Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

tang1 wrote: »
    Saturday 16.1.16

2E, 2x3mile@7.15-7.30 3 mins between sets, 2E

Have no splits for this cause I made a balls with the watch as per usual, see neilc's log for splits. Had a date for this, drove over to meet neilc for a tour of the foothills of the Hill of Tara. We set off and Neil explained it would be a rolling route(feckin mountainous more like). The chat flowed about this and that and the first of the faster sections started. I found it tougher than normal to get into the faster pace but settled into it after a mile or so. First 3 mile section was toughish but got through it. The 3 mins recovery felt like 30secs!!!

Into the 3 miles and started to feel the pinch big time, the quad gave me a few darts of pain on a couple of downhills forcing me to stop(sorry again Neil) and massage it. I hung on big style and was never as glad to hear a Garmin beep as Neil's to say the 2nd 3 miles was done. Two miles easy to finish off.

To be honest I found this tough & only for I had company I would have canned it. The quad gave a couple of unwanted pings on downhill sections. It'll only make me stronger anyway, not every session I'm going to do will go well in the lead up to Rotterdam and I have to accept that. Thanks for that today Neil, as I said only for you I would have given in. With all those hills you run Boston should be a doddle to you, you looked completely at ease the whole way round. Tough but as always enjoyable session.

Betya he wasn't as good as me :)

I hope you didn't fall for that auld trick Neil, did he ask you to massage it!

Early days Tong you'll be grand

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Saturday 16.1.16

2E, 2x3mile@7.15-7.30 3 mins between sets, 2E

We set off and Neil explained it would be a rolling route(feckin mountainous more like).

I'm holding my tongue :p:p
    To be honest I found this tough & only for I had company I would have canned it. The quad gave a couple of unwanted pings on downhill sections. It'll only make me stronger anyway, not every session I'm going to do will go well in the lead up to Rotterdam and I have to accept that. Thanks for that today Neil, as I said only for you I would have given in. With all those hills you run Boston should be a doddle to you, you looked completely at ease the whole way round. Tough but as always enjoyable session.

as TBL said early days, and yes, not every session is going to be easy, if it was something would be wrong, just mind that quad will ya? As I've said to you already, no harm getting a massage at this point to pre-empt any potential problems. Well done for sticking with a tough session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    no harm getting a massage at this point.

How you fixed next week C........

I'm holding my tongue :p:p

as TBL said early days, and yes, not every session is going to be easy, if it was something would be wrong, just mind that quad will ya? As I've said to you already, no harm getting a massage at this point to pre-empt any potential problems. Well done for sticking with a tough session.

Thanks AM, it was just one of those days, I know myself I can do that pace no issues, was just tougher today. Will try see someone about the quad next week, promise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Really enjoyed today B. Don't be too hard on yourself, that was a really good session for both of us!

neilc wrote: »
    Really enjoyed today B. Don't be too hard on yourself, that was a really good session for both of us!

Same as, no your right, good session all told and won't beat myself up about it.

How you fixed next week C........

not the someone I had in mind :rolleyes: see you in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

not the someone I had in mind :rolleyes: see you in the morning

Maybe you should clarify who you had in mind just to avoid any misunderstandings ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

... To be honest I found this tough & only for I had company I would have canned it. The quad gave a couple of unwanted pings on downhill sections. It'll only make me stronger anyway, not every session I'm going to do will go well in the lead up to Rotterdam and I have to accept that.

It'll only make you stronger if all the parts hold together. Things can get a bit creaky at this point in a marathon cycle so don't be afraid to back off if necessary. You were definitely right to stop and do the systems check.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Maybe you should clarify who you had in mind just to avoid any misunderstandings ;)

I forgot where I was posting, there's always one (or in here 2 or 3!) I meant Myles as tang well knows :rolleyes:

Sunday 17.1.16

13miles Easy@9.07min/miles in 1hr 58mins 37secs

Up early to drive to the Phoenix Park to meet mbarr for this. As I was driving along the Blanch bypass at half 7 singing away to David Bowie minding my own business and driving well over the speed limit I see it at the last minute at the bottom of the slip road from Clonee, feckin Go-Safe van!! What kind of a job employs an independent company to catch decent people speeding at half 7 on a Sunday morning, morons!!!

Anyway wasn't letting that get me down, met FD at the gates of HQ first looking radiant in the winters light I have to say to give her a few books. Shortly after mbarr trotted along with just a t-shirt on, have to say I wimped out and put my camouflage jacket on cause I'm not even that warm! We said our goodbyes to FD who was meeting a club mate for her 18miler. Off we set up the North Rd, chatting away and hit the trails past the Ashtown gate.

Onto the Castleknock gate and more trails and my first sighting of the Park deer. I lost my bearings after this but we made it back towards the S-bends past the bottom of the Kyber and back to HQ gates. Another lap the same brought me up to the required 13. Much thanks for that this morning M and for showing me around, company was excellent as was the run, we'll do it again no doubt. No bother from the quad and no tiring of the legs like last week, just north of 44 miles for the week. Will endeavour to get a rub-down on the legs this week(not from you though you Durty Bogger Lemon!!!)

Ha ha g'wan ye messer :D the pair of ye were making me cold looking at ye with your shorts & t-shirts :p

glad you enjoyed the run, its great to have the park but as the miles get longer it becomes a very small place indeed...

