Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R 5k TT 25th April ‘20.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Nice of Career Move to make a prediction for me and all but a 32 sec PB is not realistic. I'll go for 15s despite having no speedwork to back up that prediction.

Sorry Mike. I was bored :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

KSU wrote: »
    Haha yes, the have time and moving time so it’s very obvious. There are also flybys which will show you exactly where you stop have been able to see lads popping into Shops etc on there long runs and the likes

Okay I'll let my friend know thanks ;)

I'd like to make a slight adjustment to my prediction, can you change 15.26 to 19.25 please , a one second pb.

Unfortunately it was jingle bells so unless I find a downhill 5k around here this is highly unlikely

If theres a wind it could be very useful...

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

IvoryTower wrote: »
    I'd like to make a slight adjustment to my prediction, can you change 15.26 to 19.25 please , a one second pb.

Unfortunately it was jingle bells so unless I find a downhill 5k around here this is highly unlikely

If theres a wind it could be very useful...

Have a few of this coming in from China to set up around my estate hopefully won’t be as big a cock up as the PPE

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RX-FWSEmh8Y

• Registered Users Posts: 10,428 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Name |Cat |Prediction|Actual|Adjusted
    ReeReeG|F|||
    Hedgehoggy|F35|20:30||
    career move|F35|21:20||
    Laineyfrecks|F40|20:30||
    ariana’|F40|||
    YoungAnne|F45|26:30||
    Annie get your Run|F45|29:00||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    deconduo|M|24:00||
    pconn062|M|20:00||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    Dudda|M35|18:00||
    justdoit|M35|19:20||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    IvoryTower|M35|19:25||
    diego_b|M35|22:00||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    Sussex18|F40|22:00||
    shotgunmcos|M40|19:47||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    coogy|M45|19:30||
    average_runner|M40|21:20||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    adrian522|M40|25:00||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    dangerous quack|M40|18:45||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|||
    WubbleWubble|M45|21:30:rolleyes:||
    Slow_Runner|M45|||
    AuldManKing|M45|||
    DeepBlue|M45|20:50||
    Itziger|M50|18:30||
    skyblue46|M50|20:00||
    snailsong|M50|20:00||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||
    YourName|YourCat|Prediction||

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    pconn062|M|20:00||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|||
    Slow_Runner|M45|||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    pconn062|M|17:48||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|||
    Slow_Runner|M45|||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

I said 20 mins as a joke but someone must have seen my Strava and thought I was serious! I said I'd go one second quicker than the aul man.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

If one was to pause the watch every 200m would it show up on strava

That would be a yes.

https://twitter.com/stravawankers/status/1246826956907335680?s=19

Ah poor john, stung badly. Cant believe everyone can see my long run piss stops

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

adrian522 wrote: »
    That would be a yes.
    Seen that yesterday myself and immediately thought of this thread haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|||
    Slow_Runner|M45|||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||
    Sideswipe|M45|19:29||

Sure why not, bit of focus and crack. If we're not in lockdown by then and I can run on a decent bit of road it would be worth another few seconds!

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|||
    Slow_Runner|M45|19:59||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||

Haven't gone under 20 minutes in a while so will be tough on a solo time trial but nothing ventured nothing gained!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Only spotted today.

M35-40. Official PB is 18:45 but I'd hope 18:30 is doable.

Do I need to join Strava or just post my time?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Only spotted today.

M35-40. Official PB is 18:45 but I'd hope 18:30 is doable.

Do I need to join Strava or just post my time?

Joining the Strava group would be handy.

Those that have thrown there hat in the ring lately if ye have joined the Strava group I need a name pls via PM or comment on Strava.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||
    Lazare|M40|19:50||

Looking forward to this now, really got to figure out a route.

Oh, and thanks a mill B, great job.

Route choices will be key here - especially if the 2km restriction is lifted!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Lads last time I’ll say it, I need real names for Boards names. I’ve at least 12-14 unknown runners on the Strava group who I have no Boards name for. Send me your name pls, I ain’t gonna start fookin stalking ye don’t worry. I don’t want to be a knob and delete names of people I don’t know.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Nothing is key when you have lads running 16.xx in a tuneup. Haha

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Nothing is key when you have lads running 16.xx in a tuneup. Haha

Finding a route that doesn't involve swereving around dozens of walkers will be key!

I might do my 5k shortly after midnight on the Saturday night!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

adrian522 wrote:
    Finding a route that doesn't involve swereving around dozens of walkers will be key!

I need to find me a good downhill route...

I'm in the pleasant position of having the rathfarnham 5km route within my 2k zone.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

adrian522 wrote: »

I might do my 5k shortly after midnight on the Saturday night!

Good idea, if ya make a mess of it you have time to recover and have another go 11 hours later!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

I need to find me a good downhill route...

You need to find a 200m loop. GPS is very generous to small loops...;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭MrSkinny

ReeReeG|F|||
    ariana’|F40|||
    juke|F50|||
    Damo2k9|M|||
    KSU|M|||
    yiddo 1882|M|||
    healy1835|M35|||
    djemba djemba|M35|||
    Mellow Yellow26.2|M35|||
    Butterbeans|M35|||
    Swashbuckler|M35|||
    Guill|M35|||
    Omeceron|M35|||
    racersedge|M35|||
    Lambay Island|M35|||
    quick feet|M35|||
    OOnegative|M40|||
    ComicBookGuy|M40|||
    Zebra3|M40|||
    Marty Bird|M40|||
    66_Lad|M40|||
    Treviso|M40|||
    jamule|M45|||
    MrSkinny|M45|20:00||
    AuldManKing|M45|17.49||
    dna_leri|M50|||
    Speedy44|M50|||
    Murph_D|M55|||
    EnPassant|M55|||
    Lazare|M40|19:50||

Predictions? My last go at a 5k was a 20:39 Cabinteely parkrun PB at the start of the year but training has been a bit up and down since then. If I can get anywhere near 20 minutes as a solo effort (on a more favourable course!) I'll be more than happy. :)

Flat route or take the piss with a downhill course , hmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 10,428 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Flat route or take the piss with a downhill course , hmmm

Looped or out and back courses only. Can’t make a downhill out of that. ;)

Murph_D wrote: »
    Looped or out and back courses only. Can’t make a downhill out of that. ;)

Aaahhh I see, should have read the rules. So even the wind is fairly useless, daammmmn

I'm gonna run a tempo on a test route later, will be looking for honest feedback on strava.

Flattish first couple of k, a climb for 3 and 4 but a fast km5. Think it might be a net downhill and a bit Jingle Belly.

It's a nice clean route in terms of obstructions though so if it's as fast or faster than Jingle Bells I'll adjust my estimate.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Lads last time I’ll say it, I need real names for Boards names. I’ve at least 12-14 unknown runners on the Strava group who I have no Boards name for. Send me your name pls, I ain’t gonna start fookin stalking ye don’t worry. I don’t want to be a knob and delete names of people I don’t know.

Did you go to the 'Anto' school of race directing??