Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

tudderone wrote: »
    Closer to home, Ruth Coppinger TD wants the garda who shot George Nkencho dead in Dublin, to stand trial because of the Floyd case in America. She must be looking in Envy at America at all the opportunities to wage class/race/whatever war :rolleyes:

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/george-nkencho-former-td-ruth-20460719

FORMER WOS TD trying to be revelant ...:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Cass wrote: »
    The guy responsible didn't live long after.

https://www.liveleak.com/view?t=aq7b9_1618182859

Oh dear, how sad, never mind.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    FORMER WOS TD trying to be revelant ...:rolleyes:

Former ? I missed that. Still poo stirring though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Rosahane

And then we wonder why US cops are so damn tetchy and have their hands on their guns when they do routine traffic stops"...:eek:
    GRAPHIC
    https://www.bitchute.com/video/gTwYWE9uRV5Z/?fbclid=IwAR1eG1-Uiw8K9Abe6BCc9JqakpFo26Evf417tAOTs_NFDQtrpkoWdOzeYRQ

The stop was a setup by DHS. Apparently the unfortunate patrolman wasn't told anything about who he was told to stop!

http://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/320601935/m/3520074184

If DHS was that involved in this and didn't inform the officer properly on how dangerous this character was, well then they are responsible for his death as well,and if they shot him further on down the road after this shooting,in a contrived ambush,well that is then an execution without trial by DHS. which is rather worrisome,as that will give them in future zero cooperation with local PDs. Who might object to being Federal sniper bait.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 39,088 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Poor bugger, but he seemed to me to be careless, by the time he seen the gun it was all over.

Apparently like he had already seen it. So I think you are right that het was unfortunately careless.
    After walking over to the passenger-side window of Cueva's white pick-up, footage shows the officer saying politely: 'Good afternoon, sir. My name is Darrian Jarrott. I'm with New Mexico State Police. The reason for the stop is your window tint is a little too dark.'

Jarrott, a father of three small children whose partner was pregnant at the time of his death, says: 'Yeah, mind if I open the door? Or if you want to roll down the window more.'
    In a brief conversation lasting around three minutes, the officer asks if Cueva had insurance, to which he replies 'yes', and confirms his name, before asking the criminal to come over to his patrol car so he could run checks.

Cueva opens his door, at which point Jarrott notices his rifle and asked, 'You have a firearm on you, do you mind if I take that off you, for my own safety?'

The officer then says, 'Let's go to my vehicle OK', at which point Cueva gets out from the driver's seat holding the rifle - which Jarrott is unable to see because his view is blocked by the pick-up.

If DHS was that involved in this and didn't inform the officer properly on how dangerous this character was, well then they are responsible for his death as well,and if they shot him further on down the road after this shooting,in a contrived ambush,well that is then an execution without trial by DHS. which is rather worrisome,as that will give them in future zero cooperation with local PDs. Who might object to being Federal sniper bait.

Completely agree that they are responsible for his death if a Federal agency put him in that situation.
    If the news report I read, it mention DHS was first on the scene. If made it sound as if it they happened upon them. Has it been confirmed or just alleged it was a sting and not a routine stop?

It looks like it was local PD who shot the guy in the end. The fled for 40 miles or so. State Police, Local Police Department, Sheriff's Office, and Border Patrol all joining in. Presumably it was in the region somewhere close to the border.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Pretty naive cop to see a gun out and not pull his own gun to be on the safe side.

France, 24 generals, 80 colonels/captains, 125 lieutenant-colonels or lower-ranked officers, and about 1,000 others, sign a letter to the Macron government warning of a possible civil war because of a split society :eek:.

A big no-no in most countries, the military getting involved in politics.

https://euobserver.com/democracy/151692

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/macron-dismisses-former-generals-warning-of-civil-war-in-france-qlzk9xs29

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

2am - Not staying up for it, might catch a little, but i see on the news biden is about to address congress. Will have to catch all the "highlights" tomorrow but the introduction of the news broadcaster is laughable so this can only be gold.

2:03am - pelosi actually drooling over herself so this can only be worse than, reports from, the mastabatory show that was the oscars.

2:06am - One quick thing though, he said "............. truth over lies". Nice to see someone told him that is the correct way to say it instead of "truth over facts".

