Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Immigration Control Officer - Dublin Airport

• 10-06-2016 2:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8 JobHunter2000

Hello,

Public Jobs has advertised the above position. It looks like a very interesting role and has a shift allowance too.

Has anyone else gone for this?

JH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭ Lia Shaggy Knickers

Looks an interesting role but the money is really poor for entry level and the shift work. Even 25% allowance brings it to just over 500 a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭gezz36

Looks like a great job, would be really interesting to do...pay would suit if travel was not a big cost...rules it out for me. Go for it, if nothing else would be great experience on a CV if you wanted to keep looking for something better paid.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

Looks an interesting role but the money is really poor for entry level and the shift work. Even 25% allowance brings it to just over 500 a week.
    Where did you find the pay scale??

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

The job is advertised on publicjobs.ie here:
    https://www.publicjobs.ie/publicjobs/campaignAdvert/31597.htm

The pay and conditions are detailed in the Information booklet
    Closing Date for Applications
    16/06/2016

Slydice wrote: »

16/06/2016
    No they're not. It menylons Tue entry point but the only actual figures are regarding the pension contributions at each point of the scale

16/06/2016
    No they're not. It mentions the entry point but the only actual figures are regarding the pension contributions at each point of the scale

Page 7:
    Salary
    Clerical Officer Personal Pension Contribution (PPC) as of 01 January 2016
    €419.29 €447.97 €455.27 €469.48 €490.46 €511.39 €532.33
    €553.25 €573.62 €593.99 €608.33 €628.49 €648.53 €679.78NMAX

€704.35 €715.62
    LSI1 LSI2

That's the weekly wages.

Multiply by 52 to get the annual salary.

The phrase 'Personal Pension Contribution (PPC) as of 01 January 2016' means that's the pension scheme that the job will be a part of.

Never seen public service pay scales like that. How can they do it that way, when depending on your tax obligation everyone is different. I assume that the gross weekly. Usually they are the annual salary at each point of the scale.
    Thanks for that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

I have seen a similar if not the same weekly pay scale advertised for attendant jobs in the National Museum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭ Lia Shaggy Knickers

It's a clerical officers job so starts at 419 pw + 25% shift allowance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Anyway not to pushed on the pay, I'm in a well paid job at the moment but fùcking hate it.

Rather enjoy my work and get reasonable pay. Always a chance for promotion in these gigs, if anything passenger numbers on the rise.

These applications with the questions are a bit long winded. Is that not the whole idea of an interview? Also wonder if they are taking many people on.

Hrmmmm, €419.29 * 52 = 21803.08

That feels a bit low. If anyone is going for this competition, it might not be any harm just getting in touch with publicjobs and double checking the salary scale.

Shane Fitz wrote: »
    Never seen public service pay scales like that. How can they do it that way, when depending on your tax obligation everyone is different. I assume that the gross weekly. Usually they are the annual salary at each point of the scale.
    Thanks for that

I'm not familiar with the how/why they came to advertise the way they do. I've just seen a lot of their advertisements and that's how they do them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭griffin100

Lower paid public sector pay scales are often given in gross weekly salary. Have seen it in education, local authorities, HSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Hrmmmm, €419.29 * 52 = 21803.08

That feels a bit low. If anyone is going for this competition, it might not be any harm just getting in touch with publicjobs and double checking the salary scale.

Wouldn't say so. Considering Garda are 24k, most grades in hospitals are starts 21k to 24k between grade 3/4.

I really think double checking with publicjobs would be a good idea.

I think maybe they have included the wrong salary scales.

