DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

STILL in work.. there goes my run for this evening and trying to get early nights... ridiculous!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

engol wrote: »
    I'm in a panic of self doubt and insecurity. Is that normal?

Only running a year but I've prepared for practically the whole lot of it. Did the half in 1.58. Did lots (and lots) of 2hr+ runs. Didn't get further than 28k though so my head is my biggest worry.

Went out for my last easiest run tonight and for the first time ever felt my knee give way. I stopped and walked for a little bit, maybe 500m, then started off again and it was fine. That's just nerves, right?

Have these questions been answered already;
    Earphones/phone for music? Yes or no? I find it gets heavy after 20k but I'm used to running with my music but then I want to enjoy the atmosphere but then I'd like my family to be able to track me...

Is it best to get the DART in if possible? Or is it jammed?
    Can family meet at the finish line or near abouts or is that simply impossible?
    I'm in a full fledged fit of self doubt and worry and I can hardly sleep worrying about what I've let myself in for.

I was aiming to start at the back of the 4.30 wave and take it handy but I think I'll be disappointed if I don't come in under 4.30. Am I being too ambitious given that I've only started running this year???

Sorry for barging in, I hope someone can settle my nerves. I've been following the thread a while now but mostly just reading not posting.

It's called taper madness.

For getting to the start - coerce someone into giving you a lift. Failing that drive yourself or take public transport. Whatever leaves you with the least amount of time on your feet is best.

Don't worry about your knee.

4:30 might well be doable but be disciplined and go at a pace that allows you to do the second half faster.

You will be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

healy1835 wrote: »
    The forecast for Monday is pretty grim isn't it?

Ah jaysus. I was doing fine until I read this. I've now checked all the weather sites and can categorically state that they're all bloody different. I'm off to hide under bed in my running gear until Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Stupid marathon dream last night/this morning. Our little girl woke at 5am so didn't go back asleep proper. For some reason the marathon route was going up Moore St in Dublin and I stopped and bought a full bag of shopping in LIDL but got stuck in there for ages, I can remember looking at my non auto pausing watch thinking this is silly to do this and trying to work out how long it would cost me in the race and what pace group with be passing soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭healy1835

diego_b wrote: »
    Stupid marathon dream last night/this morning. Our little girl woke at 5am so didn't go back asleep proper. For some reason the marathon route was going up Moore St in Dublin and I stopped and bought a full bag of shopping in LIDL but got stuck in there for ages, I can remember looking at my non auto pausing watch thinking this is silly to do this and trying to work out how long it would cost me in the race and what pace group with be passing soon.

I myself managed to take a wrong turn in my dream last night, ended up watching the race from a distance and had people trying to talk me out of just stopping...eventually I just took a shortcut and got back into the race. Not sure what time I ran it in though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Dart strike today so had to bus walk and bus again:( wAlking along mount street .... Oh my god .... Marathon signs everywhere first time seeing them .... Nervous and excited !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    ^^^ lovely. Now get back up those stairs to bed!! :mad: :D

I pity your husband/significant other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

