Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal Asylum Centre Torched

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Berserker wrote: »
    There are white people born here that would not be into Irish authors, music and the Irish way of life, whatever the later means. You appear to have an issue with skin colour. Most people who visit or live here abide by the law of the land. Not sure what that has to do with the national identity.

No, a possible solution is to send them to these locations, open up new business and facilities and revive these ghost towns.

Yeah because every country needs it's Molenbeek

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

By the way people are aware that our "way of life" is always changing and evolving. It doesn't stand still. As I said I grew up in the 70's and 80's and my way of life has changed massively since then. The Church was the bastion of society and it is now rapidly being pushed to the margins, jobs were for life now people will go through multiple jobs in their career paths. Nothing stands still, nothing stays static only a fool would expect life to stand still for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

gandalf wrote: »
    By the way people are aware that our "way of life" is always changing and evolving. It doesn't stand still. As I said I grew up in the 70's and 80's and my way of life has changed massively since then. The Church was the bastion of society and it is now rapidly being pushed to the margins, jobs were for life now people will go through multiple jobs in their career paths. Nothing stands still, nothing stays static only a fool would expect life to stand still for them.

Mass immigration never changes any society for the better trust me and anyway things will regress far more than at anytime during the last 100 years if a certain demograph manages to get their own way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

These people are not wanted here by the majority of ordinary decent Irish people. Unfortunately this is what happens when the political elite just take orders from Europe and don't listen to local concerns. Iv'e no problem with high skilled workers setting up shop here but do we really want to become what parts of the UK, Germany etc... have bringing in societies worst.

Who made you the speaker for ordinary decent people?

tretorn wrote: »
    I identify as a white person and prefer to be around white people.

I am no different to black people or Asian people,they prefer to live among their own people too, hence big African populations in areas where there is lots of social housing or where housing is relatively cheap.

An acquaitance of mine is marrying a black woman and his ten year old niece told me she is disappointed he is marrying a white ugly woman,in the ten year old black childs eyes all white people are ugly, racism works both ways.

It does but that doesn't change the fact that you are a massive racist.

jmayo wrote: »
    There is a hell of a lot to that statement.

So the solution is to dump 50-100 people from God knows where into a small village in the middle of nowhere with shag all future prospects of work or shag all current facilities.

How many people commenting here have actually been in Rooskey, bar driving past it on the bypass on the way to Sligo?

At this stage it almost looks like there is a concerted effort by state authorities to turn Roscommon into a refugee camp.
    Maybe it is the luvvie lefties revenge for the same sex marriage referendum vote. :rolleyes:

These locations have been chosen firstly because they have found some very willing hoteliers or more correctly ex hoteliers who want to make easy cash from their failed businesses and secondly because they are nowhere near a load of people of influence who will complain.

The sites are announced with no consultation with locals.

Now one can lambast the locals as being racists and the like, but then again maybe the locals have seen what has happened in some places in Germany, etc and maybe some of them don't want that for their locality.

Also maybe the locals have enough cop on to realise the local crumbling infrastructure and services can't even cope with their needs never mind the huge needs of people who have no existing natural local support infrastructure and who need supports to help them settle into a very foreign environment.

The lesson the state and the "refugee industry" (it is now very much an industry) should take out of this is you can't force stuff down people's throats without some backlashes.

Even if one looks at it from the "asylum seekers/refugees" viewpoint, what the fook are they expected to do in a small village in Roscommon ?
    Spend their days fishing on Shannon ?

I have come across the same thing in parts of Italy, where the state and "refugee industry" have dumped loads of people (primarily young males) in small towns and villages.
    They were either just hanging around, usually on mobiles which I couldn't understand how afforded them, or the more enterprising ones were hassling tourists selling tat.

Let me tell you there aren't that many tourists in Roscommon. :rolleyes:

So have you figured out what your own immigration policy would be? We discussed my own proposal in another thread then you disappeared when I asked for yours.

People seem to have this impression that, despite being under the thumb of the church for hundreds of years, Irish people spontaneously changed their view of it. It's much more likely that our exposure to the outside world following our joining of the Eu is what influenced our societal change. If it wasn't for outside influence we'd likely still have a lot of backward laws courtesy of the church.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I disagree completely. Threads on this site are overwhelmingly anti-immigrantion

That kinda proves my point - people have to come to anonymous websites to share these opinions. You won't find them on a mainstream current affairs program or in the letters section of a broadsheet newspaper, despite there clearly being a sizeable appetite for them.