I think Circular 17/2015 linked from this page might have the current salary scales detailed:
    http://www.per.gov.ie/en/public-service-pay-policy/

Here's a direct link:
    http://www.per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/DPER-Circular-17.2015.pdf
    Revised pay with effect from 1 January 2016 for General Service Grades
    Clerical Officer Standard Scale
    €22,565 €23,618 €24,312 €25,351 €26,389 €27,428
    (€432.45) (€452.63) (€465.92) (€485.84) (€505.74) (€525.63)
    €28,465 €29,485 €30,493 €31,192 €32,187 €33,735
    (€545.51) (€565.06) (€584.38) (€597.78) (€616.85) (€646.51)
    €34,954¹ €35,515²
    (€669.87) (€680.62)

They may have quoted salary scales for previously serving civil servants:
    who were
    appointed on or after the 6th April 1995 paying the Class A rate of PRSI
    contribution and making an employee contribution in respect of personal
    superannuation benefits for General Service Grades.
    Clerical Officer Standard Scale - PPC
    €21,879 €23,375 €23,756 €24,498 €25,592 €26,684
    (€419.29) (€447.97) (€455.28) (€469.48) (€490.46) (€511.39)
    €27,777 €28,869 €29,931 €30,995 €31,743 €32,795
    (€532.33) (€553.25) (€573.62) (€594.00) (€608.34) (€628.50)
    €33,840 €35,471 €36,753¹ €37,341²
    (€648.52) (€679.78) (€704.35) (€715.62)

but like I said, I really think double checking with publicjobs would be a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭curiousoranje

Applied for this as well. I assume these are the lads who replaced Guards in the passport booths at the airport?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

The figures are correct, it is entry level CO pay, a gross figure before tax, pension contribution and pension levy. Pay will increase in Sept 2017 under the landowne road agreement by €1k gross per annum but that's all that is in the pipeline unless a further agreement is thrashed out

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭The Veteran

The pay is over €28,000 in the first year. €419 x 52.18 weeks x 1.25 (to reflect shift allowance) plus additional days pay for the public holidays. €27,329 plus the public holidays - 9 or 10 when you count Good Friday (which is a paid day off in the civil service) do approaching €28,500 in the first year "basic". I also know there has been significant overtime opportunities for the staff there - its voluntary but its available.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Today is the last day for application. Anybody know on average how long the process takes before being offered an interview?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 trish89

Hey anyone know how long it will be before being offered an interview and also has anyone done the interview previously thanks 😊🖒

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

Through my hat in this, knew someone who did it but had kids, shift work didnt work out. From what i gather its fairly interesting but 12 hour shifts could hurt a bit. But i like the working 30% less then standard cos.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Anyone,

I have applied for this job.

Is there anybody currently working in this role who could offer some more information on the hours/ pay scales/ VHI / Pension scheme offered?.

A poster mentioned 12 hours shifts? , do expand? if so is it 12x4= 48 per week , what is the roster/shift pattern like? Days on/ off etc

What is the salary scale taking plus is there a shift allowance and much opportunity for overtime?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭billie1b

kravmaga wrote: »
    Anyone,

Is there anybody currently working in this role who could offer some more information on the hours/ pay scales/ VHI / Pension scheme offered?.

A poster mentioned 12 hours shifts? , do expand? if so is it 12x4= 48 per week , what is the roster/shift pattern like? Days on/ off etc

What is the salary scale taking plus is there a shift allowance and much opportunity for overtime?

The roster works 2 days on, 2 days off, 3 days on, 2 days off, 2 days on, 3 days off.

billie1b wrote: »
    kravmaga wrote: »
    Anyone,

The roster works 2 days on, 2 days off, 3 days on, 2 days off, 2 days on, 3 days off.
    The answer to all your questions are in the link to the add posted at the start of this thread, by other posters further up in this thread. And in the Information booklet you would have down loaded as when applying for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Still no word on interviews & start dates?

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Talkinpony

Anyone know if there would be an EO/HEO level competition in the pipeline??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sumpector

Just received an invitation to supervised tests at PAS, good to see the process is moving relatively quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

sumpector wrote: »
    Just received an invitation to supervised tests at PAS, good to see the process is moving relatively quickly.

Same here. Time to play some Papers Please again in preparation :D

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭kazmcdonald

Me too! Have no idea what to expect!