only a fool would disagree with.

Speaking of Sam Bennett

https://twitter.com/NOWTVIreland/status/1351631160842072065?s=20

He seems not to take himself too seriously

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭COVID

Mellor v Oxsgreen
    (Pedal & Crank)

Might I suggest that you both 'get on your bikes' in order to settle this yawn-inducing dispute?

I have in mind, three laps of St.Stephen's Green as dawn breaks this coming Sunday morning.

My four-year-old twin daughters have small but sturdy tricycles (with stabilisers if required), which I can hire to you for a nominal fee on race day.

I've already put in an online order for the usual nick-nacks, and accoutrements so favoured by professional cyclists the world over, namely:

Two sticky bottles of waters, sweatbands, a pair of silly-looking aerodynamic helmets, and copious amounts of Epoetin Alpha (EPO), 4-hydroxytestosterone, Growth Hormone (hGH), Nandrolone, DHEA, and Methylphenidate.

The race winner automatically wins the current online argument and secures the right to stick out his tongue at the vanquished, poke him sharply in the chest with an index finger and shout na, na...na, na,na, I'm smarter than you!

Any takers?

COVID wrote: »
    Mellor v Oxsgreen
    (Pedal & Crank)

Might I suggest that you both 'get on your bikes' in order to settle this yawn-inducing dispute?

I have in mind, three laps of St.Stephen's Green as dawn breaks this coming Sunday morning.

My four-year-old twin daughters have small but sturdy tricycles (with stabilisers if required), which I can hire to you for a nominal fee on race day.

I've already put in an online order for the usual nick-nacks, and accoutrements so favoured by professional cyclists the world over, namely:

Two sticky bottles of waters, sweatbands, a pair of silly-looking aerodynamic helmets, and copious amounts of Epoetin Alpha (EPO), 4-hydroxytestosterone, Growth Hormone (hGH), Nandrolone, DHEA, and Methylphenidate.

The race winner automatically wins the current online argument and secures the right to stick out his tongue at the vanquished, poke him sharply in the chest with an index finger and shout na, na...na, na,na, I'm smarter than you!

Any takers?

Stay in your lane Covid!

Thats not even a segment.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

statto25 wrote: »
    Define a "proper sport"

One that's fair and clean and honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

RTÉ mightn't have recognised him, however the public have spoken.
    Irish independent sportsperson of the year.

Well done Sam.

https://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/sam-bennett-wins-big-at-prestigious-irish-annual-sports-awards/?fbclid=IwAR2lkeZvnDLVRU-JBBdd_UR9WrhQpruC0C0Pk0th7tfmC_cR-97e7cMx_UY

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

feargale wrote: »
    One that's fair and clean and honest.

I'll be looking out for you at the Under 10's community games so!

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I'll be looking out for you at the Under 10's community games so!

U10s seems to be the only safe space

U12s doping:

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2014/jul/09/research-shows-child-athletes-using-drugs