DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Chops1234 wrote: »

I've just packed my bag and belt. Think I've got everything! Have never had so many gels in the belt so it looks like a spare tyre around me :)

I was thinking the same looking at mine, but I figured I'd rather come back with a few extra than wish I'd brought more. Also depending on how many are left in my "stash" by mile 20, I can possibly share them out.

I've laid out everything for tomorrow but looking at it am convinced I'm missing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

So here we are guys. Last chapter of this journey coming up. Tomorrow is your day, 'Now is the Time'.

You've ticked all the controllables, all the aspects of marathon training that are in your hands. Anyone missed the checklist/not done your own? :rolleyes: Find it here, at the end of this post.

Between now and then, have a look at some gold advice from some very experienced - and wise - boardsies and runners from further afield:

THE UNCONTROLLABLES:

- WEATHER
    Wrstan on weather (thanks wrstan and Nop for bringing it over)

See Coach Jenny on what to wear. Have a look at the 'clothes calculating' tool, v useful, I put in Monday's weather on Saturday and came up with singlet and shorts. Of course, you will have tried and tested your final choice on a lsr ;)

- NE's VERY SOUND POST RE TARGET PRESSURE

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97492417&postcount=391

And can't not repost whoopsa's fantastic advice re the day either!

- INJURY
    You might feel something 'pop' along the way. This might be an ongoing niggle or injury. It might be something completely new - this is especially common around miles 18-20. It's going to be a really, really hard call to make but you should pull back and live to run another day if this happens to you. Easier said than done, I know. There will be medical tents along the way. If you need, use them.

and Alan and Conor are experiencing the worst-case 'uncontrollable' scenario. our thoughts are with you and your families....

Have a quick look over the following just to refresh yourselves. Maybe jot down where you think you'll need to remind yourself to dig in, or hold back, or....

FINAL COURSE REFRESHER:

- OFFICIAL CUT
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153689960213185&set=vb.291874688184&type=2&theater

- THE EXPERIENCED CUT
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97315716&postcount=5991
    Thanks yaboya :)

- UNAAINE'S CUT
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97432428&postcount=6728

DIGGING IN AND PULLING YOURSELF OUT OF A HOLE:

You are going to encounter slumps tomorrow. Nobody is promising you an easy ride, especially during the later stages. But these slumps will pass. Promise. Remind yourself of the 'tricks' you used on your lsrs to make these moments pass.

Have a look here at what you guys have done in training to dig yourselves out of a mental slump, and here for super mantra advice from annapr.

Alf Veedersane popped in yesterday to wish you all good luck and also had some invaluable advice:
    "And a bow to everyone who has stayed the course and who will complete the course on Monday.
    You've already won. Don't forget that."

Don't forget, you are fitter, stronger and faster than you have ever been in your life!

Half the battle tomorrow will not be in your legs. It will be in your head.

Ed Mc has it spot on here:
    "WHETHER YOU TELL YOURSELF YOU CAN OR YOU CAN'T, YOU'RE PROBABLY RIGHT"

Pain, in the form of physical and mental fatigue, will drop in to pay you a visit now and then. Say hello, welcome it and your body and brain will stop fighting. Tell yourself you can do this, it's alright. (Not to be confused with injury pain!)

Let's not forget OSOSLO'S TIPS for tomorrow: (you see, I learned from the best!)

"Hey guys just popping in to wish you all the very best for Marathon Monday!

Firstly, congrats to the group here for getting to the start line in good nick. That's half the battle or more each year. Whatever happens Monday, be very proud that you got through the training unscathed and it'll serve as a great base for all your training going forward.

A few little tips from me:
    Early on in the race, nothing should feel forced. If you're with a pace group and the pace feels even a small bit 'hot' for you, then ease back and don't stress or worry that the pacers are so far ahead. You should be enjoying yourself for the first half at least and not be feeling under any kind of pressure to keep up. No matter how well prepared you are, for any number of reasons, you mightn't be feeling 100% on Monday morning. If so, be conservative with your pace. Very conservative.

Keep moving forward. Even if you have to stop to walk for a bit, keep moving forwards towards the finish line and don't stop completely.