I'd argue that the initial reaction to the candidacy, the surprise electoral success, and the reaction to that success of Peter Casey in the presidential election is part of the same thing. The entire mainstream united as one to condemn "unacceptable" political beliefs - a concept which should be an oxymoron in a true democracy.
    and there are anti-immigration parties all over Europe so there's no evidence of them being suppressed. Some of them are even in government.

Not in Ireland though. And again, the "mainstream" is bending over backwards to attack the rise of the right wing in Europe as evidence of humanity falling apart.
    You can't stop people expressing opinions.

The "no platforming" radicals would like a word with you. As indeed would the Boards.ie of several years ago, when we briefly reached peak SJW before the resentment towards that got out of hand and the admins took a different path. Remember when every second thread on AH was locked for unspecified reasons, and the help desk was flooded with threads condemning the suppression of right wing views?
    This "They call me racist" line is simply a fluff to hide the fact that they can't defend their opinions beyond repeating the same lines over and over again.

Would you accept or reject the assertion that nativism and racism are two distinct, separate ideologies - sometimes co-existing, but separate in and of themselves?

Mutant z wrote: »
    Mass immigration never changes any society for the better trust me and anyway things will regress far more than at anytime during the last 100 years if a certain demograph manages to get their own way.

But we are not experiencing MASS immigration. FFS talk about hysteria. You are comparing us with countries that have colonial pasts hence they have taken in loads of their former "subjects".

As for a "certain demographic" why not be honest and say who you mean.

Ireland is becoming a secular country and I doubt very much we'll be replacing one oppressive religion with another again.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Odhinn

tretorn wrote: »
    I am a native white Irish person descended from the vikings.

I have an allegiance to Ireland and no allegiance to Afghan, Somalia, Georgia, Nigeria or any North African country migrants are coming from.

Irish identity is to Irish way of life, Irish music, Irish authors, Irish Law, Irish constitution, other white Irish people with pale skin who look like me.

Ask any white European what their identity is and most will say it is their European values and way of life.

I dont know about remarkable upsurge, the official figures about the number of non nationals are a fallacy, are they taken from census figures.

You only have to go to West Dublin at school finishing time to see how many Africans are here, some Educate together primary schools in Tyrellstown are all black, the Whites have obviously taken flight to schools elsewhere. This is a total disaster and this part of Dublin will be like parts of Brussels and Paris in a few years.

The wealthy and influential in Dublin 4 dont care about that, they never have to visit West Dublin. Their main concern is making sure they keep their areas full of white wealthy people and their other concern is working out ways to keep their wealth in the family, ie how to buy houses in Dublin 4 for the children without the children being caught for inheritance tax.

....but you're not a racist, I presume.

But we are not experiencing MASS immigration. FFS talk about hysteria. You are comparing us with countries that have colonial pasts hence they have taken in loads of their former "subjects".

As for a "certain demographic" why not be honest and say who you mean.

Ireland is becoming a secular country and I doubt very much we'll be replacing one oppressive religion with another again.

The very last thing this country should be doing is emulate the shambolic multicultural mess that has happened in the UK, France or Sweden but unfortunately it seems determined to head down that road multiculturalism simply doesn't work never has done and never will do.

kraken81 wrote: »
    Replace white with black I assume you would respond the same yes ?

Yep.

And look where we are now, Prey tell how many of our current problems with housing, Schools, Healthcare can be traced back 10-15 years. It's almost like a huge absorption of people puts huge pressure on services. Riddle me this, Will adding further over the next 20 years again ease or exacerbate the current problems ?

Healthcare has been an issue all of my life. The problem with healthcare is far more complex than your simple "immigrants made it bad" idea.

You can blame under investment in key areas, a botched merger of health boards, multiple politicians over the years not taking control of the situation, unions blocking real reform and reallocation of resources from admin to frontline, a population that want specialist treatment options at the doorstep no matter where they live.

Housing can be traced to the state abdicating its responsibility totally to the private sector and for making the only stable home model an ownership one.

Schools have always been underfunded in this country. The politicians keep thinking that by repeating the fact from the seventies that we have a wonderful education system we still do despite under investment.

But you blame the immigrants :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

You get threads on pretty much any forum being anti-immigration because nobody can successfully argue the merits of it.

It's a different case on tv and radio because they regularly only open the discussions as "these poor people, the government needs to do more", with a government representative along to say "we did this and we plan to do this".

The question of "this has been a disaster in every country, what are we doing that will make it different?", never comes up.

The very last thing this country should be doing is emulate the shambolic multicultural mess that has happened in the UK, France or Sweden but unfortunately it seems determined to head down that road multiculturalism simply doesn't work never has done and never will do.

