Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭munster87

corny wrote: »
    Don't get upset. I was just repeating what the Roscommon commentator was saying.

Honourable defeat for ye anyway. Enjoy it.

And honourable win for Dublin. Considering it wasn't in Croker ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

dublin(1) vs donegal(4)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Cork relegated,one is indeed very pleased with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Oh god. Last match v Donegal i wanted to tear my eyeballs out. No doubt it will be more of the same. Dublin v Kerry final would be nice though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Oh god. Last match v Donegal i wanted to tear my eyeballs out. No doubt it will be more of the same. Dublin v Kerry final would be nice though

Ah Jayus not them Rugby League players again...
    The only thing you can say about it is great preparation for the Dublin players.
    Maybe someone in Donegal will remember Michael Murphy used to be a very good forward, and they might play him at the edge of the square for a change?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Donegal next?

Christ !

Am having a root canal procedure on Tuesday. I know which one I'll enjoy more. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Donegal next?

Christ !

Am having a root canal procedure on Tuesday. I know which one I'll enjoy more. :(

Lol. Yeah Donegals use of Murphy is bordering on insane.

You would imagine in a league match they would let the players express themselves. Shocking management and gameplan. I cant imagine the players are happy with the system..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Donegal next?

Christ !

I've a marathon Sunday so i'll miss it. 26 miles of torture or watching Donegal play football.....hmmmm......its a tough one.;)

DUBLIN CITY FM 103.1 PROVIDE LIVE COMMENTARY AND COVERAGE OF OUR LEAGUE GAMES.

I HAVE NO IDEA IF THEY COVERED TODAYS GAME, AS DUE TO BEING AT THE GAME, I WAS NOT WITHIN RANGE TO LISTEN TO THEM.

HOWEVER, THEY DEFFO DID LIVE COMMENTARY OF THE HURLING GAME AT PARNELL PARK LAST NIGHT.

AM BOLDING THIS AND SHOUTING IT OUT LOUD, SO THAT MORE PEOPLE WILL SEE IT.

IT ALWAYS AMAZES ME HOW SO FEW PEOPLE SEEM TO KNOW ABOUT DUBLIN CITY FM.

GOSH, I FEEL LIKE A MOD NOW, BEING ALL BOLD N'ALL. CAN I BAN SOMEONE? :D

Slattsy wrote: »
    Roscommon charging fans 10e for the "complimentary" buses they put on !!! Scandalous, shameless and cringeworthy stuff.

Jesus, it really is bend over and grab your ankles time, when the Dubs come to town isn't it? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Change of venue was annoying alright. However, there wasn't much difference time-wise for driving down and we had planned to leave at about 10.00 anyway. Got to Carrick at about 12.15, got some food and went to the stadium about 45 minutes before kick off. Decent view from the side opposite the stand.

I thought Carthy was very good today, as were Fenton and O'Conghaile. They've a good mix of physicality and being good footballers. Full forwards were very hit and miss but I suppose that's what comes with the conditions.

There was a young Roscommon lad behind me, about 12 years old and he knew every nearly every single one of the Dublin players, which was fairly impressive to be honest. Really shows the draw that the team is at the moment.

Also, for anyone that was there, those toilets...I'm pretty sure they were pig troughs in a previous life.

At least Carrick had "proper" toilets, as such. The stands at Hyde just have portaloos. :rolleyes:

The venue change wasn't that big a deal, if you were driving. Added about 30 mins more to the trip. No biggie. The biggest kick in the nuts was for the people who got buses or trains to Roscommon and had no way of getting to Carrick. They would have had a stressful couple of hrs trying to figure out how to get to there, until someone decided to get the finger out with the buses. And then, to add insult to injury, the money grabbing hoors charged money for the buses. The whole thing was a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I was talking to folks from the Rossies and they said that hotels b&b etc knew that it wasn't going ahead,But didn't want to loose out on bookings etc.
    The county board should have layed on buses from the station rather than lads organising buses to get them there and paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

Really poor loss this evening. Fair play to Limerick they took some brilliant scores, especially in the second half, but we left it behind us a bit.