Try not to walk after 20 miles. It might be hard to get going again. Even if it's a shuffle, keep moving in a jogging motion but don't stop - unless you have to of course or you plan to run/walk the race.

Review your gait/posture every few miles or so and make sure your form is not getting sloppy.

Don't get cold standing/sitting around at the start. It'll be chilly enough so I'd advise to move about a little. Keep the muscles warm. Don't overdo it, just walk about a little and move the arms and legs about a bit.

If you feel your A, B & C goals are slipping away from you during the race, don't be disheartened. Have one of your main goals to be to finish with a smile on your face. The great thing about it is that if it all goes pear-shaped, you can do it all again next year or DCM 2016.

A good meeting point for family and friends after the race is outside Govt. Buildings on Merion Sq West. And the last 2 years there was a good bit of room in McGrattan's at the back so don't be afraid to bring them along with you to meet other Boardsies. "

I have to requote chrislad's v funny post from a few months ago:

"Ah LSR day - the day when stairs and I become enemies for a few hours! :D"

AND SO...
    Guys, can't believe we're here. You are about to convert your dream to reality. Tomorrow you will say 'I have run a marathon'. Come and say hello tomorrow, I really want to shake your hand. And give you a big hug.

Check that list, set that alarm (or two) and sleep well tonight.

REMEMBER:
    BREATHE
    To fuel your body

RUN TALL
    To bring yourself forward

RELAX
    To get there faster

SMILE
    Because you are strong

And now....

To quote our Fabulous FBOT:

"Best of luck tomorrow.....ENJOY!!!"

...Because this is your day

OVER AND OUT:

There have been some very kind words about all of us on both sides of the stage this week.

BUT REMEMBER: it is YOU who has done the work, YOU who has kept to that schedule, YOU who has got out of bed on the weekend when you didn't really want to, YOU who has gone to bed early every night (ok I made that bit up), YOU who has sacrificed a long, long list of things to get here, YOU who has doubted yourself, then believed in yourself, YOU who has worried at every niggle and ache, YOU who has sweated, cried and ached then cried and sweated some more and it is YOU who is going out tomorrow morning to claim those
    26.2 MILES OF ROAD AS YOUR OWN!

Go do this.

WE'RE ON YOUR SIDE

https://youtu.be/zcqpODLa_Mw

Keep an eye out for some balloons at MILE 22, SMILE and say hello to me ;)

Oh god I'm sobbing.

Sobbing.

And losing all this much needed salt. Dammit DG.

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭engol

Wow thanks for that dubgal. What a lot of work you do for us. Thank you.

And thanks for the hilarious "ran a marathon without talking about it". I had guests here this weekend, I likened the experience to being about to give birth. I'm rarely so singularly focused on something that's about me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Conor and Alan, my heart goes out to you both and your families. There will be many more marathons to come.

I'm on the bus to Dublin, the first leg of the journey :)

Each and every one of us has put in an enormous amount of work, we've had highs and lows along the way and we all deserve to cross the start line tomorrow morning and the finish line with great big proud smiles on our faces. Dubgal, I cannot thank you enough for your help, expert advice and guidance these past few months, you've been working tirelessly and the number of us that will finish with happy heads on us tomorrow is a testament to your good work (with help from an awesome backroom team).

Thank you also to the other boardsies, you've been the best training buddies that I could have asked for, I've enjoyed reading about each and every run. I hope everyone runs the marathon of their lives tomorrow and most of all, I hope we all enjoy it.

Hopefully I will see you in McGs afterwards :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

To the awesome 4.30 group. We are going to try and rv with our glorious pacer "murph".... I have located some red balloons which I will inflate and hold aloft once I hook up with a few other boardsies. Mrs mac, toulouse etc .... this should make it easy to find us.... lets make this day "extra awesome"!!! Lets do this thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Ninjas chopping onions in my house. Darn those ninjas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Conor & Alan. I can only echo everyone's comments above. I really hope everything works out for the best for both of your families.

Well, that's me done. Just back from an easy 3.5k this am. I had 12 yr old Yoda jnr to accompany me on this one which was a nice way to finish the plan. Time to organise myself for tomorrow. I added my details below. Just realised I forgot to collect my pace band at the expo yesterday, so will make up a couple myself.

