Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A/R 5k TT 25th April ‘20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭racersedge

Name |Cat |Prediction|Actual|Adjusted
    ReeReeG|F|||
    Hedgehoggy|F35|20:30||
    career move|F35|21:20||
    Laineyfrecks|F40|20:30||
    Sussex18|F40|22:00||
    ariana’|F40|||
    Bluesquare|F40|25:00||
    Younganne|F45|28:00||
    Annie get your Run|F45|29:00||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    deconduo|M|24:00||
    pconn062|M|17:48||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    Dudda|M35|18:00||
    justdoit|M35|19:20||
    duffyshuffle|M35|19:59||
    healy1835|M35|17:05||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|21:30||
    Lambay Island|M35|17.45||
    quick feet|M35|||
    IvoryTower|M35|19:25||
    diego_b|M35|22:00||
    Dubh G|M35|18:30||
    dickidy|M35|||
    token56|M35|21:00||
    Clash City Rocker|M35|17:59||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    shotgunmcos|M40|19:47||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    average_runner|M40|21:20||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    adrian522|M40|25:00||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    dangerous quack|M40|18:45||
    Treviso|M40|||
    Lazare|M40|19:50||
    ofthelord|M40|21:00||
    jamule|M45|||
    coogy|M45|19:30||
    MrSkinny|M45|20:00||
    WubbleWubble|M45|21:30||
    Slow_Runner|M45|19:59||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    DeepBlue|M45|20:50||
    Sideswipe|M45|19:29||
    Itziger|M50|18:30||
    skyblue46|M50|20:00||
    snailsong|M50|20:00||
    dna_leri|M50|17:30||
    MisterDrak|M50|20:50||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    TFBubendorfer|M50|21:00||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

Hopefully haven't fubared the table! Setting myself a target of at least 21:30. Admittedly, I have gone quicker, but a lot of my training up until recently was prepping for the now postphoned marathon in Prague. A couple of interval attempts this week have me wondering if I'd be capable of aiming for a personal record. So lowering my target, at least that way I can feel good if I actually do better than it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

fooked if i am touching the table, if anyones brave enough put me down for 17.45.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Treviso

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

Added myself and jamule's predictions to the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭MY BAD

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|17:59||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

I've had a few dodgy weeks but I think I can resume training next week. So I'm going with 17:59. I've a choice of two courses one has a massive elevation drop I think I could go sub 17 on it and the other one while it has a drop its as fair as it gets where I live, as there are a
    few drangs on it too. Unfortunately it's a out and back course. I think in a ideal world a TT should be ran on a track with little or no wind. I can understand why most road runners who don't do longish sessions on a track would find it off putting running 12.5 laps. That was my plan for a TT before the 2km distance was introduced. If the next 6 weeks go good I plan to repeat my 5k TT on the same course. Maybe a boards mile TT after this 5km one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

This is turning into quite a smackdown! Mile TT is good idea. Even better - 800m.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Murph_D wrote: »
    This is turning into quite a smackdown! Mile TT is good idea. Even better - 800m.

800m....to the pyramid church from the Holy Faith...I'm in :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Looks like I'm going to be a poor last in my category. Hmmm...thinking exit strategies 😀

Looks like I'm going to be a poor last in my category. Hmmm...thinking exit strategies ��

Fook it, so am I! It'll be the car that pulled out of the driveway at 1k that'll end my TT

skyblue46 wrote: »
    800m....to the pyramid church from the Holy Faith...I'm in :D

Sadist! Hardly 800 though?

From the junction of Ballygall Road gives me 860m...

skyblue46 wrote: »
    From the junction of Ballygall Road gives me 860m...

Hang on, you’re doing it downhill now? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Since 5am I have done a solid 20 x kitchen chases with a 2yr old. I can firmly say I’m in sub 18 shape after that session ( with a tasty downhill start making jingle bells look like a slow course)

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|21:59||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

Going for a PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Itziger

KSU wrote: »
    Since 5am I have done a solid 20 x kitchen chases with a 2yr old. I can firmly say I’m in sub 18 shape after that session ( with a tasty downhill start making jingle bells look like a slow course)

You've got a downhill kitchen?

