Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 70's and 80's in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

Nice one Grandeeod, I really appreciate it!
    I can remember being about eleven years old and watching that movie that night with my Dad, and my Mum being not at all happy about it as she wanted to go the local for a drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I bet it will lead to a spike in mental illness in this generation.

It seems like everyone under the age of 25 lives every detail of their life through a phone screen.

It's not healthy.

yep, not to mention online bullying...back in day if you were picked on in school at least come the end of the school day that would be the end of it....but nowadays its there 24/7 for the whole world to see, i reckon there's a lot of kids out there under severe distress

• Registered Users Posts: 12,105 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

fryup wrote: »
    yep, not to mention online bullying...back in day if you were picked on in school at least come the end of the school day that would be the end of it....but nowadays its there 24/7 for the whole world to see, i reckon there's a lot of kids out there under severe distress

The online bullying worries me the most and that's probably why I'm teaching my daughter total and absolute cynicism towards social media and all those that live by it. I even use MTV's Catfish as an example of what can be fooked up in the world. I'm lucky in that me and Mrs G are tech savvy, but I fear for the parents that only discovered the internet on a new smart phone. Their kids could be in real trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Billy86 wrote:
    That was still going on on into the early 2000s or whenever they deregulated the taxis - with the icing on the cake of seeing well over a dozen taxis with their lights on pass you by and not pay any notice.

Billy86 wrote:
    Nowadays it's sometimes hard to stand at the traffic lights/bus stop/etc in Dublin without having a taxi driver flash their lights at you.

No doubt that was in Dublin or some other city. Out here in the sticks, you walked. And 10 miles wasn't far when you had a gang with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

FanadMan wrote: »
    Billy86 wrote:

No doubt that was in Dublin or some other city. Out here in the sticks, you walked. And 10 miles wasn't far when you had a gang with you.
    Try it in kitten heeled winkle pinkers. I did and shortly thereafter invested in a pair of DMs

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

FanadMan wrote: »

Very true. And many’s a prank was played on the way home too. No vandalism.....stupid innocent stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

There was close to zero drinking done at home in the 79’s and 80’s. If you did you would have been regarded as the biggest alcoholic in town

Both you could fire back fifteen pints down the pub and no one would bat an eye lid

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

What was it like in the 1980's in Ireland?

I have seen pictures, video and my god it looked like a depressing place. :eek:

Grey, delapidated, hopeless.

What was it like? How did you get by without internets, wheelie bins, toilets...?

Would you go back if you could??

*Might as well throw in the 70's too for people of that vintage.

Yes. The photos from that era were taken on inferior and sometimes black and white cameras.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Alfred Hitchcock's last 2 films, Frenzy and Family Plot came out in the 70s.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Frenzy is brilliant

Solicitor in Pub: We were just talking about the tie murderer, Maisie. You'd better watch out.
    Maisie, Barmaid: [salaciously] He rapes them first, doesn't he?
    Solicitor in Pub: Yes, I believe he does.
    Doctor in Pub: Well I suppose it's nice to know that every cloud has a silver lining.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

was that actual dialog from the movie??? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

Straw Dogs (1971) with its controversial rape scene. Director Sam Peckinpah was accused of glamorising and eroticising rape.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Gerry Ryan rapping about the dangers of drugs

Hypocrite

Straw Dogs (1971) with its controversial rape scene. Director Sam Peckinpah was accused of glamorising and eroticising rape.

Seen that film years ago. Good show.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,110 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

That wouldn't have been seen in Ireland in the 70s or 80s, it was banned.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

That wouldn't have been seen in Ireland in the 70s or 80s, it was banned.

I watched it on the tv when I was a kid (80s Dublin)
    That was reasonably mild. The ultra violent banned stuff was around on pirate video tapes and could be seen, if you were that way inclined.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I even kept a picture of my first phone
    mBMGfNHbqGfdrkRYRjv3E3Q.jpg

the batteries last for years, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kat1170

That's a grand cake Nora.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

I moved back to Ireland as a child in the 1980s. Seemed pretty backwards. All white Catholics. Big fuss made over contraception and divorce.
    Chronically high unemployment
    I'm glad though we had no Facebook or any of that social media ****e. We didn't all dash to gyms like rats either
    Plus no harm we didn't have wall to wall pornography but would have been nice if young ones put out a bit more!!
    Wish we had a thatcher. Our politicians were even worse back then.

