Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2016/17 Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭adam240610

If you go to the Qualifax homepage there's a link near the bottom right to a 2017 points calculator

501 in the mocks, that's just awkward haha. One more than the current system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

padraigmck wrote: »
    There's a NEW 5th year off-topic thread....... I don't want to be a 6th year yet
    You're not until September! :p

And don't worry, the current lot will insist on holding that space here until results are in and CAO offers out. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 teafanatic

I haven't been on here in ages, though I'd give a look and see how ye're all getting on :)
    Got summer results back the other day, I'd barely any study done and was expecting to do terribly. I actually got on reasonably well (~500 points) which is kind of disappointing because a bad result would have been motivation to study :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

teafanatic wrote:
    I haven't been on here in ages, though I'd give a look and see how ye're all getting on Got summer results back the other day, I'd barely any study done and was expecting to do terribly. I actually got on reasonably well (~500 points) which is kind of disappointing because a bad result would have been motivation to study

I studied really hard, ya as in I got up at 6 in the morning to study and I did terrible. Could only dream of being in your position. Count yourself lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 CH1123581321

Is it wise to study over the summer?

And does anybody have any tips for maths, I'd adore a H1/H2/H3 in maths but it's the one subject I find difficult to revise, I'm beginning to think it's just one where you basically eat the exam papers in order to do well?? :/

Do exam papers. All of them, and ask for more mock papers. Just did maths for LC two weeks ago. Mock results will not reflect your result in august, I got 53 in the mocks and fairly confident for ~90%

Wouldn't worry about studying over summer, you won't do it anyways more than likely, and you'll need the break before sixth year haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭everesteduc

You could read a few novels. Whatever takes your fancy. It won't (shouldn't) feel like study but it will help your English Paper 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭everesteduc

adam240610 wrote: »
    501 in the mocks, that's just awkward haha. One more than the current system.

So it's confirmed. New points system leads to surge in points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 teafanatic

I studied really hard, ya as in I got up at 6 in the morning to study and I did terrible. Could only dream of being in your position. Count yourself lucky.

I have to say though it wasn't a case of not studying and somehow getting on alright, we were basically told exactly what was coming up on the exams and they were marked ridiculously easily as well. It wont be that easy next year of course.

I really need to get motivated before September. :o

So it's confirmed. New points system leads to surge in points.

I'll post back with the huge one point difference in august 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

I'll just leave this here incase the inevitable happens and a mass migration is need. I assume most people are on Reddit anyway. https://www.reddit.com/r/theLeavingCert/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

Bored_lad wrote: »
    I'll just leave this here incase the inevitable happens and a mass migration is need. I assume most people are on Reddit anyway. https://www.reddit.com/r/theLeavingCert/

What do you mean by the inevitable? Boards closing its doors?

On a separate note, the amount of people who have casually mentioned in conversation that they "brought home all their books to study over the summer" is unreal. (We have a book rental scheme in our school so the normal procedure would be to return them at the end of the year and then get them back in September).

Using Redditch. The leaving cert is nigh pointless considering boards is Irish and does the job well as is.

Studying over summer should be reading books at most otherwise you'll probably break down halfway through the year haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭siebey123

Former 6th year here, finished up exams not too long ago :) For anyone doing History I really recommend you start your RSR project over summer. Seriously. My teacher told us to start and like 3 people did and no wonder those 3 people were finished like 2 weeks before the rest of the class.

Even if it's just research, but I would recommend writing up your essay (at least 1st draft so you have something to show your teacher in Sep). A lot of us didn't do anything for the project over summer and oh my dayssss the pressure built on in 6th year.

Regarding studying over summer: I studied Bio because the course is so big, but nothing major. Just refreshing over the things I found difficult.

For languages: watch Extr@ on YouTube (available in French, German and Spanish). Your aural skills will improve man, and so will your oral because you become more conscious of pronunciation. Duolingo is a great app too. You can also pick up little French/Spanish/German books to practice your reading comps or even read articles online in the above language(s). Oh and set your phone to your chosen language!!!! Putting my phone in French helped me immensely it's actually amazing how much new vocab you can learn!

PS: Don't do extreme study. Don't even bother writing up notes. You'll burnout by Christmas.

