Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Ya, it would be some what surprising to me also. Apparently played well in few games for Carlow IT. I wouldn't read too much into it to be honest. I don't expect many of them to feature too much for the seniors come championship. Shane Bennett the obvious excpetion with a few more who could feature during the league, all comes down to how well they feature then when given the opportunity. Would like to see McNulty get some game time in the league. No harm in seeing how Colm Roche and Molumby can handle it either, especially against the college teams. I presume that is Mikey Kearney midfield also? Wonder could he be an option in a Jamie Barron type role, as a back up as such? Didn't have a great year last year after a promising winter in challenge and Waterford Crystal games in the forwards.
    Nah for me, Mikey Kearney is a pure corner forward. He's a better scoring forward than Jamie Barron so I'd keep him in the corner where he could do damage, he's still only 20 so plenty of time for him.
    Is that Colm Roche full forward or Stephen Roche?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Alex Ferguson was 10 years at united before he won anything. Patience is a virtue. What about the people last year saying they'll never again watch Waterford while McGrath is in charge? These same people were back in Croke Park for an All Ireland semi in August waving white and blue flags. That's surely a sign of progress in itself

4 years :pac: Little less even :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    Nah for me, Mikey Kearney is a pure corner forward. He's a better scoring forward than Jamie Barron so I'd keep him in the corner where he could do damage, he's still only 20 so plenty of time for him.
    Is that Colm Roche full forward or Stephen Roche?

I didn't think Stephen was with the panel this year, just presumed it was Colm as he had been training with the team but I can't say for sure who it was.

Could be right with Kearney, I just don't see him getting in there with Waterford currently with Patrick Curran coming on board full time, Shane Bennett possibly playing a corner role, Maurice in full. That's to say if there was to be a 3 man full forward line though. Still have the likes of Dunford then, not to mention Brick, Jake, Stephen Bennett, Pauric Mahony. Hopefully Kearney sticks with it though as he clearly is a very talented hurler.

What role do people see Brick playing this year? Will he be the half forward ball winner again or will he be redeployed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

Alex Ferguson was 10 years at united before he won anything. Patience is a virtue. What about the people last year saying they'll never again watch Waterford while McGrath is in charge? These same people were back in Croke Park for an All Ireland semi in August waving white and blue flags. That's surely a sign of progress in itself
    There are enough good players available to win the Munster Championship. It is time to drop the manana approach. It is time for the excuse making to stop.
    Its only a cop out. It is a defeatist mentality. Its now or never. Introducing Alex Ferguson into this is only a red herring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Alex Ferguson was 10 years at united before he won anything. Patience is a virtue.

Agreed, all managers should get a decade in charge...because Alex Ferguson did.

Wait what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

culbaire wrote: »
    2016 is year three of the three year plan. The minimum requirement is a Munster Senior title.

I would say that minimum requirement is improvement from last year. That still wouldn't guarantee any silverware. Winning the Munster title has lost its aura in my opinion. I think it would be a bigger achievement to get to an all Ireland final. I know i might get some stick for saying that but i just think that this group of players have to get used to the whole build up to an all ireland final and all the pressure it brings so that down the line we have a better chance of winning an all ireland. The saying that you have to lose an ireland first before you win one has some truth to it IMO.
    If the players are happy with Derek McGrath and the team is improving every year i think that's all we can ask for. Unless of coarse Brian Cody wants the Waterford job next year ;)

I would say that minimum requirement is improvement from last year. That still wouldn't guarantee any silverware. Winning the Munster title has lost its aura in my opinion. I think it would be a bigger achievement to get to an all Ireland final. I know i might get some stick for saying that but i just think that this group of players have to get used to the whole build up to an all ireland final and all the pressure it brings so that down the line we have a better chance of winning an all ireland. The saying that you have to lose an ireland first before you win one has some truth to it IMO.
    If the players are happy with Derek McGrath and the team is improving every year i think that's all we can ask for. Unless of coarse Brian Cody wants the Waterford job next year ;)
    The current Clare team won an All Ireland without losing one. A Munster title is not to be sneezed at. Also it is the easier route into the knock out stage. There is no point getting to an All Ireland final and losing it. You may not get the chance again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

That's a fair point, getting to an AI final would eclipse a Munster title IMO. Munster definitely has lost its aura but certainly not to be sniffed at. Would do the team wonders in terms of progression and experience to get to an AI.

Happy new year lads, here's to all Déise sides for 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

The current Clare team won an All Ireland without losing one. A Munster title is not to be sneezed at. Also it is the easier route into the knock out stage. There is no point getting to an All Ireland final and losing it. You may not get the chance again.

Im not saying a Munster title means nothing but the 5/6 week break till the semi final is not ideal to say the least. The last 4 years the Munster winners lost the semi final whether that was due to the long break can be debated but i think it definitely is a factor and i think this is one of the main reasons why the Munster final isn't what it used to be.
    2013 was a freak year in that Clare won an all ireland without having to play Kilkenny or Tipp. That's unlikely to happen again. If Waterford get to an all ireland final the chances are they'll be playing a team that has at least some experience of playing in September. Kilkenny, Tipp, Clare and Galway know what the build up is like and everything that goes with it.
    2008 is the obvious example here as both the Waterford management and players did not handle the build up to the all ireland very well at all. The pressure got to the players and they weren't helped by a manager who sent some of our players out to try and rough up the Kilkenny players. To make it even worse the manager picked two of our more cleanest hurlers to do this job which was a complete joke. But that same manager went on and won an all ireland with his home county and i have no doubt but he learnt alot from losing one with Waterford 5 years previously.
    Obviously if Waterford did get to an all ireland in 2016 they'll be trying to win it but the management and players have zero experience of playing in an all ireland final at senior level. The pressure and media obligations and all the other stuff that goes along with it increases tenfold of that of a semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

