Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor thread (MMA Talk Only - Read 1st Post Before Posting)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,119 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Difficult to run a training camp with the current circumstances

I'd imagine that he might be able to stretch the monthly expenses to a decent second hand treadmill and a few weights to keep the fitness ticking over anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

You always ask yourself "is there a limit to how much lower the standard of the debate in the McGregor thread can go?" and the answer is always, always "no".

• Registered Users Posts: 39,099 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

if someone adopts a "higher power" to their training it can only be positive.

i'm not remotely religious, but i also have zero discipline

if i chose and surrendered to a "higher power" and focused on my work for example, and every time i thought about drugs or alcohol or general debauchery and i meditated or prayed (or whatever you are supposed to do) everytime i was likely to slack off, and then concentrated on the task at hand, then i would accomplish my task more effectively , katie taylor is a good example , and i think many addiction specialists use it also.

i'm sure most people can train and not be bothered by drugs or alcohol....

Focusing on training works because your focusing on training, not because of a higher power.
    Would work just as well if you prayed to Macho Man Randy Savage.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Mellor wrote: »
    Focusing on training works because your focusing on training, not because of a higher power.
    Would work just as well if you prayed to Macho Man Randy Savage.

Now that is a religion I can get behind.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Oh yeah?

Do tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,099 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The Church of Oooh Yeah!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,592 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

While I appreciate some of the recent comments have been positive, we still have a "MMA Talk Only" rule in this thread and I'm moving some posts to the off-topic thread

• Registered Users Posts: 29,524 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I remember watching this and the next day telling everyone i knew about this Irish guy who would beat Aldo and become champ. I only half believed it, put it down to over excitement, but i was either laughed at by people who watched mma or brushed off 'go way with the human cock fighting'. Now look at him, love him or hate him, he changed the game.

What a debut.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I remember watching this and the next day telling everyone i knew about this Irish guy who would beat Aldo and become champ. I only half believed it, put it down to over excitement, but i was either laughed at by people who watched mma or brushed off 'go way with the human cock fighting'. Now look at him, love him or hate him, he changed the game.

What a debut.

Seems like a lifetime ago, mad how much he's changed his style since then too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

McGregor V Diaz II on BT Sports at 9pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

Khabib most likely out of UFC 249. If Conor doesn't step in like he said he would, he will never hear the end of it, especially as it was supposedly what he predicted would happen and planned for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Still Ill

spix wrote: »
    Khabib most likely out of UFC 249. If Conor doesn't step in like he said he would, he will never hear the end of it, especially as it was supposedly what he predicted would happen and planned for it.

I think the global pandemic changes things somewhat. Definitely wouldn't blame him for not wanting to fight in the current climate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PyreOfHellfire

Still Ill wrote: »
    I think the global pandemic changes things somewhat. Definitely wouldn't blame him for not wanting to fight in the current climate.

I would blame him personally. If he wants a rematch with Khabib then knocking out Tony on 2 weeks notice would shut up alot of haters and Khabib wouldn't be able to say no to it. He would be mad not to take this opportunity and judging by his social media he has been training for this fight too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

I'd love to see him take it but I don't think he will or even if he did I doubt it would go ahead.

Whatever training he has been doing it would be in no way equivalent to a full fight camp and nowhere near enough to take a fight against Tony Ferguson on 2 weeks notice. Ferguson has cardio for days and a solid ground game, McGregor's two weakest aspects.

It's probably still highly unlikely the card will go ahead anyway. There is no confirmed venue, limited possibilities of getting a flight out of the country, flights into the USA from Europe are banned. Too many hurdles for this to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Hasn't the US banned flights from Europe?

Still Ill wrote: »

Maybe.. if he was fighting for free. But he'd make alot of money along with proving he was serious when he said he would step it. Theres several other people fighting on the same card so if the virus is given as a reason its just an excuse to back out of what he said he would do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭monty_python

I would blame him personally. If he wants a rematch with Khabib then knocking out Tony on 2 weeks notice would shut up alot of haters and Khabib wouldn't be able to say no to it. He would be mad not to take this opportunity and judging by his social media he has been training for this fight too.