I'm gonna have to add Swashbuckler again 'cos he got deleted in the latest, or next to latest, version.

I presume we can start with the excuses already. I can't buy a fookin' break at the moment. On top of the allergy and the dodgy hip I more or less put me back out this morning. Just avoided a total seizure somehow and now it's just sore and feeling a bit sorry for itself. If I can stay in good shape, find a downhill course with a tailwind and get the young lad to pace me on the bike I might break 30 yet. And if the new Nike April 30 discount yokes arrive....... Now back to Netflix and a drop of that Yellow Spot that arrived an hour ago.

Swashbuckler is still there. How’s the auld eyesight holding up? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Put me in twice shur. 36.30 seems more achievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Itziger wrote: »
    You've got a downhill kitchen?

Home improvements without supplies is basically just digging holes. Anything to keep us sane during all this.

Swashbuckler is still there. How’s the auld eyesight holding up? :pac:

Oh, someone organised the table. Fierce fancy. I was out by a bit on Swashy's age cat as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Itziger wrote:
    Oh, someone organised the table. Fierce fancy. I was out by a bit on Swashy's age cat as well.

Older?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Lazare

A very satisfying 5x 1k session just had.

3:53, 4:00, 3:53, 3:56, 3:52.

Had 3min rec built into the session. 30 secs into the first one after the first rep I hit the lap button by mistake, wanted to get the HR up on the screen, couldn't think straight about what to do so just ran lol. 300m in I realised I could have just paused it.

Big improvement on the last time I ran that session last autumn.

Confident now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

ReeReeG|F|22:30||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

If my head plays ball I might manage that time. Feeling fairly confident about my age category right now though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Most updated list, please note the people's names in bold are the ones i have a real name to go with their Boards one. I have asked more than once for a PM with a name, those not in bold have until to tomorrow night to get me a name, after that i am deleting the names off Strava i do not know:

MEN:

25-29

Damo2k9

30-34

KSU
    deconduo
    pconn062
    yiddo 1882

35-39

Dudda
    justdoit
    healy1835
    djemba djemba
    Mellow Yellow26.2

Butterbeans
    Swashbuckler
    Guill
    Omeceron
    Lambay Island
    quick feet
    IvoryTower
    diego_b
    ClashCityRocker
    duffyshuffle
    dickidy
    racersedge
    token56
    Dubh Geannain

40-44

OOnegative
    shotgunmcos
    ComicBookGuy

average_runner
    Zebra3
    Marty Bird
    66_Lad
    dangerous quack
    ofthelord
    adrian522
    Lazare
    Treviso

45-49

jamule
    MrSkinny

WubbleWubble
    AuldManKing
    Slow_Runner
    DeepBlue
    sideswipe
    coogy
    jamule

50-54

Itziger
    skyblue46
    snailsong
    dna_leri
    Speedy44
    MisterDrak
    TFBubendorfer

55-59

Murph_D
    EnPassant

WOMEN:

30-34

ReeReeG

35-39

Hedgehoggy
    career move

40-44

Laineyfrecks
    ariana’
    Sussex18
    Bluesquare

45-49

YoungAnne
    Annie get your Run

50-54

juke

Just run fookin 5k to quote a much better race organiser from these parts than myself, be it looped, out and back or point to point, run 5k and by 5k i mean 3.10 miles or more!!. I don't want to hear oh i ran a course that has a lot of trees, or my Garmin was acting up on the day. Run 3.10 miles or more or your result ain't counting. I won't bend anymore rules, ye know whats expected so go train.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭dickidy

im hopping for 19.59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

OOnegative wrote: »
    Most updated list, please note the people's names in bold are the ones i have a real name to go with their Boards one. I have asked more than once for a PM with a name, those not in bold have until to tomorrow night to get me a name, after that i am deleting the names off Strava i do not know:

You're missing me off the list. I hope I'm in the correct Strava group.

I've also upped my mileage again. 25 last week so I'm investing in this :D

You're missing me off the list. I hope I'm in the correct Strava group.

I've also upped my mileage again. 25 last week so I'm investing in this :D

My bad, you’re in the correct group man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Not on Strava, what can I do?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Not on Strava, what can I do?

