Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Thread

• 27-02-2009 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭

Ive only just noticed there is no off topic thread in here. So here it is. You can post anything you want (within reason of course), post pics, slag each other off etc etc. You get the idea anyway.

Right so lets start coming together and see who is the real comedians of the forum.

/goes off in search of Deadwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

TheNog wrote: »

Brown nose much??:P:D

I'm just waiting until someone comes in here and asks does anybody know if there will be a recruitment campaign in '09!!

(Just PM Nog and ask!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

eroo wrote: »

Shoulda outlined one rule for this thread, never, never slag of THE NOG

I'm just waiting until someone comes in here and asks does anybody know if there will be a recruitment campaign in '09!!

(Just PM Nog and ask!)

No PMs to me please!!!! Its like everyone thinks Im Facthna :p
    joanne30 wrote: »
    Just wondering I just bought a new car, waiting for insurance disc /tax to be issued.How much time do the Gardai give you to have them?

-1 to Joanne. this is not a funny post!!! :p

for the disc you should have it on your windscreen within 10 days. You may also be asked to produce the certificate within 10 days at a station.

Shoulda outlined one rule for this thread, never, never slag of THE NOG

Now he's up his own behind!:D:pac:

Ok I'll stop now.. we're all very grateful and not worthy of 'THE NOG'.:D

Now he's up his own behind!:D:pac:

your on the right path to a smacked arse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Right so lets start coming together and see who is the real comedians of the forum.
    You see, if you're going to make it that easy . . .
    Yes, i'm 14.
    How do you think he became commissioner?
    No PMs to me please!!!! Its like everyone thinks Im Facthna :p

But...you...said....

I feel so used.
    Now he's up his own behind!.
    I'll give Biffo another 7% to see that!

deadwood wrote: »
    You see, if you're going to make it that easy . . .
    Yes, i'm 14.

Just providing you with the material to get started.
    But...you...said....

I feel so used.

You should be used to it. Your in the guards!!!
    I'll give Biffo another 7% to see that!

jeez well if your earning that much you can give it to me!!! :p

your on the right path to a smacked arse

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

Ye're all abit mad in here it seems - im waiting on that bloody call, whats yere excuse!?????? :p:p:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

My excuse is Im not waiting for call, waiting for recruitment..
    The rest of them I'd say it has something to do with 7% gone from there earnings and the other thinks he's Fachtna Murphy....:D

HAHAAHAAAAA!!!!!!! We all have our crosses to bare!!!! :):D

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭CuteStuff

Is this The Nogs way of getting his boots shined again? If you can hurry up my application I'll shine anything you want!!! :D

me too.. anything within reason!!
    Haha! You have just made my innocent post seem so dirty now!!! :D

CuteStuff wrote: »
    Is this The Nogs way of getting his boots shined again? If you can hurry up my application I'll shine anything you want!!! :D

Are you trying to destroy my innocence????

Anyways "Canvassing will Disqualify". Learn that cos its on the bottom of the application form :D:pac::P

I took note of that.. that's why I wasn't polishing nuthin'!!:D

If your not willing to oblige eroo, fire brigade are recruiting:D:D:D

But.. but.. I know what I want!:(

Feckin Dub!:p:D

if your not a team player!!!!!!!!!

Fine joanne:rolleyes:, you've twisted my arm!:D

damn you.. easy clare men.. You could of held out a little longer:D

That wouldn't have been very 'team player like', now would it?;):p

Just noticed that PAS have stopped recruiting for Garda Reserve! There's a couple of other things up, but none read 'Garda Trainee'..:(

It will happen just give it a little time, keep the faith.;)

Well done on the team player thing you Passed.:D

easy clare men..

so true. they'd roll over for a belly rub

And whats wrong with a belly rub?:D

Offaly...? Didn't know they had men.. or women there.. or anyone for that matter!

don't get me started on men from Offaly, shine there boots and there anybodys..

Not entirely true. Sure we are all a bit of an Adonis in Offaly :D

Offaly...? Didn't know they had men.. or women there.. or anyone for that matter!

Oh theres men alright, even the women look like men too :p

Are you trying to destroy my innocence????

Was there any innocence to destroy?

I doubt it, all Offaly men are known for one thing:D I mean one little thing
    Look!!! I found the culprit, its this Joanne one, destroying our innocence!!! Boards/Joanne will corrupt me yet!!!! :D:D:D:D:D

Boards/Joanne will corrupt me yet!!!! :D:D:D:D:D

Is there anything left to corrupt??
    Don't know what your talking about I was refering to TheNogs little boots....:p

Size doesnt matter its all about how you shine them :p

Jeez this thread went downhill fast :pac:

Blame Joanne!!! Lowered the tone, she has! :pac:

All blame the new girl.