Bobtheman wrote: »
    I moved back to Ireland as a child in the 1980s. Seemed pretty backwards. All white Catholics. Big fuss made over contraception and divorce.
    Chronically high unemployment
    I'm glad though we had no Facebook or any of that social media ****e. We didn't all dash to gyms like rats either
    Plus no harm we didn't have wall to wall pornography but would have been nice if young ones put out a bit more!!
    Wish we had a thatcher. Our politicians were even worse back then.

Ya that sounds like hell on earth mate. Thank god these pesky white Catholics are dying out.

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^

was that actual dialog from the movie??? :eek:

From 12:23

I watched it on the tv when I was a kid (80s Dublin)
    That was reasonably mild. The ultra violent banned stuff was around on pirate video tapes and could be seen, if you were that way inclined.

It wasn't shown on UK TV until 2003.
    Did RTE show it in the '80s?
    Have a vague recollection they might have.

I watched a pre-cert VHS copy in 1987.

There was one video library in New Ross that rented out all the nasties and pre-cert tapes until the end of the decade.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Commodore 64

You loaded your game and it could take 10 minutes or more. If there were multiple games on the cassette you rewound to the start and reset the counter and fast forwarded to the correct location
    Games cost 3 to 4 punts so quite cheap. A cartridge which could load instantly cost maybe 15 punts. An Amiga which was a step up used floppy disks but I didn't have that so it was cassettes and loading times for me

There were some great games. I was particular fans of the Dizzy series. Think of an egg with a face and arms and legs and you took him on platform adventures

However the best game of all was Flimbos Quest. The music is still so catchy!

It wasn't shown on UK TV until 2003.
    Did RTE show it in the '80s?
    Have a vague recollection they might have.

No chance. It was still officially banned here in the mid 90s when I saw it in the IFI.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

No chance. It was still officially banned here in the mid 90s when I saw it in the IFI.

Makes sense - must have imagined it. Actually it's probably other people in school renting the same tape from that video shop and discussing it. The banning is mentioned in Ciaran Carty's Censorship book and also got called out at the debate he put on late 1990s - in the IFI.

Had a Sinclair Spectrum 16K with rubber keyboard, it was a bit too much for my parents to afford for Xmas so I agreed to go halves with my confirmation money... later got the 32K Ram Pack and it was great finally being able to play all of those 48K games you heard about and could see in Tomorrow's World in the Ilac but couldn't buy. (Actually I did buy a 48K tape, Atic Atac, a while before my birthday when I got the ram pack.. loaded it in just to see the loading screen but it wouldn't play obviously!)

Bought a few games but got loads through tape swapping in the schoolyard... shhh... liked the Ultimate games the best. Pssst, Jet Pac, Tranz Am, Cookie, Atic Atac, Knight Lore, Alien 8 (thought it was great completing that with a map photocopied out of Sinclair User).

Ocean games were good too, Match Day (by Jon Ritman, who went on to write the excellent Head Over Heels which I had on the 128K and Amiga and I have a Linux port now!), Cobra, Daley Thompson's Decathlon and Super Test. Edit: OutRun!!! it was absolutely crap compared to the arcade version yet it was still good fun. Side 2 of the tape had the arcade version soundtrack that you could play on your tape deck while playing the game...

Space Harrier was another one which just never should have worked on such an underpowered machine, but somehow did.

Other good ones were more or less "one hit wonders" like 3D Tank Attack, or Ant Attack. Hewson Consultants - NightFlite, 3D Seiddab Attack (yet another game with Attack in the name, video game violence, wha? and Seiddab was Baddies backwards), Avalon which by all accounts was great but I never played it. TT Racer was surprisingly good.

Sold the Speccy a couple of years later and got a Sinclair QL (!) which would have been decent if the Microdrives weren't so unreliable and blank cartridges so expensive, because of that there were practically no games or much else for it, learned a lot about programming on it though. (Linus Torvalds was another QL owner... whatever happened to him?) Even before Sinclair had their financial crash it became impossible to get blank Microdrive cartridges, and the ones I had would stretch and eventually become unusable so it had to go.

Got a Spectrum 128K then - the short-lived "proper" Sinclair one before Amstrad took over. Felt like a step back in time (and wish I'd kept my old tapes!) but it had a good sound chip which some games took advantage of, and by this time a lot of the old good Spectrum software was available for half nothing on budget software labels.

Another couple of years after that I got an Amiga 500.. different world altogether. Wish I'd got the dial up modem for it but I never did. But I won't talk about the games because the 80s had only days left to go when I got it :)

BTW everything including the first year or so of my Amiga ownership (4096 colours) was viewed on a sh!tty B&W portable and the only reason I got that was that my dad got annoyed with me taking over the TV (THE tv, the only one) from school home time until dinner time!

