Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Monday 21.12.15

Rest, no window for a run with the child minding duties during the day and the Chief's school concert in the evening.

Tuesday 22.12.15

20mins Recovery, the standard 2miles ran again on this recovery run. Legs feeling refreshed after the rest day.

Wednesday 23.12.15

6miles Easy@9.13min/mile in 55min 16secs

Easy miles in the wind, was blown all over the shop doing this but was nice to get out in a bit of daylight for a change. I got the Garmin back to life after a lot of fiddling about but how long it will last i do not know. Hip behaved itself on this and gave me aggro.

Will be working Christmas Day for the 15th time in a row(no sympathy please:p:p) serving and protecting you all so spare a thought for me when your eating that turkey, feeding the brussel sprouts to the dog and eating bowls of pudding and custard. Christmas Day and New Years Day are the busiest days of the year for us for domestics, the pubs are shut.

I'll tell you all a story, but before i do, i in know way condone domestic violence and think it should have tougher penalties than whats in place already. I done my thesis on the subject when i was studying for my Degree in Police Studies back 15 years ago. I was a young rookie in Raheny back in 2002 and Christmas Day, we got a call to one of the less plush housing estates in Raheny in relation to a domestic violence issue.

The details of the call were quiet vague, but it related to a dispute over dinner. We arrived at the scene and the front door of the house was wide open, my partner and myself went to the door and seen red fluid all over the front door and in the hallway and a knife covered in it lay on the ground as we entered the sitting room. We looked at each other and thought the worst. We went into the sitting room and found a husband and wife sitting in opposite corners of the room.

She was holding her eye and was covered in red, we rushed to her and soon discovered it was red sauce. " Hes after ffin ruining my Christmas clothes Guard!!" as she sat in a pair of Santa covered pyjamas. "She ffin deserved it" came his retort as he threw an empty bottle of red sauce on the ground. We then asked her why she was holding her eye? Her answer was "He stabbed me in the eye with a sausage Guard" he did what? "He stabbed me in the eye with a sausage cause i made it for Christmas dinner!!!". He retorted "FFin sausage, chips and red sauce for Christmas Day dinner Guard, have ya ever seen the likes of it, i did poke her in the eye with a sausage but it was cold, i hadn't put the dinner in the microwave yet, jaysis sausage and ffin chips!!"

Now back then i was a bit green behind the ears and my mouth acted before my brain thought, yeah i still do it a bit now to, but before thinking i said to her "In fairness missus hes right, that's a shocking Christmas dinner". Sh1te i thought the two of them are going to go mad now, so waiting for the torrent of abuse to start, they both started roaring laughing. I looked at my partner and he looked at me, we both shrugged. He approaches me and slaps me on the back and says "Fair play to ya Guard at least you were honest". We checked her eye was ok from the sausage stabbing and left them to enjoy the rest of there Christmas.

Moral of the story, don't cook sausage, chips and red sauce on Christmas Day, cause you'll end up with red sauce all over your Christmas outfit. To all those who read here, pass comment or who just lurk here's wishing you and yours a very Happy Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Glad you got the watch sorted & thanks for working Christmas day to make sure we're all protected :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Jaysis B - sausages in eyes!! You are just throwing the ball in the air for Lemon to hit at this stage!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Jaysis B - sausages in eyes!! You are just throwing the ball in the air for Lemon to hit at this stage!!!

Haha J, I was sorely tempted. Poking burds in the eye with a cold sausage, ffs :)

TbL

That's not even the part I thought he'd pick up on, when I said 'I was blown all over the place" I thought he'd have a feckin field day!! Getting slow in all aspects of his auld age I suppose.

Thursday 24.12.15

2E, 2MP, 1HMP, 2E.

In work atm so no paces or time, this was actually 2MP, 2HMP, 1E cause of fading light. Paces very easy on the body & felt very comfortable to me.

Friday 25.12.15

30 mins recovery, had been a good boy all year. Hoped Santa would bring me my requested present!! Woke up in great excitement was greatly disappointed when I got down stairs, had requested TbL wrapped in a red bow but no such luck. Santa left a note to say he couldn't get TbL's fat arse down the chimney so he had to bring him back to Connemara!!!!

Went into work and dealt with reality, won't give details but most horrendous call I EVER received in my time in my job. Be thankful for your children if you have them.

Saturday 26.12.15

6 miles Easy, got this in before work. Slightly hungover so was happy to keep pace easy. Nothing to report.