"Size doesnt matter its all about how you shine them" I'll take your word on that...

Is this you Joanne? :D:D:D:D

natalie_says_size_matters.jpg

I'm gonna have to stop reading this thread. My innocence won't allow me to understand the cartoon.... :rolleyes:

Ok so now the two dirty minded girls are gone :p her is a couple of posts I stole from the ES General thread. Funny stuff
    metman wrote: »
    Ah the old days of innocence and Ladybird books....

police_1.jpg
    police_3.jpg
    police_4.jpg
    ppolice_6.jpg
    police_7.jpg
    police_8.jpg
    police_10.jpg
    police_11.jpg
    police_12.jpg
    police_15.jpg

Also in the same series:
    ladybirdbook002.jpgbuilder.jpgladybirdbook.jpgladybirdbook004.jpg
    CLADA wrote: »
    In the interest of assisting the careers of all uniform members on boards who aspire to be detectives I have decided to post the official DDU guide.
    Here is the introduction and chapters 1&2. The remaining chapters will be posted over the coming days.

There WILL be an exam in early April, as with all Garda exams strict rules apply. PM me for the paper.

Official DDU Guide

By: D/Inspector Gravy Trainer

Mission Statement
    To achieve the highest attainable level of
    Overtime, Sub, Travel and Free Grub
    Introduction

With reference to the above, please find the Official DDU Guide compiled by D/Inspector Gravy Trainer for issue to all new DDU members. Please destroy (by eating) this document as soon as you’ve memorised it. Under no circumstances should this document fall into the greasy hands of any wooden tops (uniform members).

Chapter 1 – Useful Phrases

• We’re on the grub

• We’re on enquiries

• We’re on files

• We’re in court

• We’re on escorts

• We’re DDU

Chapter 2 – Suitable Attire

• Tweed Jacket (patches are not optional and must be worn at all times)

• Brown Shoes

• Moustache (optional, but must be worn for court and conferences)

almost forgot the ending
    CLADA wrote: »
    Chapters 3 & 4

Chapter 3Diet

• Coffee

• Full Irish (wooden tops will provide breakfast between 8am and 10pm daily)

• Biscuits (also provided by wooden tops at selected stations)

• Chicken Curry (beef and prawn also acceptable)

Note: Under no circumstances should any DDU member attempt to approach a dishwasher to avoid back problems in later life.

Chapter 4Equipment

• Radio (must be switched off at all times to avoid harmful radiation)

• Phone (as above)

• Gun (must be visible at all times)

• Notebook and pen (optional)

• Hair Comb

• File cover (always useful for carrying newspaper)

• Newspaper (peepholes can be cut out for surveillance)

Useful Tip:

To ensure that gun is visible at all times, purchase a suit jacket one size too small.

Ok so now the two dirty minded girls are gone :p her is a couple of posts I stole from the ES General thread. Funny stuff
    What two are you calling dirty minded?! :rolleyes:

He's refering to you and I, dirty was a mistake it's ladys he mean't..
    I'm not dirty!!! I had a shower this morning!!! :pac: I feel like I'm being picked on. :rolleyes:

What two are you calling dirty minded?! :rolleyes:
    He's refering to you and I, dirty was a mistake it's ladys he mean't..
    I'm not dirty!!! I had a shower this morning!!! :pac: I feel like I'm being picked on. :rolleyes:

must......resist....the...urge

no no I wont be drawn or i will have to banned myself

so how was everyone's weekend? what ye get up to?

God you just wont let up!!!

Was in Kilkenny at the weekend for a 40th birthday. Great city. Still recovering so I must be gettin old.

Hey Joanne your surname doesnt begin with a D by any chance does it? If it does were you at a family reunion on Sunday?

If I tell you that information you’d know who I am or not, I’ll have to speak to my solicitor about that!!!!

Just wanted to make sure that the person who has been talking dirty to me for the past 2 days isnt my first cousin!!! :D

This Joanne D is she good looking

Do I detect a note of jealousy? :P

No if shes good looking it was me.....

Im not gonna declare my cousin either good looking or not, on an open forum.

