Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

We already have armed gardai and rapid response teams etc, if we armed all gardai the criminals will just arrive with better weapons and shootouts will happen and gardai will be killed.

if we don't arm them more gardai are likely to be killed..crime is only going one way in this country..we're not quite a succesor to London yet but we might soon be a Bradford,for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

We already have armed gardai and rapid response teams etc, if we armed all gardai the criminals will just arrive with better weapons and shootouts will happen and gardai will be killed.

That only happens in really really corrupt nations like Mexico and maybe Brazil, if we continue on with that logic why have police at all? they only upset the criminals with their presence.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Whether you trust them or not you should try living in a country with a really bent police force. You would be on your knees being thankful for the country that you live in.

I lived in Kingston, a more corrupt country (Jamaica) nevermind force you'll be pushed to find. I was never on my knees being thankful over there or when I came home. I don't have to pay bribes here when driving to work, that's pretty much the only difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

El_Bee wrote: »

That only happens in really really corrupt nations like Mexico and maybe Brazil, if we continue on with that logic why have police at all? they only upset the criminals with their presence.
    You think Mexico and Brasil are really corrupt? Try living in reality corrupt x 10 countries like half the countries in Africa, middle east and Asia!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,710 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You don't have a notion at all.

It's called escalation.

We don't need a fully armed police service here. We have units. We can have more of them but no we shouldn't arm all guards. It means all criminals will then want guns.

Understand that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

if we don't arm them more gardai are likely to be killed..crime is only going one way in this country..we're not quite a succesor to London yet but we might soon be a Bradford,for example.

how many Gardai have died from gunshot wounds in the last 10 years??? You forget 14 years ago we had the Drimnagh/Crumlin feud, how many Guards died then?

We have armed Guards, they do their job well, they are trained, I'd rather not live in a country where every thicko that comes out of templemore is handed a weapon.

Dublin is nothing like Bradford and nothing like London.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭safeasparagus

Any chance people who want to discuss the pros / cons of having an armed / unarmed police force can set up a new thread ??

I just want the shooting information :)

i take the mcdowell doctrine approach meself.

these lads taking each other out doesnt bother me one bit.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

They found the Darndale shooter's bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Is that WhatsApp video doing the rounds of the two lads, legit and recent?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Chesty08 wrote: »

a short synopsis of said video might be nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭kingstevii

xzanti wrote: »
    They found the Darndale shooter's bike.

Whats the chances we'll have a headline "Gardai find the shooter's e-scooter" soon? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Chesty08 wrote: »

Its not. Some amount of shìte going around on that app.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Boom_Bap wrote: »

it shows 2 lads throwing bricks through a car window in an estate, a young woman is trying to stop them and they throw her on the ground.

As above, no idea if it's actually connected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

major bill wrote: »
    how many Gardai have died from gunshot wounds in the last 10 years??? You forget 14 years ago we had the Drimnagh/Crumlin feud, how many Guards died then?

We have armed Guards, they do their job well, they are trained, I'd rather not live in a country where every thicko that comes out of templemore is handed a weapon.

Dublin is nothing like Bradford and nothing like London.

None died but two were shot. One was shot while preserving a shooting scene outside the home of a victim. The family came out and told him to stop bleeding on their driveway. There were also a number injured with other weapons. Dealing with explosives was also common enough. There were actually three separate feuds going on at the time.

listermint wrote: »
    You don't have a notion at all.

It's called escalation.

We don't need a fully armed police service here. We have units. We can have more of them but no we shouldn't arm all guards. It means all criminals will then want guns.

Understand that.

Scaremongering and alarmist rubbish.

Boom_Bap wrote: »

it shows two lads smashing windows on a car and throwing a woman around. The description with it identifies them as Seán Little and Jordan Davis. It claims they were told to stop dealing in an area so went around to basically show they weren't afraid. Also claims a price was put on them afterwards. Couldn't tell you if it's actually them or not.

Video purporting to be of a fight in Darndale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

MrFresh wrote: »
    Video purporting to be of a fight in Darndale.

a fight? more like a game of run forward and away and repeat

I wonder if they'll be eulogised like Parker was as some saint from a good family who fell in with the wrong crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That's the funniest video I have seen in long time

I wonder if they'll be eulogised like Parker was as some saint from a good family who fell in with the wrong crowd.

I wonder if wardy and the boys will show up at the funeral in a stretch hummer like they did for parkers funeral.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Whatever happened to Mr Big? And his associates the Taliban brothers. Mr Big was always in the news now nothing and this is all on his doorstep. Maybe he gave it all up and has a nice 9-5 office job.....:rolleyes:

Hes had a great run to be fair, avoided being murdered locked up and got rid of the RIRA in Dublin.

Hes a smart guy.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/trial-of-man-accused-of-600k-tiger-kidnapping-collapses-amid-fears-jury-getting-outside-information-35616961.html

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Exactly like the chap that shot dead Mark Hennessey when he could have been easily arrested and put up for murder. We could have had more answers than questions.

More guns isn't the answer.

that cop should get a medal

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Collie D wrote: »
    Is there a full moon? Three shootings in 24 hours is pretty crazy. Little ****heads running around acting the hard man with guns with no respect for life.

Expect some tough talking tomorrow from Harris and Flanagan. Actions would be better.

What actions though? Their hands are tied by the thin veneer of democracy we supposedly live under.

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

.Charlo wrote: »
    Hes had a great run to be fair, avoided being murdered locked up and got rid of the RIRA in Dublin.

Hes a smart guy.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/trial-of-man-accused-of-600k-tiger-kidnapping-collapses-amid-fears-jury-getting-outside-information-35616961.html
    Yes it all worked out very well for him and the Gardai, the whole RIRA in Dublin taken out and nobody charged or convicted of any of the murders, they make a very good partnership....;)

And never openly named in the media like many others. His cronies the Taliban bros getting away with other multiple murders and linked to at least 7. They must be back in Libya fighting in Gaddafis honour.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Telly

Yes it all worked out very well for him and the Gardai, the whole RIRA in Dublin taken out and nobody charged or convicted of any of the murders, they make a very good partnership....;)

And never openly named in the media like many others. His cronies the Taliban bros getting away with other multiple murders and linked to at least 7. They must be back in Libya fighting in Gaddafis honour.....:rolleyes:
    He was openly named in the papers

Telly wrote: »
    He was openly named in the papers

Not as Mr Big.

I've never heard of these Taliban Bros who were they? Also why didnt they just get a new Jury?