I'm in a panic of self doubt and insecurity. Is that normal?
    Yep, but watch that nervous energy. Damp it down. You can't change anything now. "the hay is in the barn" :)
    Only running a year but I've prepared for practically the whole lot of it. Did the half in 1.58. Did lots (and lots) of 2hr+ runs. Didn't get further than 28k though so my head is my biggest worry.
    Hi engol, a lot of successful running is in the head. No point worrying about what you haven't done - a common taper complaint btw - focus on what you have done.
    Went out for my last easiest run tonight and for the first time ever felt my knee give way. I stopped and walked for a little bit, maybe 500m, then started off again and it was fine. That's just nerves, right?
    Yup. And very likely taper-induced phantom niggles. You'll know if it's something real, don't worry.
    Have these questions been answered already;
    Earphones/phone for music? Yes or no? I find it gets heavy after 20k but I'm used to running with my music but then I want to enjoy the atmosphere but then I'd like my family to be able to track me...
    Nope, no headphones. You'll be able to monitor your body's feedback far better without the distraction of headphones. It's also a safety issue. Also, last year I got really really annoyed: a wheelchair athlete couldn't make proper progress despite people calling ahead....due to bloody headphone-wearing runners. Still mad when I think about it. You'll appreciate the atmosphere faaar better without and your family will still be able to track you.
    Have a look at this for why 'no headphones' but primarily, it is a health and safety issue:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95891709&postcount=746
    Is it best to get the DART in if possible? Or is it jammed?
    Can family meet at the finish line or near abouts or is that simply impossible?
    I'm in a full fledged fit of self doubt and worry and I can hardly sleep worrying about what I've let myself in for.
    No dart service, luas or taxi your best bet. You'll be able to meet family, pick an exact spot and meet there. You sound like you're using up a lot of nervous energy about worrying. Best not to at this stage, you're going to need it on Monday! Remember, you are choosing to do this, no one is making you do this :)
    I was aiming to start at the back of the 4.30 wave and take it handy but I think I'll be disappointed if I don't come in under 4.30. Am I being too ambitious given that I've only started running this year???
    Try to remove yourself from disappointment re time. You are running 26.2 miles! There is NOTHING to be disappointed about there, seriously!
    Sorry for barging in, I hope someone can settle my nerves. I've been following the thread a while now but mostly just reading not posting.
    Never too late engol, welcome aboard!
    STILL in work.. there goes my run for this evening and trying to get early nights... ridiculous!!
    Won't make any difference now Neil, you'll be grand. What have you olanned running wise over the weekend? If you think it will help, a slow 20 minutes will keep you ticking over nicely.
    That's gas. We should make a 'weird marathon dreams' post. We can do it on 'Surreal Saturday' :D
    healy1835 wrote: »
    I myself managed to take a wrong turn in my dream last night, ended up watching the race from a distance and had people trying to talk me out of just stopping...eventually I just took a shortcut and got back into the race. Not sure what time I ran it in though...
    See above!! :D

Got this in my inbox this morn :), Frank Greally, editor of Irish Runner Magazine and www.irishrunner.com has a few last minute tips for you guys. Thanks Frank, spot on advice!

1 Hydrate regularly –small sips. It is much better to sip water often in these final days rather than going for a litre at a time. Sip your water from a small cup or glass and just keep it regular- every hour or so. It’s a bit like training- A little a lot, is much better than- A lot a little.

2 Enjoy the Runner’s Expo in the RDS but don’t stay too long on your feet there. Runners are always anxious in these final days and it may seem like to good idea to meet and mingle with other runners for most of the day at the RDS. The Runner’s Expo is a great experience, but you can tire yourself out by staying- too long there. Treat yourself to something nice as a reward for all the sacrifices you have made to train for the Marathon and then put the feet up , relax at home and get focussed for Marathon Monday.

3 Think often about how it will feel like to achieve your Marathon Goal and how you are going to celebrate your success with family and friends. This is going to be your day to shine and show gratitude for the good health you enjoy.

4 Get some quiet time for You this weekend. Read a few chapters of a book that has inspired you or play your favourite DVD or CD. It’s all about relaxing and getting into that positive Marathon Monday Mood.

5 Read the Complimentary Marathon Programme from cover to cover and give the course map a good going over. That should be enough to get you in the Marathon Mood.

6 Arrive early at the Start and soak up the atmosphere. Make a Check List the night before- Shoes, Socks, T Shirt/Singlet/Race Number/ Vaseline/ Gels/ Warm Clothing/ Gloves/ Water Bottle/ etc. Warm Up Gently and don’t get carried away with the early pace. Enjoy the crowd support along the route and Good Luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

I've been following this thread since its inception, and it's been a goldmine of information and inspiration throughout - easily one of the best threads on the site. Best of luck to everyone on Monday, hope you all hit your targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

tailgunner wrote: »
    I've been following this thread since its inception, and it's been a goldmine of information and inspiration throughout - easily one of the best threads on the site. Best of luck to everyone on Monday, hope you all hit your targets.

Fixed that for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

What time are people going in for on Monday?

I'm in the 9:20 wave so would dropping the bag at 8:30 be enough time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

the marathon route was going up Moore St in Dublin and I stopped and bought a full bag of shopping in LIDL but got stuck in there for ages,

Ah that's brilliant, I'm almost jealous I've had no marathon dreams, the reality is scary enough I suppose!!
    Every since I started to plan early nights it's as if the universe is conspiring against me, last night my 8 year old barged in at 3am:eek: saying she was too excited to sleep because they're dressing up at school today!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

frash wrote: »

I'd like an answer too please as my plan is the same. I usually get to a race an hour early but is that enough for DCM?

