Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Bonniedog wrote: »
    You can get cheaper tickets up to tomorrow evening online. Should be big crowd, but should be no problem getting in half an hour previous.

Just on subject of tickets. First time this year I tried to use Parnell Terrace Passes for a Croke Park game as have been going to stands up to now.

They wouldn't give me tickets in the ticket office, as they don't do this on "match days". Well, how the fk are you supposed to get them then?

They were giving out the Spring series passes back in Jan. Would have thought you could still pick up an individual one though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

You can get cheaper tickets up to tomorrow evening online. Should be big crowd, but should be no problem getting in half an hour previous.

Just on subject of tickets. First time this year I tried to use Parnell Terrace Passes for a Croke Park game as have been going to stands up to now.

They wouldn't give me tickets in the ticket office, as they don't do this on "match days". Well, how the fk are you supposed to get them then?

What ticket office did you go to....the one on Dorset St that has a Dublin Co Board window, or the one across from Gills pub on the North Circular Road? You have to go to the one on Dorset St to get your Parnell Pass Spring Series ticket. The NCR one is a GAA ticket office & they don't handle DCB Parnell Pass ticketing issues. I think the DCB window in the Dorset St office is only open Mon-Fri. They aren't open on weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

ProudDUB wrote: »
    What ticket office did you go to....the one on Dorset St that has a Dublin Co Board window, or the one across from Gills pub on the North Circular Road? You have to go to the one on Dorset St to get your Parnell Pass Spring Series ticket. The NCR one is a GAA ticket office & they don't handle DCB Parnell Pass ticketing issues. I think the DCB window in the Dorset St office is only open Mon-Fri. They aren't open on weekends.

You can get tickets in participating SuperValu outlets either. I got mine for the Limerick hurling match at Parnell Park.
    15E which is cheaper then the admission price if you pay on the day.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Think Bonnie means getting the "free" ticket with the PP, not the pay in kind. You can only get PP tickets in the Dorset St office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

It was the one opposite Gills but was also told that Dorest Street only do "cash sales" on match days.

Didn't realize that taking time off work was now some sort of loyalty test along with spending hundreds of Euros supporting the various teams and the club championships :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It was the one opposite Gills but was also told that Dorest Street only do "cash sales" on match days.

Didn't realize that taking time off work was now some sort of loyalty test along with spending hundreds of Euros supporting the various teams and the club championships :-)

Go on your lunch hour and bring a ham sandwich and a flask of tae with ya.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Go on your lunch hour and bring a ham sandwich and a flask of tae with ya.

Don't be trying to minimize my grumbl .... issues :)

You only have to go into Dorset St 1-2 times a year. Once, to pick up your Spring Series Master ticket that you get for free, with your Parnell Pass. It is one ticket, that gets you into all our home games. You don't need to go back in again before each game. The one master ticket is good for all of them. Then if we make it as far as the AI final, you have to go in again to pick up your ticket for that. That is it. Two trips a year, it's hardly a trek to the Gobi desert. :p

During the Leinster and AI champo, you can go back into Dorest St and buy a ticket off them, if you want to. But I don't really see any point in doing that. You can get perfectly decent tickets in Supervalu, or on Tickets.ie

I'm not going to ask you why you were paying for tickets, that you could have got for free, as I don't want you to kick your cat and stomp huffily from the room. :D

Fair Play Roscommon People, fair play !

Ce3-c3RWIAQFZgO.jpg

I wonder how many eegits people will turn out for this, forgetting what day it is tomorrow. :D

Very good!

Can you imagine some people flying into absolute rage about this!

(Not the sort of rage I was in on Saturday over the tickets, obviously ......)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Fair Play Roscommon People, fair play !

Ce3-c3RWIAQFZgO.jpg

I wonder how many eegits people will turn out for this, forgetting what day it is tomorrow. :D

I've just read that thinking what the actual f*ck. :D

That's class. Will be wheeling it out.

I embrace my inner eegit, so I freely admit to being taken in at first. Then again, I subscribe to the JFK theory of asking not what your country can do for you, but what can you do for your country. Therefore I don't ask why on earth would towns and cities all across Ireland, erect plaques to the Brogans? I ask why towns and cities all across Ireland, don't erect plaques to the Brogans? :D

Roscommon team: D O'Malley; S McDermott, N Collins, D Murray; C Daly, S Purcell, R Stack; N Daly, C Shine; F Cregg, N Kilroy, C Murtagh; C Connolly, S Kibride, C Cregg.