2-16am - Right, thats enough. Joe is already off on his "come gather round the fire children, uncle joe is about to tell a story of hope, Unicorns, and fairy farts".

The stimulus package they are applauding is a joke. Another 1.8 trillion for a self imposed, artificial, recession. Open stuff back up again and it'll naturally come out of it without the need for hundreds of millions to tens of billions going to foreign countries, national galleries, and other special projects that have nothing to do with keeping the economy going.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Fair play to President Biden, only 100 days in office and he's doing a great job. He's making America great again after the last imbecile nearly ruined it.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-56924684

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 1349

Fair play to President Biden, only 100 days in office and he's doing a great job. He's making America great again after the last imbecile nearly ruined it.

LOL. The first point in the article is literally that two people (neither of whom are Joe Biden) who were present at the speech..... have vaginas.

Fair play.

Did we ever think we'd see house prices rebound so quickly after the Celtic Tiger, especially considering the global pandemic of the last 12 months?

Tough times for people living at home with their parents or renting and trying to save to buy their own place.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/house-sales-for-first-time-buyers-at-highest-level-since-celtic-tiger-1119313.html

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'm not sure if you are being sarcastic or not.

Yep, the last lad was an imbicile but I don't see Biden as having done much in his first 100 days.

One cop in jail and he has rooted out systemic racism. Aye......:rolleyes:

The border situation is actually worse than under Trump but the media aren't half as focussed on it as when Trump was in power.

I'm not a Trump fan but here's how the media would portray the same event:
    Trump puts in place $1.8 trillion stimulus package = Trump has saddled us with debt.
    Biden puts in place $1.8 trillion stimulus package = Great man helping the American poor.

Biden ain't 'all that'.

Good on you Rows ...A bit of a laugh always starts the day off well! You are a utter gas man:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I do have a wry grin on my face when I see lads on here arguing the toss on US politics, like it matters, they're all gangsters out for themselves.

First they came for the socialists...

The senile ol fool in DC tripping over his words again...:D
    https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2021/04/joe-biden-just-build-back-better-build-back-better-video/

"Ol senility" obviously forgot about 9/11.Or doesn't want to remember...:mad:
    https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2021/04/joe-biden-jan-6-worst-attack-democracy-since-civil-war/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2021/04/joe-biden-jan-6-worst-attack-democracy-since-civil-war/

I'd be more of an Old Testament, an eye for an eye type myself. However do these bible bashers not forgive and forget?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 39,088 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The writer probably needs some English lessons.
    An attack on democracy is not the same as an Attack on the country. I thought that was fairly obvious.

Pearl Harbour was an attack on America. Not on democracy.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I'm not sure if you are being sarcastic or not.

Yep, the last lad was an imbicile but I don't see Biden as having done much in his first 100 days.

One cop in jail and he has rooted out systemic racism. Aye......:rolleyes:

The border situation is actually worse than under Trump but the media aren't half as focussed on it as when Trump was in power.

I'm not a Trump fan but here's how the media would portray the same event:
    Trump puts in place $1.8 trillion stimulus package = Trump has saddled us with debt.
    Biden puts in place $1.8 trillion stimulus package = Great man helping the American poor.

Biden ain't 'all that'.

Not being sarcastic, I am of the opinion he is doing a great job.

Admittedly the bar was set as low as it could go before he took over but that doesn't detract from the great work he is doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Did we ever think we'd see house prices rebound so quickly after the Celtic Tiger, especially considering the global pandemic of the last 12 months?

Tough times for people living at home with their parents or renting and trying to save to buy their own place.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/house-sales-for-first-time-buyers-at-highest-level-since-celtic-tiger-1119313.html

Give it another year or two and the sweeping up after the pandemic will begin. All that overpriced PPE from China will need to be paid for and they won't be able to put all the newly created debt on the long finger forever.

Fine Gael has been pumping the property market celtic tiger style for nearly a full decade now and things are bound to come to a head

Tis bad news for me because if the crash doesn't come soon I may as well give up on buying a house in this country. I nearly had a gaff bought but it fell through - that was the last reasonably priced house around as far as I could tell.

Give it another year or two and the sweeping up after the pandemic will begin. All that overpriced PPE from China will need to be paid for and they won't be able to put all the newly created debt on the long finger forever.