The French don't do "multiculturalism". The Brits problems - particularily at the moment - stem from their own xenophobia more than anything else. Sweden is generally rated in the Top 5 countries to live in on the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MFPM

You get threads on pretty much any forum being anti-immigration because nobody can successfully argue the merits of it.

It's a different case on tv and radio because they regularly only open the discussions as "these poor people, the government needs to do more", with a government representative along to say "we did this and we plan to do this".

The question of "this has been a disaster in every country, what are we doing that will make it different?", never comes up.

Migration has been a disaster in every country....intersting hypothesis, care to try and provide some evidence for it - how do you define 'disaster' and for whom has it been a 'disaster'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Sonic Youth

Odhinn wrote: »
    The French don't do "multiculturalism". The Brits problems - particularily at the moment - stem from their own xenophobia more than anything else. Sweden is generally rated in the Top 5 countries to live in on the planet.

Yeah it's the Brits' fault all those white girls got culturally enriched by the newcomers.

Also Sweden is probably quite nice, if you get to live in the majority Swedish areas. If you have to live in the vibrant migrant getthoes...Well probably not so much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Sonic Youth

Ask the American Indians, The aborigines.

It worked well in Africa though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,081 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Rural Ireland is dissapearing. You have the majority of young people getting out as soon as they can, half the village/town closed down or at least decent shops replaced by takeaways/bars/bookies. Let's not delude ourselves, there needs to be an injection of life and new blood in some places to shake things up.

I would be all for intergrating and reinvigorating these areas with much needed new blood. If people are worried about their way of life consider that they are still the outnumbered. And like most humans will want to understand and get on with having life in a new country.

After all we are a nation of emigration, it's in our history.

The fact we were always emigrating should be a big lessen as to why we should not be importing loads of unskilled immigrants into areas predisposed to emigration.
    Hello basic logic.

There was huge emigration from West of Ireland because it offered no future. There were no jobs, no industry.
    And now some tulips think by dumping a load of people with possibly shag all skills, with possibly questionable education, no local language skills, will improve the situation.

FFS.
    No, a possible solution is to send them to these locations, open up new business and facilities and revive these ghost towns.

Jaysus another dreamer.
    What businesses and industries are they going to start up?
    A coffee shop maybe:rolleyes:

The only hope for these little towns and villages is that ultimately in the future they become commuter locations for much bigger places with actual industry and commercial hubs.
    The nearest big town to Rooskey is Sligo at nearly 45 miles.
    Either way that aint happening for decades, will definitely not be helped by any of the refugees destined for there and they will get no benefit themselves in the short term from being dumped there.

And what happens when you start totally changing the demographic makeup of a small town or village?
    Or maybe you do want to start creating enclaves and ghettos in some of these ghost towns.
    After all they probably are nowhere near where you live. :rolleyes:
    So have you figured out what your own immigration policy would be? We discussed my own proposal in another thread then you disappeared when I asked for yours.

You know where I stand, but of course you got pedantic and what me to furnish you with a white paper on immigration and vetting procedures.
    I said skilled immigrants and visas, otherwise good luck.

Your counter was invite them in with a suck it and see approach with deportation order after 90s days if they hadn't found work.
    Of course actual deportation could be anything between now and the end of time. :rolleyes:
    Oh but your vetting would weed out all the bad eggs and I highlighted how many deaths and rapes have already occurred in Europe precisely because we cannot vet these people adequately.

Besides when I saw you and I were the only two active posters in Politics Cafe (yes that is why I wrote the statement about moving a thread to a failed forum), I couldn't be ar** wasting my time in a back and forth debate with just yourself.

Odhinn wrote: »

Those countries have bent over backwards to accommodate immigrants in particular Muslims but it still hasn't stopped innocent people being killed and maimed on the streets by maniacs holding a grudge against those very societies who welcomed them, uncontrollable Immigration just creates needless havoc and instability that's a fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

There was huge emigration from West of Ireland because it offered no future. There were no jobs, no industry.
    And now some tulips think by dumping a load of people with possibly shag all skills, with possibly questionable education, no local language skills, will improve the situation.

Probably the most logical thing posted in the whole thread.

There is no answer to the above, and it exposes the idiocy of the whole scheme.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,158 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

That kinda proves my point - people have to come to anonymous websites to share these opinions. You won't find them on a mainstream current affairs program or in the letters section of a broadsheet newspaper, despite there clearly being a sizeable appetite for them.

I don't see how it does. I've heard plenty of people express candid concerns about immigration IRL as well as in the media though UK media as my access to RTE is obviously limited.
    I'd argue that the initial reaction to the candidacy, the surprise electoral success, and the reaction to that success of Peter Casey in the presidential election is part of the same thing. The entire mainstream united as one to condemn "unacceptable" political beliefs - a concept which should be an oxymoron in a true democracy.

