Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

IvoryTower wrote: »
    Enjoyed the race report tang. I cant believe he elbowed you?! were you too close or something? I think id probably jump on someone if they elbowed me for nothing!

Was good two yards away from the man as i past him, so no where near his space or racing line. Ah he could have been having a bad race or something. I didn't soak him anymore than he already was anyway:p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Just seen the PB - great stuff and a great return to form.
    Well deserved after the year you have had.

Just seen the PB - great stuff and a great return to form.
    Well deserved after the year you have had.

Cheers Alan, hopefully the injury woes are behind me for a while. Good to see you back at it pain free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Just catching up here Tang - congratulations on the PB, sounds like it was pretty manky up there and looking at your aspirations ( or lack of!) it makes it all the more impressive. Well done, keep up the good work

Duanington wrote: »
    Just catching up here Tang - congratulations on the PB, sounds like it was pretty manky up there and looking at your aspirations ( or lack of!) it makes it all the more impressive. Well done, keep up the good work

Cheers D, what with missing two weeks of training due to illness & the weather Saturday the aspirations were low. Him who must be obeyed & myself thought something finishing with 42.xx would be a good result. He obviously has me in better shape than he thought!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

tang1 wrote: »
    He obviously has me in better shape than he thought!!!

I think you might have something to do with that too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Great report tang, and a fantastic result.

Darren 83 wrote: »
    Great report tang, and a fantastic result.

Cheers Darren, hopefully more to come off that time after Rotterdam is complete.

In full flow Saturday afternoon, really have to work on that heel strike though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Whats the target for Rotterdam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

In full flow Saturday afternoon, really have to work on that heel strike though!!

And you were giving out to me for not smiling for the camera :D

Darren 83 wrote: »
    Whats the target for Rotterdam?

Not to give you a short answer, I don't know. I have never gotten through a marathon programme so have no clue what i'm capable of. McMillan has me down for 3.11.xx off Saturdays 10k, but I don't really buy that. Ask me closer to 10th of April '16 I hopefully will have a better idea then.

Firedance wrote: »
    And you were giving out to me for not smiling for the camera :D

That was the most pleasant photo I could find, others made me look seriously drunk!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

That was the most pleasant photo I could find, others made me look seriously drunk!!!

Shows you were concentrating on the job in hand ;)

Also, dont rule out McMillan, the half will give you a clearer idea obviously but you're flying these days, anything is possible and I look forward to a front row seat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Looking at that T I can see why the elbow guy might have thought you deserved a nudge :D

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Looking at that T I can see why the elbow guy might have thought you deserved a nudge :D

Not my fault he couldn't beat a runner with Tri &Run written on his singlet. I needed something to colour coordinate my shorts & runners, it was the best I had!!

Enough of what singlet made my outfit pop the best and back to the task in hand, running.

Monday 30.11.15

Rest, the Boss got a call to go into work early which meant she was gone till 11pm. Suited me as legs were still feeling effects of Saturdays race.

Tuesday 1.12.15

20mins recovery, first few hundred metres the legs were protesting bigtime but started to ease out after that. Again covered 2 miles on the alotted time. Legs thankful for it after.

Wednesday 2.12.15

5miles Easy@9.15min in 46mins 18secs

Hit the footpaths of Summerhill for this on the way home from work. Legs were back to normal and feeling no ill effects from Saturday anymore. Nothing of note happened and met no one while I was out.

Thursday 3.12.15

6miles Steady@8.44min/mile in 52min 52sec

After spending the day getting soaked doing door-to-door enquiries I changed in work and again all roads led to Summerhill. I was a bit meh about this but that was all down to the poxy weather.

Got out and toughed it out, 3 miles into the coldest wind i've felt this year so far and the rain and 3 miles with the cold wind and rain. Got plenty of car horns on this run, maybe it's cause they thought I was a headbanger running in the monsoon rain or it could have been my devishly gorgeous boyhood good looks!! I'll go with the former, ye all seen last night's picture.

My new waterproof jacket got a big thumbs up, kept me bone dry & warm. Money well spent i'm thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

What jacket did you get. On the lookout for a decent one.

Got this fella in Decathlon on Saturday, it was torrential rain my way today and only think that made me wet on top was sweat, not one drop of rain got in on me. Plus it's reflective for night running.

Excellent but does it not make you feel like one of your work clientele wearing it:))

Won't be wearing that again so!!

What's the size like? I got kalanji stuff before and found the sizes odd. Looks like good value for a running jacket.

I got XL cause large was to small(you reading this Fishnet Lemon), got kalanji stuff in France during Summer to and it was all XL that fitted me.

Thanks for that B. Yep got caught in France too. Will go a size up so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Only catching up here B. Didn't even realise this was your log (was wondering where it had gone).

Well done on the pb in Belfast. Great running. A negative split like you said, but really impressive consistent mile splits too. Hope all goes well on the road to Rotterdam. Any more races in between?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Only catching up here B. Didn't even realise this was your log (was wondering where it had gone).

Well done on the pb in Belfast. Great running. A negative split like you said, but really impressive consistent mile splits too. Hope all goes well on the road to Rotterdam. Any more races in between?

Thanks P, some impressive session you knocked out yesterday. Good to see you getting the enthusiasm back for your running. Will do the Tom Brennan 5k New Years Day, then main tune up races for Rotterdam will be the Trim 10 mile and Kinvara Rock and Road Half, hopefully have a good idea then what time to target come Rotterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Given that you sweat more that a hooker working overtime in a sauna, don't know why you're bother by a drop of rain! Blouse!

TbL

Given that you sweat more that a hooker working overtime in a sauna, don't know why you're bother by a drop of rain! Blouse!

TbL

Hows your new jocks?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Hows your new jocks?!

Bit small for a man of my size but I'm sure they'd fit you nice and snug :)

TbL

Bit small for a man of my size but I'm sure they'd fit you nice and snug :)

TbL

There obviously only a 38 inch waste so if there to small for you.