Lads will WLR be doing commentary on the munster league matches ? have to say im intigued by the comp heres hoping for an early season cracker , this could give us a real edge over non munster teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The requirement should be to ratchet up scoring rate from play againest the top three teams (kk,Galway,tipp)....as it's well and good hammering Laois etc (no disrespect intended)....but if we're not scoring enough to beat these....they'll not progress

How to do that remains an inquiry....with four forwards and runners from midfield could work...an evolution of sorts from sweeper system...like last years league final??....either way it's interesting times ahead

If someone could put up the Munster league fixtures it would be great....(forgot to screenshot last time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

The requirement should be to ratchet up scoring rate from play againest the top three teams (kk,Galway,tipp)....as it's well and good hammering Laois etc (no disrespect intended)....but if we're not scoring enough to beat these....they'll not progress

How to do that remains an inquiry....with four forwards and runners from midfield could work...an evolution of sorts from sweeper system...like last years league final??....either way it's interesting times ahead

If someone could put up the Munster league fixtures it would be great....(forgot to screenshot last time)

waterfords fixtures in the munster senior league

waterford v limerick 10/1/16 @carriganore
    cork v waterford 13/1/16 @ mallow
    waterford v clare 17/1/16 @ carriganore
    kerry v waterford 24/1/16 @ killarney

final set for the 31/1/16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dubdeise

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    He's hardly here cause of friends? There has to be a proper reason for transferring

Why isn't Billy allowed to play?

Is there any update on Jack Fagan
    I hear he is a serious player

Is he with the panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭mickotallow

Now that January is upon us and the season of AGM's and team meetings is past. Is there any significant news on the club management front? Who's staying? Who's gone and who's come in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

Now that January is upon us and the season of AGM's and team meetings is past. Is there any significant news on the club management front? Who's staying? Who's gone and who's come in?

final squad not to be named until just before nhl munster league will decide players this year

I think he was asking about club championship.

Denis Walsh is staying with Ballygunner apparently. Is the Tallow manager staying on or have they a new man? I believe Abbeyside had a change in management, Dungarvan not sure maybe Archie could shed some light there? Was talk a while back that Joxer was staying on but haven't heard anything since really. Is Ken sticking with Mt Sion? Queally with Passage again. I would imagine Fourmilewater and Ballyduff are retaining their managers if they can after making the semis and narrowly missing out.

I think he was asking about club championship.

Denis Walsh is staying with Ballygunner apparently. Is the Tallow manager staying on or have they a new man? I believe Abbeyside had a change in management, Dungarvan not sure maybe Archie could shed some light there? Was talk a while back that Joxer was staying on but haven't heard anything since really. Is Ken sticking with Mt Sion? Queally with Passage again. I would imagine Fourmilewater and Ballyduff are retaining their managers if they can after making the semis and narrowly missing out.

Thanks DiscoStew. That's exactly what I meant. Haven't heard for definite yet with Tallow but I think we will have a change of management this year. Who's taken over Abbeyside?

Heard that Waterford got a bad beating against Offaly recently.

Thanks DiscoStew. That's exactly what I meant. Haven't heard for definite yet with Tallow but I think we will have a change of management this year. Who's taken over Abbeyside?

John Foley was mentioned at one stage but I'm not sure if that was as manager or trainer. Haven't heard anything since on that front.
    Some talk of Paddy Cooke from Ballygunner looking for a transfer. He is with the county panel currently and he is certainly a decent keeper. Guess he's thinking it'll be hard to overtake Stephen O'Keeffe at Ballygunner and doesn't want to play second fiddle. Anyone know who he is potentially transferring to?
    When is the deadline for transfers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

Brendan Landers training Abbeyside, Liam Lawlor training Youghal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭DLS2THECORE

Transfer deadline is this coming Friday 8th January at midnight. Haven't heard anything of note regarding transfers so expect a quiet "transfer window"

thesultan wrote: »
    Brendan Landers training Abbeyside, Liam Lawlor training Youghal.

Surprise move for Lawlor given Tourin were relegated last year. That may not be a reflection on his abilities as a coach but to go from relegating an intermediate club in Waterford to a senior club in Cork is quite the leap.

It's a surprise alright. That will be Youghal's 3rd Waterford man in recent years following on from Peter Queally and Brendan Landers himself.
    Strange move for Abbeyside to go for Landers. He's had a tough few years with Lismore and has been involved with a number of clubs over the years without any real success. Abbeyside will get it right some year and he might be the man to get them there but it's a gamble after the year they had last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

McGrath out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Transfer deadline is this coming Friday 8th January at midnight. Haven't heard anything of note regarding transfers so expect a quiet "transfer window"

"The Johns" aka "The Mitchell's" always have an ace up their red and green sleeves this time of year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

It isn't really, senior hurling in Cork is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

No relegation in Cork senior hurling for the next couple of years so the risk is greatly lessened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Deskjockey wrote: »
    "The Johns" aka "The Mitchell's" always have an ace up their red and green sleeves this time of year :)

What club are they then? Bloody nicknames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Deskjockey wrote: »

Have heard stradbally are after a ex underage county footballer and rumoured a few more (I work with lads from there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Deise189

Don't know the score but darragh fives played which is good news. Hopefully he can get a good injury free run this year.

**stupid question alert** I presume parking is plentiful at carrignore for Sunday? I've never been there.