Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

US2 wrote: »
    Seriously think he is now a religious **** cos khabib gave him such a hiding an hes so religious. God wont save you kid, hes just better than you!! Fight ****ing Gathje
    No...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PyreOfHellfire

Seriously think he is now a religious **** cos khabib gave him such a hiding an hes so religious. God wont save you kid, hes just better than you!! Fight ****ing Gathje

I'm sure he's reading your post with a pen and notebook at the ready :rolleyes:
    hots wrote: »
    It's very marketable stateside too...

Right on the money. He only became religious after punching the old man in the pub. Nothing but a PR job to save his sponsors and brand. It certainly doesn't hurt that his target audience are the Americans, who eat it up very easily. Tony Robbins is a PR guru who always suggests using God to better yourself (your brand) when in times of trouble. Mcgregor taking Robbins advice with aplomb.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,133 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

easily if he takes it seriously
    Can't tell whose joking and whose off their head any more.

All those Brazilian fighter thank Jesus after their fights. Actually just mean the bomba.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Mellor wrote: »
    Can't tell whose joking and whose off their head any more.

All those Brazilian fighter thank Jesus after their fights. Actually just mean the bomba.

if someone adopts a "higher power" to their training it can only be positive.

i'm not remotely religious, but i also have zero discipline

if i chose and surrendered to a "higher power" and focused on my work for example, and every time i thought about drugs or alcohol or general debauchery and i meditated or prayed (or whatever you are supposed to do) everytime i was likely to slack off, and then concentrated on the task at hand, then i would accomplish my task more effectively , katie taylor is a good example , and i think many addiction specialists use it also.

i'm sure most people can train and not be bothered by drugs or alcohol....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

You always ask yourself "is there a limit to how much lower the standard of the debate in the McGregor thread can go?" and the answer is always, always "no".

You think being inquisitive about someone's seemingly new found religious beliefs is lower than talk on supposed drug use, extra martial behaviours, speculation on various degrees of assault charges???

Oooooookay, suuuure!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

if someone adopts a "higher power" to their training it can only be positive.

i'm not remotely religious, but i also have zero discipline

if i chose and surrendered to a "higher power" and focused on my work for example, and every time i thought about drugs or alcohol or general debauchery and i meditated or prayed (or whatever you are supposed to do) everytime i was likely to slack off, and then concentrated on the task at hand, then i would accomplish my task more effectively , katie taylor is a good example , and i think many addiction specialists use it also.

i'm sure most people can train and not be bothered by drugs or alcohol....

Yeah I can get that angle, but with it often comes the ready made excuse for all loses, 'it was God's will'. People believe that no matter what they do God is in control of whether they win or lose.

Rehashing the 'Jesus loves knockouts' video clips with him and JK will be funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Whelo79 wrote: »
    You think being inquisitive about someone's seemingly new found religious beliefs is lower than talk on supposed drug use, extra martial behaviours, speculation on various degrees of assault charges???

Oooooookay, suuuure!

I wouldn't read too much into it or take it too personally, it was just a joke.

(But really, at the same time, nobody gives a **** whatsoever about religious ramblings on his Instagram)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

I wouldn't read too much into it or take it too personally, it was just a joke.

(But really, at the same time, nobody gives a **** whatsoever about religious ramblings on his Instagram)

You dont. If people are posting about it maybe they are interested? The only time you post on this thread is to moan about the topic of discussion, why not just unfollow it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭fitzparker

YOu asked for a church, you got one

Pastor McGregor speaks

https://www.facebook.com/494191297315841/posts/3122766854458259/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭xtal191

xtal191 wrote: »

Some decent beard growth now ManUre.

I do believe hes after copping on abit the past few months but his PR team or gone into overdrive

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

He gassed half way through that address

• Registered Users Posts: 20,631 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The whole speech yesterday was purely for his American audience
    Anyone in Ireland sees that and laughs thinking WTF but American's think every man women and child in this country idolise him
    Its great marketing ,wait till his next UFC fight roll around in the build they have some video about the man who lifted his country in time of need ,

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I get the impression its more aimed at the gangs of teenagers who were still out in the parks etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Looks like he's back on the Pat!

His reply to Pashcal Donoghue was definitely fuled by white stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Fueled by ego and self-importance more than the white stuff I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

His reply to Pashcal Donoghue was definitely fuled by white stuff.

what was his reply?

donating 1 mill to fund PPE for the virus

fair play to the man

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

The whole speech yesterday was purely for his American audience
    Anyone in Ireland sees that and laughs thinking WTF but American's think every man women and child in this country idolise him
    Its great marketing ,wait till his next UFC fight roll around in the build they have some video about the man who lifted his country in time of need ,

Exactly. That's why he has his other accent on.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

akelly02 wrote: »
    what was his reply?

donating 1 mill to fund PPE for the virus

fair play to the man

No no, "what an ego maniac", "loves the white stuff", "all show" etc.

Donating 1 million is a great gesture.

I wonder what the people giving out about him are doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

The Nal wrote: »
    No no, "what an ego maniac", "loves the white stuff", "all show" etc.

i have pretty much a love hate thing with him since 2014 , but i doubt anybody can deny what a massive gesture that is , and how much it will help the industry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Fair play to Conor. The begrudgers sound even more pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

Fair play to him

mma talk only.....unless it suits?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

mma talk only.....unless it suits?

Read the first post...

thats what i get for jumpin in without even lookin

• Registered Users Posts: 39,133 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

akelly02 wrote: »
    i have pretty much a love hate thing with him since 2014 , but i doubt anybody can deny what a massive gesture that is , and how much it will help the industry

Some will still find a way deride the gesture.
    PR stunt, tax fiddle, etc

Sure a "facebook friend" was going mad because it was just Leinster he was donating too

you can't win with some people, he could have donated 100 million and be told sure thats only €100 to him

Anyone see Darren Till?

Starts the week off great with the video to Isreal (comical)

Ended with promoting his friendship to Daniel Kinahan