Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

tang1 wrote: »
    41.05, PB by 5 secs. Pig of a day, will do report later. Still in North, to mean to pay for roaming charges!!

chip time 40:54 so 11 sec pb :) and a sub 41!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Firedance wrote: »
    chip time 40:54 so 11 sec pb :)

Nicer still!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Big congrats B and very well deserved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

chip time 40:54 so 11 sec pb :) and a sub 41!

Where you learn Maths if 41.05 was a 5sec PB, then 40.54 would be a 16sec PB no?! Thanks though.

ha ha oops!! well this just gets better & better :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Nicererer still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Great running on a day like today. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Nice one, B. Well done!

Podium 4sport Seeley Cup 10k - 40.54(275th of 923)

I will be honest, after the lost 2 weeks to illness recently i had zero aspirations going into this. The last bit of speed work i done was the day of the Lemon Slaying back in the end of September:p:p and most of my recent mileage has been ran at a conservative pace which i explained earlier in my log. This was by no means a goal race but would give me an idea where i am heading into Rotterdam training. Coach and myself were on the same wave length thinking 42.xx was a good honest effort considering my recent training.

Up early and on the road to Belfast by half 10, it was a manky morning and got worse as we drove towards the North. I began thinking it may be an omen as my previous 10k PB had been run in similar weather. After a stop off to meet the sister in law with my number and chip it was onto the Ozone in Ormeau Park for the race. Get there at 1.45pm and headed off for a 2 mile warm up, first thing that struck me was the strong wind blowing in off the Lagan river along Ormeau Embankment, we would have to run this stretch 3 times before race end. Skipped in to Ormeau Park and took more of the race route in, the only climb of any kind was after you enter the park gates at the A24. Threw a half mile in at 6.30 which fely good so said i'd try maybe go at 6.35 pace for the race and see how i faired out.

Race:

Mile 1 - 6.35

I was concious of not lining up to near the front as from looking at last years results this was a quick race. The air horn sounded and caught a few runners off guard as there was some shoving from behind as those further up were caught snoozing. Into my stride soon enough and as we ran along Ormeau Embankment you could literally see the wind pushing runners from one side of the road to the other. Great i thought, there is other runners to shelter behind imagine what it will be like without other runners, 0.75 mile in we entered the park for the first time and into some shelter, i flew up the drag first time, gaining a few places. Mile 1 beeped shortly after and feeling strong.

Mile 2 - 6.28

In the shelter of the park i was feeling good, plenty of supporters out cheering which was great considering the weather. Passing runners every few yards i was feeling stronger than i thought i would, a nice little downhill as we approached the Ormeau Embankment again from the northern end of the park. i knew the wind was coming so dug in and kept the effort up, the wind was a bitch, sent me wobbling a few times and i was thankful i only had to do this once more. One thing that really struck me was that nearly every runner was wearing a club singlet, alot more than you would see in races this side of the border. So i switched off from the wind and started looking for new club singlets.

Mile 3 - 6.37

Into the park and up the drag again, felt the pinch a bit as i approached half-way, feck it i went off to hard and am going to blow up i thought. Got to the halfway starting mat and the watch showed 20.48, still well on target for 42 mins i thought. Hurt was creeping in, slow down a bit and you'll still run a decent race, you can blame the conditions look at the bend in those trees. Then i said i have less left than i have ran and feck it i'm going to run this second half quicker than the first, stop making excuses, you do this for yourself don't let you down. And with that the hurt eased, the breathing came back and the legs felt strong again.

Mile 4 - 6.35

In around the park again and the crowds had gotten bigger, loads of parents and kids out cheering people on. I spotted my crew in the crowd and veered towards my young lad, put my hand out and he layed the hardest high 5 i have gotten in years on my hand. That picked me up even more and bouyed my humour no end. Out the gate again and into the wind.

Mile 5 - 6.35

Single file runners now, a Ballymena runner past me just after leaving the park. I had past him a few times and he the same with me earlier in the race, my goal now was to beat him. We switched places 3-4 times as we ran along the Lagan for the last time, the wind was at its strongest and the runners up ahead were sideways nearly as they ran. Then the heavens opened, me and Ballymena were side by side as we entered the park for the last time.