Just to let you know what I was told a few weeks ago with regards to marathon morning.

Get in on time, but not too early. Don't do a warm up run. Use your first mile to warm up as you would in training. For example, he suggested if you're running 8 minute miles, make the first 8:15 and take those seconds back elsewhere. He said keep warm, wear "disposable" clothes, but if you can - sit on the ground once in your pen - in other words minimise the use of your legs as much as possible until you're starting the race.

I don't know things about things, but just relaying back what he said :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

I wouldn't sit on the ground. Our lovely Ososlo on her Marathon debut kept out of the way on a step and her legs weren't right as a result of sitting around getting cold I think was the issue so maybe lean against a wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

Just finished my last training run this morning (apart from nearly getting creamed by a car pulling out of a lay by) I had a great sense of achievement the whole way round that I've got this far. I know the nerves will start to kick in now over the next few days, but I'm ready from them.
    Can't wait for Monday - rain and all.

+1 to the above whoopsa but like aquinn pointed out, sitting on the ground isn't a great idea. You might get trod on as well! A warm up of half a mile is ok, especially if it's part of your regular pre-race routine ( it should be!) and helps you 'get in the zone'. The first mile should be 15-20 secs off pace, warm up or no. A too-fast first mile will come back to bite you, guaranteed and the nasty thing about this is, it bites bad :eek:

frash wrote: »

I'd like an answer too please as my plan is the same. I usually get to a race an hour early but is that enough for DCM?

I'd say an hour is plenty. Queues for loos will take up 20 mins!

Anyone want to pop in here and add their details to the table?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Yep, but watch that nervous energy. Damp it down. You can't change anything now. "the hay is in the barn" :)

The barn is on fire!!!!

Haha save the flames for Monday Phoebas! :D

duffer247 wrote: »
    Ah that's brilliant, I'm almost jealous I've had no marathon dreams, the reality is scary enough I suppose!!
    Every since I started to plan early nights it's as if the universe is conspiring against me, last night my 8 year old barged in at 3am:eek: saying she was too excited to sleep because they're dressing up at school today!:rolleyes:

I think it was my first and I laughed as I was thinking this is absurd and also what am I going to do with this bag of shopping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Did 4 miles yesterday in 22c sunshine, was absolutely beautiful. Legs are starting to feel fresh (so probably ran too fast as a result!!)

Nightmare getting back to Ireland & only averaged 5 hours sleep any night this week due to work. Planning a snooze today and a very early night tonight.

Just polished off 4 buttered slices of freshly made white soda bread (can't be got in Cork, well not like my local bakery in Laois).... Assume this counts as good simple carbs with low fibre :)

3M today and 2M on Sunday.

On the list for today: buy tub of Ben and Jerrys cookie dough ice cream to be consumed at leisure on Monday night (to be hidden in freezer so not spotted by family)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

JacEim wrote: »

On the list for today: buy tub of Ben and Jerrys cookie dough ice cream to be consumed at leisure on Monday night (to be hidden in freezer so not spotted by family)

Best of luck with that :). Try hiding it behind the peas and broccoli!!! Works for me.

Useful tips here, especially re post-marathon care

Had my final physio session this morning and all is good, possibly no longer need the strapping but the physio and I both think the same to leave it be for now and go with it. If I wasn't racing on Monday I'd have taken it off this week.
    He has put it on now so just have to mind it till Monday...cling filming the knee and strapping in the shower has been the working strategy to date!
    Due back to him in three weeks for starting my strength training to prevent reoccurance!

I'm about to walk out of work until Wednesday. Next time I set foot in here it'll be as a marathon runner.

My tummy is SICK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Useful tips here, especially re post-marathon care

He's having a laugh with #7 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Anyone want to pop in here and add their details to the table?

There's no option for "Just finish the damn thing"
    (For the record 4:30, I'll be happy once it's sub 5:00).

In other news I don't know if it's been mentioned but next year's will be on the Sunday if anyone is thinking that far ahead :D