Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE: Drivetime with Sarah McInerney & Cormac O hEadhra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

O’hEadhra seems to like the affirmative mode of questioning.

eg.... the Hse should have done something about that, isn’t that right?

Strange way of putting things , I would have thought.

Isn't he a barrister? Isn't that the way they frame things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,743 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

bobbyss wrote: »
    Isn't he a barrister? Isn't that the way they frame things?

I did not know that Robert........ must delve further into his background.

However, while that might be the way they frame things in the law courts, I think it’s not a very suitable method of eliciting information on national public radio.

The interviewee is not in a court of law.

Thanks for the info Robert.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

As they call it on the TV shows, "leading the witness".

I agree, it's not the best means by which a question can be phrased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,095 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

As they call it on the TV shows, "leading the witness".

I agree, it's not the best means by which a question can be phrased.

Might have a lot to do with how politicians/or similarly accountable present for interview, particularly the slippery and evasive.

Interesting indeed. Catholic right interviwee on at the moment.

"Illegitimate sex..."

Sister Helen Prejian

Timmy Dooley left sounding like a babbling idiot there and the questioning wasn't even aggressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Timmy Dooley left sounding like a babbling idiot there and the questioning wasn't even aggressive

You sound surprised !

Infoanon wrote: »
    You sound surprised !

Yes, the babbling surprised me. :)

Corry shilling the travel industry full steam.

Weren't Aer Lingus lobbying the government too. Vested interests do what vested interests do.

Ehh...... that’s kinda what I’m saying Francie. :confused:

Had you a bit of a setback recently..... no need for the pushback.

Ehh...... that’s kinda what I’m saying Francie. :confused:

Had you a bit of a setback recently..... no need for the pushback.

You said it as if you expected him to be doing something different. So I just pointed out another example to you.

Nah Francie..... just reminding folk as I always do, be aware where the person is coming from.

Like the FR ‘jab and go’ ad.

Hope that’s ok?

O’hEadhra making a total tool of himself on Drivetime.

What an idiot.

Last time he was on Corry announced that he was not a vested interest and was speaking on his own behalf about the travel industry !!

I hope you weren’t taken in by that........

For some strange reason I couldn't taken him at his word....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I would be more than willing to accept that corry is speaking on his own behalf as regards the travel industry. It just happens to be the case that his interests are almost entirely aligned with theirs.

Construction Industry spokesman shilling for the construction industry there.

Corry classifies himself as a journalist, though, think thats the difference.

He is the Editor of a Travel Industry magazine primarily.
    Corry was awarded a lifetime "contribution to the industry" award at the Irish Travel Industry Awards in Dublin on January 22, 2016

Ah ok, i did him a disservice. An award winning journalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

It was probably his turn to receive one!

What’s the betting Sarah gets the Darragh O’ Brian interview ?

Edit.... Brenner got that one wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭bookman2

What’s the betting Sarah gets the Darragh O’ Brian interview ?

Edit.... Brenner got that one wrong...

is she still at it? i haven't listened in weeks

bookman2 wrote: »
    is she still at it? i haven't listened in weeks

Depends on the interviewee usually, don’t listen as much now, nothing but bad news and doom and gloom.

This looks like it could be good on tomorrow's show.

https://twitter.com/RichardbrutonTD/status/1354469088924463104

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

not sure Richard is up to speed on this brief....

He heh heh.... as predicted..... what the fuhherke was all that about.

Nobody the wiser, just a bunch of waffle .

O’Broin seemed out of his depth.

gourcuff wrote: »
    not sure Richard is up to speed on this brief....

Like a few around here, all Richard wanted t do was get a dig in at SF. Insisted on the lie it was they who blocked the Oscar Traynor development and breezed right by O'Broin's list of all who had objected to it.
    Chancer.

He heh heh.... as predicted..... what the fuhherke was all that about.

Nobody the wiser, just a bunch of waffle .

That's 20 minutes I won't get back - what a load of nonsense, two normally good performers trying to out waffle each other.

