Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking - explosions at Brussels Airport **Mod warning in post 1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

gandalf wrote: »
    Reading some of comments here it appears that some people are falling right into the strategy of division that Daesh are pushing with these atrocities.
    If division is what it takes to keep us a civilised society, play on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

murpho999 wrote: »
    Well I was just trying to bring some perspective to people who are afraid to travel or go to affected countries.

You list helped prove my point. You’re going back 15 years and total deaths of 3507. All tragic and wasteful.

However, the populations of the affected areas total approx. 950 million. So 0.003% have been killed by terrorists.

I am not lessoning the tragedy of these events, they are awful, but I am trying to show that the chances of being caught up in these random attacks are very slim and we should not curtail our plans and lifestyles as that is what the terrorists want to achieve most.

Ehh this does not count the many thousands killed in Middle East not just within Syria, Iraq, Turkey and Israel, but all across the region.
    It does not count the thousands killed in Africa or Afghanistan, India, Pakistan.

It does not count the non fatal attacks in the likes of US, Canada, UK, France, etc where people have been wounded.
    And it does not count the numerous times attacks have been twarted.

The thing with these attacks is they are indiscriminate.

Some folks are trying to equate them to PIRA, but they are not even in the same ballpark.

Much as I detest PIRA, etc they did not set out to do wholesale slaughter on totally innocent people, because they had some cop on to know it would mean a total clampdown on them.
    These fundamentalists are not interested in even their own lives.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

The Warrington Bombings 23 year anniversary was two days ago. Two innocent young boys lost their lives that day when the IRA bombed a shopping district. No matter what the motive lets not pretend the IRA didnt target 'soft' targets as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    The Warrington Bombings 23 year anniversary was two days ago. Two innocent young boys lost their lives that day when the IRA in a shopping district. No matter what the motive lets not pretend the IRA didnt target 'soft' targets as well.

I missed your thread on it.

Use the search facility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,410 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The Warrington Bombings 23 year anniversary was two days ago. Two innocent young boys lost their lives that day when the IRA in a shopping district. No matter what the motive lets not pretend the IRA didnt target 'soft' targets as well.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/ira-insists-warrington-bomb-alerts-were-given-terrorists-fear-loss-of-support-1499306.html

I can imagine these lads phoning up the Airport before setting off Suicide bombs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

screamer wrote: »

No division as we have seen from history leads to more suffering and destruction, but hey if you and others see that as the way forward then bury your heads in that mound of sand :rolleyes:

listermint wrote: »
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/ira-insists-warrington-bomb-alerts-were-given-terrorists-fear-loss-of-support-1499306.html

I can imagine these lads phoning up the Airport before setting off Suicide bombs :rolleyes:

Ahh thats grand so. They rang ahead before killing two innocent young boys. Makes it all ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 longvacation

see youtube regarding Trump on Brussels last January

youtube.com/watch?v=Y9JBQvGJ4as

see about 2.30 minutes in....

Ahh thats grand so. They rang ahead before killing two innocent young boys. Makes it all ok.

Im unsure where anyone implied it was ok, Can you read that post back to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

It's hard to get people in the modern world to devote a simple half an hour a week to go to mass, they have missed the boat if they think people are going to want to go down the Sharia road.

You mean in today's Ireland and you are talking about a different religion. The modern world is much larger and Islamic extremists might be a bit more persuasive than your local priest when they request something from you.

Sorry, thought thats what you were implying with your post.

The linked article you posted shows the IRA tried to blame the police for not acting on their bomb threats/ telephoned warnings. As if that was some sort of exoneration for planting the bombs in a shopping district/ public area in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

seamus wrote: »
    Go read the bible. It's full of stuff urging people to murder nonbelievers and committing genocide in the name of god.

The narrative that both the conservatives and the terrorists want you to believe is that Islam is the enemy. That Islam is hell bent on destroying you and your family.

As a book, the Quran is a hateful, disgusting piece of fiction. But so too are the Bible and the Torah and a pile of other religious books.
    Islam is the enemy, its a despicable ideology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

You forgot Oslo, 2011. 77 dead.

Oh wait, that wasn't a Muslim attack. Never mind, it didn't happen.

Religion is a vehicle. If Christianity was the majority religion in the regions these terrorists come from, these killings would be occurring in the name of Christianity.