Can you not sign up? On Garmin Connect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Yeah, on Garmin Connect.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yeah, on Garmin Connect.

Sent you a PM.

I've been awake all day pondering this. Should we have a % penalty for runners who normally have a beer or two and/or a drop of wine (ok, who drink) and who go dry for the night or nights previous to the TT?

I'd be all for it, cos as a poster said earlier that is basically cheating. Am I right?

Itziger wrote: »
    I've been awake all day pondering this. Should we have a % penalty for runners who normally have a beer or two and/or a drop of wine (ok, who drink) and who go dry for the night or nights previous to the TT?

I'd be all for it, cos as a poster said earlier that is basically cheating. Am I right?

I'd be with you on this one. In fact I think there should be a per drink handicap...maybe 20 seconds for each drink taken the night before...

No danger of me being labelled a cheat on this one. #lockdowndipso

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

Hi folks. Still searching for a decent route that has no GPS issues. The local park where I usually run has a couple of dodgy spots so need to look elsewhere!

Looking forward to this!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭spc78

ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    spc78|M40|17:45||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

ariana’|F40|23:30||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭yido1882

juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|19:50||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

I'm going to give this a shot. Before adding my name to the table though, I need to clarify to which AG I belong. I'm 39 at the moment, but sadly turning 40 in November. To which category do I belong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

35 - 39

zico10 wrote: »
    I'm going to give this a shot. Before adding my name to the table though, I need to clarify to which AG I belong. I'm 39 at the moment, but sadly turning 40 in November. To which category do I belong?

M35

What are people's plans session wise in the run up to this?

I think I'm gonna do one I did a week before Jingle Bells, do it Sat morn maybe,
    4x800, 2x600.

Did 8x strides this morn, will do another bunch of those next week and maybe a mini session too, on Tue. Something like 1200 at race pace.

Thoughts?

Lazare wrote: »

I think I'm gonna do one I did a week before Jingle Bells, do it Sat morn maybe,
    4x800, 2x600.

Did 8x strides this morn, will do another bunch of those next week and maybe a mini session too, on Tue. Something like 1200 at race pace.

Thoughts?

Well, I did the standard 12x400 although I split it into 3 sets. Might do a 6x800 tomorrow or I might try something more mixed up. Then One more maybe next Sunday and then a focused taper leading up to this year's top race. Only race.

Haha, this is the start of something beautiful. A monthly 5k and a bi-weekly mile until the vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

I plan on taking a down week, no sessions, easy runs with a mile TT on the Tues or Wed

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭mister paul

Wine, mostly!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

10 x 400's @ 5k pace tomorrow, 3 x 10 mins (hm pace) on Saturday and a 3k time trial next week.

No pressure!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭mister paul

juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|19:50||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|18.15||
    Guill|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    dickidy|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|17.59||
    jamule|M45|17.45||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||
    mister paul|M40|19:48||

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I'm really struggling with my running, i can get through 4 miles but I never find it that easy. The runs are slow at the moment and I'll just keep at them trying to slow down as much as possible until they feel genuinely easy but I won't be doing any sessions as such, at least not in the short term.

Maybe a fartlek or 2 at some point in the next 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

4x800, 2x600.

Thoughts?

This is what I have done so far (all at 5k pace). Have also being done some tempo work once a week and getting out 4-5 times a week in total

Wk1: 15 x 200m (3 sets of 5 x 200m with 200m recovery) - I tried to do 4 sets but was shagged by the 3rd set!
    Wk2: 12 x 400m (3 sets of 4 x 400m with 200m recovery)
    Wk3: 6 x 800m (with 200m recovery) planned 6 but very windy on the day and went out too hard at the start, called it a day after 5
    Wk4: 5 x 1km (with 200m recovery)
    Wk5: 3 x 1 mile - planned for this week - might do it on Saturday morning instead of Thursday.

That's a fair decent lump of work, fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

That's a fair decent lump of work, fair play.

It's something to focus on - was planning on working on speed to hopefully PB at Bob Heffernan this year but chances are that will be knocked on the head so this is perfect to focus on instead.

Big thanks for organizing this, it's a bit of craic and no pressure training