I can't understand how Cunningham did nothing to curb the influence of the Limerick sweeper (number 7). Time and again we'd play it short only for our defenders to drop it right on top of him. WTF is the point in that? I actually believe (i'm in a small minority i think) the short puck outs can yield dividends but if the opposition adapts you have to change it.

Another consequence of that was McMorrow, Treacy and McGrath did nothing to stop the Limerick backs coming out with it because they were outnumbered. A number of simple overlaps produced loads of their scores.

Referee not sending off the Limerick man for striking was a scandalous decision. Had Rushe rolled around on the ground and accepted medical attention he would have produced a red. Shocking stuff.

Care to revisit that last comment now that the highlights show it was a dive by Rushe? Disgraceful carry-on

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

At least Carrick had "proper" toilets, as such. The stands at Hyde just have portaloos. :rolleyes:

The venue change wasn't that big a deal, if you were driving. Added about 30 mins more to the trip. No biggie. The biggest kick in the nuts was for the people who got buses or trains to Roscommon and had no way of getting to Carrick. They would have had a stressful couple of hrs trying to figure out how to get to there, until someone decided to get the finger out with the buses. And then, to add insult to injury, the money grabbing hoors charged money for the buses. The whole thing was a shambles.

And remember how last year the Connacht Final was played in the Hyde and when we complained that it too small to hold the crowd, that season ticket holders were told they were out on the terrace as the stands were too small and the facilities were just stoneage we were told to "sush" by lots outside of the county....... now you get the reason why :)
    Place is not fit to hold any intercounty game and that has become more evident this year when they got promoted.
    The act they pulled with the cancellation and the buses just puts the icing on it really.
    At least the banana bus got a run out and the sponsors got to see it on the road! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Nokotan wrote:
    I thought Carthy was very good today, as were Fenton and O'Conghaile. They've a good mix of physicality and being good footballers. Full forwards were very hit and miss but I suppose that's what comes with the conditions.

That's a good way to describe our 8 and 9 today. I think Emmet is getting better, can he take a point though? He has a good engine, I'm talking about him the way I was talking about Fenton last year, he was up and down the pitch, transitioning from half back to half forward. It was a nice midfield battle today.
    We will need those lads, I'm convinced MDMA is going to have a dynamic influence on the fullback line this year
    I think he'll play a defensive roll supporting midfield and maybe make some runs forward. The roll he played in the replay against Mayo and the final against Kerry, I think that's the plan for him. The penno shout Donaghy had in the final last year against McMahon, MDMA won that ball, two handed lamped it up the field, Star wasn't getting a look at it regardless. He went in to help our on AOS too.

Carthy got two lovely scores , or finished some lovely team moves.
    I don't know about his other contributions though, but he took his points well.
    So Rock got 1-8 of the 1-13 , 1-1 from play. You have to appreciate that.
    If he could learn to salp the ball MDMA style instead of the arms out swing the player lunge he does he'd improve his worth to the team considerably imo. That's some score though, it needs to be recognised. He could possibly push kilkenny for a spot again. Kilkenny has been very strong ,an option on kickouts a sweeper, but his scoring contribution has dropped, compare him to the man who kicked 3 points against mayo in 2012. It's easy to forget how young he is. But I'd like to see him take more shots.

Why Roscommon didn't drop more ball into D Shine and kilbride is strange to me. I was disappointed they didn't mix it up more, others will we could have done with the test.
    Overall when O'Sullivan went off I thought we lost our shape. A defence without O'Sullivan, McCarthy, Byrne, McMahon, Cooper etc went shapeless . A gap appeared between the back line and midfield that the half back line didn't fill properly towards the end of the game, McCarthy would fix that quickly though
    Lowndes was decent today imo and was missed too. He had the speed and movement required, Daly was quiet but effective, I think he'll continue to be a sub in the championship, sent on with man marking duties.
    Good to see O'brien back he was OK, looks stronger

Thought David BK Byrne was off the pace today, a bit wayward.