Focussing all of your ire on Islam is rather pointless, it won't solve any issues. And experience teaches us over and over that when you attack or attempt to suppress a specific ideology, it becomes violent and dangerous.

Classic AH bullsh*t, plays well to the "progressive" crowd because it allows you to pass the buck to blame religion in general

There has been lots of terrorist groups in Europe since the turn of the century, how many have made Christianity the religion of the vast majority of its population a core tennent of their movement

Looked like a "but they called a warning in, so it was a nicer bombing" excuse to me as well. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

screamer wrote: »

Actually it will lead to more attacks. ISIS have been successful in indoctrinating muslims in Europe because of division and hatred towards them, in the same way IRA recruitment spiked after British shows of force here in Ireland, hatred towards muslims will lead to more people joining ISIS and therefore more attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Islam is the enemy, its a despicable ideology.

And.......

......unfollow thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

endacl wrote: »
    And.......

......unfollow thread.

Off you go, good lad.

Actually it will lead to more attacks. ISIS have been successful in indoctrinating muslims in Europe because of division and hatred towards them, in the same way IRA recruitment spiked after British shows of force here in Ireland, hatred towards muslims will lead to more people joining ISIS and therefore more attacks.

Mr nail meet Mr hammer and this is exactly what Daesh wants and some of you are queuing up to deliver it to them on a silver platter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Europe needs a strong hand here. All migrants and their kids should be rounded up and repatriated back to where they first came from. All military, peacekeeping and aid agencies should cease to act in these countries and let them have their Caliphate over in the Middle East. Have strict border controls, don't allow any of the people from those areas into Europe. Let them create and live in their own hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,321 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Bob24 wrote: »
    You mean in today's Ireland and you are talking about a different religion. The modern world is much larger and Islamic extremists might be a bit more persuasive than your local priest when they request something from you.

When people have education, jobs, democracy and access to media they have little need for religion which when based on science and fact is full of holes which is most religions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Probably no big news to anyone, but the Belgium federal court posted an official confirmation the explosions "are terrorist attacks": https://twitter.com/fcinq/status/712232999929180160/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

To those that insist on making a comparison between this and the IRA let's actually compare it.
    How exactly do we negotiate with them?what demands do they have we can compromise on, look at Sunningdale dialogue through 80's and ceasefire 94.
    If its like the IRA that means there is a serious level of support among the population these protagonists are coming for their goals if not their methods and a large minority turning a blind eye too combatants and a small but real minority giving active support.

If its a genuine comparison rather than simply disingenuous whataboutery these questions have to be answered.

We're already getting lawyers who defend terrorists to Pat Finnucsne. Defending scumbag terrorists.

You sure there isn't some truth in these comparisons to the IRA.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭JPNelsforearm

It's hard to get people in the modern world to devote a simple half an hour a week to go to mass, they have missed the boat if they think people are going to want to go down the Sharia road.

LOL, no need to convert when the native Belgians are on a demographic slide and they Belgian government is importing ready made committed muslims. Its not advertised for the "benefit" of Belgians, its aimed at the Islamic community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

You forgot Oslo, 2011. 77 dead.

Oh wait, that wasn't a Muslim attack. Never mind, it didn't happen.

Religion is a vehicle. If Christianity was the majority religion in the regions these terrorists come from, these killings would be occurring in the name of Christianity.

Focussing all of your ire on Islam is rather pointless, it won't solve any issues. And experience teaches us over and over that when you attack or attempt to suppress a specific ideology, it becomes violent and dangerous.

For every single "Christian" terror attack you will see at least 100 attacks attributed to Islam. Islam is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Europe needs a strong hand here. All migrants and their kids should be rounded up and repatriated back to where they first came from. All military, peacekeeping and aid agencies should cease to act in these countries and let them have their Caliphate over in the Middle East. Have strict border controls, don't allow any of the people from those areas into Europe. Let them create and live in their own hell.

And if it turns out that the bombers were born in Belgium?

Sorry, thought thats what you were implying with your post.

I think your apology is utter nonsense, in fact its horse Sh*te.

You thought that i implied it was alright to kill kids as long as you phone it in ?

Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Classic AH bullsh*t, plays well to the "progressive" crowd because it allows you to pass the buck to blame religion in general
    Whoosh. Way to miss the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

And if it turns out that the bombers were born in Belgium?

I'd re-read the sentence you have bolded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Right if they are so like the IRA as people seemed determined they are
    Who's their Gerry and how do we get them to the table for talks?