Any word on the venue yet. So far, Paddy Power is offering:

Hyde Park 11/2
    Croker 10/1
    Tuam 8/2
    Carrick 7/4
    The Bernabeu 6/1
    Wembley 12/1
    Stadium of Light 20/1
    Yankee Stadium 15/1
    Tullamore 5/2

I have a cheeky tenner on Tullamore. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I embrace my inner eegit, so I freely admit to being taken in at first. Then again, I subscribe to the JFK theory of asking not what your country can do for you, but what can you do for your country. Therefore I don't ask why on earth would towns and cities all across Ireland, erect plaques to the Brogans? I ask why towns and cities all across Ireland, don't erect plaques to the Brogans? :D

Roscommon team: D O'Malley; S McDermott, N Collins, D Murray; C Daly, S Purcell, R Stack; N Daly, C Shine; F Cregg, N Kilroy, C Murtagh; C Connolly, S Kibride, C Cregg.

Any word on the venue yet. So far, Paddy Power is offering:

Hyde Park 11/2
    Croker 10/1
    Tuam 8/2
    Carrick 7/4
    The Bernabeu 6/1
    Wembley 12/1
    Stadium of Light 20/1
    Yankee Stadium 15/1
    Tullamore 5/2

I have a cheeky tenner on Tullamore. :rolleyes:

Its raining solid down here for the last 4 hours so I'd say bring the canoe for Cluxton to get from the goalline to the 45 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

A few of our lads are booked in o/night in Roscommon :rolleyes: .. sometimes it doesn't pay to forward plan

Think it's 16 years ago was the last time I was in Hyde Pk and I'd virtually guarantee that nothings changed since 2000 - there's still a few grounds that are a throwback in time but virtually all of them have invested in a sand based/drained pitches. Even in a more basic form of a hape of sand and a machine that cores out the soil (like a golf course) should have been introduced by now. I think there was some problem regards ownership or (feudal ties) :D in Roscommon which prevented large scale investment of the ground - doesn't excuse the pitch tho. The bigger picture also being that the pitch itself doesn't complement the kicking and running style of the current Roscommon team either.

I've booked into the Greville Arms Mullingar - got a great price by mentioning I was a Dublin fan going to the Roscommon game in Cusack Park :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

DoctaDee wrote: »
    A few of our lads are booked in o/night in Roscommon :rolleyes: .. sometimes it doesn't pay to forward plan

Think it's 16 years ago was the last time I was in Hyde Pk and I'd virtually guarantee that nothings changed since 2000 - there's still a few grounds that are a throwback in time but virtually all of them have invested in a sand based/drained pitches. Even in a more basic form of a hape of sand and a machine that cores out the soil (like a golf course) should have been introduced by now. I think there was some problem regards ownership or (feudal ties) :D in Roscommon which prevented large scale investment of the ground - doesn't excuse the pitch tho. The bigger picture also being that the pitch itself doesn't complement the kicking and running style of the current Roscommon team either.

I've booked into the Greville Arms Mullingar - got a great price by mentioning I was a Dublin fan going to the Roscommon game in Cusack Park :D

I've seen better club stadiums. Portaloos for the stand and no right place to get a coffee. :rolleyes: Yet you pay premium to get in.

yop wrote: »
    I've seen better club stadiums. Portaloos for the stand and no right place to get a coffee. :rolleyes: Yet you pay premium to get in.

Jaysis even the old style standing concrete wall with the sting of ammonia in yer eyes as you unloaded the pre match beer is a step up from portaloos

Its poor for sure, but they are trying to get work done on it in fairness, not sure what the blocking is, but its needed.
    But if your County board went out and acquired a 55 seater bus and left the county ground in a state then you'd wonder the logic.

Are as many people staying over for this one, as the Rossie's claim? (And therefore a reason why it shouldn't be moved.) I mean, it's only an hour or so on the motorway to Athlone. Then 20 minutes (on a very good road) until you reach The Primrose Paradise. And it's not like you are facing a 3 hr plus drive back home, on icy, dark roads, in the dead of winter. It never even occured to me to stay over, on either night.

A Saturday night in Mullingar :eek: ??? .....shudders....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Are as many people staying over for this one, as the Rossie's claim? (And therefore a reason why it shouldn't be moved.) I mean, it's only an hour or so on the motorway to Athlone. Then 20 minutes (on a very good road) until you reach The Primrose Paradise. And it's not like you are facing a 3 hr plus drive back home, on icy, dark roads, in the dead of winter. It never even occured to me to stay over, on either night.

A Saturday night in Mullingar ???.....shudders....

The whole of rossiland is booked out by the travelling fans (or so the rossies are trying make believe)
    If you sneezed beside that pitch it would flood again :D

A Saturday night in Mullingar ???.....shudders....