I feel so dirty talking about my cousin like this

O dear, Nog fancies his cousin!!!! And he has the cheek to call me dirty!!! My goodness.... What is this forum coming too......

hahaha, realy not his cousin:D:D:D
    Thats what happens when your from Offaly.. Keep it in the family!
    My mammy always warned me about Offaly people..... :D

christ 2 of ye are like a tag team. I feel like a battered husband

Married to first cousin or second???
    Do they still get married in Offally? I thought they just moved from one mud hut to the other? :p

Look at me he thought I was his first cousin,

Did not. I was wondering if you were my cousin
    singled me out

god you love yourself :p
    and start chatting me up.
    Then blamed me!

Yeah, and? It is your fault, both of ye. Before I was this sweet innocent man with not a care in the world. Now Im having nightmares just chatting with ye two.
    Married to first cousin or second???

Married? Hell no way

Just as I suspected. Moved from one mud hut to the other. :D

where are you from CuteStuff?

By the way pics or your not cute. If ye are cute I will give you my stamp of approval ;)

where are you from CuteStuff?

By the way pics or your not cute. If ye are cute I will give you my stamp of approval ;)
    haha! Do you mean approval to shine your boots..... or whatever?

I'd say more of whatever...

yeah more of the "whatever". At least Im honest

Im gonna make some guesses here about what you look like judging on your post below from a couple of minutes ago
    I don't think we will ever understand.

Your blonde

so lets just keep the fingers crossed. :D

and for the finale, is this you?

keepyourfingerscrossed.jpg

oops. anyone know how to resize a pic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭sweetlass

lovin the action in here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

nog shame on u for picking on two poor defencless girls!!!!!!! u are so so mean!!!! taught the "faithful" were better than this!!!! :D

sweetlass wrote: »

nog shame on u for picking on two poor defencless girls!!!!!!! u are so so mean!!!! taught the "faithful" were better than this!!!! :D

They started it. The sooner more fellas come in here and help me out the better.

/goes off in search of Eroo
    Dirty Garda from Offaly....

not dirty definitely not

/sings the Offaly Rover:

a rover I have been and a rover I will stay
    but to that faithful county I will return some day
    Uibh Fhaile how I love you with your heather scented air
    silently the peaceful brosna calls her sons from far and near

Oh Kinnitty I long to see
    when the woodbine’s in full bloom
    or stroll the fields around Ferbane hear the wild birds in full tune
    at Clonmacnoise I see you
    onto Banagher we’ll stray
    where the fishermen will drink and tear of the ones that got away

Though dead are still in exile
    are some friends I used to know
    still I must pass Killoughy
    where great sportmen are laid low
    By Croghan HillI see you
    where in childhood I did play
    so adieu to you beloved Slieve Bloom
    I must be on my way

Pile the brown turf on the fire bring the keg in from the barn
    let the blacksmith sing his rebel song and the poacher tell his yarn
    come close my friends and neighbors fill your glasses to the brim
    as we toast our Offaly heros from the heather, hill and glen

I am not blonde!!!! What an assumption. Or is this your fantasy nog? A dirty blonde that will shine your whatever?!

sweetlass wrote: »

Be careful, he'll be calling you dirty too and he will want you to shine his whatever and not only that, if you are his cousin, he will move into your mud hut!

I am a blonde and will be your fantasy nog. Im a dirty blonde that will shine your whatever!

Fixed that for you. I know its what you meant to say but hey I know you are shy.

Its ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭sweetlass

They started it. The sooner more fellas come in here and help me out the better.

/goes off in search of Eroo

not dirty definitely not

/sings the Offaly Rover:

a rover I have been and a rover I will stay
    but to that faithful county I will return some day
    Uibh Fhaile how I love you with your heather scented air
    silently the peaceful brosna calls her sons from far and near

Oh Kinnitty I long to see
    when the woodbine’s in full bloom
    or stroll the fields around Ferbane hear the wild birds in full tune
    at Clonmacnoise I see you
    onto Banagher we’ll stray
    where the fishermen will drink and tear of the ones that got away

Though dead are still in exile
    are some friends I used to know
    still I must pass Killoughy
    where great sportmen are laid low
    By Croghan HillI see you
    where in childhood I did play
    so adieu to you beloved Slieve Bloom
    I must be on my way

Pile the brown turf on the fire bring the keg in from the barn
    let the blacksmith sing his rebel song and the poacher tell his yarn
    come close my friends and neighbors fill your glasses to the brim
    as we toast our Offaly heros from the heather, hill and glen

well sang in clara by mr cowen!!!!!!! are u from any of the towns in the Offaly Rover???:o