Thank you Dubgal for your amazing work on this thread. Others have said it better than I can, but I just wanted to say again that I appreciate everything you've done on this thread. I don't know how you found the time or energy

Best of luck tomorrow everybody. I'll have extended family at the finish line, so not sure I'll make it to McGrattans.

Bib No.| Username | Target Time
    8651|nop98|3:59:59
    860| neilthefunkeone|4:09:59
    12757|Toulouse|4:29:59
    14302|Stevo1983|3:50:00
    12726|PJD|4:29:59
    13337|duffer247|4:30:59
    698|FeenaM|3:39:59
    13042|Chops|4:29:59
    8704|diego_b|4:05:00
    414|TheBazman|3:59:00
    14013|TFGR|:cool:
    6418|Singer|3:33:33
    764|Healy1835|3:30:00
    13087|BIRDCAGE1|4:39:59
    14306|Peter D61|4:45:00
    2055|jake1970|3:19:59
    1085|JMSE|4:00:00
    14354|Mrs Mc|4:29:xx
    8336|Gillo|4:29:59
    8301|denisb|3:55:00
    8002|Unaaine|4:09:13
    7555|Smashiner|4:09:00
    11213|betty swollox|3:45:00
    6536|Phoebas|3:59:59
    2203|ZV Yoda|4:29:59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

So dubgal you have positioned yourself right at the worst point for us all, mile 22 marker is right at the bottom of heartbreak hill 😄😄.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Best of luck to all on Monday. As a lurker, the training has been impressive; the support (and humour) even more so.

Hope it goes well for all (and for Conor & Alan)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

engol wrote: »
    How many gels is too many for a 42k run? I've never run beyond 28k so I never got to practice that little extra few kms...

For the last lsr (18k/15 miles) I did I only took one gel but I had buckets of energy that day (hoping to replicate!)

I was thinking one at 8/16/24/32 but that seems like an awful lot!

Maybe instead swap out a gel stop for a banana???

Advice?
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi engol, have you had a banana in training? Usual advice is not to try anything new on race day but as risks go, a banana would strike me as low-risk. That's only personal opinion though!

Four gels is not really a lot, every 8k/5 miles is pretty standard. Meno would even recommend that you take one before starting.

Meno, you turn to jump in here :D
    4 gels is not an awful lot. What did you have on your 28k run? Others on here would know better than I, but if you haven't eaten a banana mid-run before I sure as hell wouldn't be trying it on race day. Solid food just doesn't work for some people.

Personally, i'm fine with it and will be bringing a snickers with me on the day, but i've tried it multiple times in training. Last thing you want is to cramp up, or worse, need a toilet stop on the day!

Just catching up, engol's Gel stratgey sounds fine.
    I'd have to say if you are able to eat a banana (let alone get one) then you can't be running hard enough :p

Mirrormatrix why do you say 4 gels sounds like too much? It definitely isn't. I know a lot of people would take more than that. Once it doesn't mess your stomach (in which case don't take any more) then gel away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Packing my post-race bag. I know I made a list but I'm finding it hard to refrain from throwing in the kitchen sink :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Best of luck to all of you tomorrow! I'm so excited and I'm not even running. Hope to meet up with Firedance to cheer you all on and hopefully see some of you in mcgrattans.

So dubgal you have positioned yourself right at the worst point for us all, mile 22 marker is right at the bottom of heartbreak hill 😄😄.

Yup, I'll be cracking that whip where it hurts ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Motivation right where you need it :D
    A few people have said its not as bad as it's made out to be, here's hoping...

unaaine wrote: »
    Nothing to see here doesn't apply to any of us.... :cool:

Bumping this up, too funny!

What are you doing still on here?? Off boards, off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Very best of luck to all the novices tomorrow, hope to meet some of you along the way or afterwards. try to remember to run tall etc. at mile 22, or from experience, I know you will get some on the spot coaching from DG!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Bumping this up, too funny!

What are you doing still on here?? Off boards, off :D

Is it bedtime already?

davedanon wrote: »
    Is it bedtime already?