Sunday 27.12.15

10 miles Easy, up early to get this done before work. Chilly out but loved every step of this. Really enjoyable run. Got new Garmin 230 off Santa, fantastic piece of equipment, sad to let my 405 out to pasture it has served me well. 37 odd miles for the week, i'll take that for this time of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Looks like Santa got mixed up and gave him to the Austrians instead.

Solid stuff, B, enjoy the rest of the 'holidays'.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Looks like Santa got mixed up and gave him to the Austrians instead.

Solid stuff, B, enjoy the rest of the 'holidays'.

You'd a lucky escape tang, Santa did you a favour :p yipee to the new watch, may it bring many pbs in the year to come

I've pm'ed you a few salacious photos that should tide you over till I get back :)

TbL

I've pm'ed you a few salacious photos that should tide you over till I get back :)

TbL

No you didn't, sure you pm'ed them to me!!

Monday 28.12.15

20mins Recovery, by now the standard two miles covered again. Everything feeling good, hip has settled down again to which i'm grateful for.

Tuesday

6miles Easy@9.14min/mile in 55min 23secs

Out on the road before Frank hit but it was still fairly wild out, again felt strong on this and the hip gave me no issues. The poor auld sheep in the fields were getting blown everywhere with the wind as i made my way back.

So thats it running wise for 2015, on a personal note its been one sh!te year but wont bore ye with that again, apart from the birth of our little Princess in February. Running wise, i bagged one PB in the past 12 months, ran injury free for the year and raced plenty of good and not so good races. I'm more than happy with how 2015 went from a running perspective and feel confident about where things are going heading into 2016.

To the Boardsies i met in 2015, be it a crazed ultraman who thought i was a burd at the Donadea 50k, a D3 couple who ran to PB'S on a glorious sunny March morning by the Atlantic in Bundoran, a generous Mule who brought me for a run along the Liffey one damp Spring afternoon, the day i discovered true love existed as i skipped hand in hand with a Lemon along the sunny banks of the Royal Canal or the late summers day a Bulmers from the Comeraghs showed me how to run hills along the roads of Lisdoonvarna. And finally the morning i Danced with Fire as we ran to a PB along the lumpy roads of Longwood. I think ye all know who ye are from that, a special thanks to ye all for making the time and effort to meet and/or run with me over the past 12 months, it meant a huge deal to me with what i was going through so thank you.

Finally Happy New Year to one and all who visit here, here's hoping we all have a prosperous 2016 from a running point of view. Talk to ye all next year.

See you Friday, very happy to be beating The Lemon to your first run date of the new year :p:D and your first meeting with the legend that is ' aquinn !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Lucky you indeed, what a way to start a new year.

Legend? Amazing yes, legend?????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Cheers, B, that Bundoran PB had a lot to do with your motivational powers. An injury-free year is a good year on any terms. All the best in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Murph_D wrote: »
    Cheers, B, that Bundoran PB had a lot to do with your motivational powers. An injury-free year is a good year on any terms. All the best in 2016.

My Bundoran PB had nothing to do with your motivational powers as I was in a different race, but lovely to meet you all the same and the Tang clan too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Best of luck with the race tomorrow. Hoping to get out to the park to cheer.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Best of luck with the race tomorrow. Hoping to get out to the park to cheer.

Shaved head, all in black with orange runners is me. Hopefully bump into you.

tang1 wrote:
    Shaved head, all in black with orange runners is me. Hopefully bump into you.

Meath sounding no doubt?

aquinn wrote: »
    Meath sounding no doubt?

I can talk like a Dub if that would make you feel more comfortable.......

tang1 wrote:

It actually wouldn't but will hunt for orange runners if the race goes well, if not then I'll pretend I just didn't turn up.

I won't be meeting you so.

tang1 wrote:
    I won't be meeting you so.

? Harsh.
    Fat Turkey top it looks like.

? Harsh.
    Fat Turkey top it looks like.

Lady in green t-shirt who says sake, gotcha.

tang1 wrote:
    Lady in green t-shirt who says sake, gotcha.

Yes! It's going to be a new year so no cursing hopefully. Also the one who looks like she hasn't ran since Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I have a funny feeling you will see and hear each other!!

Good luck with the first race of 2016, B!

tang1 wrote: »

He can do lots of things to make you feel more comfortable, trust me :)

Also, trust me, you can't miss him!!!

TbL

Good luck tomorrow B, McMillan says......;)

nice going there :) well done!!

Absolutely well done. Brutal weather on Chesterfield, TWICE.
    Great to meet you.

Absolutely well done. Brutal weather on Chesterfield, TWICE.
    Great to meet you.

Pleasure to meet you A, hope there's loads of sun on the hols. Great effort by yourself after your bug, Chesterfield was BRUTAL!!!