Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2016/17 Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭EireLemon

We have an external examiner coming in very soon for the Irish orals. Can't stand the language!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Manufan123

Has anyone started studying for the summer tests yet? I did a bit this morning planning to do a few hours a night from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭carefulnowted

Manufan123 wrote: »
    Has anyone started studying for the summer tests yet? I did a bit this morning planning to do a few hours a night from now on.

I'll probably start doing a bit this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

I've a grade 8 piano exam in 2 weeks so study and homework will be getting a backseat until that's over. I failed Grade 7 about a year and a half ago but decided to keep going regardless. Really want to pass this so I don't have do worry about piano during LC and just keep it going as a pastime.

It's just that the pass mark is so high (60%). It might not sound like much but I've been told at the higher grades the examiner will penalise you for almost anything.

Really just want to get back to playing the stuff I want on the piano, instead of trudging through the exam stuff all the time.

Just noticed that today 4 weeks will be my first day of summer holidays, so that's something to look forward to.

Anybody else really unenthusiastic about school about now, or is it just me? Watching the TYs hanging about the place, dossing, having the craic etc. and watching the LCs on their home stretch, finishing up with orals and organising the debs, on their way outta second level while you're stuck in the middle with it all ahead of you is really discouraging :confused:

I've a grade 8 piano exam in 2 weeks so study and homework will be getting a backseat until that's over. I failed Grade 7 about a year and a half ago but decided to keep going regardless. Really want to pass this so I don't have do worry about piano during LC and just keep it going as a pastime.

It's just that the pass mark is so high (60%). It might not sound like much but I've been told at the higher grades the examiner will penalise you for almost anything.

Really just want to get back to playing the stuff I want on the piano, instead of trudging through the exam stuff all the time.

Just noticed that today 4 weeks will be my first day of summer holidays, so that's something to look forward to.

Anybody else really unenthusiastic about school about now, or is it just me? Watching the TYs hanging about the place, dossing, having the craic etc. and watching the LCs on their home stretch, finishing up with orals and organising the debs, on their way outta second level while you're stuck in the middle with it all ahead of you is really discouraging :confused:

I know what you mean about being stuck in the middle of it all. TY in our school isn't great so I'm glad I didn't do it but I do feel a twinge of envy when I see the TY's heading home homework-less! They'll feel the same next year though so it's swings and roundabouts really.

I'm currently having a lot of trouble deciding on potential college courses/careers. Our guidance counsellor is terrible so I think everyone feels a bit like they're on their own. I know that I'm definitely interested in something in Physics/Maths but nailing down that one college course is impossible for me.

Best of luck in the piano exam, anyway! I assume you're not going to do the diploma? (I don't play the piano, my only knowledge is from friends who do so I don't know much about it!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Irishgirl1998

leimmxvii wrote: »
    Your school does orals in fifth year? Thats impressive, Im kinda jealous

I've had orals since first year excluding TY though.

I've starting to study for the exams tomorrow and try to learn the 20 sraith Pictuirs for my orals soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

We've had orals since first year as well summer and Christmas. We did them in TY too but half the year probably weren't in for them.

I'm the same with college courses really I've no idea what I was to do in college I want to go down the business/finance route I think. I'd love to go to college in the US or UK but picking colleges and narrowing down choices is what I'm finding difficult. This is going to be a big issue if I don't figure something out soon as otherwise I won't have time to apply to the US. My guidance teacher is proving to be absolutely useless even though people from the school have to both the US and UK he knows absolutely nothing about the application process.

I want to do food science or media studies ( along those lines ) we had careers class for 6 weeks at the start of the year and ethics for the rest and we did cvs and the Dare and Hear schemes and the suzi grant so yeah it's kinda annoying as we only did one class on the cao and the other 11 classes were on the other topics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Msrebeckyxo

Wondering can anyone help me, my Irish teacher is great but her sraith notes are horrible, she makes us write our own notes and never goes over them so as someone who can't string a sentence of irish together, I struggle...hahahah.
    Anyone know where I can get decent notes, whether it's a website or a book that I could buy? :D
    Im thinking of veterinary at the moment, but as these exams approach and the way my work ethic is, I'm thinking more along the lines of Jam making....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭ElmW13

Wondering can anyone help me, my Irish teacher is great but her sraith notes are horrible, she makes us write our own notes and never goes over them so as someone who can't string a sentence of irish together, I struggle...hahahah.
    Anyone know where I can get decent notes, whether it's a website or a book that I could buy? :D
    Im thinking of veterinary at the moment, but as these exams approach and the way my work ethic is, I'm thinking more along the lines of Jam making....

