Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 70's and 80's in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Remember the Harp Lager ads with the Vikings?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

branie2 wrote: »
    Remember the Harp Lager ads with the Vikings?

"Ve haff come because ve heard of ze Harp!"

I'm sure there was a longer version of this. I seem to remember a bit with a shepherd type guy pointing out to sea and saying the Vikings are coming and peasants running away in terror.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

you could fry an egg on the rocks ..if you only had a rock

• Registered Users Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Dessert trollies.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Talent shows in the CYMS hall, where half the village showed up in the audience because there was nothing else to do. Parish Socials in the same CYMS hall.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

fleetwood mac still selling bucket loads in fairness!

80's game care of "anything goes"!!

eat a jam doughnut without licking your lips!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Funny thing is, back in those days nobody knew who 'sally' was.

As far as I recall, it took weeks or months to discover who sally really was.

I think a Sunday World exclusive told us that she was an English actress called Vicky Michelle.

It was a revelation at the time!:eek:

Nowadays a quick google would bypass all that excitement.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

2 great shows with Lee Majors:

The Six Million Dollar Man and The Fall Guy.

do you prefer netflix or having to wait a week to watch the next episode??

love hate was mental having to wait a whole week for the next one!!

i prefer it though

• Registered Users Posts: 81,243 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

branie2 wrote: »
    2 great shows with Lee Majors:

The Six Million Dollar Man and The Fall Guy.

Loved The Fall Guy, it's never repeated, anyone know any sources showing it?

Jaysus, 113 episodes according to Wikipedia, I'd say I've not seen 30.

Loved The Fall Guy, it's never repeated, anyone know any sources showing it?

Jaysus, 113 episodes according to Wikipedia, I'd say I've not seen 30.

it was fully repeated during the day a few years back

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

463099.png
    I remember rushing home from school to catch this kids drama in 1977. The theme tune stuck in my head for years till I eventually got to buy the series on amazon last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

463100.png
    Another kids drama which was scary as hell. Kept me and my pals awake at night terrified.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

Back then the Daleks were proper scary.......

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Caipin Cach

It was rather like living in a ****hole county these days like Cork or Mayo. That I am in a graveyard with lights feeling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

sparksfly wrote: »
    463100.png
    Another kids drama which was scary as hell. Kept me and my pals awake at night terrified.

The opening theme music was really creepy .Some proper children's shows in the 70s and 80's.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

463099.png
    I remember rushing home from school to catch this kids drama in 1977. The theme tune stuck in my head for years till I eventually got to buy the series on amazon last year.

Great series, Ronald Fraser was excellent.

463100.png

Brilliant.
    Saw it on HTV (we got that in Wexford).
    ITV children's dramas of 1970s are excellent - aside from the two above, Sky, Escape Into Night, The Jensen Code, Golden Hill, Tightrope, The Doombolt Chase - all released by Network.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Remember going to cinemas in the 70s, big old grand theatres with balconies and double seats up the back. Star Wars, Bond, Bruce Lee, A Bridge Too Far.

Blake’s 7 on the tv.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Also the top 20/30 countdown. The anticipation before totp every Thursday. Larry on the Sunday. 1979/1980 the best years ever for pop music, when it really mattered who was No.1 that week. That strange time when Gloria was top of the Irish charts for what seemed like 500 weeks in a row.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

The Becahcombers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Big Nasty wrote: »
    The Becahcombers

Ah yes! Nick, Relic & all the lads.

Catchy theme tune too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Big Ed loves Mona

• Registered Users Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭Kat1170

^^^^^
    Went on for a few weeks with the whole country trying to figure out who Ed & Mona were.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Kat1170 wrote: »
    ^^^^^
    Went on for a few weeks with the whole country trying to figure out who Ed & Mona were.

Big hopes of a romantic story or something exciting.
    But no, a yogurt. Disappointing.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

archer22 wrote: »
    Catholic church was still huge and held massive sway and almost everybody went to mass. Atheists were as rare as Chickens teeth.(my own family being the only ones I knew of in the entire area).

not at all, half the country was atheist and still is...half the people only go to mass for show

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I remember this episode freaking me out as a kid, the concept of a chair that could kill you, I remember peeking through the kitchen door looking at that episode and staying away from the sofa for a long time. :o Dated 1971 apparently and the Doctor Who episode or season called Terror of the Autons.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)