Garda Recruitment - Garda Trainees (Templemore)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 ToC15

I know its a few weeks away yet but for the induction week what is the dress code does anyone know? Are we expected to arrive in suit and tie, smart casual or something in between? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Killinator

ToC15 wrote: »
    I know its a few weeks away yet but for the induction week what is the dress code does anyone know? Are we expected to arrive in suit and tie, smart casual or something in between? Thanks

Suit and tie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ciaran1818

Well lads,
    Couple of things, the induction week on tuesday, it says about family coming? Is that the standard yeah? Like is it a few hours a walkthrough of the college for all there?
    Also, im coming from west wicklow area if anyone from around needs a lift for the first few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Think family get a quick cup a tea and a show around between 9 and 10 as we start the induction at 10. Got the email for uniform sizes and bank details there yesterday. So who from boards is goin down on 29th?

thekopend wrote: »
    Think family get a quick cup a tea and a show around between 9 and 10 as we start the induction at 10. Got the email for uniform sizes and bank details there yesterday. So who from boards is goin down on 29th?

I am. Got the letter about the uniform and bank details too

I am. Got the email about the uniform and bank details too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭ELJeff

I'll be going down myself, Anyone looking for judo suits arounf limerick picked up one in Gleeson's today 37E so not too bad, really recommend trying it on as three diff online size charts gave one size but soon as I walked in to the shop I was told a smaller size and that size as perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭milo101

ELJeff wrote: »
    I'll be going down myself, Anyone looking for judo suits arounf limerick picked up one in Gleeson's today 37E so not too bad, really recommend trying it on as three diff online size charts gave one size but soon as I walked in to the shop I was told a smaller size and that size as perfect.

Oh good stuff, will go in this evening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Lc201395

Think you can get judo suits in the college shop too if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Collielover

Lc201395 wrote: »
    Think you can get judo suits in the college shop too if needs be.

Yep college sells them for 27e, and you won't need them for the first few months anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Wannabegarda

Well lads for the weeks leave during the training. Do they expect you to do work during it or is it a week for yourself to have off?

Good question, i've been wondering this too. Was half thinking of heading away for one of the weeks but not sure if we'd be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Killinator

Lc201395 wrote: »
    Good question, i've been wondering this too. Was half thinking of heading away for one of the weeks but not sure if we'd be allowed.

It's entirely your choice, you're kind of expected to do some study, you may even get some form of written excercise to submit, but no one's gonna chase you down to see what study you did, that's all on you.

Killinator wrote: »
    It's entirely your choice, you're kind of expected to do some study, you may even get some form of written excercise to submit, but no one's gonna chase you down to see what study you did, that's all on you.

Holiday it is then haha, depends on what weeks they give us I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Wannabegarda

Ya I decided to go for a break a week before induction to get it out of my system. I'll be fully focused then when I go in.

Lads anyone who has been through or in the college how long will we be waiting for uniforms and would we need a second suit to keep us going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Coco8

Hey guys, I'll be starting on the 4th of April and I guess a good few more on here will be too! Congrats to the others who got it and I'm sure anyone waiting will get the June intake :-)

I'm just wondering what ye suggest to bring with ye for the first week up there? I know there'll be info packs going out but have ye heard from anyone currently there who has suggested little things that we might not realise until its too late?? Is everyone wearing suits etc too?

Finally, I'm curious if anyone knows the story with getting time off when in the college, besides the allocated weeks. I have a few weddings on weekdays and I'd hate to miss them(Best man duties). On the other hand I don't want to get crucified for requesting a few training days off if its a big no no.... One of them is mid April, so I don't think that would go down too well if I asked for it.

Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 forevergreen

Lads does anyone know what oom they finished giving offers for this round?
    Do you think anyone around 1100 will be getting calls for next round?

Lads does anyone know what oom they finished giving offers for this round?
    Do you think anyone around 1100 will be getting calls for next round?

I know of 980's so it is likely depending on how many left before that number get vetting ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Turbo T

Lads anyone who has been through or in the college how long will we be waiting for uniforms and would we need a second suit to keep us going?

Bring a few shirts and jumpers and the likes. We waited 5 weeks for our uniforms. Other groups weren't waiting as long but just to be prepared anyway.

You'll be in tracksuits for the first week anyway doing the induction. Make sure you bring the swimming gear. You'll be in the pool the first week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Leo1986

Turbo T wrote: »
    Bring a few shirts and jumpers and the likes. We waited 5 weeks for our uniforms. Other groups weren't waiting as long but just to be prepared anyway.

You'll be in tracksuits for the first week anyway doing the induction. Make sure you bring the swimming gear. You'll be in the pool the first week.

The swimming gear I know there has been alot of talk of these in previous posts on this thread but never really got clarification, should they be proper speedos as in budgie smugglers. Thanks for the info as always

Oh so when you get into training its not full suit all the time like black pants shoes shirt and nice jumper is fine? Sound for the reply

Swimming shorts be grand. You don't need the tight ones. They aren't as strict. Not holiday yolks now with flowers and mad designs on them. Plain navy or black will do the job.

Well yea, trousers and shoes, shirt and that. You wouldn't need a blazer all the time. A jumper would do you. No jeans and cons you know

Swimming shorts be grand. You don't need the tight ones. They aren't as strict. Not holiday yolks now with flowers and mad designs on them. Plain navy or black will do the job.

Well yea, trousers and shoes, shirt and that. You wouldn't need a blazer all the time. A jumper would do you. No jeans and cons you know

Sound ya. I have the regular navy speedo togs like shorts got. Big shop done today haha. Are you in for much longer or are you finished?

Finished up and all now down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 pp1401

I no somebody who started in the college in Nov and until they got uniform it was a suit all the time. Trousers shoes shirt and tie, obviously you don't wear a suit jacket all day. And college tracksuit when doing practical stuff. Nobody got away with wearing jumpers over shirts.

I' down for induction week on the 29th of March. Just wondering if the room we are assigned for that week is our room for the whole 32 weeks or will someone else be in it for the second week of induction starting the 4th of April? Just want to know if I can bring all my stuff down for the duration of the course with me that week or not....
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 pp1401

ToC15 wrote:
    I' down for induction week on the 29th of March. Just wondering if the room we are assigned for that week is our room for the whole 32 weeks or will someone else be in it for the second week of induction starting the 4th of April? Just want to know if I can bring all my stuff down for the duration of the course with me that week or not.... Thanks.

You will get your room key on the day of induction and that will be your room. But generally you get moved to residential houses in the area to make way for new intakes so won't be living in the college itself for the full 32 weeks.

pp1401 wrote: »
    You will get your room key on the day of induction and that will be your room. But generally you get moved to residential houses in the area to make way for new intakes so won't be living in the college itself for the full 32 weeks.
    Grand. Thanks for the reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 itsmeimback

Does anyone know if you can stay in the halls the night before induction or would you just have to book into a hotel.