Yeah wouldn't occur to me to stay over either tbh .. Killarney is really my only sleepover :D there's a group out of Swords that run the jolly boys beanos all over the country .. probably all married to a nagging wife/husband with at least 5 kids under the age of 2

Had some crackin nights in Mullingar .. mostly in Canton Caseys .. I wouldn't be one for walking around the place .. thats true

EDit .. should've added that the lads I was talking to couldn't care less at dropping the €40 for the hotel in Roscommon to see a decent game on a decent pitch elsewhere

Yeah wouldn't occur to me to stay over either tbh .. Killarney is really my only sleepover :D there's a group out of Swords that run the jolly boys beanos all over the country .. probably all married to a nagging wife/husband with at least 5 kids under the age of 2

Had some crackin nights in Mullingar .. mostly in Canton Caseys .. I wouldn't be one for walking around the place .. thats true

EDit .. should've added that the lads I was talking to couldn't care less at dropping the €40 for the hotel in Roscommon to see a decent game on a decent pitch elsewhere

Minor gone to Carrick-On-Shannon and U21 gone to Sligo. So I'd say ye might end up there yet. There is no way they can leave it until Sunday to make the call. Tomorrow is no better so it will be even worse than last Sunday.

Agreed, should be a good game if the pitch is right. Is it on TnaGee?

Think they're showing the relegation games this Sunday Yop

Makes sense. Was going to record it. Will watch it on the RTE program later.

Its raining solid down here for the last 4 hours so I'd say bring the canoe for Cluxton to get from the goalline to the 45

Any chance you could lep into one of your own canoes and measure that for us, time wise? Take as long as you want like....;)

Sold the canoe last year, bought a cruiser. If it keeps raining this heavy I can bring the cruiser up the N5 to Roscommon and check it out :)

Id say the Rossies will be on here in a bit giving you an update.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Match is nailed on to be in Carrick if it's moved.

The Roscommon bus hasn't cost the county board a cent.
    6 sponsors are covering the 5 year lease, they've a panel of volunteer drivers, and it's rented out to clubs and schools and so is generating some cash

Gosh, imagine if all those wealthy Rossie sponsors put their money towards something else instead.....oh I don't know....let's say for arguments sake....a proper pitch.

Yeah, that'll do, a pitch. Then in return for that, they get free advertising on & around the pitch, that is being played on by people, who are supported by other people who are watching the game being played on the pitch, both at the ground where the pitch is and, on the tellybox at home.

What an amaaaaaazing concept. That just might catch on. I'm a genius !!!! :eek:
    Sold the canoe last year, bought a cruiser. If it keeps raining this heavy I can bring the cruiser up the N5 to Roscommon and check it out :)

Id say the Rossies will be on here in a bit giving you an update.

They will in their holes. They are all singing from the same hymn sheet. The Hyde was fine. The Hyde is fine. The Hyde will always be fine, until the end of eternity. :rolleyes:

Any chance you & your cruiser could lep onto the Royal Canal and lep down here and give us all a lift? We can put the petrol & toll fees towards the beer & Pringles fund. I'm dammed if the Rossies are getting a brass farthing of my money, when they are so uncaring of player safety & welfare.

Gosh, imagine if all those wealthy Rossie sponsors put their money towards something else instead.....oh I don't know....let's say for arguments sake....a proper pitch.

Yeah, that'll do, a pitch. Then in return for that, they get free advertising on & around the pitch, that is being played on by people, who are supported by other people who are watching the game being played on the pitch, both at the ground where the pitch is and, on the tellybox at home.

What an amaaaaaazing concept. That just might catch on. I'm a genius !!!! :eek:

They will in their holes. They are all singing from the same hymn sheet. The Hyde was fine. The Hyde is fine. The Hyde will always be fine, until the end of eternity. :rolleyes:

Any chance you & your cruiser could lep onto the Royal Canal and lep down here and give us all a lift? We can put the petrol & toll fees towards the beer & Pringles fund. I'm dammed if the Rossies are getting a brass farthing of my money, when they are so uncaring of player safety & welfare.

How did you know about the Pringles, u stalking me on Facebook again :p:D:D

Ah you'll make the Hyde in 2 hours from home I'd say. Roads a pretty decent. Can't see any point in staying down.

That bus has spent more time parked up than the "Welcome Home Sam" truck has in Mayo at this stage. Must be the only county with their own bus. Its like a banana on wheels. :):)

The Hyde will be sound lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

How did you know about the Pringles, u stalking me on Facebook again :p:D:D

Ah you'll make the Hyde in 2 hours from home I'd say. Roads a pretty decent. Can't see any point in staying down.

That bus has spent more time parked up than the "Welcome Home Sam" truck has in Mayo at this stage. Must be the only county with their own bus. Its like a banana on wheels. :):)

The Hyde will be sound lads.

you're clueless
    The bus is a great advertisement for the GAA in the county.

no work could have been done on the pitch as no funds could be drawn down due to the ownership issues on the whole ground

nice_guy80 wrote: »

no work could have been done on the pitch as no funds could be drawn down due to the ownership issues on the whole ground

Yeah I knew there was something holding the investment back .. The Bull McCabes family must have a stake ;)