If I can remember any more tips for ye new fresh 6th years I'll edit this post :)

Ye'll be grand btw, don't worry

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Read some classic novels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Runmrun

If I had any advice, I would say that you should not do an ounce of study over the summer. I wholeheartedly believe that if I had studied, I would have crashed by Christmas. It is such a demanding and tough year, please don't study now as it will have no bearing on your results. I worked from day one of sixth year and just do the same! In fact, I believe studying would have hampered my motivation and attitude as I would have been completely fed up of looking at my books! If you are going to do anything, just read novels or any material that you can get your hands on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,378 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

For those who would like to see what an Inter. Cert. paper looked like, I'm uploading some old papers I found (including Group Cert.) over the next few days.

**image-heavy link**
    http://www.dublin1850.com/oldexams/oldpapers.html

Group Cert papers added now.
    Group Cert History 1978
    Group Cert Geography 1976

Some of the images not great quality, sorry. I might scan them later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Lads it's nearly time to get back to the grind!! I'm honestly bricking it. I'm feeling stressed just thinking about everything that is going to happen in this next year from homework to study to cao decisions to school exams/ mocks to the LC to results day to uni offers!! Never mind everything else such as social life and our own hobbies/aspirations we want to make time for.

How are you guys feeling / preparing for what I've heard to be the worst year of some people's lives!!!

(p.s sorry if I freaked anyone out or woke them up from their summer time trance! :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭siebey123

Lads it's nearly time to get back to the grind!! I'm honestly bricking it. I'm feeling stressed just thinking about everything that is going to happen in this next year from homework to study to cao decisions to school exams/ mocks to the LC to results day to uni offers!! Never mind everything else such as social life and our own hobbies/aspirations we want to make time for.

How are you guys feeling / preparing for what I've heard to be the worst year of some people's lives!!!

(p.s sorry if I freaked anyone out or woke them up from their summer time trance! :p )

Hey :D not a student going into LC, but im waiting on CAO offers right now and just wanted to tell you to keep a calm head! Honestly, once you enter the year and study at a steady pace, you'll realise this this year isn't as hard as everyoneee makes it out to be. Take everything one by one, please don't be thinking about mocks at this stage, think about them when the roll around :) You can still make time for hobbies, no doubt. I knew A LOT of people keeping up more than 2 sports during the year and they were happy with their results and did great.

Just keep a calm head, my German teacher told me that once during the year when it was all beginning to pick up (right before the mocks) and it worked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

Just calm down and stop worrying we still have another week or in some cases just over a week until were back to school so enjoy it, we'll be spending plenty of time worrying during the year. Also remember you already have most of the work put in, the leaving cert is nine months its plenty of time to get back to the routine start building up notes and then start properly studying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Take it one day at a time, it will be ok. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭EireLemon

I'm actually excited and ready for the new year. When is everyone going back? I'm pretty sure we're back from the 30th or 31st. Looking at the other thread, it's so weird that we're so far away from that stage, of checking for the new CAO points! I envy them so much because I just want to have it all done.

I'm planning on doing around 2 hours of study (including homework) a night from the start of September. Would that be enough? I could build up gradually as I'm really not used to studying, much prefer making notes and using flashcard programmes like Anki. Bored of summer now but I know this time two weeks I'll be saying "I should've appreciated that last week of Summer."

I'm back in school on Friday for about 2 hours. Most people seem to be starting next Monday. I don't really see the point of us beginning for such a short amount of time but whatever!!

I'm starting to organise a study plan for the 5th year content. Hoping to be productive and get through last years work by mid October as well as keeping up with the new stuff we will be learning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Manufan123

I'm back in school on Friday for about 2 hours. Most people seem to be starting next Monday. I don't really see the point of us beginning for such a short amount of time but whatever!!

I'm starting to organise a study plan for the 5th year content. Hoping to be productive and get through last years work by mid October as well as keeping up with the new stuff we will be learning.
    What course are you hoping for?

Manufan123 wrote: »
    What course are you hoping for?

Still uncertain but I'm leaning to engineering. I'm also interested in dental science and general science so I might put those down too.

What about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Manufan123

Science or maths related courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭padraigmck

Back to School on Tuesday from 9.30 from till 12 and then we have another half day Wednesday... They're really breaking us in gently haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭carefulnowted

I'm actually feeling okay about this year, even though I'm sure that'll change after a week! I spent a lot of time this summer researching college courses and I think I'm fairly sure what I want to do after I finish, so that's a load off my shoulders at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

So, do we change this to the leaving cert off-topic or...?