If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

booooring! wrote: »
    It's a piss smelling, scumbag central, ugly buildings, over crowded piece of ****. Dublin is a hole.

I hate fellas that sit on the fence, tell us what you really think of them!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Billy86 wrote: »
    Ah, the lads from down the country biting the hand that feeds again. Nothing new to see here, so! :pac:
    'Biting the hand that feeds them' !You'r having a laugh. Sure us rednecks run the town.Most pubs.clubs,hotels are owned by culchies.Granted Dubs might have a monopoly on the firms that clean our businesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

'Biting the hand that feeds them' !You'r having a laugh. Sure us rednecks run the town.Most pubs.clubs,hotels are owned by culchies.Granted Dubs might have a monopoly on the firms that clean our businesses.

You keep telling yourself that, if it makes you feel better. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

'Biting the hand that feeds them' !You'r having a laugh. Sure us rednecks ran the town in to the ground.Most pubs.clubs,hotels were owned by culchies.Granted Dubs might have a monopoly on the firms that clean our businesses.

Fixed your post for you. Like teenagers with cash. NAMA owns all you gambled with now. Cleaning up your businesses indeed. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Ah, the lads from down the country biting the hand that feeds again. Nothing new to see here, so! :pac:

As a Dub I am forced to admit that it's actually the other way round culchies are responsible for the food supply, cities only exist where there is a food surplus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

newacc2015 wrote: »
    Such as? Dubliner is the economic powerhouse of Dublin. We literally single handedly support rural Ireland with the amount of tax revenue collected in Dublin. If Dublin was a canton like a Swiss State, it would be extremely modern with the tax revenue it collects. But instead the money goes to support roads and services in low density parts of rural Ireland.

I suppose the fact that the the agri-food sector is of such importance to the economy has nothing to do with rural Ireland?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's like a larger version of Limerick with the same problems but much more sense of entitlement.

Jackeens are generally nice but a bit bigoted and often not very well mannered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

biko wrote: »
    It's like a larger version of Limerick with the same problems but much more sense of entitlement.

So Dubs are entitled scumbags? Lol

Kinda. It's not really jackeens per se, it's million city syndrome.
    You see it in London, Paris, and particularly in San Francisco and New York city.
    It's the feeling that this city is all that matters and that everything else is just backdrop. Narcissism on a citywide level.

Kinda. It's not really jackeens per se, it's million city syndrome.
    You see it in London, Paris, and particularly in San Francisco and New York city.
    It's the feeling that this city is all that matters and that everything else is just backdrop. Narcissism on a citywide level.

Or maybe Biko that's just the perception rural folk have. The same way city dwellers might have perceptions of rural people.

You can read about it in this very thread in black and white. Search this thread for "culchies" and read those posts.

Like Paramite Pie posted above, I also have worked and lived in many large cities around the world. For me living in a town is a choice, not a settlement.

I have zero issues with Dublin itself - the city is quite beautiful. Lovely parks and cool old buildings.
    My issues are strictly with [some of] the inhabitants and then isolated to their big westbrit heads.

Some are yeah, but a lot of us get a little tired of the massive chip a lot of rural people have on their shoulder about anything and everything even remotely Dublin related.

Should point out my comments have been tongue in cheek here by the way, the parents moved to Dublin before I was born but both sides of the family are from Mayo. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 in5pectre

I like the way mods are cracking down on generalisations.

Guess it only matters if you're gay, a woman, a traveller or from Dublin now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

You can read about it in this very thread in black and white. Search this thread for "culchies" and read those posts.

Like Paramite Pie posted above, I also have worked and lived in many large cities around the world. For me living in a town is a choice, not a settlement.

I have zero issues with Dublin itself - the city is quite beautiful. Lovely parks and cool old buildings.
    My issues are strictly with [some of] the inhabitants and then isolated to their big westbrit heads.

Who are you calling a west brit you damn jackeen :pac:

Why is that term westbrit used as an insult? I mean perhaps a century ago it was a grave insult but it's just funny to hear now as those using it are generally the most backward thinking mongoloids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

EazyD wrote: »
    Why is that term westbrit used as an insult? I mean perhaps a century ago it was a grave insult but it's just funny to hear now as those using it are generally the most backward thinking mongoloids.

Are they more of less backward thinking than people who use the word mongoloids to insult others?

Pretty moronic post that shoots down ones own argument so quickly.

Mongolism/Down syndrome is a somewhat disabling disorder.
    Westbritism is a somewhat disabling state of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    It's not an alpha city, but most cities aren't. It's a big city in an Irish context, being a primate city. And isn't actually that small by international standards except if you compare it to the Londons and Tokyos and Mexico Cities of this world.

Dublin feels like a proper city. London doesn't seem that different, despite being much much larger, because really it's a collection of smaller cities put together. The size doesn't always matter to how much a place seems like a city.

It's small by international standards. But it is a giant in Ireland.
    I grew up there and it's always been pretty kippy. Some things don't really change. You go visit google docks and there's lads jumping into the canal having a great time outside the luxury apartments. It's part of de charm they say.
    If only they could sort out the junkie problem in the city centre, going on for what, 40 years already?!? Don't concentrate them all in the city centre ffs.
    It's public transport is also crap and unsafe. But most of the locals became inured to it a long time ago. So when you criticise it...it's all 'but shur it was worz be4' or 'every city has these problems'. They don't. Unsafe public transport sucks big time. Never seen a capital city with less of a police presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Joe Duffy is nothing but a megaphone for the idiot unwashed. Anyone who takes his ill-informed, rabble rousing bait is a worse fool.

A lot of Dublin is a kip, but there are beautiful parts too...if people can be bothered to look beyond the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I had NEVER heard the term 'West Brit' anywhere before I started frequenting boards.ie. It is such an odd, insular insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

Mongolism/Down syndrome is a somewhat disabling disorder.
    Westbritism is a somewhat disabling state of mind.

Mongolism, seriously???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I had NEVER heard the term 'West Brit' anywhere before I started frequenting boards.ie. It is such an odd, insular insult.

Culchie inferiority complex overload...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Culchie inferiority complex overload...

Same reason why they are so upset that Dublin is the capital (even though no one in Dublin cares), and they like to see "anyone but Dublin" win in sporting events.

Pathetic.

Before Boards I had only ever heard it in Kerry, having been branded one myself on several occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Karsini wrote: »
    Before Boards I had only ever heard it in Kerry, having been branded one myself on several occasions.

Ugh, so parochial. Durr, calling someone British is such a great insult.

I heard it once, but only then by an Irish American fella from Chicago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

in5pectre wrote: »
    I like the way mods are cracking down on generalisations.

Guess it only matters if you're gay, a woman, a traveller or from Dublin now too.

True that. One guy was pissing all over the dubs on a recent thread. No action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Ugh, so parochial. Durr, calling someone British is such a great insult.

It's an accusation that someone would prefer that Ireland stayed in Britain. Where we were in terms of citizenship West Britons. Given that there are people who believe that independence was a mistake, it's valid to use in those cases.

I like east yank. I've made that up but you can borrow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

I heard it once, but only then by an Irish American fella from Chicago.

He's obviously on Boards then.

Yeah I had never heard muck savage before boards. I had heard bogger and culchie many times though.

When in Australia I heard the Aussies call the English "poms".
    It works well for Dubs too, it's short for "pompous".

*Please note that I don't refer to all dubs as poms, that would be racist. There is a small number of poms that bring disrepute on the whole population.