Get that rub down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice going B, was in the Park myself - kept an eye out for you but we were avoiding the trails today. Were they in decent enough shape? Good week!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice going B, was in the Park myself - kept an eye out for you but we were avoiding the trails today. Were they in decent enough shape? Good week!

Cheers D, soggy in bits but perfectly runnable for the most part. Tranquil parts to run through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Shortly after mbarr trotted along with just a t-shirt on

Far too much information :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Far too much information :D

Shorts to, ya chancer!! Sorry M.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Briefly considered heading for 8am but the 10am tri club start was far more favorable, especially when only for an hour!

Seen a few PULSE tri-members run past the HQ entrance as I finished up, hardly you?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Seen a few PULSE tri-members run past the HQ entrance as I finished up, hardly you?

Nope did start with them but they were behind us at that stage, my run didn't stretch behind the zoo this time, I try to keep to the southside of the park...I like my hills. :)

edit: actually that was probably an earlier group, some out for marathon long runs this morning.

Monday 18.1.16

Rest, looking after the troops, no chance to run.

Tuesday 19.1.16

AM 5miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 45mins 16 secs

Seriously behind the 8 ball this week regarding runs, have to use whatever window i can to get my runs in. Tried a different out and back route around home before heading for work, all felt good. Quad was fine.

PM 20mins Recovery, 2 miles covered before a much needed visit to the physio. Torture for 45 mins at its worst, man i use is an ex 2.2x marathoner from the 80's and knows his stuff. He reassured me the quad was just very tight and there was no other issues with it. After doling out the pain he said my legs were in good shape otherwise. Had to turn a date down with TbL to, heartbroken he was to say the least.

Wednesday 20.1.16

7miles Progression@7.56min/miles in 55min 38secs

Had hoped to do a different run than this but other things conspired against
    me, went into Enfield for a change of scenery thinking a route i had in my head was lit with street lights. Got in to find it wasn't:mad:, was in bad form as is so just ran on the route i had chosen and used the passing traffic to light the paths. Miles progressed as follows;

9.01, 8.40, 8.17, 7.57, 7.36, 7.15, 6.46.

This felt good and the last two miles were probably the most comfortable to during the run. Maybe last Saturdays session with neilc was only a blip. Quad gave no issues on the faster stuff either.

Thursday 21.1.16

5miles Easy@9.09min/miles in 45min 47secs

Physio said Tuesday evening that my hammers may feel sore a few days after the rub down, he wasn't joking. I was walking around like i had cacked my pants all day:eek::eek: so much so that lads at work wanted to know when i was auditioning to play John Wayne:rolleyes::rolleyes:.

Got out for 5 very easy painful to start miles, really started to doubt this whole marathon thing, every part of my legs were aching and i was asking myself that if i feel like this after a few 40miles plus weeks there is no way in hell i'll be towing the line in Rotterdam come the 10th of April. Its obviously the week for a bit of self doubt. I'll keep ploughing on and hope to god the legs hold together for me for another 10-11 weeks.

As you said to me B, it's meant to be tough, it's marathon training. The massage will help but needs a couple of days rest or easy runs afterwards. Physio says your legs are good to go and you ran a great progression run on Wednesday, you're flying.

As the quiz master says 'Ive started so ill finish'..11 weeks to go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Good work Barry. Classic premature taper madness. It's all good ;):D

Friday 22.1.16

Rest, work and the Chief's swimming lessons meant another rest day. Legs were grateful.

Saturday 23.1.16

13miles Steady@8.02min/miles in 1hr 44min 23secs

After a bit of a wobble confidence wise during the week and some sage advice from FD, career move and Coach(cheers lads) i headed out for this with renewed confidence. My readjusted steady pace is 8-8.20min/miles so that was the goal pace wise. Only last week myself and neilc were saying how we always run to the faster side of the paces Coach sets for us and this was no different. Headed off on one of my usual loops and dialed into the pace fairly quick.

Legs were good to and showing no ill effects of the massage earlier in the week, miles flew by and splits were as follows:

8.08, 8.01, 8.00, 8.02, 8.01, 8.00, 7.59, 8.02, 8.05, 7.59, 7.58, 8.01, 7.59.

Happy out with this, never felt under pressure at all and the last 4 miles were my strongest as the splits show. Took 250mls of water with half electrolyte tablet on board at 7 miles and felt it helped me. No issues from the quad either so hopefully that issue is behind me. All good again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Good week, what race are you targeting Tang?

Basster wrote: »
    Good week, what race are you targeting Tang?

Thanks Basster, targeting Rotterdam Marathon in April. Trim 10 mile first though in few weeks.

Oops obviously missed this earlier! That's a great run good on you & glad the wobble is over, till the next one :D (for both of us!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

What a difference a few days can make! You'll be ready, don't worry.

annapr wrote: »
    What a difference a few days can make! You'll be ready, don't worry.

Thanks Anna, hopefully I will. Was bit premature with my reaction after the massage Tuesday evening, getting like TbL!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Have you raced Trim 10 mile?

Darren 83 wrote: »
    Have you raced Trim 10 mile?

No but I only live out the road and know that part of the country. Why you ask?