I didn't follow the Irish election so I can't comment there.
    Not in Ireland though. And again, the "mainstream" is bending over backwards to attack the rise of the right wing in Europe as evidence of humanity falling apart.

Not in Ireland but the West.
    The "no platforming" radicals would like a word with you. As indeed would the Boards.ie of several years ago, when we briefly reached peak SJW before the resentment towards that got out of hand and the admins took a different path. Remember when every second thread on AH was locked for unspecified reasons, and the help desk was flooded with threads condemning the suppression of right wing views?

A few University students are not representative of a whole. No to your second question.
    Would you accept or reject the assertion that nativism and racism are two distinct, separate ideologies - sometimes co-existing, but separate in and of themselves?

I would accept that they can be separate but there is overlap, ie that one can be a nationalist without being a racist.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

And look where we are now, Prey tell how many of our current problems with housing, Schools, Healthcare can be traced back 10-15 years. It's almost like a huge absorption of people puts huge pressure on services. Riddle me this, Will adding further over the next 20 years again ease or exacerbate the current problems ?

You don't think our housing issue had anything to do with the sector going bust and no social housing being built? How many refugees do you think Ireland has taken in?

You completely ignored his point. We don't have mass migration.

On Boards the anti immigration posters tend to be made up of a few regulars and loads of rereg accounts.

You know where I stand, but of course you got pedantic and what me to furnish you with a white paper on immigration and vetting procedures.
    I said skilled immigrants and visas, otherwise good luck.

Your counter was invite them in with a suck it and see approach with deportation order after 90s days if they hadn't found work.
    Of course actual deportation could be anything between now and the end of time. :rolleyes:
    Oh but your vetting would weed out all the bad eggs and I highlighted how many deaths and rapes have already occurred in Europe precisely because we cannot vet these people adequately.

Besides when I saw you and I were the only two active posters in Politics Cafe (yes that is why I wrote the statement about moving a thread to a failed forum), I couldn't be ar** wasting my time in a back and forth debate with just yourself.

I went to the bother of answering all your questions and laying out what I thought was a reasonable policy and your response is "skilled immigrants and visas". It seems you haven't a notion what a good system would look like. All you know is you don't want a certain kind of person. Don't worry though, I doubt you are the only anti-immigrant poster who has no real idea what kind of system they want.

Those countries have bent over backwards to accommodate immigrants in particular Muslims but it still hasn't stopped innocent people being killed and maimed on the streets by maniacs holding a grudge against those very societies who welcomed them, uncontrollable Immigration just creates needless havoc and instability that's a fact.

Name 5 areas/issues where France has "bent over to accommodate" muslims.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A Toyota Dealership...

Come on down Abba do's Toyota wheels and deals. Need new wheels, we got what you need, blowing up a embassy, check out our used selection. Going in front of the news camera, by Allah we have a deal for check out our new hot 4x4s. Having a beheading party, we have long beds. If you have problems with credit or money issue, don't worry we got you covered,must come and talk to one of our ficianciers, we will get you in one with zero down and zero payments. And if you want to become a myrter we give you're family and friend a blow up one get two free, so come down Abba do's we'll do you right!

200.gif

On Boards the anti immigration posters tend to be made up of a few regulars and loads of rereg accounts.

Any evidence whatsoever of this, or, as I suspect, did you just make it up to cast aspersions on those you disagree with?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,081 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Gravelly wrote: »
    Probably the most logical thing posted in the whole thread.

There is no answer to the above, and it exposes the idiocy of the whole scheme.

Prompted by Gravelly's post above I re read this and had to come back to it.

Berserker, I find your post frankly quite infantile.

You can't just dump a load of people somewhere and then go off and try and magically find new employment for them, especially when it is in places that offers no discernible attractions for new enterprises and never had a major history of employment.
    It is just lunacy and frankly a childish fantasy.

The West of Ireland has suffered huge emigration and even migration to the rest of Ireland.
    Why ?

And how the feck is that going to change because we have dumped a load of people from a completely diverse background and with probably no skills into those areas.

Any evidence whatsoever of this, or, as I suspect, did you just make it up to cast aspersions on those you disagree with?

Plenty, just read any thread to do with immigration. Or look back a page for the rereg accounts.

So you did make it up then? Ok.

Whatever helps you sleep at night.

You think the unfounded virtue-signalling lies of a strange little poster on boards keeps me awake at night? :D:D:D:D

You certainly seem affected by something.

Lies perhaps?

Good job deflecting from your lies in the original post.