Our teacher gives us all the same notes so I use the book gleasnotai gaeilge to change them up a bit. The sraiths in it are decent. I also have a link for a booklet of them done out.

Also thinking of veterinary at the moment, just need some motivation now for some study :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Lads I'm wondering would my grades be good enough for an agri engineering/mechanisation course in England. I am seriously considering studying there. I have looked up the entry requirements but it's in a completely different language. I do 3 higher level subjects and do good in them but then do foundation irish, ordinary English and maths

Anyone know where I can get decent notes, whether it's a website or a book that I could buy?

These are the notes we use. https://www.edco.ie/home/fi%C3%BAntas-agus-fuinneamh.3299.html you can buy the book as well but I don't see why you'd bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Liordi

More notes here, they seem short so I don't know if they'd be a high standard.
    https://www.studyclix.ie/Subjects/Leaving-Certificate/sraith-picti-r-2017/Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭padraigmck

Have many of Ye started writing essays in Irish yet?

padraigmck wrote: »

We've done 3 essays since the start of the year. Doing one more before the summer tests.

Thanks everyone for the sraith notes! You're all life savers! 😄

ElmW13 wrote: »
    Our teacher gives us all the same notes so I use the book gleasnotai gaeilge to change them up a bit. The sraiths in it are decent. I also have a link for a booklet of them done out.

Also thinking of veterinary at the moment, just need some motivation now for some study :rolleyes:

Ooh! Are you thinking nursing or medicine? Ideally I'd love medicine but I would never get 575 and I don't do chemistry so automatically out the window :( Nursing points arent bad for UCD but the number of places is just ridiculous so I'd probably need to go to England :(

padraigmck wrote: »

We've written a good few, maybe 4 or 5? We've really neglected the sraith pictiúir though, only 9 done so far.

neglected? :confused: We've done 8 and I feel like it's loads.

Liordi wrote: »
    neglected? :confused: We've done 8 and I feel like it's loads.

Oh! Maybe I'm just being paranoid; our teacher hoped we'd have 13 or 14 done by this stage, so I'm just taking my expectations from her.

Ooh! Are you thinking nursing or medicine? Ideally I'd love medicine but I would never get 575 and I don't do chemistry so automatically out the window :( Nursing points arent bad for UCD but the number of places is just ridiculous so I'd probably need to go to England :(

Medicine I'm hoping. Going on work experience in the local vets now for the next Saturdays. I'm. Thinking of applying to edinburgh anyways.

We've only done six sraiths, were meant to have ten done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Are any of u guys doing the 5th Year summer school program in UCD??
    I've looked at it online and I'm considering it as I'm unsure on what I want to do in college but I'm not sure if it will be worth it or not???

Medicine I'm hoping. Pin on work experience in the local vets now for the next Saturdays. I'm. Thinking of applying to edinburgh anyways.

We've only done six sraiths, were meant to have ten done
    I'm also going to apply to Edinburgh as i should be able to reach their requirements.

We have done all 20 sraith pictures and one essay and 5 poems and 3 pros so far

I'm also going to apply to Edinburgh as i should be able to reach their requirements.

What do you want to do in college?

Veterinary Medicine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Are there much of ye considering studying overseas as I am??

I'm looking at the US most likely East coast as I prefer it and shorter flights home or the UK ideally London but I really need to get looking at individual colleges now this week and start making lists and narrowing stuff down. Where are you looking to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

Anybody looking at NUIG?

Veterinary Medicine

Oooh that's great! I'd love to go straight for medicine but it's beyond me I believe :(

We had a meeting about ucas yesterday, I'm realising that I'm screwed as they use your summer exam results....and I've yet to properly study :(
    I was planning on doing so much study this weekend but the amount of homework I've been giving is the biggest joke ever :(