He has released videos about the virus telling people to stay home. It would be very hypocritical if him to fly to USA for work right now

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Hasn't the US banned flights from Europe?

Obviously there could be exemptions for private flights with just a few people onboard. Which is why I don't believe khabibs excuse. Why would he travel in advance apparently trying to make sure he was at the fight location incase there was lockdowns, whilst his opponent and the rest of the event was left behind. Should've waited for confirmation of location and traveled with the UFC but done his own thing, just like going to the hospital and getting pulled from the tony fight before, dana said if he had contacted the ufc first that wouldn't have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

While covid is around all bets are off. If you would hold it against him it doesn't say a lot about you tbh

Imo you should hold it against him as all the other fighters have to deal with the same thing yet they're getting paid peanuts and still manage to show up. If Conor doesn't take the fight, the virus is just a convenient excuse to back out of what he said he would do.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Imo you should hold it against him as all the other fighters have to deal with the same thing yet they're getting paid peanuts and still manage to show up. If Conor doesn't take the fight, the virus is just a convenient excuse to back out of what he said he would do.

Convenient excuse? Do you know what's going on in the world right now? Jaysis christ lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PyreOfHellfire

He has released videos about the virus telling people to stay home. It would be very hypocritical if him to fly to USA for work right now

Conor isn't exactly known for being anything other than a hypocrite though ;)

Oh do climb down of your pedestal there Mr high and mighty. I hold a lot against Conor and this is just another thing I would gladly hold against him. This is Dana White and Conor Mcgregor we are talking about here, money talks and the PPV number from a Conor Tony fight would be insane on it's own merit and doubly so with no other sport to compete with. The only thing to bet on is that this card WILL go ahead. WME/IMG have alot of debt to pay off and now is the perfect time to rake in the money with no other competitor. I'm sure Conor can self isolate in his 10 bedroom mansion for a few weeks after the even is over....

Convenient excuse? Do you know what's going on in the world right now? Jaysis christ lads

Yes its terrible, which is why he shouldn't use it as an excuse to back out of doing what he said he would. The fact remains if the card is going ahead and several other fighters are fighting then its totally possible that conor could, if he wanted to. Why wouldn't he want to make millions, show he was serious about stepping in no matter what the hurdle, and provide a night of entertainment to everyone stuck at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Yes its terrible, which is why he shouldn't use it as an excuse to back out of doing what he said he would. The fact remains if the card is going ahead and several other fighters are fighting then its totally possible that conor could, if he wanted to. Why wouldn't he want to make millions, show he was serious about stepping in no matter what the hurdle, and provide a night of entertainment to everyone stuck at home.
    Ah here, I think a global pandemic is a fairly legit excuse not to leave the house..
    I would question the mentality of anyone giving him **** for not traveling to another country during all this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Of course the ones getting paid peanuts will want to show up, they need the money much more than the guys at the top will

I think them winning is much more important for earning more money in the future, so they wouldn't want to compete in these kind of circumstances but they still are. Conor could show up, win, lose, whatever, it doesn't matter, he'd still get millions this and next fight. Doesn't matter how rich you are, everyone wants more money. So I really don't see why he would turn down this fight other than he wasn't being serious when he said he'd take it if someone dropped out.

Obviously there could be exemptions for private flights with just a few people onboard. Which is why I don't believe khabibs excuse. Why would he travel in advance apparently trying to make sure he was at the fight location incase there was lockdowns, whilst his opponent and the rest of the event was left behind. Should've waited for confirmation of location and traveled with the UFC but done his own thing, just like going to the hospital and getting pulled from the tony fight before, dana said if he had contacted the ufc first that wouldn't have happened.

There would be no exemptions with US immigration. You'll get in if you have dual citizenship and have a US passport or one from an area not currently banned. Only other option might be a diplomatic passport.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

It won't ....you're all on as many drug as you purport McGregror is if you think otherwise

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

There isn't a chance that 249 is going ahead, regardless of who says they are fighting on the card.

Do they not make most of their money from the TV?

If they could get medical approval to do it (maybe by having everyone tested there be free of corona) then I'd imagine the money-men would be mad for it.

All the bored eejits at home and nothing else at all on the telly. No basketball, American football, soccer, whatever. Captive audience.