Fine Gael has been pumping the property market celtic tiger style for nearly a full decade now and things are bound to come to a head

Tis bad news for me because if the crash doesn't come soon I may as well give up on buying a house in this country. I nearly had a gaff bought but it fell through - that was the last reasonably priced house around as far as I could tell.

Not to mention Brexit, the full effects we have not even started to see yet. But a walk around the local builders providers or diy shop will soon show you goods are going to go up in price, by a fair whack.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Not to mention Brexit, the full effects we have not even started to see yet. But a walk around the local builders providers or diy shop will soon show you goods are going to go up in price, by a fair whack.

Builders providers
    Couriers
    Food

But I do think the builders providers stuff has gone up by a fair whack already

Paid 5.40 for simple 1/2" to 3/4" brass fitting yesterday
    60 for a simple kitchen tap not so long ago
    Shelving. Fecking mad expensive as well

Asked a guy how much to re-tube my RIB, used to be €4k now he's up to 6.5 :eek: Blames Breksit.

Now I make out a lot of it is only an excuse, they've been dying to push up their prices for years and now they see the chance. Also a lot of the crowd ""working from home"" are doing shag all, looking after their kids and answering the odd email. If you want to get something done it can be very tedious to cajole them into action

Strange times, our eldest lad and his girl were on the verge of buying just before the pandemic and dopey here advised them to hold tough as I thought we would see a drop off in prices. Luckily they are both unaffected work wise by the pandemic and also very patient so they are still saving away and will be well situated financially when the right place pops up at the right price.

We're out in the sticks here and have noticed the bargains that used to be available for a few months are being whipped up faster than usual. No complaints, as it's great to have new permanent life in rural areas rather than seeing properties being sold to people who will just use them strictly as holiday homes. A good few of the houses that were bought as holiday homes years ago are also now full time occupied by the owners since the second lock down and I'd say a good percentage will stay that way. Nothing like a few months locked in to a small house surrounded by concrete to make people appreciate living in the countryside or near the sea.

I'd say in future people will be more aware of the size of their potential living space because of the pandemic and the pokey little places that demanded high prices simply because of location will see the biggest drop in price. I could be totally wrong too though and it wouldn't be the first time.

Mellor wrote: »
    The writer probably needs some English lessons.
    An attack on democracy is not the same as an Attack on the country. I thought that was fairly obvious.

Pearl Harbour was an attack on America. Not on democracy.

Ah ! The old lawyer tactic there Mellor?;)
    Weak on law, argue the facts. Weak on facts ,argue the law. Weak on both , attack the character of the witness?
    But seeing that Im sure Bin Ladin and Al Queida are/were great proponents of democracy and constitutional republics...I'm sure there is some merit in your in your arguement there somewhere??Just cant see it?:confused:

Just after seeing the news for the first time today.
    • May 10th - Hairdressers, libraries, click and collect on "non essential" retail, and inter county travel.
    • May 17th - All retail.
    • June 2nd - Hotels, guest houses, B'nBs.
    • June 7th - Outdoor hospitality, sports (no crowds/fans), weddings up to 25 and cinemas. (don't get the logic of 25 at a wedding or no crowds at sporting events but cinemas reopening, but i suppose "science")
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

So - who's taking May 10th off to go shooting? :)

Was just watchin that here. Yer man needs to buy a lotto ticket or two.

Not sure I like the idea of a cheaped-out 50BMG rifle where if the endcap fails it becomes a projectile -

Lot to be said for a decent trauma kit out shooting too tbh.

civdef wrote: »
    Not sure I like the idea of a cheaped-out 50BMG rifle where if the endcap fails it becomes a projectile -
    Can happen with a bolt action too. Excessive pressure, bolt handle fails and bolts finds "the path of least resistance". IOW backwards.

Only thing about a bolt action, so long as catastrophic failure doesn't occur, is you can judge over pressured rounds by the bolt lift (stiff). With and end cap you wouldn't have that.

One thing that surprised me in that video is the "low" max. pressure of the gun. 50,000+ psi. I thought it's be a lot more for a 50cal as some 308s and 300winmags can produce and/or are rated for similar pressures (up to 62,000.