Mile 6 - 6.41

The drag ahead looked like a mountain now, dig in ya bo!!ix its the last time, it was here i dropped Ballymena. I picked runners ahead and used them as a target to pick off before races end. I past a runner in a black and white hooped singlet, he was breathing out of his hoop but obviously took offence to me passing him as a few yards later he barged past me again and threw and elbow at me, no mistake on purpose:mad:. Right horse, no call for that so gave him a few yards, i knew there was a huge puddle coming up and this is where i would make my pass again. So i let him take the dry line and into the puddle i went making the biggest splashes i could as i went by him. I looked at him as i went by and he got a nice face of wet mucky puddle right in the kisser:p. Didn't see him again.

Mile 6-6.2 - 6.11

Was really hanging on now but i knew from my rough maths that i had a PB in the bag, veered off to the left and for the finishing chute tried sprinting but my legs said no, a Ballymena runner snaked past me on my inside but not the lad i had a bit of a battle with earlier. Across the line and doubled over straight away, looked up at the tv which had a live feed of results as we crossed the line, sight was bit blurred but eventually picked my name out, 41.05, over the fecking moon and the pain eased almost instantly.

Verdict:

How can i be disappointed with that? I said at the start i honestly had no aspirations for this race, a good workout and i would be happy. To bag a PB in conditions like today i'm over the moon and i ran a negative split 20.43 for first half to 20.11 for second. My chest was red from the power of the rain in the last mile as i showered after. Its a race with a serious standard and if any faster runners read this get your ass up to Belfast next November. It had 230 sub 40 min runners today compared to 206 in Dunshaughlin this summer. Me thinks i shall be returning for more next year for sure. 8.45 miles for the day.

I'm never listening to you again when you say your not in pb shape! sandbagger :D well done again, you've worked hard & followed your plan apart from when you were sick, you earned that and you're well on your way to Rotterdam now. I hope you're having PB beers??

I hope you're having PB beers??

You know me TO well, there going down so well after that race. Treated myself to some retail therapy in Belfast to, nice new waterproof running jacket purchased in Decathlon after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

That's some running in those conditions!! Well done tang, great pb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

41.05, PB by 5 secs. Pig of a day, will do report later. Still in North, to mean to pay for roaming charges!!

Welcome back, B!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Super race, great time. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Great stuff Tang - delighted for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Loved the race report... The high five with the young fella followed by whupping those black* ballymena feckers ... hi!

Great running, well done!

*not a racist remark, referring to their singlets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Well done B - Congrats on the PB. Great running in them conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Well done man! Great to see you progressing like this, enjoy the beers!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice racing, B. Your puddle technique is especially admirable. Who could come back from that? :p Well done, great PB.

Sunday 29.11.15

10miles Easy@9.23min in 1hr 33min 52sec

Down to the Royal Canal again for this, starting to feel like Dick Warner at this stage. Drove to Thomastown Harbour and ran West again taking in some new miles over this route. The wind was wicked for first 5 miles, straight into my face, thankfully I was only running easy pace. Body was tired & sore from yesterday's race which I took as a good sign. Left foot was stiff and sore but loosened out after a mile or so.

Loved being out as always and would run along the canal everyday if I could. Tired by the time I got back to my car but delighted to get the miles and run in. 32 miles in 5 days this week including a new 10k PB. Few snaps below from my latest adventure.

ah now you're just rubbing it in!!!!!

nice work after your race yesterday and your PB beers last night .... not a trace of begrudgery :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

You da man Tang! Great running in Belfast. Delighted for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good man ;)

you changed your log name! now that you've caught your old self ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Log title change? "can I give more? The answer is usually yes"

You certainly did that day we ran down by the canal :)

TbL

you changed your log name! now that you've caught your old self ;)

Was always the plan, once I beat one of my PB's the log name was being changed. Took a year and a half but I did it.

TbL

Explanation of log title change above, and you certainly weren't complaining that day along the canal about me given more. It's a quote by Paul Tergat.

its a bit early on a Monday morning lads is it not :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

TbL

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, TMI for the rest of us.

A super race and result, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Enjoyed the race report tang. I cant believe he elbowed you?! were you too close or something? I think id probably jump on someone if they elbowed me for nothing!