Only myself to blame....knew this would be a waffle fest

That's 20 minutes I won't get back - what a load of nonsense, two normally good performers trying to out waffle each other.

Only myself to blame....

Nothing personal Info, but if you thought that “something” might come out of this pseudo ‘debate’ that the ordinary Joe like ourselves might gain knowledge from, then you can blame yourself.

I was cynical enough not to expect anything, and I got exactly as expected.

Anyone who claims to have understood the content of this charade is, to use the mantra of the Alphabets.. “telling lies”, in my opinion.

Nothing personal Info, but if you thought that “something” might come out of this pseudo ‘debate’ that the ordinary Joe like ourselves might gain knowledge from, then you can blame yourself.

Definitely not expecting to learn anything from the 'debate' but
    Was I wrong to hope that Bruton would perform well and wipe the floor....

Definitely not expecting to learn anything from the 'debate' but
    Was I wrong to hope that Bruton would perform well and wipe the floor....

Info, you certainly were, given the subject-housing.

This subject has been festering in our country for years and nobody, I say again- nobody -seems to have a handle as to how to get on top of it.

Everybody seems to be to blame, and the ordinary Joe has no clue who or why it’s the way it is.

Info, you certainly were, given the subject-housing.

This subject has been festering in our country for years and nobody, I say again- nobody -seems to have a handle as to how to get on top of it.

Everybody seems to be to blame, and the ordinary Joe has no clue who or why it’s the way it is.

I'm fairly sure I heard O'Broin say there are alternate proposals for the OT development.

Richard had no alternative, he was the one blaming. Richard was blaming SF and none of the other objectors too. Richard wants to make it a political football therefore. Don't be Richard.

Normal interview by sarah there with SF spokesman. Maybe someone has told her how to carry out interviews!

In what way..."

did you hear it? she didn't really badger the lad left him answer questions, maybe it was because he was SF but it seemed reasonable enough to me!

No ... but doesn’t surprise me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Ah Cormac the news isn't about you, I was interested in that shipwreck find off the coast of Norway but all you seemed to be interested in was havin the craic with the lady archaeologist and showing us how smart you are with the childish puns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Ah Conor the news isn't about you, I was interested in that shipwreck find off the coast of Norway but all you seemed to be interested in was havin the craic with the lady archaeologist and showing us how smart you are with the childish puns

Amateur hour but I'm no longer surprised as the standard of journalism continues to decline.

Ah Conor the news isn't about you, I was interested in that shipwreck find off the coast of Norway but all you seemed to be interested in was havin the craic with the lady archaeologist and showing us how smart you are with the childish puns

Conor...?

Conor who...?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Conor...?

Conor who...?

Cormac, I've amended my post, with heartfelt apologies for any hurt I may have caused for mixing up the Christian name Conor with Cormac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Cole

I've given up on this show but tuned in out of curiosity. I lasted about 20 seconds...male grooming on Drivetime...no thanks. Not that the alternatives are any better...Kieran Cuddihy was plugging an item on the challenges of being a (new) father by having a chat with other NT presenters.

Cole wrote: »
    I've given up on this show but tuned in out of curiosity. I lasted about 20 seconds...male grooming on Drivetime...no thanks. Not that the alternatives are any better...Kieran Cuddihy was plugging an item on the challenges of being a (new) father by having a chat with other NT presenters.

It’s sinking slowly into a mish- mash of rubbish.

another normal interview here- she is actually leaving people answer the questions!

What kind of an interview was that with Michelle O’Neill?

Poor sound ...couldn’t understand a word she was saying.

Jaysus ,surely get her into a studio.

What kind of an interview was that with Michelle O’Neill?

Poor sound ...couldn’t understand a word she was saying.

Jaysus ,surely get her into a studio.

i didnt listen to it mainly because michelle o neillis effing useless IMO!

how long are these 2 in the gig?

Hmm.. about 6 weeks I’d say being numeric

Too long I’d say being honest.