I think Roscommon will need another season in division one to get to grips with the likes a of Dublin, Tyrone, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo at full force.
    They have some good accurate forwards Devaney and Donnie today in particular. I'd agree that Donnie is a starter for Roscommon but in the forwards, he's impressive in there under a high ball and he's accurate, I couldn't see him with the engine for 8 or 9 as we know now the roll for a full game.

Seeing O'Gara back was great. Although only Flynn seemed to put the right ball into him.
    McHugh was as good as I've seen him for the seniors, his point was very good he adapted his play and took on a more direct route although Roscommon went to sleep before halftime and we got some one on one exposure the gave us some scores. Overall though I don't think he'll see championship time this year, he would need a run like Costello has had now. I'd be very close to starting Costello.

Thought Kevin Mc caused problems, great buzz when he was on the ball.
    Good crowd today all the same, got a great seat in the stand and the home supporters around me were decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

incredible stuff to move the game at the last minute today , carrick on shannon must be nearly an hour drive in the wrong direction for dublin supporters today did many on here get caught?

I dont think many did, they delayed the game. I was never at a game in Carrick before.
    I think the dogs in the street knew it was going to be played there, we'd planned for it.
    It was a decision born from greed and disregard to some of the travelling fans , I'd say more will hold off staying there next year and bring the car. I'd say the lads had good fun on the bus anyway , made the most of it. Any gains made this year in Roscommon will be lost next year assuming we are on a two year home away cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

grimbergen wrote: »
    Care to revisit that last comment now that the highlights show it was a dive by Rushe? Disgraceful carry-on

No thanks. I'll stand by what i wrote.

The League Sunday replay i saw showed the Limerick man hitting Rushe across the chest. He didn't hit him hard and it was in frustration not malice but thats besides the point. Striking is a red card offence. Referee bottled it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

The League Sunday replay i saw showed the Limerick man hitting Rushe across the chest. He didn't hit him hard and it was in frustration not malice but thats besides the point. Striking is a red card offence. Referee bottled it.
    And I'll stand by it to.

Gavin was horrendous yesterday, 2 Limerick men beside me said he robbed us too. They'd worked out if he had been fair equally to both teams it should have been a draw at half time and Ryan should have seen red too. Regardless of that I thought he looked extremely disinterested, he spent most of the game looking at the ground or with his back to the ball.

Anyway, I think yesterday was good for us though. There are lessons to be learned from and hopefully we'll push on in Leinster. Wexford look set to give us a good run after a poor start to the league. A bit of luck against Kilkenny and then with how Galway are playing a Leinster isn't far from our reach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Nobody was charged for a complimentary bus

Some Dublin fans took it upon themselves to hire buses in Roscommon to bring them to Carrick, they didn't bother with the complimentary buses

Fair enough so. The one good thing the Ros Co Board have done today is to clarify that.

What was the traffic like on the way home? After leaving the car park at the ground, I turned right & headed to Boyle to visit some inlaws. I was heading in the opposite direction to Dublin bound traffic, but cars heading into town on the N4, was backed up for a couple of miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

Take off your blue tinted glasses and watch again. He squared up to him but that's as far as it went. Pity to see a fine hurler like Rushe reduced to this.

As for the poster after you saying Dublin would have won if it wasn't for the ref, all I can say is LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Fair enough so. The one good thing the Ros Co Board have done today is to clarify that.

What was the traffic like on the way home? After leaving the car park at the ground, I turned right & headed to Boyle to visit some inlaws. I was heading in the opposite direction to Dublin bound traffic, but cars heading into town on the N4, was backed up for a couple of miles.

I wouldn't really call it fair. My guess is that those fans did not know there were complimentary buses so organised their own.
    Roscommon should be ashamed and embarrassed at how they handled this.

I wouldn't really call it fair. My guess is that those fans did not know there were complimentary buses so organised their own.
    Roscommon should be ashamed and embarrassed at how they handled this.

I was trying to be magnanimous. :rolleyes:

The dogs on the street knew that the games wasn't going to be in the Hyde. If the Ros Co Board had an ounce of decency or basic cop on, they would have organized the bus last night and then tweeted about it/announced it, in tandem with the venue change announcement.