For you, yes :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Guys, the very best of luck to you all. The nerves and excitement are building but as soon as you cross that start line tomorrow you'll have your focus and you know your plans. If you're feeling in a mental slump at any point feed off the energy from the crowds around you, the support, the signs and it'll help distract you and boost you to keep going. Think of it in sections and tick them off one by one. Enjoy it all and keep your A,B and C goals in mind if you need to reassess.

Hoping to meet some of you in mcgrattans after and I'll be out on the course with jelly babies and water hopefully around halfway, Milltown and ballsbridge.

Now put the feet up and read a good book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

For you, yes :p

I wish. Night before DCM means no sleep. Doesn't matter how many times I do it.

davedanon wrote: »
    I wish. Night before DCM means no sleep. Doesn't matter how many times I do it.

Aw, but tonight's lack of sleep won't matter, you'll be grand....just frustrating. Best of everything to you and see you at the main event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

4 miles easy this morning, that is hopefully the final piece of the jigsaw:).

A big thank you to everyone who contributed to this thread, the knowledge and support of the running community here is amazing.
    Special thanks to Dubgal for all your advice and support over the last few months,I really appreciate all the time and effort you have put into this thread you have brought Novice Mentoring to a new level.

Best of luck to everyone tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Well folks all prepped and ready for tomorrow, gear laid out, plan confirmed, family and friends updated with times and places to meet me..

Beat of luck everyone tomorrow and hope all goes well..

Thanks to dubgal and everyone who have contributed here and answered questions at all times of the day.

Will be seeing you tomorrow in the pub or out on the course!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Most of what needs to have been has been said so let me wish you all the best of luck tomorrow and leave you with one thought.

Run the first half at a pace that allows you to run the second half quicker.

As you're running through the Phoenix park ask yourself if you're going at a pace that will allow you to run the second half quicker or if you're getting caught up in the euphoria of it all. If you're going too quickly the sooner you back off the less damage will be done. If you pace this correctly you can enjoy the final few miles as you pass hundreds of other runners.

Good luck and enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Oh my god this is the longest day ever ...... I miss my long run ..... Don't know what to be doing with myself. Have been neglecting my friends for the last 18 weeks so went for a short easy walk this morning. Then went for coffee with my mam to remind her she still has a daughter.... Going to get some food now pack my stuff and chill for the afternoon. Thanks DG for the last post see you at 22 miles :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭stepster

Very, very best of luck everyone, see you in the morning! Just to add my tuppence worth, the 2 things I've learnt in training 1: Always look before you spit! 2: Kildare actually does have hills!

Dubgal, you have done an absolutely amazing job, I cannot thank you enough for giving up your precious time for us!

I hope I've done this correctly:

Bib No.| Username | Target Time
    8651|nop98|3:59:59
    860| neilthefunkeone|4:09:59
    12757|Toulouse|4:29:59
    14302|Stevo1983|3:50:00
    12726|PJD|4:29:59
    13337|duffer247|4:30:59
    698|FeenaM|3:39:59
    13042|Chops|4:29:59
    8704|diego_b|4:05:00
    414|TheBazman|3:59:00
    14013|TFGR|:cool:
    6418|Singer|3:33:33
    764|Healy1835|3:30:00
    13087|BIRDCAGE1|4:39:59
    14306|Peter D61|4:45:00
    2055|jake1970|3:19:59
    1085|JMSE|4:00:00
    14354|Mrs Mc|4:29:xx
    8336|Gillo|4:29:59
    8301|denisb|3:55:00
    8002|Unaaine|4:09:13
    7555|Smashiner|4:09:00
    11213|betty swollox|3:45:00
    6536|Phoebas|3:59:59
    2203|ZV Yoda|4:29:59
    9269|stepster|4:29:59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

The inlaws were told to do one today. Text to say they were coming up, they've had the vomiting bug in their house all week.
    If only I could run a marathon every weekend and roll out the marathon excuse:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Good luck tomorrow everyone
    Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Conor and Alan.......so sorry to hear the news and hope that ye are managing as best as.

Finished the plan this morning and have been reflecting on how much I have learnt through this thread. Super job DG and Staff. Just a tad under the weather this week so eased off as much as possible. Its probably nearly impossible to line everything up for a run like this, despite our best intentions and I am as ready as I will ever be to give it a good go.

Really excited and visualising the race ahead.

Best of luck everyone.