Makes sense - must have imagined it. Actually it's probably other people in school renting the same tape from that video shop and discussing it. The banning is mentioned in Ciaran Carty's Censorship book and also got called out at the debate he put on late 1990s - in the IFI.

I bought that book in the IFI bookshop

https://www.worldcat.org/title/confessions-of-a-sewer-rat-a-personal-history-of-censorship-the-irish-cinema/oclc/34137096

Was a good read but I got annoyed with the ending - he implied censorship was a thing of the past by that time, which of course it wasn't. They'd generally stopped cutting 18's films, but still banned Natural Born Killers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,105 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Had a Sinclair Spectrum 16K with rubber keyboard, it was a bit too much for my parents to afford for Xmas so I agreed to go halves with my confirmation money... later got the 32K Ram Pack and it was great finally being able to play all of those 48K games you heard about and could see in Tomorrow's World in the Ilac but couldn't buy. (Actually I did buy a 48K tape, Atic Atac, a while before my birthday when I got the ram pack.. loaded it in just to see the loading screen but it wouldn't play obviously!)

Bought a few games but got loads through tape swapping in the schoolyard... shhh... liked the Ultimate games the best. Pssst, Jet Pac, Tranz Am, Cookie, Atic Atac, Knight Lore, Alien 8 (thought it was great completing that with a map photocopied out of Sinclair User).

Ocean games were good too, Match Day (by Jon Ritman, who went on to write the excellent Head Over Heels which I had on the 128K and Amiga and I have a Linux port now!), Cobra, Daley Thompson's Decathlon and Super Test.

Other good ones were more or less "one hit wonders" like 3D Tank Attack, or Ant Attack.

Sold the Speccy a couple of years later and got a Sinclair QL (!) which would have been decent if the Microdrives weren't so unreliable and blank cartridges so expensive, because of that there were practically no games or much else for it, learned a lot about programming on it though. (Linus Torvalds was another QL owner... whatever happened to him?) Even before Sinclair had their financial crash it became impossible to get blank Microdrive cartridges, and the ones I had would stretch and eventually become unusable so it had to go.

Got a Spectrum 128K then - the short-lived "proper" Sinclair one before Amstrad took over. Felt like a step back in time (and wish I'd kept my old tapes!) but it had a good sound chip which some games took advantage of, and by this time a lot of the old good Spectrum software was available for half nothing on budget software labels.

Another couple of years after that I got an Amiga 500.. different world altogether. Wish I'd got the dial up modem for it but I never did. But I won't talk about the games because the 80s had only days left to go when I got it :)

BTW everything including the first year or so of my Amiga ownership (4096 colours) was viewed on a sh!tty B&W portable and the only reason I got that was that my dad got annoyed with me taking over the TV (THE tv, the only one) from school home time until dinner time!

Jaysus! Where do I start with your post?? I went to Tomorrows World in Dawson Street. We literally just hung around the shop.:D Visited the Ilac one the odd time. First feckin computer I saw was the Oric. The first one with its rubber key pad. A rich friend had it. The Oric Atmos followed quickly and we played with that in TW. How quickly the Commodore 64 came around and games became the thing. But my first real computer experience came with designing graphics on a Commodore 128, not mine, but using it as a computer as opposed to a gaming machine. I still have those graphics recorded on Super 8mm film shot off the TV screen.

The Sinclair Spectrum? What can I say. A gaming machine that didn't match the Commodore's??? My next experience was the BBC Micro and then the Amstrad with the built in tape deck. After that it was a case of the Apple and I never looked back. The Apple Performa 450?? I remember the "Windows '95, Apple '89 Ad. I'm now drifting across the Microsoft/Apple platforms to suit the need. Computers for me were always about the "what do they really offer" as opposed to games. The internet was great before Smart Phones.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,049 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Commodore 64

You loaded your game and it could take 10 minutes or more. If there were multiple games on the cassette you rewound to the start and reset the counter and fast forwarded to the correct location
    Games cost 3 to 4 punts so quite cheap. A cartridge which could load instantly cost maybe 15 punts. An Amiga which was a step up used floppy disks but I didn't have that so it was cassettes and loading times for me

There were some great games. I was particular fans of the Dizzy series. Think of an egg with a face and arms and legs and you took him on platform adventures

However the best game of all was Flimbos Quest. The music is still so catchy!

I absolutely loved the cassette tapes for Commodore. I remember Dizzy well.
    I also loved CJ in the USA.
    You needed the joystick for Terminator.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 13,049 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

But.. I think Commodore was the 90s though.

To thine own self be true