This is what happened yesterday morning me and the lads were about 20 mins away from Roscommon station,When news started to filter through that the match had been switched to Carrick.when we arrived at Roscommon station there was no one from the county board there to inform us of what the situation was.
    A Gardai car arrived on the scene and we asked was there any buses been laid on to transfer us to Carrick,In fairness to both the guards they made calls about buses been laid on but the answer at the time was NO.
    One of the guards called a local bus hire company who agreed to take us to Carrick for €10 per person,The people on the train agreed to this and we agreed a time at the Abbey hotel.
    Around 12 I got a text to say that the Roscommon board were laying on a bus and that it was going be at Molloys bakery,At this stage I thought that the bus I arranged was going be covered by the county board.
    While leaving the Abbey hotel there was no courtesy bus at the bakers,So we assumed that the bus we were on board was going look after the costs.
    It was only after talking to the driver that he said no arrangements were made,I have since spoken to the owner of the company who will send me the bill for the bus.
    The story here is there was no communication from the Roscommon county board,The only offer of support came from the ticket inspector on the train who said that our tickets would be valid for the return journey from Carrick-On-Shannon.
    In my opinion a member of the Roscommon county board should have met us at the station.
    Instead of us getting info from FB texts etc.
    This could have and should have been done more professionally, I'm just a normal fan that tried to make a bleak situation better by trying to organise transport for people that came down on the train.
    There also was a couple that spend €65 on a taxi due to the man been in a wheel chair were the bus could not accommodate them,What did the county board expect us to do ?sit on our hands hoping that something would be done.
    The bus operator has been in contact with me and is going to send an invoice out,I don't want the €10 back neither do the lads who were with me.
    But if the county board could make a donation to two charities I'm sure everyone will be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Assume everyone here has seen this already?

A politician who can't spell his own county properly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

This is what happened yesterday morning me and the lads were about 20 mins away from Roscommon station,When news started to filter through that the match had been switched to Carrick.when we arrived at Roscommon station there was no one from the county board there to inform us of what the situation was.
    A Gardai car arrived on the scene and we asked was there any buses been laid on to transfer us to Carrick,In fairness to both the guards they made calls about buses been laid on but the answer at the time was NO.
    One of the guards called a local bus hire company who agreed to take us to Carrick for €10 per person,The people on the train agreed to this and we agreed a time at the Abbey hotel.
    Around 12 I got a text to say that the Roscommon board were laying on a bus and that it was going be at Molloys bakery,At this stage I thought that the bus I arranged was going be covered by the county board.
    While leaving the Abbey hotel there was no courtesy bus at the bakers,So we assumed that the bus we were on board was going look after the costs.
    It was only after talking to the driver that he said no arrangements were made,I have since spoken to the owner of the company who will send me the bill for the bus.
    The story here is there was no communication from the Roscommon county board,The only offer of support came from the ticket inspector on the train who said that our tickets would be valid for the return journey from Carrick-On-Shannon.
    In my opinion a member of the Roscommon county board should have met us at the station.
    Instead of us getting info from FB texts etc.
    This could have and should have been done more professionally, I'm just a normal fan that tried to make a bleak situation better by trying to organise transport for people that came down on the train.
    There also was a couple that spend €65 on a taxi due to the man been in a wheel chair were the bus could not accommodate them,What did the county board expect us to do ?sit on our hands hoping that something would be done.
    The bus operator has been in contact with me and is going to send an invoice out,I don't want the €10 back neither do the lads who were with me.
    But if the county board could make a donation to two charities I'm sure everyone will be happy.
    Sounds like the guards did a solid turn there fair play to them

The two Gardai in fareness along with the train inspector did there best to solve a sticky situation,The Gardai also called in to the Abbey hotel to give us up dates on the bus situation.
    I still think that a member of the county board should have been there to meet and greet the people coming down on the train that morning

I wouldn't really call it fair. My guess is that those fans did not know there were complimentary buses so organised their own. Roscommon should be ashamed and embarrassed at how they handled this.

Is the Dublin roscommon match on any player ?
    If it was on TV all my auto records missed it